HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Lakefront, Pool-Heated Screened, Hot Tub, Log Home, & Rec House

People10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,700 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedrooms and sofa bed, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 10

Come enjoy 'Old Florida'; sprawling live oak trees, smell the flowers and listen to the birds and insects while you stroll the 300 ft. wooden walkway lined with banana trees and tropical plants on your way to the lake. This log home with interesting art work from around the world, and with screened-in, heated pool is a vacation into itself. But from this central location consider this: Atlantic coast - 1 hr; Gulf Coast - 1 1/2 hrs, Disney - 2 hrs, and U of FLA - 15 miles. Within 20 miles there's 10 lakes, rivers, streams, crystal clear springs for fishing, canoeing, kayaking, and swimming. Experience the diversity!

Screened in Pool Room for Family Gatherings: Enjoy the outdoors without the bugs. There's access to the pool room directly from double doors from the kitchen. Sit around with ample seating, and enjoy a cool drink. Come and enjoy a natural Florida. Also, enjoy a the Hot Tub in the screened in room.

More Details

Owner
Richard Jordan
Member since: 2000
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
27 April, 2017

About Richard Jordan

I have been in the Vacation Home Rental business for about 20 years. I was traveling to different areas, and renting homes, as opposed to hotel rooms; since I enjoyed the comfort of a home, I thought, 'Why not get into the business'. I live a short distance from the Log House on Lake Jeffords, so, if you have a problem, just call me. Thanks, Rich

Richard Jordan purchased this house in 1995

Why Richard Jordan chose Florida North Central Gulf Coast

I choose this location because of the quiet, peaceful outdoor location, the character of the Log House, and the private lake.The sunsets are fabulous.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Hawthorne in Alachua County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • lake
  • waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Filtered Water
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking On Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom - 2 Double Bed
    Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom - 2 Single Bed
    Ohter - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • 1 room with two double beds, 1 room with one king/queen and child beds, 1 childrens beds
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Player
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Bicycles
  • Binoculars
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Terrace ...
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Veranda
  • Conservatory
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Decking
  • 14 garden chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • Horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
1 Queen, 2 full, 2 twin trundle bed, 1 sleeper sofa. Tropical landscaping on 3 areas. Dock and 12' x 12' dining gazebo on lake, canoe included in rental cost.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(86 traveller reviews)

Lakefront, Pool-Heated Screened, Hot Tub, Log Home, & Rec House
average rating of 4.8023257 based on 86 reviews
5

Fantastic!

  • 5 of 5

Fabulous place! My husband and I visited with our five kids, ages 16-6. Everyone had a great time.

Just bring your groceries (grocery store just 8 minutes away), fishing gear, and a football and you're all set. Everybody enjoyed the canoe, fishing, the hot tub, the rec house, and nature at its finest.

There was more than enough space, with plenty of blankets, towels, and all you need to cook and grill. There was even wood ready for us at the fire pit so we roasted marshmallows.

The younger kids enjoyed the pool but it was too cold for us older folk. We're Floridians and with the abnormally cold temps lately the water was still too cold for us. The little ones were in and out constantly though.

Rich also has a good selection of movies to watch.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for leaving the home in great shape. Please come back to visit us. Rich
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Great Lakeside house to stay at!

  • 5 of 5

Perfect house to spend time at. Right on the lake with many items there for us to enjoy. Although we were there for our daughter's wedding and did not get an opportunity to fully enjoy the house, it is a great place to stay if you find yourself near the Gainesville area.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 26, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for leaving everything in great shape. Rich
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Good stay but no lake view..

  • 4 of 5

We stayed for 2 days in April and had a great time. It had something for everyone from hot tub to heated pool, rec house, fishing and biking, we enjoyed every minute of it. The one thing that was disappointing though was that while the cabin is technically lakefront, through a 70 yard of boardwalk, it does not have a lake view. Other than that, everything was good.

On a side note, I had a recent injury and needed to use a wheelchair. The house is not wheelchair accessible in anyway, so something to keep in mind if that is a requirement for someone in your group.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 18, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Tallahassee, Florida
5

Private, clean, loved it!!

  • 5 of 5

Lots of amenities all to yourself!!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, and come back to see us. Rich
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

We loved every minute!

  • 5 of 5

We just left after an amazing vacation with our children. We found the accommodations clean and welcoming. Even though there were a total of ten of us for the last four days we never felt crowded. The youngest (7&8) loved playing in the pool while the older ones (up to 25yo) fished, enjoyed the hot tub, foosball and making cool drinks for mom with the blender. We ate in all but one night and had everything we needed for a variety of meals. If I had one complaint it would be not enough towels provided to cover pool and shower use, however the washer was right there and we just washed them as needed. Thanks for an incredibly memorable family vacation!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 9, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for letting us know the towel supply was low. We have bought a new supply. We appreciated your leaving the home in such good shape. Please come back and visit us. Rich
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

VERY BEAUTIFUL, FUN, AND RELAXING

  • 5 of 5

Wow dont even know where to start complimenting about this place.Very impressed with this home.The home was very clean had no complaints. Everything that Rich describes about the home was accurate and the pictures as well. The layout was perfect for our group with plenty of extra room to roam around. Equipped with anything you needed plus extras we wasn't expecting. The quiet spacious private yard area was wonderful, lush, peaceful and beautiful. Rich had the fire pit ready to go. ( which was very sweet of him ) we just never got around to using it. So much to do and see in the area and surrounding area. St. Augustine beach was very close along with seaworld, Disney, plenty to do just at the place. The pool, DVDS, game room was really nice. only used it once, but was a very nice addition. The home is decorated with very creative art, which we really enjoyed. I'm sure there was something we missed. Art was everywhere and unique. Wow the walkway to the pier and gazebo was relaxing, just so calming and gorgeous. the water surrounding was calm and clean. caught some fish as well, theres a nice tree lying near the dock in the water we would cast to and caught fish from. Not to even mention the canoes. The lake was a perfect size to canoe around in and explore. The pool was used many times, everyone had a blast. There was some pool toys already there, plenty of room around the pool area and lots of seating. At night the Jacuzzi was fabulous. There was even a grill. I mean wow!!!! I didn't want to leave. Just a fabulous place all around. I knew when we pulled into the driveway it was like being home. We have rented through Homeaway several times and have never ever met the owner/owners. So it was a nice surprise to meet Rich. Such a pleasant and great fellow. :) I even had to make a couple of calls and he was there to answer them. We will definitely be returning. I highly recommend this home, especially for those who have family nearby, kids in college. I could go on and on about this home. Thank you so much Rich for letting have the opportunity to stay at your lovely home.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Sadie. The way you left the house was perfect. Please come back to visit. Rich
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Outdoor lovers----come and enjoy. Just sit by the lake, and enjoy the beautiful sunsets. Or---enjoy the heated, screened in pool and Hot Tub.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Hawthorne, Florida

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£311
for 2 nights
From
£156
From
£173
Fri,Sat,Sun
£995
£2,768
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £77.59
Tax Rate 11.5%

When you rent the main property, the Rec House can be used for $10.00 per day with a maximum charge of $50.00. Also, an extra canoe for rent at $10.00 per day with a maximum charge of $50.00.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar holiday rentals