HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Space for all the family to spread out!

People10
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Space 1,900 sq. ft.
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Extremely Spacious 6 Bedroom Accommodation Sleeping 10 in Comfort.

If you do not wish to pay a booking fee to reserve West Park, please feel free to book direct at www.westparkhook.co.uk

We guarantee that you will be amazed that this bungalow has 6 good-sized bedrooms; 3 shower rooms; a massive 42 foot kitchen diner; a study; a large sitting room; a utility room and 0.75 acres to play around in.

PLEASE NOTE - minimum 3-night stay out of season : 7 nights in season - see the bottom of this page for pricing/seasons. Our minimum charge is £600.

The MAXIMUM number of guests we cater for is 10 adults/children + 1 baby. That is the MAXIMUM.

For additional information, please see our own website at http://westparkhook.co.uk

More Details

Owner
Maurice & Cristine van der Velden
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
7 August, 2017

About Maurice & Cristine van der Velden

Maurice and I grew up in the Midlands and moved all over the UK before finally settling in Pembrokeshire. We now live on a lovely smallholding, growing our own fruit and veg, keeping chickens for eggs and the occasional pig for meat.

Cristine

Maurice & Cristine van der Velden purchased this bungalow in 2008

Why Maurice & Cristine van der Velden chose Pembrokeshire

We bought this bungalow because we've holidayed in Pembrokeshire since the year dot. We found it a wonderful, quiet place to bring our children with beautifully clean beaches and stunning countryside. We never tired of coming here and (eventually) came to live here permanently! We love the sheer space and tranquility of Pembrokeshire and West Park embodies that!

What makes this bungalow unique

West Park in Hook is a real Tardis - you'll be amazed at how spacious it is inside (looks like a small, 1950s, 2-bedroom bungalow from the outside). Don't be fooled! There's masses of space inside the bungalow and three quarters of an acre outside with extensive views across fields and open countryside. With 3 bedrooms at each end of the property, it's an ideal destination for two families, or to enable the youngsters to have a whole end to themselves. A lovely, quiet location to return to after a day exploring Pembrokeshire.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday bungalow in Hook in Pembrokeshire

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • village
Theme:
  • Family
  • Luxury
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • One shower room & loo at each end of the house and one in the Utility room (central).
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 6-ft wide solid hardwood 4-poster
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , 5-ft wide solid oak bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed , 3-ft wide solid oak beds
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed , 3-ft wide solid oak beds
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Single Bed , 3-ft wide solid oak bed
    Bedroom 6 - 1 Single Bed , 3-ft wide solid oak bed
    Travel Cot - 1 Cot , Can be put in any bedroom that suits you
  • West Park's bedroom are split into two sides of the property. Each side has a single, a double, and a twin-bedded room. All beds are solid oak except for the traditional 4-poster which is solid Indian hardwood.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • museums
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • diving
  • swimming

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(7 traveller reviews)

85% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Space for all the family to spread out!
average rating of 4.857143 based on 7 reviews
Hong Kong
5

A spacious and well equipped house suitable for a big group of people traveling together.

  • 5 of 5

The house is spacious, clean and well equipped with everything we need. We enjoyed very much!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're delighted that you left us a review as we very much wanted to make a comment about you, as guests!!! In 13 years of 'holiday letting' we have had properties left in all sorts of disgusting states ... as well as in pretty good condition. You and your party, however, have won the prize*! You left West Park cleaner, tidier and neater than any other guests we've had in those 13 years. Thank you. *Sadly, there isn't an actual prize but, if there were, you'd have it.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Peaceful and Tranquillising , perfect for a short stay!

  • 4 of 5

This place is so nice in a beautiful peaceful area, its clean with plenty of rooms to accomadate a large group. We were a group of 10 adults and we went there for a short break to celebrate my birthday. The kitchen is well equipped but the only down side is the dining area. The dining table is large but the benches (especially the one on the wall side) are so narrow (about 7 or 8 inches width) which is more suitable for children! As all adults, we found it difficult to sit there comfortably to eat! The local shops and facilities are not too far away but for sure you need a car to access them. There are some card games to occupy guests but I think this house has potential to have a table tennis or a pool table which can be easily placed in the middle reception room (with red leather sofas). This is only a suggestion as I personally am more attracted in properties with game rooms.

Over all this is very good house to stay in and I am definitely recommending it!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you found the benches in the dining room uncomfortable - this is certainly the first time we have received such a complaint. Admittedly, the property is aimed at large and extended families but we do like our adult guests to be comfortable. Thank you for your suggestion about a table tennis or pool table. We feel that a cupboard full of board games, two televisions, a study with around 300 hardback books and good company better serve the peaceful ambience we have tried to create. UPDATE: We have checked the seats and can confirm that the benches along the walls are 12" wide and, on the free benches, 14" wide. We do agree that these may be too small for larger-framed guests. As the table and benches were handmade for us out of solid American white oak, we aren't able to replace them at present.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Huge cottage in a very scenic setting

  • 5 of 5

Stayed at this cottage for new years with a group of 9. Cottage is huge inside with a great lay out. Plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms that works well for a large group. Cottage is well equipped, very clean and well presented. Good location, only 10 mins from large town and shops. Would recommend this cottage and would stay here again. Owners are very friendly and supplied lots of useful info. Lots of activites to do within 25 min drive including go karting, horse riding, beaches, etc.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Large, very well-equipped bungalow, extremely comfortable.

  • 5 of 5

The photograph of the superb kitchen/snug did not do this room justice! Very well equipped with all the crockery, cutlery etc that was needed. The huge lounge was really comfortable, squashy sofas just right! Comfy beds and lots of bathroom space were brilliant!. The enclosed garden area was very useful as it was nice to just fling open the back door and let out the dogs without any worries, but because of the vagaries of the weather, did need mowing, as did the field. Be aware though, that the field is not perfectly enclosed. The shop in Hook has an excellent range of items. Lots of dog friendly places to go nearby, especially Milford Woods! Broadhaven beach was a good place to visit for a dog walk amd LLys y Fran country park brilliant!!

Overall a lovely property for a holiday!!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review! Unfortunately, it takes 4 hours to mow and, as you say, it's not always possible to do so on a weekly basis because of the weather. As a consequence, for 2017 we are letting West Park with 0.75 acres and the field will not be part of the let; it will be used for grazing horses.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Superb Large Accomodation suitable for familes and dog

  • 5 of 5

Prior to our arrival communication with the owners was very easy and pleasant. On arrival we found a superbly fitted large bungalow with six bedrooms, three bathrooms, two lounges (one very large) and a well supplied kitchen. Everything was spotless and our party of five adults, four children and a dog fitted in easily. The space allowed us each to have our "time alone" with no one getting under others toes. The garden was sparse but well kitted out with a largish lawn plus patio with large bench and sunbeds enough. To add to this there is also an enclosed field (freshly mown) which allowed for dog walking, stretching ones legs or even the odd jog.

All in all the accommodation contributed largely to a wonderful family holiday. Well worth the money!!!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic Holiday

  • 5 of 5

The holiday bungalow/cottage lived up to expectation. Clean, spacious and well equipped. It ticked all our boxes and more......

A great location for the coast - lots of beaches within half an hour and loads of local attractions to suit everyone.

Easy contact and communication with the owners - we had no problems but I'm sure any issues would have been dealt with straight away.

Would highly recommend.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 10, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Hook Social Club
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Haverfordwest Golf Club
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Haverfordwest
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
The Cottage Inn, Llangwm
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
Broadhaven
Car: recommended

Hook is a convenient and quiet central location for exploring West Wales & Pembrokeshire. Most of Pembrokeshire's stunning beaches lie within 15 miles - a short drive to places like Stackpole, Angle, St Ishmaels, Tenby and Saundersfoot; with easy access to the historic Preseli Hills and the world famous Pembrokeshire Coast National Park and coastal path. Oakwood and Bluestone Theme Parks are just a short drive away, as is Manor House Wildlife Park; Caldey Island with its Cistercian monastery; and numerous castles, such as Carew with its medieval watermill, and Pembroke.

The town of Haverfordwest is around 5 miles away to the North and Pembroke, with its famous castle, some 7 miles to the South.

Hook itself has a good Village Store & Post Office - just a couple of minutes drive along the village road.

Opposite the Village Store is Hook's Social Club which is open to all.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday bungalow in Hook, Wales

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Summer 2017
22 Jul 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,800
for 7 nights
£1,800
 
 
Early Autumn 2017
2 Sep 2017 - 20 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£600
for 3 nights
From
£200
£900
 
 
October break 2017
21 Oct 2017 - 27 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,500
for 7 nights
£1,500
 
 
Autumn 2017
28 Oct 2017 - 15 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£600
for 3 nights
From
£200
£600
 
 
Pre-Xmas 2017
16 Dec 2017 - 22 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£600
for 3 nights
From
£200
£900
 
 
Christmas 2017
23 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
4 night minimum stay
£1,600
for 4 nights
From
£400
£2,000
 
 
Early Spring
6 Jan 2018 - 9 Feb 2018
3 night minimum stay
£699
for 3 nights
From
£233
£700
 
 
Early Spring holiday
10 Feb 2018 - 16 Feb 2018
7 night minimum stay
£900
for 7 nights
£900
 
 
Spring
17 Feb 2018 - 23 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
£699
for 3 nights
From
£233
£700
 
 
Easter
24 Mar 2018 - 13 Apr 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,400
for 7 nights
£1,400
 
 
Late Spring
14 Apr 2018 - 25 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£699
for 3 nights
From
£233
£900
 
 
May Bank Holiday
26 May 2018 - 1 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,800
for 7 nights
£1,800
 
 
Early Summer
2 Jun 2018 - 13 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
£699
for 3 nights
From
£233
£900
 
 
Mid Summer
14 Jul 2018 - 27 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
£810
for 3 nights
From
£270
£1,200
 
 
Summer Holidays
28 Jul 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,850
for 7 nights
£1,850
 
 
Late Summer
1 Sep 2018 - 7 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
£900
for 3 nights
From
£300
£1,200
 
 
Early Autumn
8 Sep 2018 - 5 Oct 2018
3 night minimum stay
£699
for 3 nights
From
£233
£800
 
 
October Holiday
20 Oct 2018 - 26 Oct 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,400
for 7 nights
£1,400
 
 
Autumn
27 Oct 2018 - 21 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
£699
for 3 nights
From
£233
£700
 
 
Xmas & New Year
22 Dec 2018 - 4 Jan 2019
4 night minimum stay
£1,800
for 4 nights
From
£450
£2,200
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£600
for 3 nights
From
£200
£600
 

Additional pricing information

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Available
Unavailable