HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Luxury Harbour Front House in St Monans Special Midweek Low Season Rates!

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Living Rooms, Dining Kitchen All With Sea Views

Shoreleave has regularly featured in photographs and paintings of St Monans harbour as a grey B listed three storey building dating back to 1700s in need of upgrading. However Shoreleave is now beautifully upgraded taking pride of place right on the harbour front. The property has been completely modernised whilst retaining many original features including original exposed beams, ecclesiastical stone arch and fireplaces. An original cast iron roll top bath has been added to one of the bathrooms offering a sea view as you bathe! The restorer commented it was the best view he had ever seen from a bath!

On the ground floor there is a very large open plan kitchen, dining and living space with a log burning stove. The dining area can seat 10 people comfortably. The living area has a sofa bed offering additional accommodation. The cloakroom with basin and wc is also on the ground floor. The back door opens out to the paved terrace area with a barbecue, patio table and chairs and potted plants.

The property has three large double bedrooms: one double and one twin on the first floor with an adjoining bathroom. On the top floor there is the second double bedroom with an ensuite double shower room. There is also an additional shower room on this floor. There is a second large living room giving elevated views over the harbour whilst offering additional accommodation on a sofabed.

Seating is available to sit outside at the front of the house whilst soaking in the views or chatting to walkers as they pass by.

More Details

Property Manager
Claire Harvey
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
17 November, 2017

About Claire Harvey

During 2012 this house was loving refurbished by Tom, Claire and many local tradesmen. The house was give the name Shoreleave by their son, who recognised the house as a haven to escape from day to day life. Tom and Claire would like to share their holiday home with you, where they are sure you will enjoy your time amongst the community of St Monans.

Claire Harvey purchased this house in 2012

Location

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Edinburgh
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
Mayview Hotel
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Elie
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Cupar, Leuchars or Kirkcaldy
Nearest Motorway
25 Miles
M90
Nearest Restaurant
50 Metres
Craig Millar 16 West End
Nearest Beach
20 Metres
St Monans
Car: recommended

St Monans is one of the famous East Neuk fishing villages renowned for beautiful surroundings, quiet beaches, great walks and fresh local produce. Shoreleave is a recently restored three storey house overlooking the harbour with the famous Fife coastal path right on the doorstep: turn right and head to Elie, turn left and head to Pittenweem taking in the beautiful seascape all along the route.

The award winning Craig Millar seafood restaurant , The Mayview Hotel and the newly opened Smokehouse offer a great variety of dining options within the village. The local area has an abundance of restaurants to choose from ranging from gourmet to pub grub, all of a very high standard.

The Ardross farm shop and the wholesale fishmongers, both located near the entrance to the village, offer fresh local produce at very reasonable prices. The local shop has everything you need for your stay.

Golfers are spoiled for choice for local golf courses with the famous St Andrews Old Course only 12 miles away. Water sports are available at the famous Blue Flag beach in Elie only 2 miles along the road.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Saint Monans in Fife

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • beach
  • village
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , On the top floor
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , ensuite to bedroom 1
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shared ensuite with bedroom 2 and bedroom 3
    Bathroom 4 - WC and basin on the ground floor
  • All bathrooms have luxury toiletries for guests. Towels are soft, white, fluffy Egyptian cotton.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed , On the top floor with an ensuite shower room
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , Shared ensuite bathroom with luxury roll top bath
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed , Shared ensuite bathroom with luxury roll top bath
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , In the living room on the top floor.
  • All bedrooms are large double rooms with wardrobes and ample drawer storage. Bed linen is luxury Egyptian cotton offering guests the perfect sleeping experience.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Barbecue
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
Notes:
Shoreleave is the perfect place for family and friends to come together to have a wonderful time.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(72 traveller reviews)

86% Complete
11% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Luxury Harbour Front House in St Monans Special Midweek Low Season Rates!
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 72 reviews
5

A characterful retreat

  • 5 of 5

Shoreleave offers a picture perfect harbour, a historic house and a touch of luxury whilst remaining homely.

The house allowed for the three generations of our family to spend quality time together whilst never feeling on top of one another.

The area in general is beautiful offering scenic walks, quirky cafes, country pubs and little galleries.

Simply put this is the perfect place to unwind.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Julie it was a pleasure having you and your family staying at Shoreleave. We are so pleased when guests comment that Shoreleave and St Monans is the perfect place to unwind as this is the experience we hope to offer to guests. You and your family are welcome to come back any time for a holiday at Shoreleave.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A haven by the sea.

  • 4 of 5

We are a group of three elderly couples, friends since childhood, who take regular breaks together. We tend to go west and north, but after our visit to Shore Leave we are all keen to return to the East Neuk.

The house is welcoming and very well provided; beds are comfortable and cooking facilities excellent; we did appreciate the many-ringed hob. Only one kitchen problem: the freezer didn't appear to be working.

Sitting in the upstairs lounge of an evening gave us wonderful views, and we saw some spectacular skies.

Being in our late seventies, some of us found the stairs a bit of a challenge, so we took our time. But they are a most attractive feature, central to the ethos of the building.

The house's location is perfect, and accessible to all the places of interest we visited.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Patricia many thanks for your complimentary words about Shoreleave. We are delighted you enjoyed the ambiance and comfortable furnishings. The views from the windows are indeed spectacular irrespective of the season. I wonder if you perhaps mistook the chilling cabinet below the fridge for a freezer and therefore thought this was a broken freezer? The only freezing facility is the ice box in the fridge. We are pleased you enjoyed the village, particularly as this was your first time visiting the area. We hope you and your friends enjoy many more holidays together.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing house with beautiful view.

  • 5 of 5

The property was very clean with beautiful decor and a view to die for. The coastal walks were very pleasant and visited many coffee shops, especially Cocoa Tree Cafe in Pittenweem, a must for chocolate lovers! Even the weather was amazing!! Would definitely recommend this house.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kathryn we are so pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your first visit to St Monans. We too love the coffee shops and restaurants in the area. You are more than welcome to come and stay again in Shoreleave.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Sadly disappointed

  • 3 of 5

We loved St Monans and the friendly residents. It was great having the post office/store just up the street. The Diving Gannet was a daily visit for amazing coffees. Staying right on the harbour and having all the wonderful paths to walk was perfection. Sadly all six of us from Alberta were disappointed in the condition of the house, problems with lights and fuse box, and odour of exhaust in bedrooms with use of oven. The bannister was unstable and the house wasn't as clean as we hoped. It is a lovely and quirky house with ample room for 6 people or more, handy having two sitting rooms and 4 bathrooms.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lesley we too were disappointed in your communication with us during your stay. You emailed us to say that the lights in the bathroom were not working and you could not find our phone number. The prearrival information we send to guests has two mobile numbers and our phone number is on the website. We subsequently emailed you, phoned the house number and your mobile number but were unable to reach you. When we eventually did manage to reach you we explained that when a light bulb goes out it trips the fuse which has to be be reset at the fuse box and explained to you how to do this- a very simple procedure. Sorry, but I have no idea what you are referring to as ' odour from exhaust in bedrooms with use of oven' and we have never had any guests make reference to any odours. As explained, often grains of stone fall off the 18th century listed stone arch in the bedroom and ensuite bathroom on the top floor due to the age, however this does not constitute a complaint that the house is not clean. Likewise the rope bannister is mainly decorative . We were extremely disappointed that you left it until the night before your departure before informing us that you would be leaving at 4.00am and asking what you should do with the keys- very inconsiderate. Fortunately we managed to make alternative arrangements for the guests who arrived later on the day you departed. Both these guests and the following guests appreciated the quirkiness of the house and all that comes with this and gave a 5 Star review. Perhaps your needs are better met in a new build holiday let.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful view

  • 5 of 5

This home is just what's represented in the offering. It's right on the harbor with the sounds of the waves crashing into the sea wall. A very nice kitchen and living room made this a perfect place to relax.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: David we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Shoreleave- you were perfect guests, welcome back for another stay any time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cheshire
5

Stunning views in the most central location

  • 5 of 5

A very comfy, cosy, exquisite, homely, spacious, well equipped, quirky property which just can't be beaten, but don't tell anyone!

  • Review Submitted: 19-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mhairi it was a pleasure having you and your husband as guests at Shoreleave. We love it when people enjoy the charm of Shoreave and the village. You are welcome back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Saint Monans, Scotland

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winter
29 Oct 2017 - 22 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£330
for 3 nights
From
£110
From
£140
Fri,Sat,Sun
£649
 
 
Christmas New Year
23 Dec 2017 - 3 Jan 2018
4 night minimum stay
£600
for 4 nights
From
£150
£985
 
 
Winter
4 Jan 2018 - 30 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
£360
for 3 nights
From
£120
From
£150
Fri,Sat,Sun
£750
 
 
Spring
31 Mar 2018 - 29 Jun 2018
3 night minimum stay
£390
for 3 nights
From
£130
From
£160
Fri,Sat,Sun
£800
 
 
Summer
30 Jun 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,050
for 7 nights
£1,050
 
 
Autumn
1 Sep 2018 - 31 Oct 2018
3 night minimum stay
£390
for 3 nights
From
£130
From
£160
Fri,Sat,Sun
£800
 
 
Winter
1 Nov 2018 - 21 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
£360
for 3 nights
From
£120
From
£150
Fri,Sat,Sun
£750
 
 
Christmas New Year
22 Dec 2018 - 2 Jan 2019
5 night minimum stay
£850
for 5 nights
From
£170
£1,050
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£330
for 3 nights
From
£110
£649
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £20
Refundable Damage Deposit £100

A deposit of 30% is due on confirmation of the booking. The balance is due 8 weeks prior to arrival with a £100 security deposit which is refundable on departure

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Ask Manager a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals