Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Famous Landshark! Luxury Oceanfront, 3d Theater, Elevator, Pool, Spa, Gameroom

People20
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms5
Separate WCs1
Space 4,200 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Fantastic Luxury Home - Oceanfront AND Soundfront! Perfect family vacation spot

Welcome to the famous LandShark Beach House on beautiful Hatteras Island, North Carolina. Make sure to search for the Land Shark Beach House page on Facebook for much more information and year round deals! Send us a message there for more information.

This lovely vacation home has almost everything you could ask for, including expansive, unobstructed views of both the ocean and sound. Head out the front door for a quick walk to the beach or stroll to the sound from your backyard. Few homes on the Outer Banks can boast such easy access to both bodies of water.

After a long day at the beach, head to your pool area for more fun! Relax in the bubbling hot tub, cool off in the large private pool with waterfall and let the kids splash around in the kiddie pool. A Tiki Bar is ready for entertaining. Near the pool you'll find an outdoor shower with hot and cold water as well as a convenient fish cleaning table. Behind the pool area, the nearby sound access provides an easy launch point for kayaking, kiteboarding, and windsurfing. The Private Pool is generally open from mid-May through early October. Feel free to contact us if you'd like to verify availability for specific dates and check out the Land Shark Beach House Facebook page for more information!

The pool is open starting in late March. If you would like it heated, there is a $450 charge for the week. That's just what it costs us to run the heater.

We are literally right across the street from the beach. You just walk to the end of the driveway and cross the road. There are no homes there. Its just a sand dune with a path that gets you right onto the beach.

The sound is amazing and its literally 30 feet from the home. The sound is much warmer than the ocean and only 3-4 feet deep for about 500 yards out. Its perfect for paddle boarding, kayaking, wind surfing, fishing, etc...

Arriving at LandShark, you'll first notice the concrete driveway with parking for two vehicles underneath the house, as well as ample parking for additional vehicles.

Level 1:

The first floor game room offers a pool table, poker table, wet bar/kitchenette, full size refrigerator with ice maker and microwave. When you need a break from the sun, enjoy the adjacent private 3D home theater room with an 80' Smart Flatscreen TV with Cinema surround sound and a 3D Blu-Ray player. We provide several 3D movies for your enjoyment (like Avatar, Finding Nemo, The Avengers and Gravity), along with a supply of 3D glasses. We also supply a large collection of other recent Blu-Ray and DVD movies. Two bedrooms, one queen and the other with two sets of bunks, are also found on this floor (the queen bedroom is handicap accessible).

Level 2:

The second floor has three king bedrooms, each with a private bath, as well as the bonus room with sleeper sofa, a TV and PS3 video game system. PS3 games are not provided - please bring your own.

Level 3:

The top floor features an impressive great room with ample seating and a fireplace. In the Living Room, there is a pull-out sleeper sofa and two twin sleeper chairs. Pillows and linens for the sleeper sofas and chairs at LandShark can be rented from Shore Details, or you can bring your own. The kitchen has stainless steel gourmet appliances, tile floor, granite counter tops, custom cabinets and a breakfast bar with seating for 6. Just a few steps up from the great room is the home office, the highest room in the house, with a work station (bring your own laptop), whole house WIFI and remarkable views of the ocean. The master king bedroom suite is also found on the top floor.

Access to decks overlooking the ocean or sound are in every bedroom of the house. We provide a high chair, porta crib and baby gate.

In the prime seasons (June-August), linens are provided for every bed and the beds are made before you arrive. Additional linens are available for rent from Shore Details at a reasonable cost for the pull-out sleeper sofas and the 2 sleeper chairs. Also in the prime seasons, fourteen luxurious, plush bath towel sets are provided for each bathroom. In all other seasons, and if your occupancy exceeds 14 during the prime seasons, you can rent high quality linens and towel sets at a reasonable cost, or bring your own from home.

The location of this house allows you great privacy, but is still close to shops and restaurants, charter fishing, and the Ocracoke Ferry Terminal and Hatteras Village and Frisco.

Each bedroom has a sliding door out to large, private decks with fantastic views of the sound or ocean.

Land Shark will make your beach vacation a memorable one for the entire family and your favorite dog. Check us out on Facebook for more photos, reviews and information. Just search Land Shark Beach House on Facebook!

Please Note:

Heated pool - $450 per week.

All Blu-Ray players play standard DVD's as well.

Rentals of at least three days are available in off seasons and shoulder seasons. Also, rentals do not have to start on Saturday in the off seasons and we have more flexibility to tailor your stay to your schedule.

View additional photos and 'like' Land Shark Beach House on Facebook!

Features:

- Private Heated Pool

- Kiddie Pool

- Hot Tub

- 9 Flatscreen TV's,

- 9 Blu-Ray Players

- 3D - HD Theater Room

- Tiki Bar

- Pool Table

- Elevator

- Washer and Dryer

- WIFI

- Fireplace (Use in winter season)

- Sun Decks with Polywood Furniture

- Sheets/Towels for 14 provided June-August

- 2 Microwaves,

- 2 Fridges

- Outside H/C Shower

- Wet Bar

- Weber Gas Grill

- Easy Ocean Access

- Easy Sound Access

- Fish Cleaning Table

- Pet Friendly

- NON SMOKING

- MID-week rentals considered in the off-season.

More Details

Owner
Craig Tobe
Member since: 2017
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
13 July, 2018

About Craig Tobe

We live in the Boston, MA and fell in love with the Outer Banks a long time ago. Some of the best memories of my childhood were spent in the Outer Banks. With the massive development of OBX over the last 30 years, Hatteras Village remains one of the few the calm, peaceful and amazing places that I remember from my childhood. Its a small, friendly village without the busy, crowded beaches that you find elsewhere.

Craig Tobe purchased this house in 2017

Why Craig Tobe chose Hatteras

We bought this house in 2017 and have done everything possible to make sure it is run just as well (if not better) than before. We want this to be a clean, well appointed, comfortable vacation home for ourselves, our friends and our guests. Suggestions are always taken to heart and we strive to make your stay one that you and your friends and families will remember.

What makes this house unique

Land Shark has everything. Game room, Elevator, 3D Home Theater, Video Game Room, Pool, Hot Tub, Tiki Bar, Chef's Kitchen and 6 bedrooms in individualized themes with comfortable mattresses and premium pillows and bedding. Its one of the only homes on the entire Outer Banks that is both Oceanfront and Soundfront! You can literally see beautiful blue water from almost every window in the home.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house on Hatteras on Dare County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 4200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 20
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Lift
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 5 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 6 - Toilet
    Bathroom 7 - Outdoor Shower
  • 5 and a half baths, plus an outdoor shower with hot and cold running water.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 6 - 2 Bunk Bed
  • 6 Bedrooms - 4 Kings, 1 Queen, 1 room with two bunk beds. The Queen Bedroom and adjacent bath are handicap accessible. Sleeper sofa in video game room. Queen sleeper sofa in living room and two twin sleeper chairs in living room. Beds made prior to arrival and linens and towel sets provided for 14 guests in prime seasons. Additional linens and towel sets available at a reasonable cost and during other than prime seasons.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
SATURDAY TO SATURDAY RENTAL IN PRIME SEASON - CHECK OUT IS 10 A.M. CHECK IN AT 4:00 P.M. Rentals of at least three days available in off seasons and shoulder seasons.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

75% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Famous Landshark! Luxury Oceanfront, 3d Theater, Elevator, Pool, Spa, Gameroom
average rating of 4.75 based on 8 reviews
5

Excellent Location, Fantastic Views, Great Decor

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed the Landshark! The location is excellent in Hatteras, with access to both the sound for kayaking/paddle boarding as well as super easy and quick access to the beach & the ocean. A bonus was being able to enjoy both the sunrise and sunsets right from the home's decks. The decor inside the home was perfect for relaxing. The oversized living room/dining area with the large expansive windows was able to comfortably seat all 12 of us. It was everyone's favorite spot to gather for conversation, eating, and playing games. After exploring the Hatteras Village, we are convinced that the Landshark is the best home available.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Somers, CT USA
5

A little piece of “heaven on earth”!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed a wonderful week at the Landshark! The location was absolutely perfect, with incredible views! A very well appointed home, which was also so very welcoming and comfortable! We enjoyed sunrises on the front balconies, and sunsets from the back deck. Simply gorgeous!

  • Review Submitted: 13-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful Location & Great Home

  • 4 of 5

Our major disappointment was that the Theater Room was out of commission upon arrival, unbeknownst to the owner and the management service. Given that it was the week after Christmas and the weather was predicted inclement to say the least, we really looked forward to watching movies in the evenings as a family experience. Alas, not meant to be, and the management service didn't seem to be too bothered by our disappointment. There were other minor disappointments (such as the sectional in the living room where we spent most of our time is tired and worn with broken springs). However, we made the best out of the fully functional kitchen, the views of sunrise and sunset, the great decor in every room, and opportunity to play pool while few intrepid young men even braved the elements to use the hot tub. Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: 05-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Leslie - Thank you for your review of our home. We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay. Even with the disappointing issue you encountered, you still rated the property highly, that means a lot to us. As owners, we rely heavily on reviews and feedback from our guests. Most issues that arise while guests are staying in our home are easy fixes. We found it frustrating that we couldn’t get a repair person to the house to fix the 3D TV during your stay (due to the holidays, in part, we were given a repair date of 7 days). This is the first time we have had an issue with the 3D TV. Behind the scenes, we reached out to a lot of repair companies to try and get it fixed during your stay. We are sorry we could not fix the TV before you left. We have spoken to our management company to let them know we are unhappy that you feel they weren’t overly concerned with the TV issue you were experiencing. This is not how we want our guests to feel. We hope you enjoyed the TV and DVD player in the Family room. We will look into the spring issue you mentioned about the sofa to see if it needs to be replaced. Again, we are glad to hear you and your family had a wonderful stay at our home. We would love to have you back again, so you can experience the 3D TV in full working condition. Please contact us, should you decide to book again, so we can give you a special rate. All the best in 2018 - Landshark Owners
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful

  • 4 of 5

Great House!

  • Review Submitted: 27-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Diana - Thank you for your review of our home. We hope you rent with us again. Thanks - Landshark Owners
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Gorgeous house in the perfect location!

  • 5 of 5

Our family reunion of 20 had an amazing time at the Landshark! There was something for everyone. The house was beautiful and the location was exactly as described. We will definately be back to visit again!

  • Review Submitted: 06-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kristin - We are thrilled to hear your family had such a wonderful stay in our home! We would love to have you back! All the best - Landshark Owners
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Such a beautiful place with every comfort you need.

  • 5 of 5

This house was beautiful, the views were beautiful, every bedroom room walked out to a deck, the kitchen was fully functioning and had everything we needed, the ocean was a short walk away and the sound had access, but was more limited. We loved everything about our vacation in this home. If you are looking for remote this is it. The elevator was a plus because there are A LOT of stairs, but wouldn't always go to the ground floor. We wish there had been a broom to sweep the floors during the stay and its is good idea to bring extra towels and rags for the kitchen. We would definitely return to this house and location.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Katie - Thank you for your review of our home. We are always happy to hear that our guests have a wonderful stay. We want every aspect of our home to be in full working order for our guests. I will look over our records to double check our management company was responsive to your elevator complaint. We appreciate the comment about the broom and kitchen dish towels. We have communicated that to out management company to make sure they leave out a broom/dustpan and make sure there are ample dish towels. We hope you stay with us again - Landshark Owners
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £75.58
Property Damage Insurance £59.71
Refundable Damage Deposit £377.14

SATURDAY TO SATURDAY RENTAL IN PRIME SEASON - CHECK OUT IS 10 A.M. CHECK IN AT 4:00 P.M. Rentals of at least three days available in off seasons and shoulder seasons. Heated pool is $450 for the week. Each pet is $100.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable