HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Bungalow, suites or home on East Side of Saratoga Lake, Navy PKG MainHouseFall

People5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Bungalow, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), New Bath shower, (Sleeps 5)

Lake view with beautiful sunsets. Level, 150 ' walk to one of the few sand beaches and dock on the lake. Dock with umbrella at end of pier and on deck on beach. Sunroom with deck that has anew retractable awing (but not to be let out during windy days), 3 sliders, and ceiling fan; newer kitchen with Stainless steel major appliances, self cleaning convection oven, excellent SS toaster with convection oven; pergo type floors floors and completely renovated interior. Aqua science treated water. Bath with Corian sink, NEW ceramic tile floor, new shower & fixtures. eero WiFi. Slides and mountain climb for children. All relatively level property but not wheel chair accessible with two risers involved. Wooded to the rear. Private, professionally decorated, with generous tile shower. Swimming, boating, and fishing. Cool, lake effect, upstate NY nights. AC for heat waves and as needed. Summer house with main house availability for special occasions. Our kayaks are on the beach. Anyone must wear life jackets, which we may loan. Great area for golf. Historic thoroughbred race track. East side of Lake just above Snake Hill....10 minutes to one of the the most famous and best thoroughbred tracks in the country (family friendly). Much history with the turning point of the American Revolution nearby and historical sights and events. Philiadelphia Philharmonic and New York City Ballet visit during the summer. Numerous other headlining concerts and performances at the Outdoor Saratoga Performing Arts Center. Lake George Opera Chamber Music. Various dance camp opportunities. Numerous art shows. Many public music events. Great scienic downtown (Old Victorian) with a great open park in center of town. Good jazz and restaurants abound. Skidmore and Empire State College with related events. A great jazz festival and a really good country music festival. Many good golf courses and we are at the lake too. We are not in a group camp; only 2 houses on property. One is our private home which rents suites only occasionally.Should you want tickets for concerts at SPAC, we often can get a few as members. The earlier requested the better chance at popular events, preferably as event is announced or soon after. Very close parking might be also be available. We can update availability per event after inquiring.


Owner
Betty
Member since: 2007
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
10 August, 2017

About Betty

Decorator....From Indiana and Westchester County.

Betty purchased this bungalow in 1995

Why Betty chose Capital Saratoga

For the wide variety of activities in area and for the lake activities . Quiet and picturesque. rrtp WiFi Internet when you sign in the password and for the peaceful setting with trees, flowers and sunsets. Should you want tickets for concerts at SPAC, we often can get them as members. The earlier requested the better chance at popular events, preferably as event is announced or soon after. Very close parking might be also be available. We can update availability per event after inquiring.

What makes this bungalow unique

Peaceful and green with shade or sun, swing, and flowers at cottage and beach! Great sunsets. Maybe you will get more lucky and be put in the main house.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Per Gath and Frank as they wrote in our guest book! "AS USUAL YOU ORDRED GREAT WEATHER FOR US. WE HAD ANOTHER FANTATIC TIME. THIS WAS OUR 5TH SEASON AT YOUR COTTAGE. WE HOPE WE WILL BE BACK NEXT YEAR. OUR DAUGHTER & GRANDDAUGHTERS HAD A GREAT TIME. THANK YOU EVER SO MUCH. HAVE A GREAT WINTER AND WE HOPE TO SEE YOU NEXT SEASON."
Jul 2015
  • 1 of 6

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday bungalow in Saratoga Springs in Saratoga County

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 13:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • city centre ...
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Computer Available ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , corian sink wopen cabinet wth mirror cabinet & new shower
  • Not tiny, not large, comfortable size.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom - 1 Double Bed
  • Spacious day room has a twin /day bed for sleeping & chair. TV & sectional with 2 love seats, and corner in cantilevered sunroom with ceiling fan a living/sun room & lots glass to view the woods and green yard, gardens and lake. Eat in or on house deck. You may ask if our main house has a suite is available!
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Deck Chairs
  • Boat ...
  • Child's Swing
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Tennis ...
  • Terrace
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Decking
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 4 deck chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • forests
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkelling
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Lake frontage. Swimming, dock with deck on end; water treatment & filtration system. Trees with swings, at bungalow and beach. Lake side chairs. Lakeside shade and sun. Attended beach fires allowed at informal pit area. Children's play platform with mountain climb and slide at beach. Enjoy much local golf, wide range of restaruants, historical sites, Saratoga Perfoming Arts Center 10 minutes plus traffic conditions that vary per concert, and the Saratoga Race Course. The National Museum of Dance, Yaddo, and Skidmore, American Revolution Activities in Stillwater are here as well. Local riding stable nearby. Numerous Fairs. Have a local masseuse to come and relax you. .

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(22 traveller reviews)

50% Complete
31% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
13% Complete
Bungalow, suites or home on East Side of Saratoga Lake, Navy PKG MainHouseFall
average rating of 4.0454545 based on 28 reviews
5

Fabulous Lake Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Fabulous lake vacation. Thoroughly enjoyed the location with so many choices. Shady or sunny at the beach or in the lawn. We loved the beautiful sunsets from the swings and marshmallows at the beach fire. Saratoga is a fun place. The Blumes were very accommodating hosts and maintain a very welcoming atmosphere and enjoyable bungalow with everything we needed readily available. We plan to return to this bungalow again as our family had a terrific time.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Enjoyed their gracious visit. So please they loved the bungalow and Saratoga. We look forward to seeing them again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Just What We Were Looking For!

  • 4 of 5

First, the pictures in the owner's advertising are absolutely accurate. It's always good to not be surprised by the actual place. Let me go area by area for what's not obvious from just pictures. The front room is very airy because there are 3 full sliding doors with screens in addition to the windows. There is a nice view of the lake from this room. The television is a nice flat screen, and the cable brings in tons of stations. The owner was having a problem with the WiFi when we first arrived, but she got it repaired right away. The kitchen is kind of a combination room. One side has a little twin bed sleeping area with a couple of chairs and a dresser. The other side is the kitchen. We've rented lots of cottages, and this kitchen is BY FAR the best equipped of them all. The appliances are great, but more than that, pot holders, dish towels, cooking utensils, pots, pans, dishware, and flatware were plentiful. I found everything I needed for two weeks. Plus there is a good cork screw! The bathroom is comfortable, and the shower appears new. The owner stocked lots of towels and face cloths. One thing that really pleased us was that, although this is a lake cottage, the water is potable and we didn't have to schlep in bottled water. If you haven't rented a cottage before, you should know that generally speaking you will need to bring anything you might need, but this owner supplied a couple of rolls of toilet paper, a roll of paper towels, and some paper napkins to get us started. That was really thoughtful. There are two bedrooms, and the beds are comfy. Each room had storage, enough for our clothing and to stow our suitcases. We really enjoyed the deck off the front room. Although there is a table in the kitchen area, we ate outside on that deck whenever we ate at "home." The grill is nice, and the propane tank was full. The owners allow -- encourage -- use of their dock, which is just across the street. There's a table at the end of it, and four chairs. We enjoyed gorgeous sunsets as we sat there. The owners, Betty and Bill, are friendly and helpful. And we enjoyed visits from their friendly dogs. The overall location is great. There are several restaurants along the lake, and it's a short and easy drive to the race track. We hope to return.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed their visit as they are great guests and are looking forward to a return visit with them. We now have upgraded our wifi technology from Hawking to eero the latest in extending wifi.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely Saratoga Lakeside Getaway

  • 5 of 5

This adorable bungalow on Saratoga Lake was as described on the website and we were very pleased with the accommodations for our week vacation with our teenagers. We enjoyed swimming and kayaking on the lake during the day and the breathtaking sunsets relaxing in the Adirondack chairs on the dock in the evening. The lake is clean, beautiful and so relaxing. The bungalow was clean and well maintained. The owners take great pride in their property and have planted beautiful gardens which we enjoyed on our private deck as we barbecued. The updated bungalow was equipped with everything we needed to cook, however we often took advantage of the many restaurants in downtown Saratoga which is a short 10 minute drive. The owners were available as needed to answer questions and were happy to provide directions and dinner recommendations for many of the local restaurants. We enjoyed horseback riding at a local stable and the NYC Ballet performance at the Saratoga Performing Arts Center. The amphitheater was a wonderful venue for an otherwise formal event. I highly recommend this comfortable bungalow. I can't wait to return next summer during the track season!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Looking forward to seeing your family again. We are pleased that they especially enjoyed our kayaks and lake.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Once again a wonderful family vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Once again we enjoyed a wonderful family vacation at Sunset Views at Saratoga Lake. This is our 5th summer returning to this spot and it never disappoints. We love relaxing in the hammock and hammock swing at the beach in the morning to enjoy our coffee and look forward to reclining in the Adirondack chairs, after a day playing in the lake, to appreciate the panoramic views of the sun setting over the lake. The bungalow is simple, clean, and charming. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything we need to cook. Located only ten minutes from down town Saratoga, we had plenty of dining to choose from that is family friendly on days we didn't feel like cooking. Betty and Bill are accommodating owners who are always available to answer questions. The gardens surrounding the property always have something in bloom making our time on the bungalows deck and yard enjoyable. We look forward to returning again next summer!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 14, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: As usual we loved your family and friends. We look forward to seeing you again for a great summer experience for all of us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfectly charming again!

  • 5 of 5

Loved it being as charming as I remembered from 2014. The grounds are lovely with lots of blooming flowers and bushes. They have added a canopy for use of the deck in showers and a new large shower stall with an adjustable shower height. They have man really nice things to use and if you need something special just ask they likely will have it to lend. We hope this bungalow is available our next trip!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed having them too." We love it when guests are happy!"
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Mr & Mrs R.

  • 1 of 5

Filthy & dirty. Combination pad lock & chain to lock the door. Smelled moldy. Mold in shower curtain. Cleaned for 3 days just to be livable. Dirty dishes in cupboard. Dust & cobwebs everywhere. Mouse traps full on mouse droppings spilled out onto the floor. Vacuum cleaner bag full to beyond capacity had to be emptied by hand because no replacement bag available. So much sand under the carpet I thought I was at the beach. Grass a foot tall before they mowed it. Yard looked like a junk yard. Terrible!! Terrible!! Terrible!!! Can not reccomend this place to anyone.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Only truths here could be she cleaned, unnecessarily as she told me "its the way I am, I need to clean everything when I arrive" & we do have a pad lock on the door. This unit was totally cleaned prior to their arrival. None of these complaints were made upon their arrival. The only complaint they made during their stay from May 7-June 15th was that the grass needed mowing which was due to the rain and our gardener couldn't get in to mow as scheduled. It was not "a foot high". We did not have nor had mouse traps. We have professionally installed bait boxes around the property to prevent rodents from the woods from entering and one concealed under bath cabinet, designed for safety so pets or children cannot access them. These boxes were just serviced. It is unlikely any droppings were present as I have used these for sometime and have never seen droppings. The only items on the property, that she referred to as "junk" were boxes were from moving and in front of our personal garage opposite side of the property and out of view from their bungalow & some trash that had been placed in trash containers for collection. We did have packing boxes that had been flattened, discarded and that were set out to be recycled & collected. Feed back received from the tenant had been positive to us. Our gardens/grounds were repeatedly admired by them. Their son took several starts and plants for their new home nearby. This review is inconsistent with feedback given us during visit. They needed to leave a couple days early. We are a weekly rental & booked them May 7 through June 18th at a special discounted rate. They requested a refund for those few days. Refund was denied as we rent by the week and had turned down other rentals during the booked reservation. I have to believe their outrageous review of property is a result of being denied a small partial refund. Although they claim to be fastidious, my impeccable glass top stove was left so dirty I had to clean it with a safety razor & clean dirt and blood spots left behind on furnishings. They once lived on this lake, have lots family nearby & should be familiar with upstate weather/lake living. I was told that friends/family had checked out the bungalow prior to booking. If it was trashy, they never would have booked it nor have stayed without complaining that is was unsatisfactory. Please warn other property owners to be hesitant about renting to them.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Location

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Albany
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
4
Nearest Train
8 Miles
station in town to NYC
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
I-87
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
many...Panza's (1.5 miles) none walking
Nearest Beach
150 Kilometres
150ft, sand and dock with deck not steep area
Car: necessary

Should you want tickets for concerts at SPAC, we often can get them as members. The earlier requested the better chance at popular events, preferably as event is announced or soon after. Very close parking in 2017 is available. We can update by event availability per event after inquiring. 10-12 minutes to Saratoga Springs activities: downtown, tracks, S.P.A.C., spas and museums.

We are near Jibb Drive in the bay North of Snake Hill, as some maps display wrong location (North of Snake Hill) near the currently incorrect Point Breeze Marina which is not near us. l. East Side of Lake

Other Activities: Most Historic Thoroughbred Track (family friendly), Trotters Track & Racino, Turning Point of American Revolution, Yaddo, Saratoga Performing Arts Center, Dance Museum, childrens museum, Congress Park with antique carsoule, a Victorian College Town, Excellent restaurants, coffee and ice cream shops. Lots of Activities...A major water park 30 ish minutes North and a lovely pool in town at the state park if you need more than a lake.

Golf: Saratoga National, Saratoga Spa, Saratoga Lake Golf, Saratoga Golf and Polo Club and lots of miniature golf. Discount for direct pay.

No refunds for cancellations.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday bungalow in Saratoga Springs, New York

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Peak
1 Jul 2017 - 4 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,360
for 7 nights
£1,360
 
 
2018 summer
30 Jun 2018 - 3 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,437
for 7 nights
£1,437
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£932
for 7 nights
£932
£3,224
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £77.69

$1100 off-Season, $1650 week in Season until 2018 then $1750/week summer season
Sept (after Labor Day) through June $1100/wk unless involves 4th July weekend. No cancellations or refunds.

July & Aug 1600wk

$650/weekend (excluding July & August and special events)

Rentals Saturday-Saturday
Deposits are non-refundable and rental non-cancelable unless re-rented
Ask re main house which has occasional availability in year-round suites
Prices subject to change

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Available
Unavailable