HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Sarah and Nicholas Roberts

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks English, French

Sunny Apartment For 6 in Petit Chatel

18 Reviews
People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday apartment in Châtel - ALPAGE C1

2 bedrooms, kitchen, sitting/dining room, bathroom, sep wc, terrace, store

Our apartment is now booked for Christmas but is free from THURSDAY 29 DECEMBER so if you are looking for a NEW YEAR long weekend this might just be perfect for you. We would be happy to offer you a week from 29 December to 5 January. However, it you would just like it for the NEW YEAR weekend we would be happy with that and charge you pro rata on a daily basis.

Alpage C1 is a ground floor apartment of 43 sq metres. Entrance hall with plenty of hanging space for jackets and space to store boots. Double bedroom with cupboard and outside window. Bunk room with chest of drawers, shelves and hooks.

Well equipped kitchen area with full sized oven, grill and 4 induction hobs, dish washer, fridge, microwave, toaster and coffee machine. Bathroom with bath and basin. Separate wc with hand basin. The 17sq m carpeted living room has two double French windows leading onto a terrace and field (grass in summer) affording wonderful views up and down the valley. There is comfortable seating for at least 6 people and dining space (and china/cutlery) for 8 people. There is a double sofa bed in the living room and storage in the dresser and under the fitted banquette. Outside the apartment in the corridor there is a store cupboard for skis and groceries. This also houses 6 outside chairs, 2 deck chairs, barbecue, two garden tables and pierrade.

Chatel offers a wonderful summer holiday with many activities. Chair lifts operate in July and August providing quick access for walking and biking as far afield as Morzine and Les Gets. There are numerous mountain bike trails and Bike Parks at Super Chatel and Pré la Joux. White water rafting, paragliding, climbing, fishing, horse riding, swimming, tennis, junior bike park and the Fantasticable are amongst the other summer activities on offer. The town of Abondance just down the valley is worth a visit with its beautiful Abbey and 15c frescoes.

Our apartment is particularly suited to summer holidays because of its terrace and grass area for sitting outside and for children to play.

We are members of Chatel Tourism and, as such, are able to offer the Multi Pass as a bonus to our guests. This enables you to purchase the Multi Pass for euros 2 per day (as opposed to euros 8). The Multi Pass is a smart card that allows unlimited access to a wide variety of activities: mountain lifts, swimming pools, tennis courts and many other activities and cultural sites.

Bikes can be easily brought down the outside bank and locked up on the terrace where there is a secure wall anchor under the covering of the roof. The bus stop

is directly outside the apartment and the frequent, and free, buses take bikes. There are good wash down facilities at the base of the bike runs at Pre la Joux.

There are good walks up through the woods immediately above our apartment from which different areas can be accessed. We are happy to welcome small dogs to our apartment.

The apartment has a flat screen TV and DVD player with an eclectic mix of DVDs. There is a radio/CD player and a selection of CDs, board games, cards and books. The apartment has WIFi access.

The apartment has its own outside parking area. A car is recommended but not essential. The bus stop is immediately outside the apartment and free buses run approximately 8 times per hour and take you to the centre of the village and on to the skiing areas. The Barbossine lift (from where you can access Super Chatel, Morgins, Torgon and right round the whole Portes de Soleil ski area) is 2 minutes down the road. When there is enough snow you can ski back to the apartment. Henri Gonon Skiset shop at Petit Chatel gives a 20% discount on the hire price of skis and booots to people using the apartment. There is a serviced launderette at Petit Chatel. They also sell fresh bread and croissants in the morning. There is a small super market in the centre of the village and a large and extremely well stocked Intermarche below the village on the way home from the main skiing area at Pré la Joux. There are numerous mountain restaurants at various price levels including some particularly good and reasonably priced self service places for lunch. Just above the apartment is a wonderful walk in both winter and summer which takes to you Barbossine and on up to the Col de Saix. When there is a lot of snow raquettes are recommended.

This walk takes you to the charming Chalet Theo for drinks and lunches.

We have a booklet giving more detailed information which we will send to you when you confirm your booking. This should cover everything you need to know to make your stay at Alpage C1 a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing experience.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • not suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Sarah and Nicholas Roberts (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks English, French

About Sarah and Nicholas Roberts

My husband and I bought this apartment because we are both very keen skiers and in 1999 our two sons were young teenagers, also very keen skiers. We used to come out three times each winter to ski and again in the summer to bike and walk. Now the boys are grown up and we are retired we are able to come out in the off season hence our decision to start renting out the apartment. We used to live in London where we ran our own catering company for 25 years. We now live in Herefordshire, on the Welsh borders, where we make cider, keep chickens, duck and llamas and run a small b and b.

Sarah and Nicholas Roberts purchased this apartment in 1999

Why Sarah and Nicholas Roberts chose Portes du Soleil area

We had both skied in many different places over many years and one year we decided to come to Chatel, which 15 years ago was not that well known. We just fell instantly in love with the village the skiing available in the Portes de Soleil. Since we have been here the lifts have increased and improved enormously which has made it much easier and quicker to discover the whole vast skiing area available. We have spent many summer holidays there - with our children mountain biking and walking and now just walking and taking advantage of the endless different mountain walks that are available. This apartment is very much our second home and we think has a very comfortable and lived in atmosphere. We invite you to make it your home for the time you are here and hope you will find it as comfortable as we do.

What makes this apartment unique

Apart from the fact that our apartment is a little bigger than many other two bedroom apartments we think its great advantage is its wonderful views and the fact that it has direct access to a terrace and grassy area. This is a particular benefit for children and dogs.

Reviews

4.7
based on 18 holidaymaker reviews

Sunny Apartment For 6 in Petit Chatel
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 18 reviews
5

A lovely property with excellent views

  • 5 of 5

The property was very clean very spacious with excellent views we only had a short trip we would have loved to stay longer would recommend this property and we will try to re book in ski season.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Stunning views and apartment with bigger than average space.

  • 5 of 5

The apartment was perfect, with a little more room than the average in the area. It was clean and tidy, very homely. Location was just right for all the places we wanted to visit, though there was so much to do locally too, with excellent shops and restaurents. The cable cars were all open and the 'Fantasticable' was a great hit! (not for the faint hearted!). Luckily for us the weather was wonderful, so we could sit out of the front of the apartment on the lawn most evenings and relax watching the sun go down casting sunbeams and shadows along the valley. We didn't want to come home. Thank you Nic and Sarah for letting us stay in your apartment.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Paula Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so pleased you had a lovely time in Chatel and that the weather was kind to you - it was awful the few days before you arrived so you were lucky! We are going out ourselves in two weeks time - can't wait. very best wishes sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great apartment. Highly recommended.

  • 5 of 5

The apartment was just as described in the listing - well equipped, well laid out, comfortable and clean. The views of the mountains and valley were fabulous. Right outside the apartment, there was a bus stop for the free, regular bus service down to Chatel and the surrounding ski slopes. The owner provided really first rate customer service and so we thoroughly recommend this apartment to anyone reading this review.

  • Review Submitted: May 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cosy with amazing views

  • 5 of 5

The views from this place are just breathtaking! The two large french windows allow lots of day light in. The layout of the apartment is nice a cosy; small kitchen area round the corner from the dining and living area which has ample space to chill out. Perfect location for skiing (regular bus goes by (about 30 second walk from the apartment block from door). lovely comfy beds and the duvets were SO comfy!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Everything we wanted and more

  • 5 of 5

I stayed in this apartment with my wife and 3 children over February half term for our first family ski trip. In the run up to our holiday the owners were extremely helpful in providing information about the apartment and the local area which really helped us plan our stay.

The apartment itself is a cosy retreat and has everything that you need for a comfortable stay, with the added benefit of having views which are to die for. The location gives you brilliant access to the ski lifts and slopes - We even managed to ski right back to the apartment one afternoon.

Although we spent the majority of our time skiing at Pre la joux, we did venture into Chatel a couple of times to eat out and also to go swimming at the new pool complex which boasts a fabulous outdoor pool overlooking the mountains. There was also access to a reasonably priced supermarket nearby.

All in all we had a fabulous holiday and would definitely recommend this location and in particular this apartment if you are looking for comfortable accommodation which is good value for money.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Stunning views from a gorgeous apartment

  • 5 of 5

We know Chatel very well having had some fabulous holidays there both in summer and winter and when the snow looked good to last we booked a week at Easter. We were looking for a cosy, well equipped apartment with a view and wow - what a view!. It is now my screen saver and everyday I look out over the valley to the snow topped mountains and I feel myself relax. We had two snow falls when we were there even though it was late in the season, so we saw Chatel picture postcard snow covered and had some fabulous blue sky, powder ski days on the slopes. There is a bus stop just outside and so some days we caught the bus other days I dropped the hard-core skiers then came back to relax looking out over the valley and to walk our dog. It was lovely to be able to have her with us, she adores the mountains and the snow and just a few minutes from the apartment is a little track that takes you up into the mountains and onto the piste! The dog and I would walk up there after the lifts had closed and enjoy the peace and serenity of an empty piste - bliss. Access to such a big domain meant that there were slopes to challenge our twenty something son and yet if you had beginners in your party there are lovely areas for them to learn. The town itself has a great selection of restaurants and the only negative point is trying to decide which restaurant to choose. Summer in Chatel is brilliant too with a new outdoor pool, white water rafting, wonderful walks, lake swimming and of course Fantasticable! Check it out on You Tube - A must for anyone who loves an adrenaline rush! We will be back to stay in this beautiful apartment very soon, we have already booked for next winter, now I just need to find a week in the summer when we are all free to go.... Thanks for sharing your little piece of Petit Chatel with us Sarah and Nick - your apartment had everything we needed, a real home from home cosy, welcoming apartment.

  • Review Submitted: May 6, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Fiona I have only just found your very lovely review. Thank you so much for taking the time to do this. Wonder if you have made any advances in your search. All well here. very best wishes sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nearest Airport
48 Miles
Geneva
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Arc en Ciel Petit Chatel
Nearest Ferry
517 Miles
Calais
Nearest Train
16 Miles
Aigle (Switzerland)
Nearest Motorway
14 Miles
Monthey
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Arc en Ciel Petit Chatel
Nearest Ski
0.5 Miles
Barbossine Petit Chatel
Car: recommended

Alpage (which translates as 'high mountain pasture') C1 is situated in Petit Chatel overlooking the village of Chatel and having uninterrupted views up and down the valley. It benefits from the best of the sun - from early in the morning until the sun sinks behind the Mont de Grange opposite the apartment.

Chatel is an 8 hour drive from Calais and 1.5 hours drive from Geneva. Chatel is part of the huge and varied skiing area of the Portes de Soleil, the most northern part of the French Alps. Chatel is at the end of the beautiful Abundance Valley and on the Swiss border.

A car is recommended but not essential. There is a frequent train service from Geneva airport to Aigle from where there are taxis or buses to Morgin (which is a 10 minute drive from Chatel). At weekends a bus service runs between Geneva Airport and Chatel. There are also various taxi,bus services in the village that provide the same service and of which we can provide details.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Châtel, Portes du Soleil area

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
AUTUMN
24 Sep 2016 - 9 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£95
for 2 nights
From
£48
£311
 
 
PRE WINTER WEEK
10 Dec 2016 - 16 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£194
for 3 nights
From
£65
£432
 
 
PRE CHRISTMAS WEEK
17 Dec 2016 - 23 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£168
for 3 nights
From
£56
£389
 
 
CHRISTMAS/NEW YEAR HOLIDAY
24 Dec 2016 - 2 Jan 2017
4 night minimum stay
£518
for 4 nights
From
£130
£864
 
 
LOW SEASON
3 Jan 2017 - 3 Feb 2017
7 night minimum stay
£544
for 7 nights
£544
 
 
HALF TERM
4 Feb 2017 - 3 Mar 2017
7 night minimum stay
£820
for 7 nights
£820
 
 
MID SEASON
11 Mar 2017 - 24 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
£259
for 3 nights
From
£86
£587
 
 
LOW SEASON
25 Mar 2017 - 7 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
£207
for 3 nights
From
£69
£484
 
 
EASTER WEEKEND
13 Apr 2017 - 17 Apr 2017
4 night minimum stay
£294
for 4 nights
From
£73
£484
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £86
Pet Fee £0

For clients paying in euros we are able to offer facility of booking through the Homeaway website by credit or debit card. Alternatively you can pay us direct by bank transfer to our bank in Chatel. For clients paying in £ sterling payment will be direct to our English bank by means of bank transfer. A reservation agreement will be sent to you showing our bank details and payment terms.


Cleaning is NOT included in the price. We are able to arrange a cleaner for after your departure at a cost of £50. If you do not take up this option we expect the apartment to be left exactly as you found it and ready for the next guests.

We can arrange hire of bed linen and towels to be delivered and collected from the apartment. Approximate cost of £18 per person, plus £18 delivery.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Châtel in Haute-Savoie

Property Type:
  • apartment (detached)
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 53 m²
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • village
Theme:
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Tumble Dryer
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , hand shower
  • Bathroom has outside window. Separate WC with hand basin.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , bunks
  • The double bedroom has an outside window and good cupboard space. The bunk room has a chest of drawers, shelves and hanging space. There is a double sofa bed in the living room with enough cupboard space for storing clothes and bedding.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • Terrace
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • not suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • ski lift pass
  • ski
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
When you arrive you will find the key to the apartment in a key safe by the front door. We will send you the code on receipt of your final payment. We have an agent (English speaking) in Chatel who is always available in the unlikely event that a problem should occur with anything in the apartment. The apartment is equipped with 2 double duvets, 2 single duvets and 6 pillows. We are able to provide bed linen, towels, bathmat and tea towels at a cost of £20 per person. However, you may prefer to bring your own. When you leave the apartment at the end of your holiday you have two options: 1. Leave the apartment exactly as you found it. 2. Ask us to provide a cleaner who will typically take two hours to clean the apartment at a cost of £30 per hour.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties