HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Don't Miss This! Barrier Dunes - One Level Blue Crab Cottage

Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

A seaside coastal cottage in the gated community of Barrier Dunes, at the door step of the St. Joe State Park. Pristine beaches, bay access through the park to Caribbean-style snorkeling, and peaceful star-filled night skies await you. Or you can relax by 1 of 2 pools - oceanside or courtside. 2 lighted tennis courts on property for the tennis enthusiast.

Our Cottage has been updated to reflect a Carribean style with bright beachy accessories and furniture throughout. All linens are fresh and new. Every room is equipped with a TV, DVD player, and telephone.

The cottage is equipped with free high speed internet service and free unlimited USA long distance phone calls.We are pet friendly up to 20 lbs.

The kitchen is well equipped with new appliances and the dining table seats 6 with pull-out for 8-10. New refigerator with filtered water/ice on the door. New smooth top stove and new high capacity stack washer/dryer.

The back deck has a screened in porch, great for viewing birds and wildlife around the pond.

Both bedrooms have queen size beds and the sleep sofa in the living room is a convertable queen bed.

This is our Home away from Home and we welcome you.

Keywords: Vacation Cottage

More Details

Member since: 2006
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
28 April, 2017


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Port St. Joe in Gulf County

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Queen size Beds (2): One queen bed in each bedroom, Sleep Sofa in the living area
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • cinemas
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • Boating
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • Parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
No daily maid service. Clean linens and starting paper supplies are provided. Stack washer and dryer inside the cottage.


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(18 traveller reviews)

Don't Miss This! Barrier Dunes - One Level Blue Crab Cottage
average rating of 4.2777777 based on 18 reviews

Loved Cape San Blas and Barrier Dunes but

  • 3 of 5

We just had the best five days at Cape San Blas and Barrier Dunes. The beaches, pool and grounds are beautiful and relaxing and great for a family get together. The cottage, however, had some issues. The cottage was clean. The kitchen and dining room areas were great. Everything you need for cooking and dining were there. The screened in back porch area was so relaxing. . When we got to the cabin, there were no garbage bags, paper towels and only two rolls of toilet paper. There were two towels and two wash cloths. We were there for five days. This place lacked the basic necessities that I expect to have. The other thing is this cottage is not 312 steps from the beach. We didn't mind the 4 block walk at all but it is not 312 steps from beach. The couch, loveseat and chair in living room were uncomfortable as were the beds. The living room furniture pictured here is not the same as what is in the cottage. It advertises three televisions in the cottage. The only one that worked at all was the 20" in the living room but it was too uncomfortable to sit and watch it. I also agree with another writer, throw those nasty beach toys away. The outside tables and chairs and grille are nasty and the patio umbrella is broken. Some maps and info about Barrier Dunes would be helpful also. With some love this could be a five star cottage.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are disappointed that this guest was not completely happy with their 4 night stay. Please read all the previous reviews to see the high standards we strive to meet. We discussed each point in the review with our housekeeper to assure that our standards will be met for every future guest, including: clean & neat, trash bag in every receptacle, four complete sets of towels, toilet paper in both bathrooms, trial size shampoo & conditioner in each bath. Some of the furniture and the bedding may have been a bit too small for these extra-tall guests, and yes, we know that sleep sofas are less comfortable than regular sofas, but we frequently have 6-guest reservations, so the sleep sofa is a necessity. The mattresses are fairly new, and we frequently replace the patio items due to the heavy toll that surf spray takes on everything near the beach. The new beach umbrella arrived last week - maybe not before this guest departed. We don’t know why the guest was unable to use either bedroom TV - the housekeeper says they are working. We will be staying there ourselves very soon (our housekeeper never knows when a check-in is US!), and we will certainly check everything thoroughly, including recounting the number of steps to the beach as we have done many times before. We are looking forward to our own time at the Blue Crab Cottage!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Very Nice Stay at Blue Crab Cottage

  • 4 of 5

Just got home today from our 1st visit and stay on Cape San Blas at Barrier Dunes. The cottage was nicely decorated and we felt right at home. Loved the fact it was a one level cottage. Our bed was comfy. Wi-Fi was a plus as we had no cell service with AT&T. Did encounter a problem with dryer as if was not working when we arrived. After returning from the beach one afternoon, we found a serviceman's card in the door saying he had a part to repair it. I called him and in 25 minutes he was there and fixed it. That was good as we packed lightly knowing we had washer & dryer avail. Orkin also showed up one afternoon to spray but we were there and let him do his thing. The walk to the beach wasn't a picnic when your 70 yrs old, loaded down with chairs, canopy, beach bag, etc. One of the locals said we could park at the Club House so that fixed that. Nobody is a stranger in Barrier Dunes as everybody was very friendly and always ready to chat with us. We didn't have to bother the owners for anything during our stay. Whatever come up, I handled it like I was at home. I highly recommend the Blue Crab and will more than likely return next year.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Gautier, Mississippi

Frustrating Stay

  • 1 of 5

First let me say, the cottage is charming and nicely laid out. Unfortunately, the aggravations encountered, left us very disappointed with our stay. Upon our arrival and unpacking, we noticed that the cottage had no coffeemaker. I contacted the owner who told me to purchase one for reimbursement. This resulted in driving back up the cape and into St. Joe (an hour round trip) at 10pm to purchase one. The owner's wife requested a white one to match the decor, but late on a Friday night, I had to purchase a black one which was the only thing available. BTW...since the black coffee maker did not match, we brought it home! Saturday morning we awoke to NO HOT WATER! I called, and the owner seemed to expect that we would hang around the cottage and wait for a repairman. I sent the owner a text saying that we had locked our valuables in our vehicle and were proceeding with our plans to stay on the beach. This repair was not our problem. When we returned later in the afternoon, hot water had been restored. I sent another text notifying the owner of the fix, and later that day, I received a text asking me how the repairs were made. How would I know? I was trying to enjoy my vacation! Also, beware of the washing machine; it made horrible noises during the spin cycle and would vibrate out of the storage closet and into the living room area. The noise was so bad, that we could not hold a conversation over the din. I was very careful NOT to overload the machine. After each load, my husband would push the machine back into the storage closet. Finally, when we were packing to leave the cottage, two "nosy" neighbors sat on their golf cart and watched from just up the street as we packed our car. It was very obvious that they were "checking" our departure. Once we backed out of the driveway just before 10am, they cruised right on down the street. CREEPY and RUDE! I have rented numerous times through VRBO without any problems or need to communicate with the property owners during our stay; however, this vacation--although relaxing because of the beautiful beaches-- was disappointing and frustrating.

  • Review Submitted: May 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We truly regret any inconvenience to our guests. We are generally quite successful in making every effort to prevent that, and our policy is to act immediately to resolve any issues that do come up. We stay in the cottage ourselves at least once every six months to do maintenance, to give it some TLC and to stay apprised of the condition of the property so we can anticipate and prevent problems with the cottage and its furnishings. So we were quite surprised that the water heater element failed after only two and a half years. We always advise service technicians to call ahead to make arrangements so that they will not enter the cottage in the guest’s absence, and we do not give them keys or access to enter. We do not ask our guests to wait around for service technicians, rather, we ask our technicians to accommodate the guests’ schedule. Setting the record straight in this matter: 1) We did NOT receive a text message stating that the guests’ valuables were locked in their car. 2) We did NOT ask the guest to find a white coffee maker. Rather, the day after the arrangements and purchase were made, we asked by email “By any chance did you get a white coffee maker? “ We completely understood that at night in a small town there would not be much to choose from. 3) We do NOT have spies riding around in golf carts. Most likely, the cart was the on-site realtor stopping to show our unique stand-alone-cottage section of the community, and our only verification of check-out time is by the arrival of our punctual housekeeper to do the cleaning in preparation for the next guest. 4) This guest did not report to us any problem with the washer, and the housekeeper used it without incident upon this guest’s departure. We had a technician check it today - he said the machine had no problem, and that the bouncing and noise occur only when it is overloaded. 5) Finally, we quote directly from this guest’s own email to us: “Thank you for your (and your husband's) quick responses.”
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Adorable cottage, pristine white sand beach

  • 4 of 5

My husband, 16 month old, and I just returned from this charming Florida cottage. First, I must say the beaches in this part of Florida, amazing. White sand, soft waves, and VERY few people. Quiet and secluded, the Cape is a real hidden jewel in the panhandle. The cottage was cozy, provided all you need for cooking, a short walk to the beach/pool, and well worth the price.

A few downsides: One, housekeeping was lacking a little. When we arrived Monday, well after check in, the cottage smelled and looked clean, but we found a bag of trash hanging on one of the kitchen chairs. Odd. We also found damp sheets hanging from wall hooks in one of the bedrooms. Also odd. And that evening when we went to take a shower, we couldn't find any towels. After some hunting, we found them in the dryer. At least they were dry. I think the housekeeping staff may just have forgot to tie up a few things before leaving. Stinks when you're paying a cleaning fee. Second, don't expect much from the beds. They're small, very uncomfortable, and very noisy. Every move you make, the mattress rubs on the boxspring and makes a horrible noise. Also don't expect much from the beach equipment on the back porch. It's all been sitting outside, so the chairs are rusted and the beach toys are very dirty. Lastly, like I said, the beaches, amazing. The peace and quiet in the neighborhood, not so much. Gardeners were there DAILY. Lawn mowers and weed eaters and blowers for hours each day. No resident disturbances, just staff.

All this said, we will for sure be returning. It was a lovely 4-day trip with delicious seafood in Port St. Joe, friendly neighbors, and plenty of beautiful pictures.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

I spent 10 days at this cottage and had one of the best vacations ever. The cottaege was charming. It was immaculate as well. We had every thing we needed for cooking. We loved the little screen in back porch where we watched the turtles. The neighborhood was beautiful and we loved being in a gated community. The beach was awesome. I will return to this cottage. It was the perfect getaway.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 2, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Great get away, feels like home away from home!

  • 4 of 5

Wonderful place to go and relax, kick back and watch the sunsets. Close to Port St. Joe, Mexico Beach and St George Island. Very comfortable accommodations, plenty of room to enjoy the peaceful community, quite and friendly folks in the area. Can't wait to return.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 12, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
78 Miles
Panama City - NW FL Beaches International Airport
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Cone Head's
Nearest Beach
300 Metres
Cape San Blas
Car: necessary

Tennis courts are on community property.

Next to State Park.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Port St. Joe, Florida

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Early Summer 2016
26 May 2017 - 23 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £4 per night, per additional guest
24 Jun 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £4 per night, per additional guest
July 2017
1 Jul 2017 - 2 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £4 per night, per additional guest
August 2017
3 Aug 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £4 per night, per additional guest
Thanksgiving 2017
18 Nov 2017 - 27 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £4 per night, per additional guest
Christmas 2017 - New Years
23 Dec 2017 - 6 Jan 2018
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £4 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £4 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning £96.63 + Tax
Pet Fee £96.63 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Write to owner for full amount. Rates vary. Low monthly rates for Jan & Feb. High season and holiday rates vary. Email to inquire about rates for your dates. Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. $1000 deposit required for monthly reservations with balance due 60 days in advance of check-in. Reservation request form is required - all guests must be identified (govt ID) and all pets (dogs only - 20 lb max, fee applies) must be declared and approved in advance.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Enquire Now Enquire Now

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot