Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

004 Spectacular Views Sliema 1-bedroom Penthouse

Bedrooms 1
Space 484 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights


About the property

Duplex 1-bedroom Sliema Penthouse, set in a quiet residential area, enjoying panoramic views of the Sliema town itself from it's terrace. Having an open plan kitchen living with a terrace for outdoor entertainment and a bathroom with main bedroom on the 2nd level.

A corner away from the sea-front, this penthouse is the perfect property rental for people looking for a central area yet a quiet residential zone for resting at night. One has easy access to explore the rest of the Island. Just cross the street and you get to the bus stop. One side takes you to the St Julians & Paceville and the other takes you to Valletta from where you can take a bus to everywhere.

For those looking for a relaxing holiday just 5 minutes away you get to promenade and the beach (white rocky one), the surf lido and a lot of restaurants are just a street away. Enjoy walking along the sea-front promenade and try some of the best restaurants and pubs along the way. Also if you are into shopping you will find Bisazza Street, Tigne Point and Plaza Centre are all walking distance from the apartment.

This penthouse is on the 3rd floor. It Consists of an open plan kitchen/living/dining with fully equipped kitchen leading to a sunny terrace with spectacular views of Sliema with all its churches coming out majestically from the buildings.

Then upstairs, served with a spiral stairs one can find the main bedroom and yet another small terrace with views. The bathroom is situated on the lower floor next to the living area. Cable TV and Internet are complimentary.

During the day one can lay out to enjoy our beautiful sun and enjoying stunning views while in the eve one can stay out relaxed having a BBQ enjoying the panorama.

Please note that the rental price does not include the Environmental Contribution tax, introduced on June 2016 amounting to €0.50c per night up to a maximum of €5 for each continuous stay in the Maltese Islands. This applies for 18-year-old and older.

More Details

About Us

Ralph Vella
B1, Windgates, Triq it-Torri tal-Kaptan
NXR 2152 Naxxar
Shortletsmalta Ltd, C58929
Property Managing letting company. Direct from owner and no agency fees.
VAT Reg NoMT 21150205

Property Manager
Speaks English, Russian, Italian, Maltese
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
18 July, 2018

Guestbook comments from the manager

what can i say. the experience we had with ******* and the owners where fantastic. we received a call to welcome us and a call at the end to make sure everything went smoothly. the property it self was amazing. spacious and clean. beds are a little soft for my liking but that is a personal issue from my end. it is about an 8 minute walk to the restaurants and bars. there is a local mini shop around the corner for all local groceries. the beach is about a 15 minute walk to st thomas bay. would definitely stay back there. thanks again
Sep 2012
  • 1 of 2


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Saint Julians in Sliema

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 484 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • near the sea
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bath towels are provided at no extra cost. All our towels are professionally cleaned.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Fresh linen is always provided. All our linen and duvets are professionally cleaned. Cots and high chairs are available at no extra cost. Please advise when booking.
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Barbecue
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • cinemas
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • swimming
Duplex 1-bedroom Sliema Penthouse, set in a quiet residential area, enjoying panoramic views of the Sliema town itself from it's terrace. Having an open plan kitchen living with a terrace for outdoor entertainment and a bathroom with main bedroom on the 2nd level.


3.8/5 -
(5 traveller reviews)

20% Complete
60% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
004 Spectacular Views Sliema 1-bedroom Penthouse
average rating of 3.8 based on 7 reviews

Wonderful views!

  • 4 of 5

Great views with pretty much 360 degree views combined with the multiple balconies (across 2 floors). Modern place. We ate dinner on the balcony and watched the fireworks go off for the festivals. It was such a great trip!

  • Review Submitted: 25-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for time and interest in posting a review on our property. We greatly appreciate the favourable comments and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
West Midlands

Convenient and ticks the boxes

  • 4 of 5

The apartment is very convenient for Sliema, five minutes from the ferries and bus stops. Being near the top of the hill and for that matter the top of the building means it offers very good views. However as other properties in the area are building upwards these views are getting less as time progresses. There was damp on the wall by the window, no real problem though. BY far the biggest problem was the wind noise. When the wind blows from the north west something resonates near the corner of the building and it sounds like a 'wookie' with stomach ache. This is loud enough to drown out the TV, air conditioning etc even in the bedroom. That being said, we only had a couple of days of wind and only one sleepless night of it.

Several people have complained about the electricity usage, well we were there for two weeks over Easter. The weather was good and we ran the air conditioning about an hour or so each day, we used about half our electricity allowance. Hottest time of the day in the flat was mid to late afternoon with the sun coming through the big window, so coming home at that time really needed the air con to cool the flat, once that was done, opening the windows to let the breeze through kept the temp down to acceptable levels.

Parking is a problem, if you have a car. But we never ended up parking more than about 3 minutes walk from the flat (Remember we were there over the Easter).

The internet is not fast (2Mb) but reliable and did the job.

The awning on the top balcony was in a sorry state, torn, broken, and hung over the satellite dish. I suspect the damage was caused during the winter by severe winds. It looked dangerous but in fact didn't move at all over our stay even with the two days of high winds.

We had a great two weeks with no serious complaints about the apartment. I would recommend it to anyone. The views are good though the balconies do catch the wind. It is very convenient for shops, buses, ferries etc.

  • Review Submitted: 01-May-2014
  • Date of Stay: April 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Nice and clean flat with views

  • 4 of 5

Nice apartment, clean & reasonably comfortable, as it's been said already, except the couch, which was so soft you sunk in it. The pictures are true to reality, the three terraces are nice and when it’s sunny the flat has a marvellous light. We stayed there in December so I have to say it was a bit cold, but there is heating (air conditioning) and we found that the amount of electricity included in the rent was sufficient to keep the flat warm when we were there. The bedroom is situated up the spiral staircase which is quite steep (not suitable for people with walking difficulties, nor for young children) while the bathroom is downstairs (the bathroom is new, comfortable and with hot water available all the time). The kitchen is electric, all appliances are as described and are new and in order, also we found a bit of detergent and kitchen towels, very useful. The flat is on the third floor, no lift, it’s situated in a quiet street close to shops and amenities, 5 minutes walk from bus stops and waterfront, very close both to the Strand and to Balluta Bay (more interesting area for restaurants/bars). We had rented a car and managed to find parking spaces nearby – but I am not sure it would be so easy in high season. No problems with the owner, reliable and relaxed.

  • Review Submitted: 09-Jan-2014
  • Date of Stay: December 2013
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Very nice and sunny place!

  • 5 of 5

We would recommend this sunny penthouse. The apartment has its own private terraces one with beautiful views. Also the kitchen is fully equipped to try own cooking, however the area is full of restaurants as well.

Everything in the apartment was fine. The property was clean and well-maintained. The owner provided good customer service as well the he organised us airport transfers which were ideal for the hot days of summer. Would definitely recommend it for future visitors.

  • Review Submitted: 08-Oct-2013
  • Date of Stay: August 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

it was a pleasant stay

  • 2 of 5

It was a nice apartment, clean & reasonably comfortable except the couch, which was so soft you sunk in it. The bedroom was situated up the spiral staircase which was so narrow & quite steep - you had to be very careful when coming down.

We were there early August, so it was very hot. The bedroom was like a sauna from the afternoon onwards and you needed to have the air con on all night just so you could sleep. Except when we arrived, we were told by the manager that we had a limited use of free electricity & if we were to exceed that amount we would have to pay the difference.

So there is an electricity meter in the living room which counts down as you use it. This really surprised us because there was no mention of this on their website. We were very reluctant to use the air con, which made it very uncomfortable. We made a complaint about the bedroom being so hot, so a maintenance man came & said he would bring us a fan which did help a little.

It would also be nice to have had some bottled water provided for us, may it be for a cup of tea or for a cool refreshment.

One complimentary bottle of water would have been brilliant, but don’t expect it upon arrival or at all.

I know I am complaining a lot, but if you've been out all day in the sun & when you come home you should be able to switch the air con on without having to worry about the meter counting down.

I’m sure the apartment is great in the cooler months but I personally would definitely not recommend staying at the duplex penthouse in the hotter months.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Aug-2013
  • Date of Stay: August 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, Thanks for your support, however it is well known that penthouses are hot in summer and cold in Winter, there is not other definition for penthouses. Also as for the electricity meter we do describe it in the advert and on the booking contract that any client signs prior booking so it is up to the tenant's discretion to read it through before signing it as once signed it it means that it is all known and agreed from the client's side. If that was omitted we have not blame in that. Also the apartment was quite central and chops walking distance away so buying a bottle of water was quite an easy task to do to as well.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2


Nearest Airport
12 Kilometres
Malta International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.9 Kilometres
Nearest Ferry
9 Kilometres
Valletta grand Harbour
Nearest Golf
9 Kilometres
Marsa Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
0.9 Kilometres
Nearest Beach
0.9 Kilometres
Sliem Sea Shore
Car: not necessary

Sliema was once just a fishing village on the north-east coast of Malta but later on it started to become popular for the wealthy Valletta residents who built summer residences here.

The commercial centre is The Ferries - in the days before regular bus services, the Ferries used to connect Sliema to Valletta. Nowadays the Harbour Cruises and Gozo Tours set off from there and there is still a Ferry to Valletta. There are also a number of cafes and shops patronised by locals from all over Malta as well as tourists.

Though to the given modern twist due to newly built apartments one could go into the side streets where there are many of the town`s authentic houses which are now under preservation orders. There aren`t really any historical sites apart from the Churches.

Full of shops, entertainment establishments, rocky beaches and best of all the 5 km long Sea Front Promenade with a number of bars and restaurants with plenty of seating all along. There are beach lido`s and Water Polo clubs that offer all amenities and a large pool to visitors, also facilities for Water Sports. It starts from St Julians Spinola Bay to Manoel Island in Marsamxett Harbour .

The Sliema promontory has stunning views of Valletta on one side with open sea on the other. Along the Promenade one can enjoy the lovely view of our Mediterranean sea, with some bays and inlets. There is also a garden along the sea shore - lovely for relaxing.

There is only a small sandy beach, but the limestone beach is excellent for sunbathing and there is easy access to the sea. Nothing beats a dip in the blue sea! Sliema has the advantage of a good bus service with direct buses to most places of interest.

In Summer and fine Winter days, whole families congretate on the Front for a leisurely evening or afternoon. It is also serves as a meeting place for the locals. Whenever the sea is rough in winter, it`s awsome to see the huge waves pounding the rocky beaches.

Sliema adjoins St Julians and although they have very different cultures and share the Promenade , in a way they can be considered one big town.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Saint Julians, Island of Malta

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Season 6
24 Jun 2018 - 21 Jul 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Season 7
22 Jul 2018 - 26 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Season 8
27 Aug 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Season 9
1 Oct 2018 - 5 Nov 2018
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Season 10
6 Nov 2018 - 14 Dec 2018
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Season 11
15 Dec 2018 - 10 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £267.16
Stay tax £0.45 per night, per person. This amount will be due to the manager upon arrival. Does not apply to children under 18 years.

Minimum booking is four nights, prices will be quoted pro-rata according to the season. Deposit of 40% is required on confirmation. Preferred deposit payment methods are by bank transfer or by Pay-Pal. While the remaining balance is to be settled ideally 4 weeks prior arrival.

Alternatively, the reservation can be made via homeaway family site/s. Please do note that once this option is selected there will be a 3% booking fee added to the quote due to site processing fees.

A refundable breakage deposit of 300euro is to be paid on check in either to be settled by visa or cash. The security deposit will be refunded via credit card if paid as such after a maximum of 30 days. Or via bank transfer - if paid in cash - with bank charges incurred to the beneficiary bank account [should s/he not be in SEPA country] after a maximum of 15 days. Thus the beneficiary bank details will be required to refund the deposit.

Due to cleaning necessities the check-in time for the apartments is generally 2.00pm and the check-out is at 10.00am however if there are no arrivals on the same day the apartment can be kept for longer.
Also please note that the price being paid for the property includes basic utilities
- 100KWh- for 1 bedroom apartment
free per week with the apartment which is more than sufficient for a weekly stay. However if the inclusive amount of KWh will be exceed, an extra charged will apply at a rate of 0. 35c per KWh. Other than that there are no other hidden expenses or charges.

Cleaning of the property prior the arrival and after departure is included in the price. Any extra cleaning during accommodation will incur extra charges. Two sets of towels per person and one set of linen per bed is also provided by us, then it is up to one's discrepancy to wash them as much as desired.

Long lets also available rates upon request from owner.
Apartment also available for long term booking of 6 months period maximum with a monthly rate, in such case utilities will not be in

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Manager a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals