HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Beautiful 17th Century Thatched Cotswolds Cottage (Barn Conversion)

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,022 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Sleeps four, two double bedrooms (king size beds)

We do accept two night stays - please contact me for a rate.

We accept payment by credit card - please email me for details.

Our cancellation policy is as outlined in our rental agreement (not as stated on the HomeAway website).

The Old Cider Press is the middle cottage of a Grade II listed barn conversion dating back over 300 years. Cosy and welcoming, nestling in the breathtakingly beautiful village of Stanton (AONB). Be transported back hundreds of years and shed the stresses of daily life in this enchanting base for a relaxing break.

The cottage has many interesting features, with beams and oak floors throughout there is much to make you feel welcome. On the ground floor we have two double bedrooms in which we have quality furnishings and Dorma bedding, both have King size beds. The bathroom is also on the ground floor and has a newly fitted thermostatic shower which is over the bath - we have constant hot water and good pressure. We provide Egyptian cotton towels for the use of our guests.

On the first floor we have a cosy living room, with free BT Vision (On Demand, catch up BBC iplayer and ITV net player), we have a DVD player with a wide selection of DVDs, books and games. We also have free WIFI (internet access). The dining area has seating for four people and we have quality crockery and Villeroy & Boch cutlery. The kitchen is equipped to a high standard.

There is a spiral staircase up to a mezanine floor (galleried area) which has a comfy armchair if anyone should feel the need for some solitude:)

We have a patio area in the cottage garden which is a peaceful and tranquil retreat, here you can listen to the church bells ring, horses trotting by, sheep in the nearby fields, add to this the beautiful birdsong, and it is easy to understand how the charm of this beautiful village envelopes you, eases the mind and lays claim to your heart

More Details

Owner
Mrs Gray
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
22 August, 2017

What makes this cottage unique

BT Vision package including BT Sports

Superfast fibre optic broadband (free)

Guestbook comments from the owner

Spotlessly clean cottage, we didn't want to go home.



Hope to stay again as soon as we can.



Many thanks for the little touches - much appreciated.
Aug 2012
  • 1 of 5

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Stanton in Stanton

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1022 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Babies in cribs are fine. The layout of the cottage is not suitable for children under 7.
Location Type:
  • village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Thermos Flask
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • Excellent quality thermostatically controlled shower, good water pressure. Egyptian cotton towels.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , King size bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , King size bed
  • Both bedrooms have quality bedding and mattresses, bedside cabinets with lights, dressing table, mirror and double wardrobe. Comfortable and relaxing decor to enhance your stay.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Garden
  • Patio
  • Veranda
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Children over 7 years old welcome, or babies in a crib/moses basket. We do not have safety gates etc.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(55 traveller reviews)

94% Complete
3% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful 17th Century Thatched Cotswolds Cottage (Barn Conversion)
average rating of 4.927273 based on 60 reviews
5

Simply Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

The Old Cider Press is quite simply the most beautiful, welcoming and lovingly prepared holiday cottage that we have ever stayed in!

Furthermore, it sits in the most beautiful surroundings of Stanton........what a find! How lovely also to find a welcome pack awaiting us........We will of course be recommending to friends and just like Shwarshiwhatsit "We will be back" Roy & Ivy Jennings and Bethany Pritchard (Granddaughter).

  • Review Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so very much for taking the time to give us this fabulous review - of course I wholeheartedly agree with all you say - but then I am biased😁 I think it really does give future guests that little bit of extra confidence to come and stay at The Old Cider Press. You have been a pleasure to deal with and I truly hope to have you, your family or friends stay with us in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderfully charming Cotswolds cottage

  • 5 of 5

This precious cottage was everything we hoped for and more! It's clean and comfortable and has all the modern amenities, while maintaining the country charm of the Cotswolds. The owner was attentive and responsive (although we had no issues!) She left a great welcome pack that included bread, eggs, and a bottle of wine - a great treat after a long day of travel. The house is located very close to several towns that have several restaurants and shops. All in all, I highly recommend!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Nice cottage. shame about the housekeeper!

  • 3 of 5

The cottage was well situated in a picturesque location easily accessible to Broadway and surrounding villages. It has all the charm you would expect of a 17th century thatched cottage, and whilst small was more spacious than anticipated inside with fair sized bedrooms and bathroom and upstairs an open plan lounge/diner and kitchen.  It was clean, comfortable, and all linens and towels were provided..  A most welcome and thoughtful treat of wine, cake, bread, milk & eggs awaited us.  We couldn't find the binoculars or coffeemaker as listed however we found the kitchen to be fairly well equipped with the basics.  It was nice to have off-street parking.  The garden area is tiny but has a set of 4 chairs/table if the weather is kind.  The beams and spiral staircase are easy to bash a taller head upon but the rest of the cottage was easily navigated.  The Wifi signal is excellent with a convenient computer desk for laptops.  There's no mobile phone signal inside the cottage, but we managed to get one bar of signal outside.  Whilst we would have liked to have a full length mirror, the wardrobes helpfully had plenty of hangers.  Although we enjoyed our stay at the OCP, we were dismayed to get an abrupt email from the owner on our departure saying the cleaner had complained about us. We were accused of not having run the dishwasher (we absolutely had), leaving rubbish (instructions said not to place food in the outside bins so we separated recyclables and bagged the food waste in the small bag provided) not washing up cups well enough (hot soapy water and many years of experience say otherwise) and not placing items back (I plumped cushions, made beds, tidied up, emptied waste paper baskets, folded towels... you get the idea).  As seasoned holiday cottage renters staying in many places over the years, we are well aware of the etiquette to leave the place as you find it.  Being tidy and respectable folk this unfair and nasty criticism left an unpleasant taste and would make us hesitate to recommend OCP. We felt it was unprofessional and discourteous considering that we had done everything asked of us and beyond. The owner has since acknowledged that the comments may have been miscommunicated and that the rubbish disposal instructions were indeed missing, however with a lack of apology the damage has been done and I would urge anyone renting this beautiful little cottage to ensure they take photographs upon departure lest they need prove their innocence!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Your review left in the OCP guest book (dated 25 July) "A truly beautiful cottage which is well equipped, clean and comfortable. Nestled in stunning surroundings. The owner was very helpful when booking and we loved the kind and thoughtful essentials left to greet us - these touches really make a difference. We would recommend The Old Cider Press to anyone and we have had a lovely stay - Thank you!" Thank you for taking the time to leave the above excellent review in our Guest Book in the OCP. The review you left on the website is somewhat different - however it was after I contacted you with the contents of my housekeeper's email and also to express my disappointment regarding the way the cottage was left: "Last clients were messiest that we have experienced at OCP , bags of empty bottles and rubbish left in kitchen, dishwasher full and took ages to finish , crockery left on drainer not very clean" Our housekeeper owns and runs a maintenance and cleaning company here in The Cotswolds and you are the first guests she has felt the need to contact me about. I will rely on the ability of future guests to compare your review with the other 54 5* rated reviews we have received.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Saint Johns
5

Who could ask for more

  • 5 of 5

First for the basics. The listing was completely accurate, the property was immaculate, the owner was very helpful and responsive to communications. Of the three HomeAway properties we stayed at this one was absolutely the best. Here's why ... The cottage was charming and very well equipped. The beds were nice and firm ... no morning backaches. There was a nice roomy parking space. The village was quiet and picturesque with an excellent pub/restaurant within easy walking distance. It was very conveniently located to Broadway for shopping and restaurants. We loved The Swan in Broadway. In fact we went back a second time the food was so good. The best meal of the trip was at Buckland Manor. It's quite pricey, but we thought it was well wort it. We came for the gardens and timed our visit to coincide with the NCS open gardens weekend in Stanto which was outstanding. Hidcote Gardens is spectacular and very close. I wish I had time to get on a horse as there was an excellent stable in the village. The only disappointment was the day we went to Kenilworth to see the jousting. It wasn't awful. We just felt the time would have been better spent elsewhere. In short, I will definitely recommend this propert to anyone I know planning a trip to the area.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful cottage in a great village.

  • 5 of 5

The Old Cider Press was everything we wanted for our stay in the Cotswolds. In the great little village of Stanton, away from the tourists and tourist traffic. 2 miles from Broadway. Most mornings horse riders would pass our window. This was our base for 5 days and from it we visited approx. 20 villages in the Cotswolds. Our host Ann gave excellent directions to get there. Also dealing with Ann when making enquiries,the booking and payments was very easy. The cottage is very cosy,well supplied and decorated tastefully. Another good factor is that the bedrooms are on the ground floor so no need to haul suitcase upstairs. This would suit seniors. Would recommend cottage and location highly.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to give this wonderful review. I am always delighted to know that you have had such a good time - I agree there is something quite special about hearing the horses go clip clopping by. We are in such a tranquil location and just 10 minutes away from the quaint tea rooms and shops in Broadway. You have certainly made the most of our great location- most folks say they wish they had stayed for longer. We are always striving to make sure the cottage is as welcoming as it can be. You have been a delight to deal with and we hope to see you back again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

An amazing experience in a beautiful property

  • 5 of 5

Staying in this property was like a fairytale come true. The property was perfectly appointed and Ann did everything to make us feel welcome and at home. The village itself is simply breathtaking and is perfectly located for exploring the Cotswolds.

Unforgettable!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
50 Kilometres
Birmingham
Nearest Barpub
300 Metres
The Mount Inn Stanton
Nearest Ferry
200 Kilometres
Portsmouth
Nearest Golf
1 Kilometres
Broadway
Nearest Train
13 Kilometres
Evesham
Nearest Motorway
13 Kilometres
J9 M5
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
The Mount Inn Stanton
Car: necessary

Stanton is probably one of the prettiest and most idyllic villages in the whole of the Cotswolds (AONB). Little changed in 300 years it nestles beneath the slopes of Shenbarrow Hill. It has a very pleasing long main street with several delightful corners where the ancient houses are built in typical Cotswolds style with steeply pitched gables, mullioned windows and glowing honey coloured limestone walls.

Copy and paste the link to see what 'The Telegraph' has to say about Stanton

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/travel/destinations/europe/uk/southernengland/11400492/Cotswolds-pub-walks.html

The village boasts two magnificent manor houses as well as a restored medieval cross and a church dating back to the Norman period.

There are numerous lovely walks including the famous Cotswold Way – which traverses for 100 miles between Chipping Campden and Bath goes through Stanton. We also have a cricket ground where the local villages compete regularly throughout the summer.

The Mount Inn pub/restaurant stands on a hill at the top of the village with spectacular views across the Vale of Evesham towards the Malvern Hills & even the Black Welsh mountains beyond. On a summer's evening it is the most perfect spot to watch the sunset & enjoy a pint of Donnington Brewery's finest ale.

The Guild House in Stanton runs many courses and 'quiet days' - well worth a visit.

Steam Train

Ever wanted to drive a steam engine? Hire the train, have dinner – take a read – lots of trips to go on – the train station is a 10 minute drive from Stanton.

The list below is a very small sample to give you a glimpse of the wide range of attractions and activities that are available in and around the Cotswolds . Tourist Information centres are located in all the main North Cotswold towns.

From Stanton by car (minutes)

Bath (2 hrs)

Batsford Arboretum (13)

Bibury (47)

Blenheim Palace (1.5 hrs)

Bourton on Water (24)

Broadway Centre (10)

Broadway Golf (10)

Broadway Tower Country Park (15)

Castle Combe (1hr 38 mins)

Chedworth Roman Villa (45)

Cheltenham race course (30)

Chipping Campden (20)

Cotswold Farm Park (Adam's Farm) (20)

Cotswold Water Park (50)

Hidcote (10)

London (2.5 hrs)

Moreton in Marsh (30)

Oxford (1 hr)

Prescott Hill Climb (20)

Snowshill Manor & Garden (15)

Stow (20)

Stratford-upon-Avon - Shakespeare country (45)

Warwick (50)

Winchcombe (Sudeley Castle) (15)

Winchcombe Walking Festival

Activities available in the Cotswolds include walking, cycling, horse riding, golf, swimming and rock climbing. There are also a number of spas located in beautiful surroundings.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Stanton, Gloucestershire

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
August
1 Aug 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
2 night minimum stay
£240
for 2 nights
From
£120
From
£140
Fri,Sat,Sun
£840
 
 
September
1 Sep 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
2 night minimum stay
£240
for 2 nights
From
£120
From
£140
Fri,Sat,Sun
£840
 
 
October
1 Oct 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
£200
for 2 nights
From
£100
From
£120
Fri,Sat,Sun
£700
 
 
November
1 Nov 2017 - 30 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
£180
for 2 nights
From
£90
From
£110
Fri,Sat,Sun
£630
 
 
December
1 Dec 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
£180
for 2 nights
From
£90
From
£110
Fri,Sat,Sun
£630
 
 
Christmas & New Year
22 Dec 2017 - 3 Jan 2018
2 night minimum stay
£330
for 2 nights
From
£165
From
£165
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
January
4 Jan 2018 - 31 Jan 2018
2 night minimum stay
£170
for 2 nights
From
£85
From
£105
Fri,Sat,Sun
£595
 
 
February
1 Feb 2018 - 28 Feb 2018
2 night minimum stay
£170
for 2 nights
From
£85
From
£105
Fri,Sat,Sun
£595
 
 
March
1 Mar 2018 - 31 Mar 2018
2 night minimum stay
£220
for 2 nights
From
£110
From
£130
Fri,Sat,Sun
£630
 
 
April
1 Apr 2018 - 30 Apr 2018
2 night minimum stay
£220
for 2 nights
From
£110
From
£130
Fri,Sat,Sun
£770
 
 
May
1 May 2018 - 31 May 2018
2 night minimum stay
£220
for 2 nights
From
£110
From
£130
Fri,Sat,Sun
£770
 
 
June
1 Jun 2018 - 30 Jun 2018
2 night minimum stay
£220
for 2 nights
From
£110
From
£130
Fri,Sat,Sun
£770
 
 
July
1 Jul 2018 - 31 Jul 2018
2 night minimum stay
£250
for 2 nights
From
£125
From
£145
Fri,Sat,Sun
£875
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

WE DO ACCEPT PAYMENT VIA CREDIT CARD PLEASE ASK FOR DETAILS.

We do offer a minimum 2 night stay, however we do require a minimum rate payment (running costs make it prohibitive otherwise). If you research Stanton you will find that our rates are very competitive.

Please refer to T&Cs for cancellation information.


Bank Holidays, Cheltenham Gold Cup incur a premium.

50% deposit on bkg, bal 6 wks prior to arr date. Payment by bank trfr (5%) or Paypal (5%) in sterling only. Guests to be responsible for transaction costs.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Available
Unavailable