Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Spacious Sugarbush Multi-family Rustic Chalet

Bedrooms 5
Space 2,699 sq ft
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

- 5 BR, 3 BA, Sleeps up to 12 now with air conditioning

Private home Great location off Route 100 by the Mad River. Five minutes to the slopes with a beautiful view and wonderful privacy. Five bedrooms, master has a king the other 4 have each two twins that can be left apart or pushed together , three full baths in a fully equipped completely carpeted house. Newly installed high efficiency heat pumps with central air conditioning,Rustic Large living room with a fireplace,HDTV, BluRay Surround sound system, downstairs family room with Ping Pong Table and tv, outside deck with gas grill and large entry mudroom. Wi-Fi Turn-key and enjoy. Pet Friendly with prior owners permission.

Great house as you would expect in a wonderful country setting comfortable and clean .Lot's of room to kick back and relax no need to wonder whether it is ok to put your feet on the coffee table(it is ok) whether it is after a hard day of skiing, biking, hiking or just a casual stroll down the country roads.

More Details

Gary Bluestein, CyberRentals Advertiser 1998
Member since: 2004
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
29 May, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Waitsfield in Washington County

Property Type:
  • chalet
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2699 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • rural
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom - 2 Single Bed
    Living area - ( sofa's)
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck Chairs
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • veranda
  • Wood Decking
  • 4 deck chairs
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • naturist beach
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • ski
  • swimming
  • tennis
Cable TV-BlurayDVD/CD-Surround Sound System 5.1; fireplace with wood provided; wifi, a/c.


4.2/5 -
(5 traveller reviews)

60% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
Spacious Sugarbush Multi-family Rustic Chalet
average rating of 4.2 based on 5 reviews
Sleepy Hollow, NY

Family of six August vacation

  • 5 of 5

My extended family (parents in their 70s plus children ages 9 - 14) rented this house for a week. There was room to spread out with three floors of bedrooms, kids playing ping pong downstairs while adults had the upstairs living room/deck. There's a stocked kitchen with a Mr. Coffee and a Keurig, all the pots/pans/dishes you need plus a linen closet so you don't need to bring sheets/towels. House is just two miles from Flatbread pizza and the big swimming hole and is across Rt. 100 from The Bundy, our fav gallery. FANTASTIC location right in the middle of everything but in 0.5 miles from Rt 100 so the house is quiet and feels like a tree house. Not the fanciest house you can find in the Valley but that was not our concern; this is certainly a very comfortable home in the best location. Highly recommend.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Nice location and size but dirty

  • 2 of 5

We arrived to the beautiful scene of deer walking through the fall foliage in the back yard.

As we toured our temporary home we became less and less impressed. Most every room was full of dead flies and we walked through cobwebs as we entered several rooms. After vacuuming up the dead flies we went back out. Upon returning and getting ready for bed we found the linens to be old, faded, and sometimes ripped. We were only able to find two washcloths and found the bathroom to be dirty with a moldy ceiling (no vents).

Throughout the week we found more and things like this that grossed us out and the flies (dead and alive) continued to plague us.

We dealt with it be eating out and spending very little time on the property.

On the plus side the valley is beautiful and full of great food and things to do.

  • Review Submitted: 22-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your stay, our goal over the last 30 years of renting our house is to always try to make the house feel as if it is your own home but in a rustic mountain setting. Through the years we have received many positive reviews both posted and sent directly to us, with quite a few returning guests. I wish I had learned there was a problem during your visit so that I could have attempted to rectify or explain any issues. (For instance, I could have sent our cleaning crew back over to the house.) Vermont in October is beautiful for foliage but it is also peak season for cluster flies. As owners we are very aware of this and try make sure that we do all we can do to minimize natures nuisance. Since we are in the mountains we at times become part of nature whether we like it or not, so we do have the house exterminated for cluster flies every year. Mostly it works but occasionally we do end up with some dead flies on the ground that even if we vacuum two days before the rental arrival they manage to come back. This unfortunately is exactly what happened.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Spacious and secluded home near Sugarbush

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in Gary's place over MLK weekend. There were two families, eight of us in total. The home had plenty of space including two common areas which was key as there was a TV room for adults and a separate one for the kids. The kitchen and dining area were adequate and all utilities worked fine. The location was about half a mile off the main road and about 5-10 to the Sugarbush base lodge. Gary was super helpful and responsive throughout the process. Would be interested in coming back again.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Feb-2017
  • Date of Stay: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Family vacation

  • 5 of 5

Well suited for our family; son's, their wives and children; we were nine in all including an infant.

Secluded, Very cozy, but plenty of room for everyone.

Well appointed kitchen and anything you might need is at Shaws, about 10 minutes from house.

Gary's recommendation of Mad River Barn was one of our highlights. Awesome dinner, very fun place.

Also takeout from The Mad Taco and Bongiourno' s, both outstanding.

Personally one of my favorite things was sitting in front of that fireplace having a drink!

All in all a very enjoyable week for our family.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


  • 4 of 5

Nice large house! Perfect location for skiing. Large windows facing the woods, good ole house with Vermont charm.

  • Review Submitted: 22-Feb-2012
  • Date of Stay: February 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
12 6


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
2 miles
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
Rt 100 1/4 mile RT 89 @10 miles
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
2 miles
Nearest Ski
3.5 Miles
SugarBush/ Mad River
Car: necessary

Skiing (five mountains within 45 minutes three within 10 minutes), hiking, sledding, cross-country skiing, snowshoeing, biking, swimming, fishing, hunting, restaurants, shops, health club, movie theater

Other Activities: world class skiing and boarding


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £152.28
Additional Guest Fee £38.07 per person per night
Pet Fee £76.14
Property Damage Insurance £44.92

Please call/email for Holiday rates
Security deposit is refund can take up to 6 weeks based on cable/tv billing cycle

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals