HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

10 Bedroom Exclusive Swiss Property With Private Harbour On Lough Derg

33 Reviews
Bedrooms 10
Separate WC's1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
1 - 7 nights


Photos and Description of this 10 bedroom holiday villa in Urra - Ceaparana

10 Bedroom, 8 Bathroom, Sauna, Games Room, situated on private 130 acre Estate

If panoramic views, spacious accommodation and luxurious living are on your list of 'must-haves' when looking for a holiday rental, then Ceaparana (ceaparana.ie) in Co Tipperary, is just for you. This is the ultimate property for a family gathering, small wedding, special occasion or get-together of a large group of friends.

Nestled in 130 acres of private grounds, Ceaparana is a unique modern, 10,000 sq.ft. residence located on the shores of Lough Derg with a capacity for up to 22 people. Built to exacting standards, the property is the result of the ingenuity of its previous Swiss owner.

Ceaparana comprises mature gardens and woodland, enjoying magnificent views of the lake. Ideal for boating enthusiasts, it also includes a private deep-water harbour and boat house with full use of Ireland's Shannon Waterway.

The house itself is built over 3 levels, finished to a high specification with underfloor oil-fired central heating. The ground floor comprises a large open-plan living and dining area with spacious conservatory, kitchen, WC, two bedrooms and a bathroom.

The living room has a unique chalet style, wraparound wood burning fireplace with ample comfortable seating and large plasma TV with satellite channels. Within the same room, the custom-built large wooden dining table can accommodate up to 20 people all within the backdrop of Lough Derg through the large windows surrounding the living area.

The large kitchen, also overlooking the lake, has an Aga style oil fired range, providing a wonderful cosy atmosphere both during the summer and winter months, plus the most perfect round table with built in seating. There is also a wooden steak/pizza BBQ built into the kitchen providing a unique cooking experience.

Just off the kitchen is the real gem; a fully glazed conservatory/sun room which can be completely opened with the doors drawing right back. This is a fantastic place to have meals but also to relax in the warm south facing aspect.

The top floor comprises 5 extensive, newly renovated en-suite bedrooms, 3 of which have panoramic views of the lake below. These rooms are truly spacious and full of natural light.

The garden level of the house comprises 3 further bedrooms and two bathrooms, two games rooms (one with Nintendo Wii and the other with a snooker table and table football), a modern sauna room including jacuzzi and cold tub, laundry room and wine cellar/store room.

The garden and grounds are extensive. There is a lighted Bocce court, which can ignite some great family rivalries, a lighted path through the trees to the lake shore area which has a further BBQ area overlooking the private harbour and boathouse. Along the 1 mile lake frontage, there is a wooded path and fantastic exploring for children.

Situated 7 kilometres from Dromineer and just 12 kilometres from Nenagh, Ceaparana is less than 45 minutes drive from Limerick City and two hours from Dublin. Shannon Airport lies just 75 kilometres from the property, which has direct flights to the US and UK.

More Details
  • children welcome
  • pets considered

Anne Ashe
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
14 October, 2016
Call Owner


based on 33 holidaymaker reviews

10 Bedroom Exclusive Swiss Property With Private Harbour On Lough Derg
average rating of 4.878788 based on 33 reviews

Absolutely Fantastic

  • 5 of 5

What a fantastic time we had. The house and grounds very beautiful with loads of space for our large family group. From playing pool in the games room. lazing in the hot tub to boating on the lake, we had it all. And we had the weather on our side too.

I would really recommend this house to any family wanting to spend some quality time together. That's certainly what we had.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic Family Reunion part 2

  • 5 of 5

This was our second visit to Ceaparana, having stayed in August 2013 (with our family spread across Ireland, England and Zambia we don't get to have reunions very often!).

Please read my review submitted on 15 August 2013 - the only point I would add is that, after three years, the house is even better than before! In my experience holiday homes often become run-down over time, but not Ceaparana - it has been well maintained and even improved since our first stay. The introduction of a gas braai (barbecue) up at the house is a great addition and we made good use of it!

Once again, I would highly recommend this property to any large groups looking to stay under the same roof.

Mike S.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Mike Thank you so much for the lovely review and I'm so glad that you found the house to be even better this time!! We are constantly trying to improve every detail and I'm so glad it hasn't gone unnoticed!! Very best wishes and we hope to welcome you back again some day. Best Anne
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A beautiful, well equipped house, with a stunning view.

  • 5 of 5

We were a party of 17, ages ranging from 10 - 84, and Ceaparana was perfect for all our needs and especially for a surprise party to celebrate my mothers 80th birthday. The house is situated in beautiful grounds with a breathtaking view over Loch Derg that is stunning even on a wet and grey day.

The house is fabulously well equipped for a large number of guests and so we never ran out of crockery or cutlery, and the extra fridge and freezer in the utility room is an added bonus. The conservatory over looking the grounds is a wonderful place to sit at anytime of the day, and was particularly perfect when the BBQ was lit and the older members wanted to sit in doors.

We used the pool table and dart board in the evenings for 'friendly' competitive games amongst the adults, but tended not to use it during the day as the room is on the lower floor and feels a bit gloomy. We only had a chance to use the sauna on the second from last day, at which point we discovered it wasn't working, but once we contacted Aine she had someone out to fix it the very next morning. We were disappointed that we didn't have any usable life jackets available until the last day, so only got to use the boat once, but what a memorable day, and though it requires strong rowers we all had a fantastic day taking it in turns to go out rowing on the lake. The flat grass area outside the conservatory was perfect for badminton, and we used it daily, but the footballers in our party were disappointed that there wasn't a large flat grassy area for football, but they enjoyed themselves by playing tag through the grounds. We had a great night using the fire pit down in the woods and the kids and adults loved toasting marshmallows. Overall we had an amazing week at Ceaparana perfect for the able and the less able in our group and absolutely perfect for a large family gathering. Finally huge thanks to Aine for creating my mother a stunning birthday cake, and for sorting out any problems quickly.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review, I hope you know how much we appreciate it. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the house and benefited from all the grounds has to offer as well as the house. I also wanted to take the opportunity to thank you for your patience when you had to wait for the lifejackets and the issue with the sauna. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Ceaparana sometime in the future. With warmest regards. Anne
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fabulous family villa

  • 4 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Ceapearana. Although we wish the weather would have cooperated a bit, we were able to enjoy the outside a few times. Our group was aged 2-89. The main reason we booked this house was due to the large dining room table as we love to eat together and play games/cards. We also needed large bedrooms for the families with little ones. The property is very beautiful. The kitchen well equipped and the bathrooms are gorgeous. The bedrooms on the ground and 1st floor are exceptional with comfy beds. Our group did not like the basement rooms as they were cold with a few spiders. So, everyone stayed above ground to sleep. We only used the jacuzzi tub once. Sauna not at all. The property is centrally located, but if I were to return I would stay here if I wanted to do things by Lough Derg. The constant travel of 2 hours to sightsee was a bit wearing on our tiny tots. Staying put in the house and surrounds would have been great!!! We did not use the boat,but we wanted to. No motor, so muscle is needed. We wanted to fish, but the poles were not usable, and this disappointed the fishermen quite a bit. We called numerous people that advertise fishing tours on the lake, went to pubs to ask, and nothing came through. Perhaps we were there at the wrong time in June. This was a disappointment for sure. If you are wanting to fish, my advice is to plan and secure this ahead of travel!! The housekeeper Aine was delightful and makes superb baked goods she also provided us with catered lasagna that was quite good. Definitely try her cakes if you can....AMAZING!

Be sure to plan on paying for the electricity and oil. This was new for me. But Aine provided meter readings and all went as we were told. Our refund of security less the electricity/oil was complete within 2 days. I all, I would recommend this house and would return myself. Hopefully, our small disappointments can help inform you so you can make your trip perfect.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Suzie, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review, as I'm sure you appreciate this greatly helps our business. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the house and found it to be a good base. I regret that you did not see the text in our T&C re the additional cost for the utilities and I appreciate this is not a nice 'surprise' to get at the end of your trip. I will endeavour to make this more clear to future guests so this situation does not arise again. I agree with you that for people visiting during the summer high season it is advisable to book fishing in advance. Our ever helpful House Manager Aine is always happy to make recommendations for this. Yes we do have a row boat at the house but really this is for the hardened fisherman as you suggest! I really do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back some day and once again thank you for drawing our attention to some matters that I might be able to make more clear for future guests. With best wishes Anne & Simon
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fabulous Rental

  • 5 of 5

This was a fabulous house with loads of space and amenities. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were a group of parents and children ranging from age 1.5 - 50 and there was something for everyone! The kitchen is well stocked, the rooms large and clean and the view from the lake was gorgeous. The management were friendly and easy to deal with and always available should there be any questions or concerns. I would definitely recommend this place and we hope to stay there again.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

This was a beautiful home with lots of space - and very clean and plenty of equipment in the kitchen. We traveled with 10 Adults and 7 children age 3 to 14 It has a great children's space that is equipped with gaming systems and toys, and they didn't forget the 'Adult kid' section, that has pool table and a great sauna that was used everyday.

The home does sleep more than 22 that is reported on the website ' we could have slept 28 (Ask the owner if you need more beds) it was great ! and we still had loads of space - we all said our rooms were very quite even when the children were active downstairs.

Just a reminder- do a good shop at the grocery store - its about ten minutes away :)

  • Review Submitted: Jan 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
75 Kilometres
Shannon Airport
Nearest Barpub
4 Kilometres
Kennedy's of Puckane
Nearest Train
12 Kilometres
Nenagh Train Station
Nearest Motorway
14 Kilometres
M7 at Nenagh
Nearest Restaurant
7 Kilometres
Car: necessary

Day trips can be organised on the lake and also day trips with local tour companies to see the many sights along the Shannon river and its surrounds.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in Urra, Ireland

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Low 2016
10 Sep 2016 - 20 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Christmas 2016
25 Dec 2016 - 25 Dec 2016
1 night minimum stay
New Year (3 nights)
30 Dec 2016 - 1 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
January Special
2 Jan 2017 - 15 Jan 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Low 2017
16 Jan 2017 - 6 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Mid 2017
7 Apr 2017 - 26 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Peak 2017
27 May 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £445

The minimum rental fee for the property is €1,990.

For weekly rentals outside Peak time, changeover day can be any day except Saturday.

A deposit of 30% of the total cost is required to confirm every booking.

Full payment for the booking is required 60 days prior to arrival.

A security deposit of €500 is required upon full payment which is returned with 7 days of departure minus utility costs.

The rental rate does not include the cost of Electricity or Oil. Please enquire about expected utilities costs for your period when booking.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund for cancellations more than 0 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Urra, Ireland

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 10000 sq. ft.
  • 3 stories
Location Type:
  • rural
  • waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 20 people
  • 7 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 5 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 6 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 7 - Toilet
    Bathroom 8 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • 10 Bedrooms, Sleeps 22
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 3 Single Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 6 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 7 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed
    Bedroom 8 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed
    Bedroom 9 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 10 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Games
  • Boat
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Veranda
  • 6 garden chairs
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Sauna
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • forests
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • swimming

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties