Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

In Rome, an Aristocratic, 3 Bedroom Apartment in an Elegant Historic Palace near the Piazza Navona

People7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 3,552 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Bedrooms 3, Bathrooms 3, Sleeps 7

Savour a Roman interlude in a seventeenth century Historical Palazzo originally built by an aristocratic and Papal family and now carefully restored to its Renaissance glory. It is in a perfect location at the Piazza del Orologio, on a quiet and chic street in the historic centre. It is a nearby stroll to both the Piazza Navonna and the wonderful Campo di Fiori, Rome's famed Fruit and Vegetable market in the day (and open-air cocktail party by night). You will also find it an easy walk to Castel St.Angelo and St. Peter's, the Pantheon, the Spanish Steps, Trastevere, the Colosseum and more. There is also a famous Italian language school, La Scuola Leonardo di Vinci in the Piazza del Orologio - if you are ambitious and want to study Italian while here.

This charming 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom apartment, sleeps up to 6. It offers high ceilings, original terracotta floors, ample proportions, gracious spaces and elegant furnishings with art and antiques in the family for generations. Every corner evinces style and taste. One of its most impressive features are its ceilings, beautifully painted and carefully preserved evidence of the apartment's aristocratic past. Like the ceilings, the polished Terracotta floors are also original and again, evocative of the building's Renaissance heritage.

The Master bedroom offers a queen-sized bed, fine fabrics, luxury linens, and a full bathroom. The Second Bedroom has a queen-sized bed, and a large, independent bathroom. Both bedrooms are air-conditioned. The last bedroom is smaller, and can be arranged upon request as two twin beds, instead of one. It has a door to a balcony, and it also has it's own independent bathroom. The living room is double-sized with deep and comfy sofas, large screen TV, and of course wireless Internet everywhere. The kitchen is well equipped, if you like to cook. Or if you don't, we can book a cook for you to serve you in the dining room. That is if you can sacrifice strolling to one of the many wonderful Roman restaurants in the neighbourhood. We provide the list! There is a washing machine, and of course, wireless Internet!

This refined and sophisticated apartment makes a perfect furnished base for a Roman interlude and a cultural city break For added luxury, we can add daily or live-in help, to look after you, to shop, and even to cook.

More Details

About Us

Susan Doull
Commendable Rentals LLC
214 Sea Island Drive
29440 Georgteown
Commendable Rentals, 101209-0425
Commendable Rentals LLC 214 Sea Island Drive Georgetown, SC USA
VAT Reg No

Property Manager
Susan Doull
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English, French, Spanish, Italian
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
21 June, 2018

Guestbook comments from the manager

What a beautiful home. The frescoed ceilings in the living and dining room are exquisite. We highly recommend This property. There were 5 of us, including our 8 year old grandson and plenty of room. The location is perfect, kitchen up to date. Commendable Rentals, which we have used before, could not have been more accommodating and helpful, especially after my fall and breaking my nose while walking to the Vatican. Thank you Susan and Adriana.
Dec 2016
  • 1 of 4

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo in Centro Storico in Rione V Ponte

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Floor Area:
  • 3552 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    - 1 Double Bed
    - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • walking

Reviews

4.4/5 -
(5 traveller reviews)

60% Complete
20% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
In Rome, an Aristocratic, 3 Bedroom Apartment in an Elegant Historic Palace near the Piazza Navona
average rating of 4.4 based on 9 reviews
Syracuse NY
5

Awesome apartment

  • 5 of 5

I went to this apartment with my family-- total 6 members. It was awesome.

1) Apartment in a very secure building with doorman and a lift

2) Large space, elegantly decorated, feel of a home

3) Location is excellent. Easy to walk everywhere-- all locations Vatican museum, pantheon, trevi fountain, Spanish steps, pantheon, piazza navona, Angels bridge....

4) If you need taxi stand it is near by, grocery store near by

5) Just below are some excellent restaurants, wine bars, bars, you name it is there.

6) Host very accommodating gracious and able to solve and help with all issues.

7) Would definitely live here again.

  • Review Submitted: 09-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted that your family holiday in our Rome apartment, Timeless Rome was such a success, and that you appreciated all its beauty and advantages that you have listed so clearly. Thank you for For taking the time to write this review. Best Wishes, Susan Doull Commendable Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Shabby Chic

  • 3 of 5

First the good news: The location couldn't be better and the rental company (and especially our contact, Adriana) were truly outstanding. Prior to our visit, I e-mailed back and forth with Adriana many times, finalizing our plans and making dinner reservations. Adriana was exceptionally helpful and responsive. Two of the excellent nearby restaurants that she booked for us were Osteria Il Pegno and Osteria del Sostegno. The neighborhood was full of quaint little restaurants and cafes. It was also very convenient to Piazza Navona and the Vatican. I wish I could give the apartment itself a better review.

On the downside, the property was very tired and had clearly seen better days. Of course I realized that we were renting an apartment in a very old building, but I had expected the charm to outweigh the age of the place. Unfortunately, the best word that I could use to describe the apartment is "odd". From the kitchen to the common areas to the bedrooms, it was chock-full of so many oddities. The living room and dining room were incredibly spacious and interesting. The kitchen was far from practical and could use some major updating. Fortunately, the only meal that we ate in the apartment was breakfast, but there were not even enough glasses for each of us to have a glass of water and a glass of orange juice at the same time. The bedrooms were a mishmash of pieces of furniture. The beds themselves were comfortable, but fresh white linens on the beds could have gone a long way toward making the bedrooms feel inviting. Instead, each bed had one fitted sheet and a comforter without a top sheet. As I lay in bed each night, I kept hoping that the comforter got washed between rentals. The third bedroom, which was located a distance from the other two, was most likely the servants quarters back in the day and was very shabby. I certainly wouldn't have slept in it. In fact after the first night, my two young adult sons opted to share the second bedroom rather than have one of them sleep in it.

The master bathroom was huge with an enormous shower. Unfortunately, the shower water took ages to heat up and it came out in a trickle. It was challenging to rinse the shampoo out of my hair.

Despite the apartment's shortcomings, we enjoyed our time in that corner of Rome and I would happily rent a different property from Commendable Rome.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am delighted that you appreciated our services, and that you enjoyed the restaurants that we recommended and booked for you, and that you appreciated the neighbourhood which is the center of everything and classic Rome. I would like to mention that the Renaissance building where you stayed is one of the finest with its antique fountains , courtyard, and majestic staircase: it is home to many Italian Aristocrats who treasure it the way it is. At the same time, I am disappointed that you did not contact us when you had concerns which we could and would have either resolved immediately, or reassured you about. That is why we, Commendable Rentals are there and offer a full service. In fact, that is exactly what happened when your husband mentioned while checking in with Adriana, that he thought that there would not be enough glasses for the guests that you were inviting later in the week. She ran out, bought additional glasses, and brought them the next day. From that moment, you should have had plenty of glasses. By the way, the shortage was due to unreported breakage by guests who left the day that you arrived.We will make sure to stock a further surplus to avoid that. For the linens, we could have immediately reassured you that the comforter that you mentioned was in a duvet ( comforter) cover that is washed as all sheets are for each and every guest. Using comforter covers in place of a top sheet is a European style, and they are often in prints, which are part of the decor.They are fine sheets of a European known brand. The apartment is no doubt eclectic, but most of our guests have been thrilled to be living amidst the history of several hundred years collected by the family through generations. This is why it is not all of the same period. The third bedroom was never a maid's room ( there is one one floor up) . It is down the hall not far from the others. It is smaller, and we do announce this, but it's freshly painted and in no way shabby, It opens onto a small balcony and offers a sweet antique desk, a good reading light and cosy comfort with a quality mattress. We would have been happy to reassure you. We also checked the water pressure after you left, and it was an easy adjustment. I am sorry that you did not offer us the opportunity to fix it for you. In Rome's historic buildings, plumbing is seldom brand new, but I know there is plenty of hot water, once you let it warm. We are happy that you were happy enough to want to use us again
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Felt like Royalty

  • 5 of 5

Had a lovely stay in the house. It was one of those houses were you really didn't want to leave. You felt like you were living in a museum surrounded by history. Large rooms comfortable beds very nice kitchen. Great location, a block from buses. End of September the buses really weren't that crowded. The pedestrian area is right around the corner. You can find great places to eat to the cobblestone alley ways. The Host was very communicative before and during our stay. 5 minute walk to Piazza Novona, 10 minute walk to St Peters, 20 minute walk to the Vatican museums. The house is in a really great location. It was everything we were hoping for. Stayed 5 nights and that isn't enough time to see Rome. Our group was six older adults. Elevator came in so handy. The Host has access to rooms inside the apartment entry way. Don't do what I did and mistakenly locked them out.

All six of us dearly loved the apartment. I would definitely recommend it if you want to feel like you're living in history.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Stylish "Old-world" Flat in an ideal location

  • 5 of 5

We loved EVERYTHING about your place…The living room was so spacious and welcoming. The coffee table alone has been the biggest I’ve ever seen at a home amongst my friends. We had a 4yo girl who enjoyed everything in the place including the little elevator and fish pond on the ground floor. Your recommendation of Osteria del Pegno was a favorite of our group. Thanks for being a part of a very memorable trip.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Oct-2016
  • Date of Stay: October 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is just what we love hearing! Thank you so much for writing.It is a wonderful base for a family to discover and explore Rome together. I am glad that you tried and liked Osteria del Pegno, and other suggestions from our Guest Note. We hope you will come back, Susan, Adriana, and the Commendable Rentals Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A great place to stay in Piazza Navona area

  • 4 of 5

The location of the property was excellent and the property itself was beautiful! A genuine palazzo in a quiet little street close to the piazza Navona. Very little traffic. The area felt very safe and we were close to a wide range of good quality local amenities. There was a wonderful range of shops, bars, cafés and restaurants to choose from. The owner provided information and recommendations for local restaurants and this was very helpful. We enjoyed trying different places each night! The sitting room and dining room/library were particularly beautiful and it was a pleasure to have the use of them during our busy week in Rome. The bedrooms were more basic, and the 3rd bedroom was more suited to a child than an adult. The property was generally well maintained and fairly clean.The property manager provided excellent service and was readily available to help with any issues, eg arranging transfers to/from airport, which were excellent and good value. I would recommend the property to anyone who is looking to have an authentic experience of living in a genuine historic Roman property in a beautiful old building. We found it to be a splendid experience who have us great pleasure. It's central location also meant that many of the best sights and places of interest were easily accessible on foot. A great place to come back to at the end of a busy, exciting day.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Apr-2016
  • Date of Stay: April 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your very nice review. We are glad that you , like us appreciated this very special place. We do normally reserve the third bedroom just for children, as the room is small, though the bed is not; its120 cm ( between a single and a double). I am not sure that we knew that your son was an adult ! However, we have had single adults who were comfortable there. Again, thank you for staying with us , and for being such a nice guest,
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

In addition to being in the heart of Rome, this apartment is on the edge of the Piazza del Orologio where you will find the Leonardo di Vinci Language School, one of the best Italian language schools in Rome. Stay a month and speak Italian like a native!

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals