New Town apartment rental - 1st Floor, 55 Cumberland Street (blue door).
1st Floor, 55 Cumberland Street (blue door).
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
Minimum Stay nights
 

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday apartment in New Town - Cumberland Street, EDINBURGH
2 Bedrooms, 2.5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

This beautiful, elegantly and very sympathetically refurbished 1st Floor Apartment, offers everything you could want to make your stay in Edinburgh just perfect. The apartment still has original Georgian fireplaces and beautiful cornicing all shown off perfectly by the light streaming through the large Georgian windows.

There is a spacious hall - off which is

: the kitchen/dining which is bright and sunny and well equipped. Off the kitchen is a fully equipped utility room with washing machine, drier and freezer.

: a large double bedroom.

: a lounge with large comfortable leather couch and leather chairs. There is also a large flat screened TV with DVD player.

: Bathroom with bath/shower.

: Twin bedded room with en suite shower.

: Toilet/cloakroom

Due to Cumberland Street being relatively narrow, it is very quiet with very little traffic making it the perfect location for resting after a hectic day in the city.

34 Reviews of Property 237302 in New Town, United Kingdom

Beautiful 2 Bedroom Apartment in Historic Central Edinburgh
average rating of 4.9666667 based on 34 reviews
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Apartment in Historic Central Edinburgh
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p237302
+44 079199 18665
New Town Edinburgh
Chatham, New Jersey, USA
5

Excellent location

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 21-Apr-2012
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2012
We stayed here with our 19 old son in March 2012 and were very comfortable.
The apartment is in an excellent location to visit Princes Street and all the city centre tourist attractions. Many good restaurants and bars in close proximity, however, Cumberland Street is very quiet.
Apartment is well maintained with a well equipped kitchen. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Apartment in Historic Central Edinburgh
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p237302
+44 079199 18665
New Town Edinburgh
Scotland
5

M, I, and family

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 13-Feb-2012
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2012
Just back from a long weekend in this lovely flat. Very warm and welcoming. Great location. We managed to get parked right outside the flat and didn't use the car again as it was so easy to walk everywhere. Owners are very friendly and answered any questions we had. Would recommend this flat to friends and family. Thanks a lot.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Apartment in Historic Central Edinburgh
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p237302
+44 079199 18665
New Town Edinburgh
5

Excellent

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 22-Nov-2011
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2011
Top spec apartment in the heart of Edinburgh's New Town. It is well furnished, well equipped and is warm and comfortable. A real home from home. I can't think of anything that has been missed in terms of facilities/equipment. The owners are helpful and friendly and made the whole transaction seamless.

We found Leo's Beanery, just around the corner in Howe Street excellent for breakfast. They open from 8am onwards. We had dinner at the Magnum in Albany Street which I can recommend and also ate at The Honours, Martin Wishart's Brasserie in North Castle Street which is super - as long as you are able to get a reservation.

Many thanks!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Apartment in Historic Central Edinburgh
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p237302
+44 079199 18665
New Town Edinburgh
Vancouver, BC Canada
5

What can one say

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 17-Nov-2011
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2011
Just like all the other reviews... lived up to all expectations. But best is the location!
Yes, we will return soon (and to this flat hopefully!). Bill - Canada
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Apartment in Historic Central Edinburgh
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p237302
+44 079199 18665
New Town Edinburgh
5

Just perfect

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 28-Sep-2011
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2011
We've just returned from a visit in Di and Wattie's apartment in Edinburgh - our family of four including children ages five and seven. We have stayed in about 10 HomeAway properties in the past five years in the UK, France, Switzerland and the US and Di and Wattie's flat is by far the nicest we've ever encountered.

Firstly, the apartment itself is beautiful and flows very nicely. Each room is large and has loads of sun. The rooms are connected via a large rectangular entryway so the overall feeling is very cozy and connected, yet all rooms have heavy high quality doors helping to manage sound and privacy - super handy when the children went to bed.

The flat is the best equipped we've ever encountered. The dishware, flatware and cookware is at least as high a quality as we have at home, and all in perfect condition. There was not a single need that went unmet, from the top quality corkscrew to the egg cups to the big ironing board and two hair dryers. The appliances (toaster, dishwasher, gas hob, etc) are top quality. And it is CLEAN. Honestly, I returned home to do a good scrubbing of my own kitchen, this flat inspired me so!

The flat is located a stone's flow from tons of pubs, restaurants and boutiques (and a Sunday market in Stockbridge) yet is blissfully quiet at night.

We had such a fantastic long weekend in Edinburgh and squeezed so much into such a short stay. But the real highlight for all of us was returning each evening to our little home from home in New Town, Edinburgh.

If HomeAway gave out awards to star properties Di and Wattie's flat would be sure to win top prize - a real example for how great the self-catering experience can be. On top of it all, the flat offers an extremely good value.

We'll be back for sure!! Thanks Di!!

The Van Bendeden family, Geneva, Switzerland
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Apartment in Historic Central Edinburgh
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p237302
+44 079199 18665
New Town Edinburgh
Virginia, USA
5

Couldn't Have Suited Us Better

Couldn't Have Suited Us Better
  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 18-Jul-2011
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2011
We stayed here the first week in July and couldn't have been more pleased. The apartment was exactly as pictured, and it felt more like being a guest in someone's beautifully decorated home than staying in a rental apartment. Di made everything easy in terms of payment and keys, and there was a great notebook in the kitchen with all the helpful information one needed. The location was excellent, with shops, cafes, and restaurants within easy walking distance. The bus got you to the center of town in just a few minutes. We enjoyed walking down the street to the neighborhood pub for a pint and internet access. We would highly recommend this apartment!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Apartment in Historic Central Edinburgh
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p237302
+44 079199 18665
New Town Edinburgh
USA
5

Like coming home.

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 13-Jul-2011
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2011
This Edinburgh apt. was exactly how it was described and more. The apt. was so clean, I thought I was home. The information book left in the apt. by Wattie & Di answered all our questions and gave us many suggestions for restaurants, sightseeing and even bus schedules. The rooms were spacious and bright. An added benefit was a private concert as I came home from the market by the neighbor across the hall.
I recommend this property very highly. If you want to taste the real flavor of Edinburgh, come to Wattie & Di's apt. You won't regret your decision. Lori from USA
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Apartment in Historic Central Edinburgh
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p237302
+44 079199 18665
New Town Edinburgh
Annandale, Virginia USA
5

Couldn't Have Asked For More

Couldn't Have Asked For More
  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 10-May-2011
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2011
We had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful apartment for 4 nights. It's spacious, very well appointed, and in a great location. An easy (albeit largely uphill) walk to all the sights, including the gorgeous Botanical Gardens and all the attractions of the Royal Mile. Di and Wattie could not have been nicer to deal with. Everything went so smoothly and I felt that I had made friends before even setting foot in beautiful Edinburgh. What appeals to me about staying in an apartment rather than a hotel (in addition to the fact that it's generally a much better value) is that you get to explore neighborhoods that you otherwise might not. Staying at 55 Cumberland Street felt like coming home each night and if my travels ever take me back to Edinburgh, I would definitely stay there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Apartment in Historic Central Edinburgh
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p237302
+44 079199 18665
New Town Edinburgh
Owner Submitted Review
0

  • Review Submitted: 21-Apr-2011
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2011
This note was left on the kitchen table for me:-
This apartment has been a wonderful place to stay. It welcomed us as did Edinburgh - both welcoming and comfortable. You have a beautiful country - I hope to visit again. If or when I do, you will hear from me. I wish you well. Thank you. Terry

I echo Terry's comments. Edinburgh was everything I hoped it would be - and having your apartment to call home made it just perfect (or should I say brilliant!) Thank you. Shirley
business
Beautiful 2 Bedroom Apartment in Historic Central Edinburgh
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p237302
+44 079199 18665
New Town Edinburgh
Dublin
5

Family Rugby Weekend from Dublin

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 08-Mar-2011
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2011
We had a fantastic 5 night stay here, 2 adults and 2 'adult' children. Very clean, bright warm and spacious; less than 10 minutes walk from Princes St. What more can I say !
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1