HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

SANTA MARIA - Charming apartment in the heart of Trastevere. Wi-Fi available

Bedrooms 1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights


Minimum Stay
3 - 5 nights

About the property

Bright and comfortable apartment, suitable for 4 persons, in the heart of Rome

This apartment is located in an enviable position, just right in the picturesque Santa Maria in Trastevere square, the heart of this popular area. The view from the living room is amazing: you can see the beautiful church and hear the sound of the water from the fountain. The flat has a modern décor and it comprises a very bright living room with sofa bed for two, dining space and kitchenette and bathroom with bathtub. The double bedroom overlook a quiet side street so you can enjoy a good night sleep. The apartment is surrounded by many local conveniences and it is in a pedestrian area so it is perfect for a family with children.

Distance on foot:

Piazza Santa Maria in Trastevere - 0 minutes.

Tiber Island - 2 minutes.

Piazza Farnese - 3 minutes.

Campo de 'Fiori - 4 minutes.

Piazza Navona - 6 minutes.

Pantheon - 8 minutes.

Fori Imperiali - 10 minutes.

Mouth of Truth - 10 minutes.

Colosseum - 12 minutes.

Vatican City - 15 minutes.

Trevi Fountain - 20 minutes.

Spanish Steps - 20 minutes.

More Details

Property Manager
WeeKey Rentals
Member since: 2010
Speaks English, Spanish, Italian
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
20 January, 2017


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(19 traveller reviews)

SANTA MARIA - Charming apartment in the heart of Trastevere. Wi-Fi available
average rating of 4.3157897 based on 19 reviews

This apartment is extremely well located but noisy.

  • 2 of 5

We were met in a timely manner by a friendly and accommodating representative. But, the apartment had not been cleaned and, three hours later it still was not cleaned. After a second phone call it was cleaned promptly.

The apartment is somewhat dingy in appearance and not terribly well appointed (no carpets, adequate furniture, dim lighting in the bedroom). The noise level in the evening (amplified music) in the piazza below makes it impossible to enjoy being in the living room with the windows open. The sound is muffled, however, when the windows are closed. The bedroom, toward the back, is quiet. No washing machine.

Although the general location is wonderful, I would not return to this apartment.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: hello check in is possible after 14 hours but if guests arrive earlier we let them in to drop the luggage and take the keys so it can happen the apartment is not cleaned yet. the flat overlooks the beautiful Piazza S.Maria in Trastevere that can be noisy but bedroom is on the back of the flat so it is quiet as you said. We didn't advertise the property with washing machine...
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Central, Massachusetts, USA

Great place just outside the city center!

  • 5 of 5

The apartment was located in a great area. Very safe - We never felt threatened or unsure of the area. The food offerings in the area were great. The apartment is within walking distance to everything. EVERYTHING !. The rental company was great to work with. We had a minor plumbing issue during our stay and called Rafaella about it. We left the next morning to tour and by the time we returned the issues was fixed as if it never occurred.

Everything you need for a stay in Rome is in the apartment; dishes, flatware, pots and pans, linens, hair dryer, iron. Its a home away from your own home. There's a little convenience store around the corner where you can get all your necessities to "live" in Italy, during your stay.

Even the 3 flights of stairs didn't bother us. It was a giggle at the end of a long walking day to count the stairs as we headed up to our apartment. The apartment was very clean and orderly. The rental company set us up with a driver (Daniele) to bring us to and from the airport; I highly recommend this. He was waiting right outside the airport with a sign and carried my luggage for me to the car.

We ran into a banking snafu upon arrival, but both Rafaella and Daniele worked with us as it was eventually worked out.

If you rent this apartment, you for sure will not be disappointed. You will definitely feel Italy when you rent this apartment as opposed to staying at a hotel. You're immersed in the culture and get to practice your Italian.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location but management company has hidden fees!

  • 4 of 5

We loved the apartment and our view! However, the property management company that rents this property has a 60 Euro fee that is in addition to the price for cleaning. They also require a CASH 200 Eruo deposit that they will return to you, but was unexpected based on what was on VRBO.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: hello we are glad you enajoyed your stay. The, additional cleaning fee and the security deposit are clearly shown on the website, sorry you didn't read that
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fort Lauderdale, Florida


  • 5 of 5

The location could not be beat! We had a hard time finding our building at first because the person was about 15 minutes late to let us in but besides that, everything was perfect!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: thank you
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A wonderful base for our 4 day trip to Rome

  • 5 of 5

A charming apartment in the most wonderful location. In a very old building, spacious and spotlessly clean. Picture book view from the sitting-room window (even better in real life). Nice welcome from the laid back Rafaelle at check in. Very comfortable bed. Quite a climb on stairs up to the third floor and noisy and often slow plumbing were the only minor drawbacks.

Staying in our own home from home in Trastevere added greatly to our Rome experience. Great restaurants and bars.

Highly recommend this apartment.

  • Review Submitted: May 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Perfect location

  • 4 of 5

Very nice apartment. Perfect location. Noise from the square was not as bad as feared and bedroom is facing the court yard. Would have given 5 stars had we had 2 keys.

Karen and Michael

  • Review Submitted: Apr 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: thanks, we could have provided 2 set of keys if we knew in advance...
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: not necessary

The heart of the area is Piazza Santa Maria in Trastevere, nestled in the beautiful accommodation seventeenth century. The fountain at the center, the octagonal basin, is the work of Carlo Fontana.

Santa Maria in Trastevere was the first church in Rome to be dedicated to the Madonna, perhaps the first open for worship, certainly one of the oldest in the city.

It was founded by Pope Callistus I on Taberna Meritoria, exploiting the legend according to which, in 38. C., miraculously, the oil gushed in that place and came to the Tiber, announcing the coming birth of Jesus (today it would be a miracle indeed valuable, because, probably, it was oil!). The church was born on the place where the oil gushed, still listed in one of the steps of the chancel.

To give shape to Basilica was Pope Julius I in the fourth century, in the ninth century Pope Gregory IV, under the looming danger of the Saracens arrived on the Tyrrhenian coast, extended upheld because the bodies of saints rescued from the catacombs.

The Basilica was rebuilt in the twelfth century by Pope Innocent II reusing materials from the Baths of Caracalla. New changes affected the church between 1500 and 1700 and one of these interventions Carlo Fontana, who created the porch and changed the facade. Not much remains of the most ancient phases: a strip of the floor of the third century and the bell tower of which peeps un'edicoletta in 1600 depicting the Madonna and Child made of mosaic.

Three times during the Holy Years, Santa Maria in Trastevere replaced the Basilica of St. Paul Outside the Walls: twice due to the epidemics that broke out in the Roman countryside and the last time in 1825, after a fire had almost completely destroyed St. Paul.

In the backdrop of the square, on the right side of the Basilica joins the House of the Canons, and on the left is the Palace of San Callisto: he was once a Benedictine monastery attached to the church, can be seen today in the seventeenth century facade restored in 1800 and in 1900 . On the same side is the palace of the Knights (or Leopardi), with the characteristic ashlar and the Baroque portal.

The square, as the entire neighborhood has become a point of reference for nightlife of the Romans, tourists and a meeting place regardless of age or nationality. Trastevere offers endless entertainment possibilities: from the opportunity, in the summer, to 'camp out' under the stars with a cool drink and a guitar, the idea of ??a dinner in a gourmet restaurant or in a historic pizzeria, the shopping opportunities in small shops delicious!


Prices & Availability


    This amount depends on the destination and the number of guests, it must be paid in cash at the arrival:
    1-2 persons = 60 Euro
    3-6 persons = 80 Euro
    7-15 persons = 100 Euro

    200 Euro to be paid at the arrival - this amount will be returned at the end of the stay, after verification of no damages in the apartment.

    Check-in time: Monday - Saturday 2:00 pm - 9:00 pm.
    Sundays, other festivities and after 9:00 an extra fee of 25 Euro will be asked.
    Any day after 12:00 am: an extra fee of 50 Euro will be asked.
    Check out time: 10.00 am.

    Cancellation before 30 days of arrival: 90% refund of total price.
    Cancellation before 5 days of arrival: 70% refund of total price.
    Cancellation after 5 days of arrival date or in case of no show: no refund.
  • Non-contractual booking deposit: 30.00% rent
  • Contractual booking deposit: 30.00% rent
  • Damage deposit: €200.00
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Trastevere in Rome Province

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Forms of Payment:
  • accepts credit card
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 65 m²
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bidet
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Living room - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • children welcome
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties