Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Great Vacation Home in Ft. Morgan! 2 BR with Pool and Golf Cart

Bedrooms 2
Separate WCs1
Space 1,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Great Place for Families. Unit Includes Private Pool and Golf Cart

This duplex is new to the rental market. The unit is located in Surfside Shores, a quiet, secluded subdivision in the Fort Morgan area of Gulf Shores. Just a few steps (.3 mi or 4 minute) from your front door to the Beach. A golf cart is available for help with moving your shelter, chairs, coolers, kids, etc. to the deeded beach access (just a reminder: AL law specifies no motorized vehicles are allowed on any AL beach). A two-person kayak is also available for guest use. No busy commercial congestion or large condominium complexes. Relax on the covered front deck or enjoy the back deck and pool that is shared between the two duplex units. Find shells, watch for porpoises and swim in the clear blue waters of the Gulf.


Located 9 miles outside Gulf Shores, the area offers great Golf Courses, Shopping (including the Tanger Outlet Center in Foley) and 'Waterville USA'. In Fort Morgan you can dine at local favorites Sassy Bass, Behind the Pines and Tacky Jacks 2. In Gulf Shores 'Lulu's', owned by Jimmy Buffett's sister Lucy is kid friendly and a favorite of families. Be sure and stop in next door at 'The Track' and take a ride on the go-carts and bumper boats. Don't forget to check the 'Hangout' for good food and live music.

“Damn the Torpedoes! Go Ahead!” (usually paraphrased as "Damn the Torpedoes, Full Speed Ahead") is the famous line shouted by Admiral David Farragut in a brave moment on his way to Fort Morgan. The Fort is one of the two forts that protected Mobile during the Battle of Mobile Bay. The Fort dates from 1812. A museum offers displays of Civil War artifacts and tours reveal the history of the fort from the War of 1812 until its final closure by the Army in 1946. On the beach, visitors will find cannons gazing out to sea. After touring the fort, there are opportunities to stroll the white beaches, swim, fish or crab, shell hunt, and sunbathe. This spot is a favorite with birdwatchers, who have been known to make rare sightings of migratory birds.

Recreate among endangered species and migratory birds. Over 4,000 acres of beach dunes, scrub dunes, fresh water marsh, salt water marsh, and Maritime forest make up the Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge just west of Gulf Shores. This coastal Refuge is part of the Central Gulf Ecosystem Unit and provides refuge for the endangered loggerhead sea turtle, the endangered American alligator, and the rare gopher tortoise. Part of the migration route of the monarch butterfly, the Refuge is also known for its more than 120 species of birds - making it a paradise for bird watchers. Along with birding, the refuge offers opportunities for hiking, swimming, photography, collecting sea shells, and boating. Fishermen enjoy both fresh and saltwater fishing.

Ride the auto ferry to Dauphin Island for a tour of the SeaLab and historic Fort Gaines. Birdwatching and sunbathing are two of the favorite activities on this island paradise. The Audubon Bird Sanctuary, at the east end of the island, extends over 164-acres of maritime forest, marshes, and dunes. A campground and hiking trail are part of the Sanctuary, giving visitors opportunities to spend time observing the neotropical migrant birds and native wildflowers. In the spring, the park is visited by bird lovers anxious to view the annual bird migration.

More Details

Robyn Hulsart
Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
15 July, 2018

Why Robyn Hulsart chose Surf Side Shores

This property was purchased and updated due to its ideal location for vacations. We believe we have amenities included in the rent that, in many instances, would have to be contracted for at additional cost. A newly constructed 8x16' pool set in a 24x32' deck, 2 person kayak and golf cart give visitors many options to explore during your stay. We would love to welcome you to Drift Aweigh Beach House (see our FB page). Let us know what we can do to insure you have a great stay.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Surf Side Shores in Gulf Shores

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq ft
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Bunk Bed
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(18 traveller reviews)

88% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Great Vacation Home in Ft. Morgan! 2 BR with Pool and Golf Cart
average rating of 4.7222223 based on 18 reviews

The Best Vacation!!

  • 5 of 5

We had the best vacation! The house was great it had everything we needed! The pool was a plus with our 3 kids. The owners stopped by our first day there and were so nice! The golf cart was great to have to take everything to the beach. We took the golf cart to the beach everyday and parked it so we didn't have to walk to the beach! We took everything to the beach our first day and set up our tent and chairs and left them on the beach until our last day there no one bothered anything. The beaches were not crowded at all it was very laid back. We will definitely be back next year! The only thing we will change is we will stay longer next year!!!

  • Review Submitted: 25-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. It was great getting to spend some time with the family. Let me know if we can help with a longer stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tell City, In


  • 5 of 5

Let us first start by saying the homeowners Bruce and Robyn were above and beyond amazing!! The even joined us for our grandsons 4th Birthday were we enjoying cake,presents and laughter. Our family we be forever grateful for the hospitality and lifetime friendship ❤️There home at Surf Side Shores has all the amenities you will need to make lasting memories! From the comfort of the home,pool, golf cart and easy beach access!

This was the perfect family getaway!! If you are looking to enjoy beautiful secluded beaches and superior hospitality then this is the place to visit! We are already planning our next visit.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for inviting us to the birthday party. We had a great time. Love that you had a great vacay! Can't wait for you to come back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful, Clean, Private Pool, Close to Beach!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had the best time at this property. It was beautifully decorated, super clean, had everything we needed, and so close to the beach. We loved having the golf cart to go back and forth to the beach. Our daughters loved the pool our back too. It all felt so private and secluded, just what we were looking for! We drove into gulf shores one day to shop and eat, only about a 15 minute drive. I don’t say this often because I always like visiting new places, but we will be back to Fort Morgan and will stay here again!!!

  • Review Submitted: 06-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kerry, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you guys in the future. Thanks for sharing your experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect place to stay for families.

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic place to stay and relax with the family. Very clean, plenty of room for our family of four. Pool on the back deck was really convenient for the kids to jump in and chill out. Literally a minute drive to the beach on the Golf cart. I would hop on the golf cart myself and wander around the neighborhood. Beach was very nice and had it to ourselves quite a bit. Robyn was a fantastic host. Had zero problems. Our neighbors Roger and Barrett were so friendly, really wish we could have spent more time with everyone. Thanks again and we hope to see everyone next year.

  • Review Submitted: 24-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you chose us for your vacation stay! Glad the kids had a good time! Can't wait to see you again. Stay in touch!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Mid-May stay at Drift Aweigh - could not have asked for more!

  • 5 of 5

This was our first trip to the Gulf Shores area and we could not have been more pleased with Fort Morgan and our stay at Drift Aweigh!! Everything match the description of the listing and the reviews and we are so glad we skipped the high-rise condos, asphalt and tourist trap of the main strip. Just a fast twenty-minute drive from all the hub-bub you will find this quiet, comfortable and CLEAN unit, it was perfect for our one week stay! The golf cart, in-deck pool and outdoor shower were the extras that set this rental apart and the private beach access kept us out of the crowds. Robyn and Bruce were wonderful hosts and just a few miles down the road this time of year IF we would have needed anything, which we didn't because everything was great! Will highly recommend Fort Morgan and Drift Aweigh to all our friends and family, hope to make it back again soon!

  • Review Submitted: 18-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was wonderful getting to share your vacation! Don't be strangers! Let me know if we can help with a stay in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Ad at the time of booking was misleading!!!

  • 1 of 5

The original ad we booked this vacation home NEVER mentioned it was a DUPLEX or mentioned sharing the pool or decks. You will notice the ad was changed the day we checked out!!! and is now listed as a duplex. The original ad did not allow pets. Once we arrived and found out we were in a duplex we were completely disappointed. After going into the unit we noticed the blinds did not operate and texted the owner, they came to look at the blind and mentioned it has happened before. The owner also told us they NEVER rent out the other side because occasionally some friends who are having a house built stay in the other unit and when they stay you won't even know they are there, they will not use the pool or decks so you will still have your privacy. Well the friends showed up later with a dog, they did use the pool and the decks, the golf cart for that unit did not work so they disconnected the charger for the golf cart for our unit. NEEDLES to say we did not enjoy our stay. I would not recommend this unit to anyone, had we known this was a duplex we would have rented a different single dwelling. Again we are very disappointed and will use a different service from now on.

  • Review Submitted: 16-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. We have been expecting you to share your thoughts after confronting the neighbors and demanding they leave and threatening the poor review. While some of what you say is true, I feel the need to share the rest of the story. You mention that the ad never indicated the unit was a duplex. The first line of the description says, “This duplex is new to the rental market”. The ad also states, “Relax on the covered front deck or enjoy the back deck and pool that is shared between the two duplex units”. You allege we changed the advertisement on VRBO after you left to indicate the unit is a duplex. This is not the case. I am certain VRBO has a time stamp on changes made to the narrative that will clearly show that your assertion we have not represented the unit as a duplex is not true. It is true that you texted about the blinds on the slider going to the pool and yes, we did say that it happens quite often. Because that is the primary access to the pool, they are used so much that we know that about every second guest will need the blinds replaced. We do this without hesitation. Our texts indicated that you were fine with the blinds as they were until we could get them changed out. Once we had the replacement blind, I sent a text letting you know that we were ready to replace and you just needed to give us a time that would be convenient. You never responded so the blind was replaced as soon as was practical. While we were discussing the blinds I did indicate that we do not advertise the West unit and use it for friends and family. At that time I also indicated that our young friends that are building in the neighborhood would be coming and staying for a short while. After your confrontation with them they assured me that they were not there to, nor did they, violate your space or privacy. It is my understanding that they did not use the pool until after your stay. The changing of the battery charger from one cart to the other for a short time to trouble shoot the one cart would in no way adversely affect your ability to use the cart. As for their dog, they asked. We are generally open to dogs that are well trained and that the owners will take responsibility for. I am very sorry you feel your vacation stay with us was unacceptable and am very glad that you had the chance to leave the review voicing your concerns. We are always willing to correct any deficiencies but at this point do not feel that any changes are warranted or needed.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Nearest Ferry
8 Miles
Dauphin Island
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Kiva Dunes
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Sassy Bass
Nearest Beach
0.3 Miles
Car: necessary

Surfside Shores subdivision is located at mile marker 8, 12 miles from the intersection of HWY 59 and HWY 180 (corner between Walgreen's and Rouse's Grocery Store).


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £94.48
Property Damage Insurance £44.59

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.