Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Private Studio Condo, Oceanside Pool, Great Location & Best Value, WiFi, A/C

People2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 420 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2), Cal-King Bed, Garden/Mtn. views, Great Pool

This studio condo is a well-decorated, newly refurbished 2nd floor (top floor) unit. It is in the most PRIVATE area of the small (80 units) complex. The FLOOR-PLAN is better than the 1 BR units at Kona Shores--this Studio has an entry into a vinyl-floored hall, a separate room kitchen on the right and a large bathroom with double sinks on the left. The living area is carpeted, having two areas, a Dining area and an offset space for the king-size bed. A pleasant, private deck overlooks landscaping of two properties; it is far from any building, and (in Winter) has a view of Mt. Hualalai. This unit is in the northwest corner of the facility, furthest from busy Alii Dr. and nearest the ocean. The ocean-side POOL is perhaps the best for size and VIEW on Alii Dr.

This livable unit has new kitchen and bathroom flooring, newer cabinets, carpet, vertical blinds, and a modern gas stove. Lighting and fixtures were upgraded in 2015. The sleeping area is offset from the dining area and includes a king-size bed, 2 chests of drawers and wall reading lights above the bed. It has a wall air conditioner, more than adequate for the space.

The Dining area has a round glass-top table and four chairs; two padded chairs--one a recliner; Cable TV, a wall mount flat-screen TV with extension and rotation, DVD, and VCR; and two bar stools at the pass-through to the fully equipped kitchen.

The bathroom is sizable and has DOUBLE sinks, two Large wall mirrors with vanity lights; and a NEW tub shower. The very private deck looks out onto the tops of golden-fruited palms, complete with green day geckos and a variety of birds. In Winter the view of Mt. Hualalai is particularly clear. Lanai furniture includes a love seat, coffee table, and one padded chair.

The ASSIGNED parking spot is nearby, on the way to the Pool, which is right on the ocean with great views of sunsets, ocean, and Kailua Pier. It is a wonderful place to relax and read. Also, the resident's BBQ area, including tables in a covered area, and the grass recreation area are not far from the pool. The commercial type laundry is on the way to the parking lot.

The Condo is at Kona Shores which is 1 mile south of Kailua village (immediately south of Sea Village) on the ocean-side of Alii Dr. The address is 75-6008 Alii Dr., Kailua-Kona, HI 96740 . We also have a Tropical Garden 1 BR corner unit very nearby at Kona Shores (VRBO #9673) if you would like a larger unit.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Owner
Glen
Member since: 2001
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
21 July, 2018

About Glen

Ginny is now a retired Nurse, having practiced in several specialties and taught Nursing at the College level for many years; 20 yrs at San Jose State Univ. (Professor) and Sonoma State Univ. She loves out-doors, back-packing, swimming, and since our Honeymoon (photo) snorkeling. Glen is a retired business executive of Pharmaceutical and more recently Biotechnology companies. He has a pharmacy degree and an MBA. Growing up he participated in several sports and later focused on water-skiing, snorkeling, and back-packing. Both of us were born in California--she in Oakland, he in Santa Cruz. We both attended college at UC Berkeley and UCSF. Glen got his MBA at Harvard. Our most favorite vacations are to Ginny's family cabin in Yosemite and our Hawaii properties. We live in a house that we completed building in 2000 on Glen's family mountain-top property in Soquel (Santa Cruz), CA

Glen purchased this condo in 1994

Why Glen chose Kailua-Kona

Over the years Glen traveled to Hawaii many times, mainly Oahu, Maui, and Kauai. Ginny and Glen went to several Hawaii islands on their Honeymoon in 1985. (Picture is at Kona Village) We have owned a time-share in Waikiki, a lovely condo at Poipu Beach in Kauai, and several vacation and long-term condos on the Big Island. Our favorite place to visit became Hawaii for the sports (e.g. snorkeling), sites all over the island, variety of scenery, birds, and the fact that this island is not yet ruined by Tourism and population. We now own properties only in KONA.

What makes this condo unique

Since 1985 we had been coming to Kona Shores annually. In 1994 we decided to buy in this complex. We searched only the North wing as it was the most private area and had good garden views from the decks with lots of landscaping (and a parking lot) between the unit and the buildings of the property north of us--quite private and quiet! Being almost furthest West also separated us from the noise of busy Alii Dr. Also, we liked the floor plan--much better than the "1 BR" units at Kona Shores (where you enter into the bedroom, and the kitchen and living room are one and the same). The Studios have an entry Hall, with a separate room kitchen on the right and a sizable bathroom on the left. The living area has the bed area offset so you don't notice it when you enter from the front door--and get to look through the dining area to the glass slider door of the deck and out to the tops of Golden-fruited Palms.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We really enjoyed your place. It's nice and clean and close to all that Kona has to offer. We had a great time on the Big Island. We had not been there since we were married in October of 2003.
Jun 2010
  • 1 of 6

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo in the Kailua-Kona in the North Kona

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 420 sq ft
  • 2 stories
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Long Counter with two sinks and Vanity Mirror for full length. Shower/tub combined.
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
  • King size beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Player
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Barbecue
  • 2 deck chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Assigned Parking Space, Laundrette nearby in facility

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(44 traveller reviews)

59% Complete
40% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Private Studio Condo, Oceanside Pool, Great Location & Best Value, WiFi, A/C
average rating of 4.590909 based on 50 reviews
5

The rental condos is very good and very clean, there is all that you need. The location was perfect

  • 5 of 5

The rental condos is very good and very clean, there is all that you need.

The location was perfect.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place great people awesome atmosphere

  • 4 of 5

Would be 5 stars but the water in the shower is a bit cold

  • Review Submitted: 25-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The hot water heater of the Condo Association for our wing pilot light went out, and it was difficult to get started. Problem was solved in a day or so. Glen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Relaxing get-away

  • 4 of 5

Facilities are a bit older and shows. But the furnishings were very complete. Everything, including AC and fans all worked. Complete kitchen. We BBQ'd every night and swam everyday in the pool. Everyone was very friendly. Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Review Submitted: 30-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The complex is older, built in late 50's I think; the benefit here is the best ocean-side pool right on a lava point with vision from your lounger. Also, the unit is new in most of the features. New shower/tub and surround; new stylish lights over wide double-sink mirror; new vinyl flooring in kitchen and bathroom; new lighting between kitchen (over bar pass-through with two barstools); new king-size mattress/box springs (2 years old); all cabinets were new, good quality 20 years ago when we bought the studio--and doors and surfaces refurbished last year (2017); two new rattan swivel seats, one a recliner 3 years ago; new TV. Glass-top dining table and 4 chairs are classic and in good condition. The only other items that aren't really new is the carpet (which we didn't think needed renewing this year), and the outdoor carpet on the covered Lanai--which should be renewed. The facility is certainly a bit older, but the furnishing are in great shape. Maybe they aren't stylistic for the younger generation!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great

  • 5 of 5

Been to Hawaii many times great place to stay

  • Review Submitted: 10-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

5 weeks of fun, sun and relaxation in a very clean and quiet condominium.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our 2016 stay in this condominium so much that we returned for a 5 week stay in 2018. We had so much fun this year that we are already planning our return visit next year. The condo was clean and well equipped for our visit. The new bath tub was a welcome addition since our last visit. The laundry facilities (one floor below) are very clean and well maintained. The caretakers keep the grounds spotless. The pool and communal BBQ/recreation area was very clean and well maintained. Some of the chairs and recliners around the pool do need to be replaced as they are past their best before date.

Unfortunately this complex does not allow barbecues at the condos but we did meet a lot of great people at the communal BBQ in the recreation/pool area. The deck on the West side of the condo is shaded by Palm and Banana trees so there is some relief from the hot afternoon sun. The deck was the perfect spot to sit with a cup of coffee to start the day. We like to walk and we shopped daily at the market a mile North (towards downtown Kona). There were great deals on locally grown fresh produce, especially if you like tropical fruits. Some of our family stayed at another condo in this complex and they are planning a return trip as well.

The internet equipment was upgraded since our last visit and the WIFI worked flawlessly. There were plenty of movie channels to select from on the days/night we stayed inside during rainy evenings.

There were plenty of fans and an air conditioner for those few nights when the weather was hot and humid. We slept soundly in a very comfortable king size bed. There was plenty of towels for the beach and bath as well as linens for the bed.

We have been visiting the Hawaiian Islands since the early 1980's and Kona has become our go to winter vacation spot. We have yet to be disappointed during any of our visits to the Big Island of Hawaii.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to next year’s vacation in Kona. I would recommend this condominium as a great vacation stay.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great, personal review. A point of information: The communal BBQ is available to residents for personal use--sign-up on the chalk board. Bring charcoal and lighter fluid. Guest is correct; no BBQ on Condo decks or patios in your unit. Glen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

We enjoyed swimming in the swimming pool and watching all the boat activity.

  • 4 of 5

We had an enjoyable time.

We did want you to know that the toilet seat inside the tank leaks and so it kind of flushes once in a while. We thought you should know because it would save you some water if it was fixed.

  • Review Submitted: 15-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This Condo unit has been updated in most respects, e.g., newly refinished kitchen and bath cabinets, new vinyl flooring in kitchen and bath; new tub and tub surround, new mirrors and vanity lights above DOUBLE sinks; new mattress on king size bed; addition of ceiling lighting in pass-through between kitchen and dining area. We'll replace toilet as it seems problematic.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Kona (Keahole) Airport
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Bongo Ben's
Nearest Beach
3.5 Miles
White Sands and Kahalu'u
Car: recommended

Great snorkeling at many spots within 5 miles; others within 20 miles--best in HI. Good local beaches and one world class beach within 25 miles. Small town atmosphere with reasonable restaurants and shops. Picturesque walk along main drive, many areas open to ocean. Unspoiled!

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday condo in the Kailua-Kona, Big Island Hawaii

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Summer 2018
1 May 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
3 night minimum stay
£230
for 3 nights
From
£46
£385
£1,348
 
 
Ironman 2018
1 Oct 2018 - 16 Oct 2018
6 night minimum stay
£620
for 6 nights
From
£88
£678
£2,320
 
 
High season 18/19
15 Dec 2018 - 15 Apr 2019
6 night minimum stay
£620
for 6 nights
From
£88
£678
£2,320
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£331
for 3 nights
From
£80
£620
£2,085
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £83.75 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £152.28

$200 reservation & Security Deposit should not be subtracted from Final Full Payment; returned after visit
Full payment is due approximately 30 days (1 month) in advance of arrival date.
Ironman dates are High-Season
Cancellation: Deposit will not be returned if cancellation is within 60 days of arrival date. Rental payment will not be returned if cancellation is within 30 days of arrival date.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals