Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Enjoy Breakfast in your Private Garden, in Amsterdam-Centre (incl.Mon>Fri)

Bedrooms 1
Property type bed & breakfast
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

Awarded B&B Jordaan-room, Private Garden, ensuite Bathroom & Breakfast (Mon>Fri)

Located in the old centre of Amsterdam, at walking distance to nearly every tourist attraction and surrounded by public transport.


Our 2 (-3)p garden room is a room with lots of daylight and a private ensuite garden/gardenview which provides each morning a soft concert of small whistling birds. The room also has a private en-suite bathroom, a dining table for 3p, private coffee/tea facilities and free access to our Wifi-network. On Mon.> Fri.a lovely Dutch breakfast is included and served to the quiet privacy of your room or the gardenseat.

The ‘Jordaan-area’ is a dense patch of small-scale streets and canals peppered with interesting shops, galleries, charming 'hofjes' and inviting brown cafes. Quirky and characterful, with an intimate, easy-going atmosphere of it's own. It was built for workers even before the 'Grachtengordel' (Canal-rings) were completed.


On your day of arrival on request:

- bringing luggage already as early as 8:00 a.m.

- free early check-in already as early as 11:00

- late check-in until 1 hour after midnight

On your day of departure:

- for your (early) departure we can arrange a trustable, normal, cheap taxi to the airporttaxi when needed

- leaving luggage for later is, usually, possible


- On Mondays> Fridays a lovely Dutch breakfast is included and served to the privacy of your room or, if you wish, to your sit in the garden. We offer local breads, cheeses, meats (cold-cuts), jams, orange-juice etc. (If you prefer cereals or a vegetarian breakfast please let us know in advance).

- While serving breakfast I, Charlotte (host& owner), always have plenty of time to answer your questions or, on request, suggest things to do or places to eat. Also on any other hour of the day and in the weekends you are welcome to contact me.

- For breakfast on Saturday and Sunday we offer a list of nice places surrounding our B&B where you can have a lovely breakfast too. Our weekedprices ar therefor no higher then during the week.

- We try to offer a good balance between privacy, attention and help. I do speak several languages (English, French, German, Dutch and a little Spanish and Portuguese) and know Amsterdam well. I’m looking forward to share this knowledge with you.


- For a 3rd person we will add an extra mattress. It will come including everything: cover, sheets, pillow, towel, extra chair & breakfast (Mon>Fri). But please realize that it will be on the floor. (And you can place it against the wall during the day.)

- If your 3rd person is a child (<4y/ >110cm) you can reserve a babycot to be added after you made a reservation for 2p. It will come including everything: cover, sheets, pillow, towel, childseat & breakfast Mon>Fri.

A bed is obligatory starting from 2 years old and the babycot price is 15 eur/n (excl. 5% city tourist tax) with a minimum of 2 nights.


- our listing no. #1081194: 2 (-3)p room with ensuite garden

- our listing no. #1081239: 3 (-5)p room, on the same floor

- our listing no.#310585: For <11p, shows all our rooms.

FOR REVIEWS PLEASE CHECK: our listing no.#310585

More Details

Charlotte van Sante
Member since: 2010
Speaks English, French, German, Spanish, Dutch
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
19 September, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday bed and breakfast around the Jordaan around the Amsterdam-Centrum

Property Type:
  • bed & breakfast
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 11:30
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 3 ...
  • Max. adults: 3
  • Min. age of primary renter: 18
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Drugs are not allowed
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Books ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services


3.4/5 -
(5 traveller reviews)

20% Complete
20% Complete
40% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
Enjoy Breakfast in your Private Garden, in Amsterdam-Centre (incl.Mon>Fri)
average rating of 3.4 based on 5 reviews

Jordaan B&B

  • 3 of 5

The room was very small but clean and tidy. We appreciated the breakfast on the two days it was offered (not on weekends unfortunately). Charlotte was an accommodating host. The location is so convenient to everything but in a quiet neighborhood. We had other travelers with us who stayed in neighborhoods close to ours who paid about the same price and their accommodations were much more spacious and modern and with very nice amenities such as fresh flowers, a bottle of wine, refrigerator stocked with the basics, washer and dryer, restaurant/sightseeing suggestions, etc. .

  • Review Submitted: 01-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Al though the garden room is our smallest, inside, it does offers our guest the biggest amount of space due to the private ensuite garden outside, and lovely gardenview when opening the curtains. :) We’re pleased to read that the room is found clean& tidy, that our location and our breakfast is appreciated, as well as me, as host :). Please know that when serving breakfast, but also in the weekend, I always answer loads of questions as I prefer to do that in person to make sure that the information is precisely adjusted to our guests needs. In the hall we offer in addition lots of travelbooks for those who like to read restaurant and sightseeing suggestions and there is a landromat at a 1 minute walk. I do feel that, as in this review, it is not right to compare our gardenroom (where you can have a lovely sunny breakfast outside in between tulips in May and other flowers in -seasons) to rooms who do not have this lovely extra feature. Which even is verry rare to locals in Amsterdam. I also want to reflect that when comparing ‘city centre rooms’ to rooms in ‘neighbourhoods close by’ one should also take in consideration outside the centre one can NOT enjoy the ‘old beating heart of the city’ with all its canals and tourist attractions at walking distance. That explaines why both real estate and rooms go up 75-200% when entering the old centre. With the smaller rooms in the Jordaan area the money you spent may be the same but your evening walks will be a lot nicer. You may even have a nice private garden to sit in. :) Looking forward to meeting you. Kind regards, Charlotte van Sante Host& Owner B&B Jordaan.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Terrific host and comfortable room in a great location

  • 4 of 5

I cannot say enough good things about Charlotte! She was so nice and accommodating, allowing me to switch rooms for one night with early check in while repairs were being done to this room. When she realized I was working every day and had to leave early, she kindly brought my breakfast to go so i could eat it on the train and on the last day arranged an affordable taxi to the airport. The house is classic Amsterdam, and the rooms she rents are in her own family’s home with a lot of history and authenticity, and does everything she can to make you feel at home. This room is on the ground floor with a very welcome garden plot where you can eat your breakfast and hear the birds sing. It’s a very quiet accommodation, which is a neat trick given the proximity to the trams and buses. I look forward to my next trip!

  • Review Submitted: 18-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great possibilities, big letdown

  • 2 of 5

Location was very good, beds decent, pretty quiet (if you don't mind church bells). Unfortunately the bad outweighed the good for us. First and foremost, the bathroom facilities were terrible. There is a shower curtain, but no floor divider between the shower and the rest of the bathroom, and the drain did not work effectively. Once you take a shower the bathroom floor is flooded and you are walking in water. The owner expected you to use a floor squeegee, which helped a little, but not much. The breakfasts were exceedingly disappointing. Packaged sliced bread, packaged sliced cold cuts, nothing toasted, no hot food, not a single piece of fruit in 4 days. And the "garden" was totally unmaintained. It was all weeds, no flowers, unattractive and unappealing. The place has great potential, but was sadly lacking. The owner did very graciously print several tickets and info for us, for which we are quite grateful, but we would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Review Submitted: 07-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I’m sorry to hear that these guests were disappointed. A flooded bathroomfloor is ofcourse not how it should be and it clearly means that the drain had to be cleaned an extra time, beside the regular cleaning. As we don’t use this shower ouselves it is hard to notice when this is the case. It would have been great if this was mentionned to us immediately as we then could have solved the problem easily. As is on our website we offer a local Dutch breakfast. This does not include toasts (English), or sometimes also expected croissants (French) but it does included local bread, different kinds of local rolls (like white or mais or raisin rolls), oranje juice, local sweetcake known as ‘ontbijtkoek’, jams and different local springels (like ‘hagelslag’, gekleurde muisjes’ or ‘gestampte muisjes’) ofcourse also butter, 3 kinds of meat and 1 or 2 kinds of local cheeses. Then also either boiled eggs or yoghurts or goatcheese with honey. If you also like some fruits for breakfast they can be obtained at the local supermarket at a 1 minute walk from our B&B. We stopped offering fruits after trying to offer it for some time because too much finally was thrown away. Then finally. The garden is a green oasis. It appeals to many, but unfortunately not to all. In spring there are lots of tulips etc. and during the season all plants flower at some point. If you are maybe going to stay with us in the future then please tell us about your experience while-you-are-here. So that we can solve problems, that can be solved, immediately. Looking forward to welcome you in our house. Kind regards, Charlotte van Sante Host and owner of B&B Jordaan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Très bien situé dans un quartier de petites ruelles très agréables et fleuries

  • 3 of 5

Grande chambre au rez-de-chaussée avec jardin. Nous avons apprécié le coin thé-café, les superbes petits déjeuners de Charlotte, le calme, les jolis canaux et ruelles alentour et l'accessibilité de tous les centres d'intérêt.

Petits bémols : jardin pas entretenu du tout - et pas une fleur - contrairement aux photos, salle de bain vétuste avec VMC peu performante et on a senti que le hall d'entrée avait dû recevoir la visite indésirable des matous du voisinage.

  • Review Submitted: 09-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: Homelidays, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Dusseldorf, Germany

Schöner Blick in den grünen Garten

  • 5 of 5

Wir haben zu zweit drei Nächte verbracht. Jeden morgen haben wir auf den grünen "Urwald"-Garten geschaut und uns gefreut. Wir hoffen, dass die Pflanzen so bleiben und noch weiter wachsen. Dies war der Hauptgrund, die Unterkunft zu mieten. Es ist ruhig, nach vorne und nach hinten. Straße ohne nennenswerten Verkehr, keine Touristengeschäfte. Nicht weit kommt man zur Geschäftsstraße, in der es Bäckerei, Eisladen und gute Restaurants gibt. Auch der Weg zur Straßenbahn sowie zum Anne-Frank-Haus ist ziemlich kurz. Leider läuten die Glocken zu jeder halben Stunde, auch die ganze Nacht durch. Im Gegensatz dazu scheint der Flughafen nachts seinen Betrieb zu ruhen. Das Frühstück am Freitag war reichlich. Am Samstag und Sonntag haben wir uns frische belegte Baguettes von der Bäckerei geholt.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: Fewo Direkt, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I’m pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. Sins we own a B&B-room with a private ensuite garden it has become very clear that opinions about gardens are very very different. The same garden can be described by one as a lovely green garden and by another as a ‘not maintained jungle’, This makes it hard to make everyone happy. Some people even don’t care at all what it looks like and only want to smoke a cigarette outside. But I’m happy to read that you fully enjoyed it as well as our location and breakfast (mon>fri). The churchbells during the night can, ofcourse, be bothering. For future guests: Please know that churchbells are a part of the Dutch culture. So it is not just the Westerchurch (at half a KM away from us) . And in Amsterdam, mayve most of all cities, there is no escape as one can hear over a dozen diffrenet churches ringing their bells during the night within the A10- the outer ringway. (Earplugs help many). I hope you'll have a nice stay in Amsterdam Met viendelijke groet (Kind regards) Charlotte van Sante Host & owner B&B Jordan.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday bed and breakfast around the Jordaan,

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Low Season 2018
1 Dec 2018 - 23 Dec 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Low Season 2019
3 Jan 2019 - 1 Mar 2019
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £28 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Administration fee £13.31 + Tax

For a 3rd person we will add an extra matress. It will come including everything: cover, sheets, pillow, towel, extra chair & breakfast mon.>fri. But please realize that it will be on the floor. It can be placed against the wall during the day.
For reservations on New Years Eve (31/12) or Kingsday (27/4) or around these dates (meaning 2 days before/after) we require a minimum of 4 successive nights.

If your 3rd person is a child (<4y/ >110cm) you can reserve a babycot to be added after you made a reservation for 2p. It will come including everything: cover, sheets, pillow, towel, childseat & breakfast mon.>fri.
A bed is obligatory starting from 2 years old and the price is 15 eur/n (excl. 5% city tourist tax) with a minimum of 2 nights.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals