HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

In Paris' Marais District in an Historic Palace, Artfully Restored 4 Bedroom, 3 Bathroom Apartment

People8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 0 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Bedrooms 4, Bathrooms 3, Sleeps 8

A magnificent 18th century palace on a quiet street in the beautiful, and now chic and trendy Marais District of Paris, offers a special apartment for fortunate guests. Enter through a high portal into a quiet and beautiful courtyard lined with boxed Magnolias. Then enter through a private door directly into the apartment. The light from the courtyard enters the apartment, but cunning glass French doors prevent any prying eyes from seeing inside, while the insiders have an unobstructed view of the courtyard. The large entry hall, lined with 18th century stone is still modern and welcoming, with planted lemon trees, interesting antiques from the owners' travels, and attractive paintings. Add to this every modern comfort. The apartment is on two floors with two separate living rooms. There are two master bedrooms on the entry floor each with its own modern bathroom, and one double and one with two twin beds, and its own sitting area, on the lower floor. The two floors are separated by a charming spiral staircase. There is a beautiful dining room which seats 10 easily, a nice kitchen, and much more.

It is located in one of Parisians' most favored locations, the Marais. From the mid-thirteenth century, the Marais became one of the most important aristocratic areas of Paris. By World War II the Marais had declined, but a major effort was made beginning in the 1950's to renovate the area. The main palaces and mansions were restored and turned into museums: the Picasso Museum, the Paris Historical Museum and the Cognac-Jay Museum are now prominent and worthy of a visit. In turn, this building has been returned to its former glory by an eminent designer/developer and a very few privileged owners have apartments in it. The Georges Pompidou Museum, France's national Museum of Modern Art and one of the world's most important cultural institutions, was built on the western edge of the Marais. Richard Rogers and Renzo Piano were the architects of this architecturally revolutionary building. The Marais has become incredibly chic and you will find trendy shops, countless art galleries, and all varieties of restaurants and cafes. You can shop away and dine very well between museum visits!

The Pompidou, Picasso, Carnavelet Museums, the Place de Voges, The Seine, the Cathedral of Notre Dame are a 10 mn walk. You will also find the Opera not far away. Two metros are less than a 4 minute walk, RER a 7 minute walk, 2 bus stops within 2 Minutes.

More Details

About Us

Susan Doull
Commendable Rentals LLC
214 Sea Island Drive
29440 Georgteown
Commendable Rentals, 101209-0425
Commendable Rentals LLC 214 Sea Island Drive Georgetown, SC USA
VAT Reg No

Property Manager
Susan Doull
Speaks English, French, Spanish, Italian
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
18 October, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

Wonderful stay with family I can only highly recommend this apartment.This rental is very well decorated and the bedding is very comfortable.
Jan 2017
  • 1 of 11

Location

Other Activities:

Eiffel Tower

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo in Sainte-Avoye in 3rd Arrondissement

Property Type:
  • condo
Floor Area:
  • 0 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Garden
Attractions:
  • restaurants

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(21 traveller reviews)

61% Complete
23% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
In Paris' Marais District in an Historic Palace, Artfully Restored 4 Bedroom, 3 Bathroom Apartment
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 32 reviews
5

Fantastic location, comfy rooms and beds, great bathrooms.

  • 5 of 5

Overall great place to use as pad in Paris. On quiet courtyard. Walking to everything nearby. Very comfortable place - rooms, beds, bathrooms, kitchen, sitting space. Fun decor. Owner and greeter both helpful. Would stay here again and will recommend to friends. Note: We had cool weather which was lucky for July but there is no air conditioning in apartment which could be an issue if weather had been very hot. Fans in every room did help.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Marais Option

  • 5 of 5

Our two families (4 adults and 3 kids) stayed here for almost two weeks in July. The apartment was in a great location close to two different metro stops, lots of restaurants and other sites. We found the neighborhood very Parisian so we felt like we were locals.

The apartment it self is good size and is as described. Two bedrooms on the main floor and two downstairs. To get downstairs you have to go down a very narrow spiral staircase, so we let the kids stay downstairs and spent most of our time upstairs. There's a little living room, then separately a large dinning area attached to a kitchen. Everything was comfortable and we very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so pleased to read your review for which I think you, and to know that you all enjoyed the apartment , the neighborhood ,a dn had a wonderful. I bet the kids loved having their own adult-free living room downstairs and to themselves. Thank you again for sharing. Susan Doull The Commendable Rentals Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location, clean and comfortable

  • 4 of 5

As a group of 6 women celebrating our 40th birthdays, this was a great location and lots of space to spread out in the apartment. Beds were comfortable and was spotless clean on arrival. Loved the privacy of the courtyard. Very quiet and we felt quite safe. Area has a lot of great restaurants, cocktail bars and shopping which was perfect. Owners were helpful, reliable and accommodating which was much appreciated! Suggestions for improvement include a new washer/dryer that doesn't take 9 hrs per cycle. The coffee table is vicious on those sharp corners! Consider replacing as a few leg scars have been tattooed on our legs. Basement sleeping is a damp, so a dehumidifier would be a great addition. Overall, a wonderful trip with amazing memories that will last is a lifetime! Thanks for the hospitality!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for writing! So glad that you have had a great stay! A news item for you: The washer/dryer was replaced today! There is a dehumidifier that normally is put away for summer. I will make sure it gets put out. Best wishes to all of you for your next decade. Susan Doull and the Commendable Rentals Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco,CA
4

Exceptional Customer Service

  • 4 of 5

Commendable Rentals(CR) represents prime real estate properties in highly desirable locations. What we felt sets CR above similar organizations was their immediate and complete resolution of issues that inevitably arise during any weekly rental in foreign countries. Susan Doull's responsiveness reminded us of a family member who was completely dedicated to insuring everything worked out well...the hallmark of a truly reputable and excellently managed organization.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I couldn't be more pleased that to receive this review. You were lovely to work with, and I hope to have the opportunity to help you plan the details of a future trip. Kind regards, Susan Doull Commendable Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Would not stay here again!

  • 1 of 5

One star, I would NOT rent again. Great location, but the other info is very misleading. First there is NO A/C in the apartment as advertised. There are NOT two master bedrooms on the entry (first) floor. Bedroom one is enclosed by glass and French doors. Very little privacy with drapes that don’t completely cover the doors. Very little privacy off the main living area. The bedroom is connected to a bathroom with a door that open into a hallway. This shower/bath tub is not even completely enclosed or has a shower curtain, which leads to a wet floor and having to mopping the bathroom floor after every shower. The second bedroom is next to the entrance and again is only separated by a glass door. The second bath is at the opposite end of the apartment through the dining room and kitchen and opens into the kitchen. There are only windows and a doors on one wall of the apartment which prevents poor ventilation. The top floor was very hot.

The spiral staircase to the bottom floor is very narrow and treacherous. The bottom floor has no windows or doors, but is cooler. The bathroom is adequate but has what looks like black mold. Also due to the thick stone walls internet reception is very poor on the bottom floor.

The washer that literally holds one outfit and takes 4 hours to wash. It was a joke.

It was like staying in a youth hostel. If they renovated and updated the place it has the potential to be fantastic.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This apartment so beloved by so many that stay there was clearly not for you. So much of what you say is distorted or not true. There are definitely two lovely bedrooms on the entry floor. They are well designed, so that when wanted , they can open open up into the living area. If you raise the lovely, and completely private-producing draperies, yes, there are glass doors, well-covered,that we find a charming feature, for opening up the space. However with curtains in place, it is totally private, and offers just as much privacy as a wall. Some people like baths, some prefer showers. Shower/tub combos are common in Europe, and when the shower curtain is pulled, the floor remains dry. The thick stone walls keep the apartment beautifully cool except in exceptional heatwaves. But I know that your real problem was that you had not experienced a European washer before, and because they run cycles much more slowly than American ones, you insisted it was broken, and when we did not send someone to see you on a holiday Sunday, you were not happy. In fact, you warned us that if someone did not get over there on that Sunday, you would write a bad review. Most people don’t come to Europe to run laundry as a prime objective, and this machine is standard and works to European standards. So be it. To suggest that this beautiful apartment is like a Hostel is absurd. The pictures tell the story. I know that the rest of your group enjoyed it because they told me. I am sorry that you could not, too.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Dallas, TX
4

Nice accommodations and superb location

  • 4 of 5

Wonderful to have four bedrooms in such a prime location. Circular staircase a bit of a challenge, but we weren't really there much!! A bit hard to reach a local contact when a fuse blew, but all in all, we'd recommend Vivaldi!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Notes

  • Rates Posted are for 4 People; Supplement for 5-8 people. End Clean of €250 added to all Bookings. Accidental Damage insurance of €75 required on all Bookings. 50% deposit at booking; balance due 60 days prior to arrival.
    Credit cards possible.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals