Bethlehem chalet rental - A snowy meadow and easy highway access; a simple, enviro-friendly retreat
A snowy meadow and easy highway access; a simple, enviro-friendly retreat
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday chalet in Bethlehem - The Mountain House
Chalet, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

Nestled amidst of Cannon and Bretton Woods, the classic AT hikes in the Franconia, Zealand, and Crawford notches, fishing in the Amonoosuk, swimming at Forest Lake State Park, the shops, cafes, and gristmill of Littleton's award-winning Main Street, the antique stores and regional crafts shop of Bethlehem, bird watching at Pondicherry Reserve, and much more is the Mountain House.

The Mountain House is my private home that I open to guests when I am not using it. Snug into the hill for enviro-friendly insulation, this is an easy living chalet and retreat for people who love to be close to nature. It's built for simplicity and comfort; it's not a designer home. We sit on ten private balsam fir, maple and birch acres, with sunset views across three ridges of unbroken forest.

The home of an amateur cook, the kitchen features solid cookware and real knives. There is no TV, but the closet full of toys and art supplies, a boombox, a bookshelf stocked with local nature books and guest-written novels, glass-faced wood-burning stove and outdoor fireplace, hammock, VCR, sunset-facing deck (perfect for evening meditations), new south-facing sunken patio for morning coffee, the natural gardens around the house, a telescope and sleeping bags for evening star watching, the irresistible 'nap couch,' outdoor toys, and the summer birdsong concert are usually entertainment enough.

The main bedroom is graced with a mountain view and a brand new pillow-top full bed. The second room overlooks the moss garden and features a full bed. There are several extra futons and mattresses for additional sleeping. Some guests even pitch tents in the meadow to accommodate adventuresome extras. A spiral staircase connects downstairs and up - though most canine friends prefer to take the deck stairs to the second floor.

Guests have made the Mountain House even better - they have left books, recordings, poems, paintings and photos of moose, reset the stone fireplace, and contributed wonderful ideas on making the house even more comfortable. See the guestbook for their comments

Keywords: Chalet

More Details
Hide Details

I'm a former technology executive, current musician, gardener, and outdoor person who considers herself very fortunate to be the current caretaker of this quiet, private mountain retreat.

The Owner purchased this chalet in 2001

I bought this house from my friend, who built it himself, and only sold it to finance the adoption of his lovely daughter from China. I have loved being the caretaker of the woods, wildflowers and wildlife that surround this property, and have taken great pleasure in working up some of the gardens. It is my favorite place to be, in every season. I have been really lucky to have great guests who have left me photos, paintings and poems from their Mountain House stays.

In the summer, I love to listen to the birds, cook with my garden herbs, sunbathe on the deck, swim at Lake Forest Park, hike the AT, watch the lingering sunsets, have bonfires and roast marshmallows right outside the house, hang in the hammock and listen to Red Sox games, and generally enjoy the quiet of the place. In autumn, the foliage view over three ridges is stunning, migrant birds sometimes fly by, and it is quiet. In winter, I hunker down in front of the fire at night, sleep late and snowshoe up Kimball Hill in the late afternoon sun. I love turning off technology and just being quiet. I also sometimes host music jams - the 'cave room' is really nice for that in the winter.

96 Reviews of Property 39693 in Bethlehem, USA

The Mountain House - a Private Chalet with Sunset Views
average rating of 4.647059 based on 96 reviews
business
The Mountain House - a Private Chalet with Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p39693vbi
(781) 223-1364 (Massachusetts, USA)
Bethlehem White Mountains
Owner Submitted Review
0

  • Review Submitted: 16-Sep-2003
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2003
Dear Ms. Katzman:

Based on your water samples taken August 23, 2003, your artesian well water is fine. The water is bacteria free and all parameters are good. The turbidity is not of any concern, the color is zero, well below the recommended color of 15 or less. You have great water.

Sincerely,
The Berlin Water Works Lab
business
The Mountain House - a Private Chalet with Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p39693vbi
(781) 223-1364 (Massachusetts, USA)
Bethlehem White Mountains
Owner Submitted Review
0

  • Review Submitted: 25-Aug-2003
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2003
Dear Jacki,
I just realized it's almost a week since we came home. We had a wonderful week in the Mountain House, and I have been meaning to write and thank you for the hundreds of things you do to make guests comfortable. The weather was too rainy and muggy at first for trail hiking, but we took walks in the neighborhood on back roads. First Kimball Hill, then we discovered that River Road in either direction (it has another name going west, I forget what) is a fine place to walk, with views of the river and mountains, and places where Gracie could get her feet wet. We also found a quiet back road out of Bethlehem that had some interesting views and houses to look at. Then it got drier and we did a little trail hiking after all. And went to Forest Lake State Park. We consulted your compilation of wisdom every day and always found your advice excellent. We loved Polly's Pancake House. (We didn't explore much of Whitefield, except to get ice cream cones one day, between rainstorms, but last year we drove out of town and found the place where we stayed in 1967. It's still there, but not as nice, with more houses.) It was a terrific week off, just what we needed, just what our dog needed-- thanks again.
I left one of my books for you to have, a collection of short stories. It's under the boombox.
I hope all's well with you.
Warm wishes, Alice
business
The Mountain House - a Private Chalet with Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p39693vbi
(781) 223-1364 (Massachusetts, USA)
Bethlehem White Mountains
Owner Submitted Review
0

  • Review Submitted: 12-Aug-2003
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2003
Jacki – Just wanted to let you know that we really enjoyed our stay in New Hampshire last week. Your home there is wonderful, such great views! Just wish the weather had been a bit nicer. We brought our telescope along to use on the deck, but never even unpacked it because the sky was cloud-covered every night. Our 3-year old son loved the spiral staircase and the lights on the ceiling in the bedroom, and asked if we could bring them home with us when we were packing! We will certainly consider a return visit. … By staying in Bethlehem, we had the chance to do some different things than we have done in our previous visits to the area. The beach at Forest Lake State Park was practically empty each time we went (which was nearly every afternoon after a hike) … it was very enjoyable for both us and our kids who had their first lake swimming experience.
business
The Mountain House - a Private Chalet with Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p39693vbi
(781) 223-1364 (Massachusetts, USA)
Bethlehem White Mountains
Owner Submitted Review
0

  • Review Submitted: 06-Aug-2003
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2003
Hi Jacki,I just wanted to let you know what a great trip we had…The weather was sunny and dry the entire time, and we had a wonderful time hiking and swimming and eating out and just exploring (Lonesome Lake, Lost River Caves -- spectacular! Polly's Pancake Parlor, etc.). Nicky's favorite part had to be catching crayfish in Echo Lake -- he spent hours doing that on a couple of days with a gang of kids (no doubt the direct descendants of the crayfish I used to catch there). We said hello to the Old Man's forehead -- still seems to be clinging to the cliff. And your mountain retreat was just that.I left "A Handmade Wilderness" in the book shelves underneath the boom box. I'd love to hear your impressions after you've read it.
business
The Mountain House - a Private Chalet with Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p39693vbi
(781) 223-1364 (Massachusetts, USA)
Bethlehem White Mountains
Owner Submitted Review
0

  • Review Submitted: 07-Jul-2003
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2003
Just wanted to let you know - your house is beautiful, and so relaxing! The dogs LOVE it, and it's so cool inside even though outside it's like 91.. You are totally right on the couch - you can fall asleep in it in just a few
minutes.
business
The Mountain House - a Private Chalet with Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p39693vbi
(781) 223-1364 (Massachusetts, USA)
Bethlehem White Mountains
Winchester, Ma
5

Guestbook Comment

The mountain house did its magic again. The fireflies and the lupin combination is irresistible. The house improves as time goes. Little details that ...
  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 04-Jul-2003
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2003
The mountain house did its magic again. The fireflies and the lupin combination is irresistible. The house improves as time goes. Little details that add to the charm, nooks and crannies developed to offer more and more comfort, and the majestic meadow that always enchants me as not many other places on earth.
business
The Mountain House - a Private Chalet with Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p39693vbi
(781) 223-1364 (Massachusetts, USA)
Bethlehem White Mountains
Owner Submitted Review
0

  • Review Submitted: 02-Jul-2003
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2003
We had a wonderful time. What a haven! On Sat we hiked up to Eisenhower via Edmund's trail. The next day we did Mt Washington via Jewell and descended on Ammonousuc. My sister said she didn't know she had it in her. In my sister's words "I've never had something quite like it with sore muscles and a soaring spirit to do more..." I think she's hooked.

We happened upon the Cheryl Wheeler concert at the theater in Bethlehem on Saturday night and decided to go, strolled up and down the Main St at intermission. On Monday had a leisurely morning at your place, explored Littleton, checked out the gristmill, had lunch at the diner, our lattes......thank you!, drove south to Sugar Hill to see the lupine field (although the lupines were in their prime at your place) and made our way back to Arlington totally relaxed and satisfied.

Normally I drive to the White Mtns, spend the day hiking and drive back at night. It was such a treat to be there for the entire weekend, have a leisurely dinner, sit on the deck star gazing, watching the fire flies, wake up to the sound of birds. I could have stayed much longer...
business
The Mountain House - a Private Chalet with Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p39693vbi
(781) 223-1364 (Massachusetts, USA)
Bethlehem White Mountains
Winchester, MA
5

Guestbook Comment

Always a pleasure to relax at your mountain house, even in the rain - the quiet patter of raindrops recalls pleasant times, snuggling by the wood stov...
  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 24-Jun-2003
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2003
Always a pleasure to relax at your mountain house, even in the rain - the quiet patter of raindrops recalls pleasant times, snuggling by the wood stove. And the outdoor fire pit is wonderful for evoking tall tales, while keeping warm on a cool summer or spring evening...
business
The Mountain House - a Private Chalet with Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p39693vbi
(781) 223-1364 (Massachusetts, USA)
Bethlehem White Mountains
Owner Submitted Review
0

  • Review Submitted: 03-Jun-2003
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2003
Hi Jacki,
We are back. We had a wonderful time this weekend. The woodburning stove, coffee and tea in the morning were great. We used the fire pit outside for roasting marshmallows, cooked every night and went hiking during the days. We checked out Littleton and the Garnet Hill outlet. We had a really nice, restful time. Thank you so much. A nice break from the hectic life in Boston.
business
The Mountain House - a Private Chalet with Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p39693vbi
(781) 223-1364 (Massachusetts, USA)
Bethlehem White Mountains
Owner Submitted Review
0

  • Review Submitted: 31-May-2003
  • Date of Stay: May 2003
Hi Jacki,

We had a great time this past week, despite all the Memorial Day Weekend rain, the weather wasn't too bad. Nice to return to a familiar and comfortable place.