- English, Spanish
Max guests: 4
100% refund if cancelled at least 14 days before arrival date. 50% refund if cancelled at least 7 days before arrival date.
Winter stay in San Juan
Had a fantastic week, apartment was lovely very tasteful decor, great location a stones throw from the beach. lots of restaurants bars and cafes and couple of well stocked mini markets. Everything we needed for a great week.
Would definitely come back, thoroughly recommend.
The apartment is in a superb location but is very badly let down by poor customer service. There was nobody there to meet us. We didn’t know where to find the keys. We had to get someone who spoke Spanish to speak to the owner (who lives on a different island) to find them - they were hidden behind a tile, why not leave them with a neighbour? There were no instructions as to how to work things in the apartment and no contact details (eg doctors). There was no information on the local area (places of interest, bus timetables etc). It was only because we have stayed in the area before that we knew the washing machine was in a room on the sunroof. The key to the sunroof was a bad copy and extremely difficult to operate.
The bathroom needed refurbishing - the shower was dirty (we had to give it a thorough clean), the doors didn’t close properly and the toilet cistern leaked into the toilet basin.
The oven was dirty as was the cooker hood (extremely greasy). Again, we had to give them a thorough clean. There was no kettle, coffee maker, toaster or microwave (basic requirements). The kitchen cupboards were dirty and had to be cleaned. There was no English TV despite the owner assuring us there would be English channels. There were no tea towels, oven gloves or mugs. The kitchen tap was very loose and beginning to fall apart but the owner did not fix it. Also, electric sockets were loose in the kitchen and second bedroom.
Having just arrived, we had to go out to buy a kettle, toaster, mugs etc instead of relaxing after a long journey. The owner’s uncle, who might have helped, was an hour away. We also bought another saucepan and an oven dish.
There was no change of bed linen so it had to be washed, dried and ironed in a day. The ironing board was old and needed replacing. The washing machine was very old and rusty and the lid was loose and making a poor contact so the machine was reluctant to work. We had to use one of our suitcases as a coffee table.
When we contacted the owner pointing out all that was wrong with the apartment, her attitude was if we’re not happy we could leave rather than offering to put things right.
Thank you for your comments this will be really helpful for other host to think twice at the time you do a reservation with them. We didn't met when you arrive because you make the reservation for one day and you came the next day to do the check-in. You didn't have an English TV because I don't have any and I told you before you arrived. You didn't ask for help to show you how things works in the house, you just call the page telling them my apartment was full of dirty. Let me tell you that we always do a deep clean before our guest arrive. You just threatened me that you were going to get my page closed the second day you were in my apartment and I told you: Please, if you are not happy there just leave I'll give you all your money back and after all you said to me you told me that you stay because you didn't find any other place( in a slow season in a big island) to stay. Hope you enjoy at least a little bit.
The apartment was bright, clean and well maintained, with fantastic views of harbour, beach and mountains and within easy reach of welcoming and quality restaurants and bars. The apartment was near a local festival, so do bring your earplugs if you want a nap, or join in the fun and sing and dance.
We can absolutely recommend this apartment. We have been to Playa San Juan for several years, and this has been our best experience. We hope to go again.
Thank you so much Myrtle, was a pleasure to have you here. I hope you coming back to keep improving your Spanish.
Xx Best regards!!