HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

2 BR/2 Bath Condo in an ocean-front complex - just steps from the beach

Bedrooms 2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 0 - 5 nights


About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Our newly-renovated condo is at the Royal Mauian Resort in Kihei, on sunny South Maui. This area is known throughout the world for its fabulously warm, dry, clear days and its deliciously cool tropical nights. Our condo is situated between two long white sandy beaches that are excellent for swimming, snorkeling, beach combing, whale-watching, strolling, or just relaxing in the warmth of the sun.

Located on the fourth floor, it is only a one minute walk from our condo to either beach or to the Resort's pool. Right in front of the Resort is an ancient lava reef where snorkeling is superb, providing views of brilliantly-colored tropical fish.

The Royal Mauian is conveniently located for day trips to the historic whaling town of Lahaina in West Maui and along the coastal road that winds through tropical rainforests and waterfalls to the village of Hana at the eastern end of the island. Also, you will not want to miss the view of the sunrise from the crater at the summit of Mt. Haleakala, the dormant volcano that created Maui over a million years ago.

Several championship golf courses and tennis courts are only minutes away from the Royal Mauian, and restaurants and a variety of shops are just across the street. On the roof of the Royal Mauian is a Roof Garden with a 360 degree view. Looking south, west, and north, one sees the brilliant, blue Pacific, with palm trees in the foreground and, in the background, the neighboring islands of Kaho'olawe and Lanai'i, and to the north, the majestic dome of West Maui.

This is a stunning location to see the sun set into the Pacific. Looking east, one sees the slopes of upcountry Maui, with Halaekala beyond. This is an awesome setting for viewing a vivid Maui sunrise. In addition to its outstanding views, the Roof Garden has a refrigerated serving bar, four large gas grills, and comfortable tables and chairs, making it a wonderful place for barbecues and get-togethers.

Our condo is unusual in that it shares no walls with any other unit and has windows on three sides. It has a partial ocean view, making our rates lower than most other units at the Royal Mauian. This means that you can enjoy our condo at an oceanfront complex for rates that are extremely reasonable, considering its outstanding location, setting, and amenities.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Member since: 2006
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
16 March, 2018

About The Owner

We live in Pensylvania and first visited Maui in 2003. We love to travel (in the photo we're standing in front of the Teracotta Soldiers in Xian, China), but we have never found a place more beautiful, more varied, more exciting, and more peaceful than Maui.

The Owner purchased this condo in 2006

Why The Owner chose Kihei

Maui has countless beautiful beaches, each of them with its own individual character. With elevations ranging from sea level to over 10,000 feet, Maui also has almost all of the ecological zones that are found on the planet. All of this, combined with all of the exciting and fun things there are to do on Maui, makes this a place that it's had not to fall in love with.

What makes this condo unique

Our condo is in a complex that is right on the ocean. Directly in front is a lava-coral reef that is great for snorkeling. Just a few steps away on either side are two of the finest beaches on Maui. Our complex has a heated pool and a roof-top garden area where you can grill and enjoy a dinner with a 360 degree view of the ocean and the mountain. It's also close to golf courses, spas, and great restaurants and coffee houses.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo on Kihei on Maui

Property Type:
  • condo
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Lift
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • The Unit sleeps 6. The master bedroom has a California King bed. The second bedroom has 2 Twin beds that can be converted to a King bed. There is a Queen-size sofa bed in the living room.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Barbecue
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • Shopping
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • swimming
Our condo has ceiling fans in both bedrooms and in the living room. It does not have air conditioning because ocean breezes and the fans almost always keep it very comfortable. The condo has boogie boards, beach chairs, beach towels, beach toys, board games, children's games, and a portacrib, all for your use during your stay.


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(21 traveller reviews)

85% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2 BR/2 Bath Condo in an ocean-front complex - just steps from the beach
average rating of 4.857143 based on 21 reviews

Excellent Sleep on the Water

  • 5 of 5

Great experience in Maui, condo was excellent and fully stocked with chairs, boards, coolers and more. Even had a Christmas Tree for the Holiday Season. Plenty of space for my wife and three kids. Had a wonderful Week in paradise. Thanks Dennis!!!

  • Review Submitted: 25-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very delighted that you had such a wonderful time, Bob, and that you enjoyed our condo so much. Maui really is a special place.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Perfect location in a great condo

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 6 visited Hawaii for the first time and loved this condo. The location was perfect--it was literally steps from two beautiful beaches and from some fun snorkeling. The condo was well maintained and stocked with snorkeling gear and beach supplies. The roof-top was a fun place to do dinner and enjoy the sunset. We'd gladly visit again. Thanks!

  • Review Submitted: 14-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted that you had a wonderful time at our condo and enjoyed its proximity to the two wonderful beaches and the lava reef for snorkeling. We hope that you will visit again very soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

My family with 2 kids (sons 13 and 15) vacationed at this property in July 2017. It was our first family vacation. I can echo other comments about the owner, Dennis, who was exceptionally easy to deal with. We booked fairly close to our arrival date, and we required quick confirmation, so we could confirm our flights and car rental. We had internet issues, so I was unable to confirm that the reservation payment was received and accepted. After getting rejected emails, Dennis went out of his way to call me at home to confirm receipt of my payment, so I could book other aspects of our holiday.

The location of the condo is only about 22 minutes from the airport. It is conveniently located to plenty of restaurants and stores, less than ten minutes from Safeway, and 20 minutes from Costco. It is close to other eateries, and is a short drive to Wailea, 20 minutes to the aquarium and about 45 minutes to Kapalua. Everything you need is close by. There was lots of parking and easy access to South Kihei Drive. The condo is right between the Kamaole 1 and Kamaole 2 beaches, and not even a five minute walk to each from the condo door. The property has an outdoor shower to rinse sand from your feet, and the grounds were immaculate, and well looked after. The pool area was cleaned regularly, and was spotless. There is a large reef in front of the building, and the snorkelling was excellent. Plenty of fish, and we swam with turtles every day. We also saw some octopus and a few moray eels. The condo is conveniently located right next to the stairs down to the beach. Although not facing the ocean, you could see it easily from the lanai. We barely heard any noise from other tenants in the building. We found that South Kihei Drive was quiet by 9 pm.

The condo was spacious and comfortable. Although there was no air conditioning, we found that the fans and open windows kept the condo cool enough during the day and night despite the humidity, which seemed worse in the evening. The condo had everything we needed, and was outfitted with more towels and bedding than what we needed. The washer and dryer worked great, and the fridge was large with an excellent ice machine. The kitchen also had all the utensils needed, and even had some basic spices supplied. Our only "complaint" was that the place could use some fresh paint. It was not the Four Seasons, but at a quarter the price, it is a bargain. We would return in a heartbeat and hope to come back soon.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so delighted that you had a wonderful stay and look forward to your return.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Rough start but no complaints

  • 4 of 5

The most important information you need to know is that the owner is very good to work with. There were some issues we found on arrival and they were dealt with immediately and we were grateful. We spoke with the owner who lives on the mainland. He relies on his contacts in Maui, and that can cause some issues for him at times. He does his best tho, and we were satisfied in the end. This resort is one of the oldest in Kihei and it can show it in the units.

This unit has no direct view of the water, but a sideways look off the lanai gives you a nice glance. The water sounds and breeze at night are perfect, and no one has direct view into this unit for nice privacy. The stairs right outside the door are so convenient, but the elevator is not a far walk either. Having a washer and dryer in the unit is helpful. Beach towels, linens, a full (but small) kitchen make living easy. We also used the boogie boards, beach chairs and umbrella. While the unit is small (850 sf) it is laid out well and having windows on 3 sides make for a comfortable stay. There is no A/C but none is needed with the ceiling fans running. A TV in each bedroom and the living room let everyone have what they want. The location is so convenient, and while you will hear traffic and people throughout the day, the noise is gone by 10:00pm and only the birds will wake you in the morning. Parking is easy, the location perfect for every direction and the access to the water and snorkeling right outside your door. Grab a glass of wine, and pull up a lawn chair to watch the turtles feed every late afternoon while the sunset relaxes you completely.

We enjoyed our first stay in Kihei, and are grateful for the easy communication with the owner. But, remember this is not a hotel. You will not get cleaning service during your stay, and the main office is closed after 4:00 pm and all weekend. If you need help you must contact the emergency number, which didn't initially answer when we called. You will get only basic paper goods, but once you run out you buy your own. Bring your own shampoo/conditioner/soap because you only get one tiny bottle of each. One use and you need to get your own.

This unit is not handicap (wheelchair) accessible due to at least 2 steps in any direction to the front door. But there is a lift in the pool and walkers and cane users are not going to have trouble.

Thank you Dennis for your hospitality. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Mar-2016
  • Date of Stay: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our condo and that you were able to take advantage of so many of the facilities at the Royal Mauian and enjoy so much of the surrounding natural beauty of the neighboring beaches. We hope that you will return again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Annapolis, MD

Great condo, great location, great snorkeling

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here for 10 nights with 5 people in late June--super place. Condo is clean, comfortable, no need for A/C with all those windows on 3 sides bringing in the tradewind breezes. We reported a couple of minor issues which the on-island agent was very receptive/reassuring about and which I would expect are fixed by now (the lockbox for the key on the condo door was old and almost impossible to get open, and the ceiling fan in the second bedroom didn't run faster than "slow"), but those were MINOR and everything you need in this condo works GREAT. The location is awesome, lots of good food and shopping to walk to very close by. Kam-2 became our go-to beach--it was just great, and there are lots of beautiful beaches a short drive away which makes south Kihei a good base. With the exception of boat trips we took to a couple of snorkel sites like Molokini, the best snorkeling we found was right here beside the condo building. It became a lifestyle thing--make coffee in the morning, walk downstairs, snorkel for an hour with the amazing turtles and coral and fish, come back and have breakfast and plan the rest of our day... There were a couple of days when the water clarity was not the greatest, due to wind/weather that had churned up the near-shore water, but mostly the snorkeling was outstanding and rewarded us with lots of pleasant swims alongside the gentle turtles and plenty of fish and pretty coral but also views of both an octopus and a big lobster in their hidy-holes. The rooftop patio is great for sunsets and for grilling, and the grills are kept spotless by the building management folks. Lastly, the condo owners were great to deal with, as were the on-island agents.

  • Review Submitted: 22-Aug-2015
  • Date of Stay: June 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so very happy that you enjoyed your time at our condo so much. We also love just walking down in the morning and swimming and snorkeling and then coming back to the condo, or to one of the neighboring restaurants, for breakfast. It is indeed a great way to start the day, We hope you'll be able to return soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A True Gem of a Place

  • 5 of 5

I cannot rave enough about this place. My family of six (kids aged 14, 12, 10 and 7) just returned from our first trip ever to Hawaii. Such a fantastic vacation! This condo is hands down in the best location in Kihei, and, in my opinion, Kihei is the best location on Maui. Easy driving to Lahaina, Kaanapali, and Wailea. All fun places to explore but we loved Kihei the best for it's laid back feel, Local Boys Shave Ice, and ease of walking or driving. The two beaches (Kamaole 1 and 2) are gorgeous and literally steps from the condo -- no streets to cross or traffic to deal with. This condo was clean, well kept, nicely decorated, and had EVERYTHING you could possibly need: full kitchen equipment, plenty of bath towels, beach towels, full snorkeling gear for 6, boogie boards, back-pack beach chairs, umbrella, and very comfortable beds! We really appreciated having a cooler to pack our beach snacks, water, and sandwiches in. The afternoon breeze is the perfect AC. Yes, the birds are noisy in the morning, but from what I have heard from others who have stayed anywhere on the Hawaiian islands, it's like this everywhere. We were up and out the door by 8 AM most days anyway so sleeping in wasn't an issue for us. We didn't have any problems the 7 days were were there, however, I did call one of the provided numbers for the access code to the pool and roof and my call was returned minutes later. I've never rented a private condo before, but this owner made it so easy through VRBO. Quick e-mail replies, professional, and nice. I would definitely, definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to friends. This place does not disappoint.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Jun-2015
  • Date of Stay: June 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted that you so enjoyed our condo and we are looking forward to your next stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Nearest Point of Interest
Kahului Airport
Nearest Point of Interest
Nearest Point of Interest
Boat to Molakini Crater
Nearest Point of Interest
Keawala'i Church in Makena
Nearest Point of Interest
The Bad Ass Coffee Shop
Nearest Point of Interest
Da Kitchen
Nearest Point of Interest
Lappert's Hawaiian Ice Cream
Nearest Point of Interest
Sorento's and Five Palms


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday condo on Kihei, Hawaii

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
High Season 2017-18
15 Dec 2017 - 15 Apr 2018
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Low Season 2018
16 Apr 2018 - 14 Dec 2018
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
High Season 2018-19
15 Dec 2018 - 15 Apr 2019
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £42.6
Tax Rate 14.42%

Rates for stays over Christmas are higher and there is a ten night minimum stay for stays that include Christmas. Parking and cleaning are included but there is a $150 cleaning fee for stays of less than 7 nights. Rates are $30 per night higher for stays of less than 7 nights (unless the available vacant period is less than 7 nights, in which case regular rates apply). Hawaiian Tax IDs: TA-206-126-6944-01 and GE-206-126-6944-01 CANCELLATION POLICY: There is a $400 Cancellation Fee for reservations cancelled 60 or more days prior to arrival. No refunds are given if cancellation is made less than 60 days prior to arrival unless the condo is re-booked, in which case full refund will be made for all re-booked nights.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question