HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Caroline Wallrock

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks English

Regency Elegance Combined With Modern Conveniences

19 Reviews
People10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Separate WC's2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday home in Boldre - Cloisters

Newly Refurbished 4 Bedroom, 3 Bath Property With Secluded Garden & Tennis Court

Cloisters is a self-contained wing of a spacious Regency home with the benefits of modern conveniences. It has been newly refurbished for self-catering holiday lets. All the rooms are furnished with a pleasing mix of antiques and contemporary pieces for your comfort. We offer a 'stock-the-freezer' service by arrangement so you can start your holiday as soon as you arrive. No need to shop. Alternatively, we can organize catering with a local cook.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
Caroline Wallrock (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks English

About Caroline Wallrock

Charlie and I are antique dealers and we have four children, one of whom helped decorate and furnish this wing of the house. We've travelled widely and lived overseas but always return to this beautiful part of the world.

Why Caroline Wallrock chose New Forest

Tweed House and Cloisters have a saucy history. Tweed House was built by Captain Symonds for his new bride Lucinde Touzi in 1815. They had met in the Caribbean as the result of incredible adventures. Captain Symonds rescued Lucinde from the siege of San Domingo, brought her back to England and married her once she came of age.

Later owners, the Moens, were kidnapped on their honeymoon in Sardinia. Mrs Moen was released and the people of Boldre chipped in to raise the ransom to free Mr. Moen.

Reviews

4.8
based on 19 holidaymaker reviews

Regency Elegance Combined With Modern Conveniences
average rating of 4.8421054 based on 19 reviews
5

Beautiful house for family get together

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful weekend, three generations together plus the family dog. The accommodation was faultless; clean, beautifully furnished, huge rooms and very well equiped kitchen. The lovely big dining table allowed us to enjoy meals together and the tennis court and large garden to burn off those extra calories!

The location of 'Cloisters' is perfect for exploring the New Forest and the Red Lion pub just down the road can be recommended for Sunday Lunch.

Perfect!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A great place for a perfect vacation

  • 5 of 5

Our family getting together in the beautiful welcoming cloister was above anything we expected.

The house setting in a pastoral garden was big, comfortable and very welcoming.

Caroline and Charlie felt like welcoming family and assisted us with anything we needed.

Could not think of a better place to spend a vacation and can not wait to come back

  • Review Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Idyllic Week at the Cloisters, Boldre

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved staying in this charming house. It is elegant, comfortable, everything well thought out so you can arrive with your family of all ages and there is something for them to do from tennis to table football, to watching a film or playing cards and bouncing on the trampoline. There was room for us all to be together and to get away from each other - perfect. The duvets were especially luxurious in our room and the beds very comfortable as well as being beautiful antiques. We loved the vast Victorian bath and basins, and the huge expanses of Victorian tiles, the wide staircase that you could walk two abreast. This is a place to come to for a real treat, a privilege.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Ideally located, spacious, wonderfully equipped property.

  • 5 of 5

Fabulous holiday at Cloisters with the family. The house was perfect, very well equipped, super comfortable and elegantly decorated. The gardens are lovely with access to the tennis court. We had a memorable holiday thanks to the owner's tips and advice as well as the location. Thank you and we will definitely come back!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A great place to stay for a family gathering

  • 5 of 5

We decided to book this property for my girlfriends 50th birthday in order that all her family and friends could join us to celebrate, The property was in a great location in the countryside in the small village of Boldre and within walking distance of the local pub (Red Lion) which was a great country pub serving great pub food with a great choice of local beers and ales and reasonable prices, The property itself had two double rooms with en-suite and two twin rooms as well as two z-beds, We had full use of the garden including a trampoline and tennis courts and a bbq was included also, The house was great with plenty of room including a lounge and sitting/drawing room, a good size kitchen and toilets of both the ground floor and first floor, We would recommend that this property would greatly benefit from a double fridge in the kitchen and another large fridge/freezer in the utility room, We found that for ten people the current appliances were inadequate for those numbers had we decided to cook in the property every day, We would also recommend replacing the signs on the gate post but all in all we would strongly recommend this property for this type of event and we are most likely to return in the near future.

  • Review Submitted: May 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for these tips. We will certainly look into supplying a larger fridge freezer in the kitchen or utility room. We are very lucky to have so many excellent pubs in the area and the Red Lion has the added attraction of being a short walk away.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Excellent accommodation

  • 4 of 5

Roomy house in beautiful location. Extensive grounds, we watched deer amble through the garden.

Clean and well equipped. Ideal for our family party.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
35 Kilometres
Southampton
Nearest Barpub
0.35 Kilometres
Red Lion Pub
Nearest Ferry
4 Kilometres
Lymington-Yarmouth (Isle of Wight)
Nearest Golf
4 Kilometres
Walhampton Golf Club
Nearest Train
5 Kilometres
Brockenhurst
Nearest Motorway
17 Kilometres
M27
Nearest Restaurant
0.35 Kilometres
Red Lion Pub
Nearest Beach
9 Kilometres
Milford-on-Sea
Car: necessary

The New Forest is one of England's gems. The rural landscape of forest and heathland is less than two hours from London but seems a world away. The New Forest ponies graze on the common heathland and are joined by donkeys, cattle, and even pigs in the autumn. An extensive network of walking and bicycle trails make the area easy to explore. Minutes away are beaches along the Solent. Lymington is home to a vibrant boating community. The Isle of Wight is easily reachable by ferry. The New Forest is easily accessible by car or train. Or sail into Lymington.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Boldre, New Forest

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Autumn 2016
27 Aug 2016 - 15 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£700
for 2 nights
From
£350
£2,100
 
 
Christmas 2016
16 Dec 2016 - 27 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£1,200
for 3 nights
From
£400
 
 
Winter/Spring 2017
6 Jan 2017 - 29 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£700
for 2 nights
From
£350
£2,000
 
 
Summer 2017
30 Jun 2017 - 10 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,700
for 7 nights
£2,700
 
 
Autumn 2017
11 Sep 2017 - 15 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
£700
for 2 nights
From
£350
£2,000
 
 
Christmas/NYE 2017
16 Dec 2017 - 8 Jan 2018
4 night minimum stay
£1,600
for 4 nights
From
£400
£2,800
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£700
for 2 nights
From
£350
£1,800
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £25

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Boldre in Hampshire

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 2 Separate WC's
  • Downstairs Washroom - Toilet
    Blue Room Bath - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Green Room Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Edwardian Bathroom - Bath (no shower)
    Bathroom 5 - Toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Cot
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Child Bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • DVR
  • Table Football
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • MP3 Dock
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Barbecue
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties