HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

A Perfect Base For Exploring Skye And The Cuillin

8 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 nights


Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday cottage in Portree - Nyumbani

3 Bedroom Cottage With Loch & Mountain Views

Nyumbani is a traditional single storey Skye cottage situated in its own wrap around gardens overlooking beautiful Loch Harport on the stunning west coast of the Isle of Skye. Nyumbani mean 'our home', in Swahili, and this aptly describes this attractive cottage, with its homely lounge/dining room with open fire, deep leather sofas, family sized kitchen and 3 generously proportioned bedrooms. There is a lovely conservatory that provides a second lounge area, with large flat screen TV and DVD. Doors open onto the fully enclosed gardens that surround the property. Bed linen & towels provided.

  • children welcome
  • pets considered

Diana Gerrard
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
13 October, 2016
Call Owner


based on 8 holidaymaker reviews

A Perfect Base For Exploring Skye And The Cuillin
average rating of 4.125 based on 8 reviews

Comfortable Cottage for Family

  • 4 of 5

The unit was nice with two separate living areas to spread out. The owner and caretaker were extremely responsive as the unit needed attention when we arrived, and everything was taken care of in a timely manner. Both Diana and Keith were very friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay there again. The hiking around the Cuillin Mountains was awesome.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Home away from home

  • 4 of 5

The first thing we noticed was the sign. Or rather, the lack of it. The rain was torrenting down, and if we hadn't seen the picture of the house on the website we'd have driven straight past it. There's a tiny number 5 on the house, but it's not readable from the road, and certainly not in the rain and the dark, as it was when we arrived.

The second thing we noticed was the lack of parking. We'd taken a 9-seater minibus, and there was simply nowhere we could put it. The amount of traffic on the road meant that it wouldn't have been safe to put it in the passing place, and the one piece of ground big enough was too soft and wet to take such a large vehicle. I understand there are plans to rectify this in winter 2016. Fortunately, the very next house has a large tarmac yard and drive and they agreed to let us park by their house. As this was by arrangement with the current occupiers, as it's a holiday home too, this may not be something you'd want to rely on. We had nice neighbours.

Once we got inside, the house was welcoming, roomy, beautifully decorated and furnished, and scrupulously clean. The sun room is marvellous. We had 7 people and a dog, and didn't feel cramped. With 4 single beds, 1 double, and several huge couches, there was lots of room. The entrance through the utility room is a good choice when entering with wet dog or muddy boots, and the washer and dryer saw a lot of use while we were there, as it rained for two days. The kitchen is well equipped for simple cooking and meal prep, although the kitchen knives were quite dull no matter how much I tried to sharpen them. We had to resort to my utility knife to cut some gammon we'd bought for tea, as none of the kitchen knives would cut it.

The price was very reasonable, taken at per person pricing. The views are utterly stunning. Whether you wanted somewhere as a base for exploring, or just somewhere to curl up on a huge sofa with a drink, a book and a world-class view down the valley - this place would be hard to beat. The caretaker is local, and the welcome pack gives all the needed contact details. And a useful bonus - all the appliance manuals!

Tip: take a tarpaulin or plastic sheet - we lay that down in the huge back garden on the one clear night we got, and lay there for hours while the sky filled up with stars.

Superb place, and the owner was very pleasant to deal with through emails. Fix the sign and add some parking and it'll deserve the fifth star.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Comfortable and Relaxing

  • 4 of 5

Very happy with the cottage lovely location .Everything supplied.Couple of issues when we arrived, due to mix up with dates

but after contacting owner these were soon rectified.Not really much locally had a drink in the Inn which was pleasant athough quite busy for food.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to add your review, as we always find the feedback helpful. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and were happy at the cottage, after the initial mix up. I have now resolved to send regular updated bookings schedules to the caretaker to ensure no repeat. I am glad we were able to rectify quickly enough that it did not effect your stay. If you are in the area again, as well as the Inn at Carbost, there is a hotel in Portnalong which also has a bar (which does provide some alternative) - and a bit further away there is the Sligachan, which serves food and drink all day (at least in the summer).
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

One of the best we've stayed at!

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at this place. We have stayed at quite a few VRBO's and the ranks up there as one of the best! Great location and very well appointed. We had all the tools and facilities that a self catering place needs. The sun room was our favorite place to hang out after a day of exploring Skye. Thanks to Diana and Keith for a great place!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time out to submit such a wonderful review. We try hard to keep the cottage to live up to its name, "Nyumbani" which means "Home" - so It is always nice to hear when guests have enjoyed their visit. I am delighted you had such a good time, and that everything was as it should be for you to enjoy you stay on Skye. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are on the Island.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic property on the stunning Isle of Skye

  • 5 of 5

We could not have asked for a better place to stay while exploring Skye!

The house was extremely clean and very spacious for the four of us and the location was perfect. Located only about a 20 min. drive from the Skye capital of Portree, there's plenty to do and see in the surrounding area such as taking a short drive to the beautifully peaceful Fairy Pools or a 5 min ride down the street to the Talisker scotch distillery, the only scotch distilled on Skye.

The host, Diana, was extremely helpful. We got a bit lost once in Carbost (we blame the GPS!) so I called Diana and she was able to provide very clear directions that got us to the place in no time. And once inside, we found a folder w/ instructions on how to use all of the appliances.

This is an absolutely wonderful place set in a gorgeous location and I would recommend it to anyone interested in exploring the Isle of Skye!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, and that everything at the cottage is as it should be. We made a number of improvements over the winter, and they have certainly made the place more homely. I am very happy you had such a wonderful holiday - we will be glad to welcome you back next time you are on Skye.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

great view but....

  • 3 of 5

Really lovely location with a fantastic view, nice sized property with comfy bed, garden enclosed if you have dogs which is handy. The weather for our stay was quite awful, wind, rain and hail most of the time so we were dissapointed to see a note on the fire saying not to use it i think we would have liked to have known this prior to booking as we were fairly cold for our stay as there was a huge draft coming down the fireplace and as the hail was loud on the conservatory roof and the tv out of use in there due to the wind we had to really use the drafty lounge to play our board games.Over all we enjoyed our stay and would visit skye again in the summer.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, and I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay - but am sorry that the fireplace was still out of order during your stay. Over the winter we have had a new boiler put in, so the central heating is working well and we have had a new dishwasher fitted. We have also arranged to have a wood-burning stove fitted and I had expected this to have been done before your stay, but unfortunately it was delayed. We are meeting with the fitters tomorrow evening and expect everything to be finished in the next few weeks. The satellite dish has been stabilised so that the signal does not get lost when the wind blows. That said, there are times when the signal is completely lost across the whole local region if the rain is very heavy. We have been thinking about what we can do to mitigate the effects of this - and we are going to buy some DVDs to keep at the cottage, so that there will at least always be something to watch if the rain blocks the transmission locally. I would welcome a chat with you about your stay, and will send you a separate message about this.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: recommended

Skye is renowned for its climbing and walking and, within close proximity of the Cuillin mountains and McLeod's Tables, Nyumbani is ideally located for this. For those who prefer less energetic exercise there are lovely walks direct from the property, with every chance of encountering a resident otter or seal in the bay as well as the occasional rare sea eagle which are known to nest along this coastline. There are numerous places of interest within easy reach. Talisker Distillery is situated just along the road, and Dunvegan Castle, seat of the Clan MacLeod since the 13th century and the oldest inhabited castle in Scotland is just a short drive away.

The pretty harbour town of Portree is about 20 minutes drive away. Set around its natural harbour, with spectacular hills and mountains beyond, Portree is a quintessentially picturesque fishing village. Brightly painted cottages cluster round the active harbour where some of the finest fish restaurants can be found. along with an excellent selection of local shops, pubs and other restaurants as well as a superb leisure centre with 25 metre swimming pool, sauna, steam room and table tennis, all available to visitors.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Portree, Isle of Skye & Lochalsh

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
1 Sep - 31 Oct
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Christmas & New Year
18 Dec - 11 Jan
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
5 Apr - 19 Apr
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
20 Apr - 30 Jun
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
1 Jul - 31 Aug
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Portree in Scotland

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • 1 family bathroom
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Garden
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • bay
  • churches
  • forests
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • swimming

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties