Stoke Ferry chateau / country house rental - The Old Mill
The Old Mill
 
  • Bedrooms7
  • Sleeps15
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 7 bedroom holiday chateau / country house in Stoke Ferry - The Old Mill
North Norfolk Coast, Cambridge, Stanstead and Norwich all within 1 Hour.

A totally unique holiday rental, this Grade II Windmill has been completely renovated to provide a stunning holiday home. Standing imposingly within its large garden the Mill offers 360 degree views stretching up to 20 miles from the 7th floor. The garden has heated pool and large BBQ area. The Mill boasts much character - internal beams, oak floors, wood stove, open fires and the former workings of the Old Mill. The huge kitchen/diner has French doors that lead to the garden. The split level heavily beamed sitting room is full of charm and character with the original mill stone as a main feature. The ground floor of the Tower is presented as a stunning formal dining room with round table. Additionally the Mill tower has a games room and three bedrooms with a further 4 bedrooms in the main house. A breathtaking glass walkway connects the house to the mill tower on the first floor.

Outside in the large Games Barn there is a ping-pong table, snooker table and table football.

Pool Information:

The Outdoor Pool is normally available from April to September (inclusive) depending on weather conditions.

We will be happy to heat the pool by arrangement during these months at an extra cost of £30.00 per day. This charge applies for the entirety of the rental period..

As the pool area is close to neighboring gardens we ask that guests exercise consideration and not use offensive language, loud music or shouting in the pool area.

The mini games room in the tower is equipped with TV, DVD, X Box, whilst the larger 50sqm games room by the pool has a full sized ping-pong table, a snooker table and a football table.

Private Dining.: (not available during school holidays)

The hugely popular Old Mill Private Dining Menu is a formal menu, cooked and served for you in the ground floor circular dining room of the Mill Tower on an evening of your choice during your stay.

Private Dining is ideal for special occasions such as birthdays or anniversaries, and bypasses the complications of a night in a restaurant with small children, taxis, designated drivers etc.

Private Dining Menus use seasonal and local produce where possible.

Unfortunately, Private Dining is not available during school holidays.

More Details
Hide Details

25 Reviews of Property 98330 in Stoke Ferry, United Kingdom

Detached Stunning 7 Storey Windmill with Heated Pool.
average rating of 5.0 based on 25 reviews
business
Detached Stunning 7 Storey Windmill with Heated Pool.
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p98330
+44 (0)7958 455255
Stoke Ferry Kings Lynn & West Norfolk
5

Absolutely stunning!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 02-Dec-2008
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2008
The mill surpassed everything we imagined - the photos really don't do it justice! 13 of us stayed there for the weekend and there wasn't one of us who could resist running around like a kid when we first got there to explore all the quirky features.

Roaring fires, squishy sofas, stunning interior, comfy beds..

Perfect for a weekend with (close) friends or family and would make a great retreat for a week with the pool and garden.

Without question the best S/C place we've ever stayed...can't recommend it highly enough.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 25/25
business
Detached Stunning 7 Storey Windmill with Heated Pool.
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p98330
+44 (0)7958 455255
Stoke Ferry Kings Lynn & West Norfolk
5

The perfect weekend!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 26-Oct-2013
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2013
I booked the Old Mill for a surprise 40th birthday weekend for my husband and his friends. We could not have been more impressed by this outstandingly beautiful property!

Everybody who came was bowled over by the unique, sumptuous accommodation-perfect for a large party (we were 14). We made good use of the many facilities in the mill and enjoyed the local area too.

The owners are so friendly and accomodating, nothing is too much trouble to them. Their recommendations (local pubs/restaurants) were great too.

I am now desperately searching for my next excuse to return!

As others have said, the photographs do not do it justice-it is amazing!
business
Detached Stunning 7 Storey Windmill with Heated Pool.
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p98330
+44 (0)7958 455255
Stoke Ferry Kings Lynn & West Norfolk
5

Stunning, beautful, fantastic and much more!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 07-Aug-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
What a fantastic holiday home! We stayed here for a week with friends and family to celebrate my mum's 70th birthday and it couldn't have been better. The mill itself is charming and beautifuly decorated with nooks and crannies to investigate all around. We couldn't get our 4 year old daughter out of the swimming pool which was heated to perfection. Not one of us could fault our stay and we were all sad to leave. Sandra was very friendly and helpful throughout the booking process and during our stay so thank you for allowing us to share this special occassion in such a special location. I would highly recommend this holiday venue to anyone wanting something extra special.
business
Detached Stunning 7 Storey Windmill with Heated Pool.
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p98330
+44 (0)7958 455255
Stoke Ferry Kings Lynn & West Norfolk
5

Book this Mill!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 19-Dec-2012
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2012
We booked this mill for a weekend in December for a group of friends. It is such an amazing house! The pictures and description do not do it enough justice. The house is done up to such a high standard, the kitchen is so well equipped - it was no problem cooking dinner for a group of 15.

There are loads of spaces to socialise in the house with a large kitchen diner, 3 living rooms, a dining room, a games shed, a consol room and a vast garden. The bedrooms are really nice and big. The beds are really comfy and the bedding is of really high quality. Teh bathrooms are really lovely and have freestanding baths. We went in the winter so we were able to use the wood burning stove and fireplace so it was all so cosy - even though it is such a big house. Sadly as it was winter we could not use the pool but I would love to go back again to make use of it.

Sandra and her husband are so welcoming and take pride in people enjoying their house. I would certainly recommend this as a place to stay and have sent it to loads fo my friends already.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Detached Stunning 7 Storey Windmill with Heated Pool.
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p98330
+44 (0)7958 455255
Stoke Ferry Kings Lynn & West Norfolk
West Midlands England
5

Fantastic

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 17-Sep-2012
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2012
Property was fantastic. Really homely and provided perfect facilities for our large group to come together. In house catering was exceptional and added a real special finish to our celebrations. we were lucky with the weather and able to enjoy the outside heated pool. Sandra and Gary are exceptional hosts and responded quickly to all our questions.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Detached Stunning 7 Storey Windmill with Heated Pool.
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p98330
+44 (0)7958 455255
Stoke Ferry Kings Lynn & West Norfolk
Leicester, United Kingdom
5

hen party at the 'old mill'

hen party at the 'old mill'
  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 30-May-2012
  • Date of Stay: May 2012
The 'old mill' was a fantastic venue to hold my best friends hen party. it has loads of space inside and out and the swimming pool was fantastic (we were extremely lucky with the weather). The property had every thing we needed and more. the owners were fantastic at catering for our needs and making us feel welcome, and always responded quick to emails etc. The 'old mill' was clean and well maintained to a high standard and the views were fantastic although it is a lot of steps to the top of the mill (good exercise!!). I would recommend this venue for friend and family holidays...you wont be disappointed. everyone from our party thoroughly enjoyed themselves and would visit again!!
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Detached Stunning 7 Storey Windmill with Heated Pool.
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p98330
+44 (0)7958 455255
Stoke Ferry Kings Lynn & West Norfolk
Owner Submitted Review
-1

Thank you

  • Review Submitted: 29-May-2012
  • Date of Stay: May 2012
Hiya Sandra,
Just wanted to let you know what amazing time we had at the Mill. The Mill itself is absolutely stunning and is done out so beautiful. The weather was perfect and we spend alot of time sunning by the pool! Bake off and afternoon was brilliant, Thank you so much for lending us your tea set and cake stands. Its all looked so lovely.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Detached Stunning 7 Storey Windmill with Heated Pool.
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p98330
+44 (0)7958 455255
Stoke Ferry Kings Lynn & West Norfolk
Owner Submitted Review
-1

Thank you

  • Review Submitted: 29-May-2012
  • Date of Stay: May 2012
Hi Sandra
I just wanted to say what a fantastic time we had at the Mill, it was a breathtaking building and everything in it was done to a very high spec, you've obviously spent a lot of time making it look so amazing
The entire group kept saying that they couldn't believe that I'd found somewhere so perfect
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Detached Stunning 7 Storey Windmill with Heated Pool.
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p98330
+44 (0)7958 455255
Stoke Ferry Kings Lynn & West Norfolk
Owner Submitted Review
-1

Thank You

  • Review Submitted: 08-Mar-2012
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2012
Hi Sandra and Gary,
We really enjoyed our stay and everyone was full of compliments for your lovely place, the location is ideal for lots of fun activities including pedders way just 15 minutes away for the quad bikes which was fantastic!

Saturday night was a huge success, the champagne and canapés were flying and everything was absolutely delicious, Gary is a machine in the kitchen and the waiters friendly and helpful, another time having seen how you guys operate I would have loved to try Gary's menu around your lovely round table, and I thank you for being so patient and flexible I know I was a pain in the bum!

The layout of the mill is so unusual, but in an absolutely fantastic way, the pictures on your site are great, but even they don't do your place justice, it really was a treat and exceeded our expectations in every way.

The florists were amazing as well and so helpful, they really appreciate you referring them and looked after us well.

Good feedback for the massages and treatments as well, all very much enjoyed and bought us guys some time to go karting!

Well I think I have covered everyone, needless to say Sandra you have been a delight to deal with through out, and we would definitely stay again.
All the very best
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Detached Stunning 7 Storey Windmill with Heated Pool.
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p98330
+44 (0)7958 455255
Stoke Ferry Kings Lynn & West Norfolk
Owner Submitted Review
-1

Coming Back

  • Review Submitted: 02-Mar-2012
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2012
Hi Sandra,
We all had an absoultly amazing time and were discussing coming back before we had even left!

Thanks again
Shelley
Helpful votes: 1/1