HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Penthouse On The Piste, Ski-in Ski-out And Top Floor Mountain Views

People10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 645 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Penthouse On The Piste, Ski-in Ski-out And Top Floor Mountain Views

Enjoy mountain views in front of the pistes, our apartment is ideally located – ski hire, restaurants and supermarket are in the same building, and several ski lifts within a stone’s throw.

The apartment is fully renovated, with modern kitchen and bathrooms, wood panelled rooms with comfortable furnishings, and several TV/DVD system for evening entertainment.

There are four bedrooms to sleep 8 people comfortably as well as a double sofa bed in the lounge for added flexibility and sleeping up to 10 people.

There are two double bedrooms, both with their own TV/DVD system. Bedroom 3 and 4 are bunk rooms. There are two luxury bathrooms, one equipped with a shower and one a bath/shower.

The kitchen is fully fitted, with dishwasher, washing machine, fan oven, ceramic hob, and nespresso machine. The Lounge / Diner extends onto the kitchen, giving great open plan space. The terrace has plenty of seating for apres ski aperitif !

As Tignes is car free, you can pull up in front of the building, and our ski locker is just inside the main entrance, and next to the lift, making it very convenient. The Grande Motte public car park is in front of the apartment.

The Sherpa supermarket just opposite the main entrance also has a small bakery offering fresh breads and croissant daily. The pedestrian lift taking you to the centre of Val-Claret is located at the back of our building.

More Details

Owner
The Owner
Member since: 2011
Speaks English, French
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
18 October, 2017

Location

Nearest Airport
130 Kilometres
Chambery
Nearest Golf
1 Kilometres
Tignes
Nearest Ski
10 Metres
Tignes - Rond pointe des pistes
Car: not necessary

Tignes is part of the Espace Killy, over 300km of world class pistes, and seemingly endless off-piste terrain. Our apartment is located in Val-Claret, where the principal lifts are located, giving quick access to the Grande-Motte Glacier and lifts to Val D'isere. There are lifts in all directions just outside our apartment (les Lanches, Tichot, Funiculaire, Fresse). For bad-light days, it is possible to ski down to the tree runs in Tignes Brevieres, or take the bus that stops 100m from the apartment. These buses run daily and nightly through the main seasons, to get to and from events and activities in Tignes Le Lac.

As Tignes is car free, you can pull up in front of the building, and our ski locker is just inside the main entrance, and next to the lift, making it very convenient. The Grande Motte Car park is in front of the apartment. For heavy snow periods, it may be advisable to park in the “Golf” covered parking. It’s a 2-3 minute drive away.

Ski Passes and Parking can be booked online at www.tignes.net, usually from October time. Ski-Set and Ski-Republic (ronde pointe des pistes) are located in our building, for rental equipment.

The Sherpa supermarket just opposite the main entrance also has a small bakery offering fresh breads and croissant daily. There are snack bars and restaurant located in our apartment block and adjacent buildings, and the pedestrian lift taking you to the centre of Val-Claret is located at the back of our building.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Val Claret in Tignes

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 5
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 645 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • resort
Theme:
  • Adventure
General:
  • Lift
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Ski & Snowboard
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski lift pass
  • ski
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(10 traveller reviews)

70% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
10% Complete
Penthouse On The Piste, Ski-in Ski-out And Top Floor Mountain Views
average rating of 4.2 based on 10 reviews
2

Way too cramped for 2 families!

  • 2 of 5

The photos of this apartment make it look spacious but I wish we had seen a floor plan in advance. One large wardrobe to share between 8 people (2 families of 4) is the least I have ever had after 20 years of skiing in The Alps. The WC, bathrooms and bedrooms are all tiny and placed so close together it is very awkward to say the least for 2 families to share. We were all tripping over each other constantly and there is zero privacy for anyone.

Hot water pressure is average although on the upside it was nice to arrive with beds made up etc and supplies for bins and dishwashers were appreciated. The views are great, the apartment is in good condition and it is very well located all of which are positives but we would never go back unless it was with half as many people which makes the apartment extremely poor value compared to others in equivalent resorts we have stayed in with the same convenience..

  • Review Submitted: Feb 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The floorplan is now available on the website, so the separate living and sleeping areas can be seen. The size of the apartment is 60m2, and has always been published on the site. The size of the apartment is exactly double that of 4-6 person apartments in our building, so we feel appropriately proportioned. Tignes Is a high altitude resort, space is at a premium. So if your experience is chalets in low lying resorts, then it is possible you will feel there is less space. Each of our rooms has some storage (chest of drawers in the doubles, under-bed drawers in the bunks), and a large shared sliding wardrobe in the corridor near the entrance for all ski wear. As regards value, we are in line with the overall Tignes standard, although we understand some guests have experienced exchange rate swings (EUR/GBP) of 30% between booking and final payments following the Brexit, so we have reviewed our peak rate pricing for 2017/18.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

A complete rip off in a great location! Hardly any reviews, now I know why!!!

  • 1 of 5

The pictures lead you to believe that you are renting an exclusive "penthouse" apartment tastefully decorated. In actual fact, you have two studio flats (and a corridor) put together with a random layout. The result sadly is an impractical flat where the 2 master bedrooms are next to each other separated by paper thin walls, a toilet right by the dining table, the rooms are so small you cannot fit any of your stuff in them so you have to share the corridor's cupboard with each other. It is also worth noting that one of you will sleep squashed against the wall in both the double rooms (the beds are French doubles 140x200 with only one bedside table and the room themselves are tiny).

The flat is allegedly designed for 8 people. We were two families with 2 kids each and the lack of privacy was often felt. The flat is also not equipped if you want to cook everyday. Not enough knives, no veg peeler, dirty and damaged frying pans and no toaster (we used the oven which is dangerous) It was hard work!! You had to reorganise the lounge when you wanted to sit down for dinner as you couldn't pull the chairs out until the tubs were tucked away. It was a permanent reorganising act to fit everybody and keep sane during simple daily activities like cooking, eating, showering or going to the loo!!! It is obvious to me that because of the size of the flat, members of the same family would have been more at ease than 2 separate families.

The other very disappointing thing was the state of the flat. It was very dirty. We found socks, corn plasters, tissues...The amount of dust was unreal (and not new), duvet covers and towels were bleach stained and one of the kids' duvet smelled of urine.

There were no little attentions that you might expect when you reach these sort of prices, i.e. no hand wash in bathrooms, no welcome pack, no washing powder, only two tiny bin liners (filled within ten minutes of arrival!), only one kitchen towel (always wet), and a broom with a snapped handle (on which I cut myself)...

As for the general working order, the bulb above the shower was broken (so you showered in semi darkness!) another one was faulty and flickered when you showered (not very reassuring!), there was no bulb under the extractor fan in the kitchen (cooking in the dark), the tv in the lounge did not always work (often glitchy) and there were no English channels as advertised.

Great location, but not good value for money or even adequately priced in my opinion.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We review all complaints seriously and have taken a few actions as a result of this review, as detailed below. There are however several false information in this review. We must also emphasise that it is the responsibility of the person booking to share our website link with all guests in the party, to ensure the whole group is happy with the booking. We provide clear photos and accurate information on the site. We have decided though for 2017/18 to reduce the price of certain peak weeks linked to the UK holidays, in view of the weak pound currently following the Brexit. We ask that if you wish to arrive early, and wish to leave bags in our lockers, that it is agreed in advance with local management, this can often be worked out. But it is then important that you then ski for the day and do not return early and pressure cleaners to finish early, and allow the apartment to be quality checked before you enter the apartment. We work with professional management locally, we know them personally and have confidence in the standards provided. Small items can be fixed during your stay, if you tell us during your stay, such as switching the TV over to English, plugging in toasters, replacement crockery… We do not bleach bedding. Some sheets have faded slightly in just one season, so we decided to replace with sheets from John Lewis, hoping for higher quality this time. The apartment is not constructed from two studios. The apartment was in fact the combination, by the building’s renovation architect, of two times two bedroom apartments, and the only one on the same level access. Most guests like the arrangement, especially families, as it separates very well the living and sleeping areas. Please take a look at the photos on the website, they represent very well what is on offer.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Quiet flat in perfect location

  • 4 of 5

Lovely clean well equipped fifth floor flat. Spacious ski locker on the ground floor and Ski Republic ski hire shop and supermarket both within 25 metres of the flat. Perfect location for access to both Tignes and Val D'isere with ski lifts to both very close to the apartment. The flat is in a very quiet part of the village though only half a mile from the centre where most of the restaurants are located. Wifi very reliable and free. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again next time.

(It would have been 5 stars but for the building's maddingly unreliable lift.)

  • Review Submitted: Mar 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic apartment, fantastic location

  • 5 of 5

The apartment is in an awesome location with 4 chairlifts and the funicular within a slow 5 minute walk. The supermarket is directly opposite the front door which offers everything needed for your stay. The apartment was more than adequate for 8 adults and was warm and homely. The management team was waiting for us on arrival and went through the property with us all which as others have said is a great touch. The apartment also has a private secure boot room for all your kit.

Summing up fantastic apartment, fantastic location and would book again for another trip without question.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Happy

  • 5 of 5

The chalet was in a great location. We were also greeted by a member of the property management team at the bus stop which was a great touch. You couldn't really ask for more from this place. Supermarket opposite the main door, chairlift to the left, hire shop to the right and restaurant/bar no more than 20 metres around the corner.

Clean and tidy on arrival and perfect for the 8 of us for the week.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent apartment in great location

  • 5 of 5

Very well equipped apartment with great views over the mountains. Easy access for the slopes and easy access for loading and unloading all your kit.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 8, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Val Claret, Val d'Isere - Tignes - Sainte Foy

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Summer 2017
14 May 2017 - 28 Oct 2017
5 night minimum stay
£766
for 5 nights
£1,072
 
 
Early Season
29 Oct 2017 - 8 Dec 2017
5 night minimum stay
£861
for 5 nights
£1,206
 
 
Week 50
9 Dec 2017 - 15 Dec 2017
5 night minimum stay
£957
for 5 nights
£1,340
 
 
Week 51
16 Dec 2017 - 22 Dec 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£2,010
for 7 nights
£2,010
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
Week 52
23 Dec 2017 - 29 Dec 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
6 night minimum stay
£2,297
for 6 nights
£2,680
 
 
Week-1
30 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£2,680
for 7 nights
£2,680
 
 
Week-2
6 Jan 2018 - 12 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£2,233
for 7 nights
£2,233
 
 
Week-3
13 Jan 2018 - 19 Jan 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£1,742
for 7 nights
£1,742
 
 
Week-4
20 Jan 2018 - 26 Jan 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£1,742
for 7 nights
£1,742
 
 
Week-5
27 Jan 2018 - 2 Feb 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£2,233
for 7 nights
£2,233
 
 
Week-6
10 Feb 2018 - 16 Feb 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£3,127
for 7 nights
£3,127
 
 
Week-7
17 Feb 2018 - 23 Feb 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£3,127
for 7 nights
£3,127
 
 
Week-8
24 Feb 2018 - 2 Mar 2018
7 night minimum stay
£2,993
for 7 nights
£2,993
 
 
Week-9
3 Mar 2018 - 9 Mar 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£2,993
for 7 nights
£2,993
 
 
Week-10
10 Mar 2018 - 16 Mar 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£1,742
for 7 nights
£1,742
 
 
Week-11
17 Mar 2018 - 23 Mar 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£1,742
for 7 nights
£1,742
 
 
Week-12
24 Mar 2018 - 30 Mar 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,742
for 7 nights
£1,742
 
 
Week-13
31 Mar 2018 - 6 Apr 2018
7 night minimum stay
£2,457
for 7 nights
£2,457
 
 
Week-14
7 Apr 2018 - 13 Apr 2018
7 night minimum stay
£2,457
for 7 nights
£2,457
 
 
Week-15
14 Apr 2018 - 20 Apr 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£1,742
for 7 nights
£1,742
 
 
Week-16
21 Apr 2018 - 27 Apr 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,742
for 7 nights
£1,742
 
 
Week-17
28 Apr 2018 - 4 May 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£1,742
for 7 nights
£1,742
 
 
Week-18
5 May 2018 - 11 May 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,429
for 7 nights
£1,429
 
 
Summer 2018
12 May 2018 - 27 Oct 2018
5 night minimum stay
£766
for 5 nights
£1,072
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £446.68

Final cleaning, towels and bed linen included. Changeovers on Saturday.

Damage deposit 500 Euros. We ask a 25% deposit and final payment 30 days before arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals