Elounda villa rental - A great place for alfresco breakfast whilist enjoying the view.
A great place for alfresco breakfast whilist enjoying the view.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday villa in Elounda - VILLA MINOS
The Villa Minos offers a high level of service and comfort with sea views.

The VILLA MINOS offers a high level of service and comfort. There is a Meet and Greet service which a basic food starter pack, a mid week clean with change of towels and sheets. This modern villa is an hour by car from Heraklion airport. In a sought after location, set in an elevated position but close to the beach with views over the Bay of Elounda, and the surrounding Cretan mountains. Built on two levels, the ground floor has been designed with a well equipped modern kitchen, an open plan living/dining area with comfortable seating, and a satellite TV with English & multi language channels plus FREE WI-FI. There are two quality double sofa beds enabling the villa to accommodate up to five by arrangement. The upper floor has 2 bedrooms (one double and one twin), both air-conditioned,with patio doors leading out onto sea-view balconies. Each has its own luxury bathroom with a Hydro power shower.

14 Reviews of Property 96643 in Elounda, Greece

Modern Villa, Elounda Bay views - Private Pool, near Beach & Shops FREE WI-FI
average rating of 4.785714 based on 14 reviews
business
Modern Villa, Elounda Bay views - Private Pool, near Beach & Shops FREE WI-FI
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p96643
+44 01483766892
Elounda Lassithi
5

Excellent

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 23-Sep-2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013
Great little villa. Terrace and pool are excellent - with sunny spots and shady spots, and views to the sea are from everywhere.

Villa is very new and so in excellent condition, together with TV and DVD (plays english DVDs) and aircon for the two bedrooms.

Management is very good - the owner is quick to respond to requests, and the housekeeper, Rose, meets you at the site etc.

Loads of choice for tavernas etc nearby.

If you are staying for a week and don't want to explore too far, then best value is a taxi from the airport (owner can recommend a good value firm) - as you can easily walk to local facilities. If staying for two weeks, and more likely to explore further , then better off getting a hire car.

Whilst the particulars say that you are in a village next to Elounda, if you hand't been told this you would just assume that you are on the outskirts of Elounda. Its no more than a 10-15 minute stroll along the seafront to get to the centre of town.

All in all - excellent. And would certainly book again.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Simon for such a great review, both Rose and Fred who look after the Villa and ourselves, try really hard to make your stay as comfortable and trouble free as possible, so it is always nice to hear from our guests that they loved the area and the villa and are thinking of returning in the future, just as many of our previous guests have done. Once again thank you for staying with us. Andrew
business
Modern Villa, Elounda Bay views - Private Pool, near Beach & Shops FREE WI-FI
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p96643
+44 01483766892
Elounda Lassithi
Guildford Surrey England
5

Villa Minos.... a week of tranquility and luxury

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 15-May-2013
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2013
We spent a fabulous time in Villa Minos which have been to before. The spectacular views can be admired from all areas of the poolside and ofcourse the villa.Wow! The villa is itself spotlessly clean and well equiped to make your holiday as perfect as possible.Outside there is a choice of sun or shade and the pergola area makes a very pleasant area to sit and "chill", taking in the real Cretan charm.
The pool itself is very well maintained and we enjoyed making use of this lovely facility.....a leisurely swim or floating on the lilos. We spent many an evening sitting on the edge of the pool, toes dabbling in the pool, sipping our glasses of wine looking at the twinkling town and harbour lights . The pool lights make for a very romantic ambience!
Although there is a short, fairly steep hill to access the villa but this villa is well worth it.
There are plenty of excellent places to eat.... for example there is one on the way down to Elounda... great views... and the one called "Hope" in Mavrikano which has a great early evening "buzz" and the beer is reasonable priced!
We love staying here and look forward to our next date in Crete at the Villa Minos... thank you for providing such a wonderful, comfortable place to stay in and soak up the charm of Crete.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review of our Villa and of the wonderful area of Elounda.

We are happy to hear that everything was fine and that you enjoyed your Cretan experience, and look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.
business
Modern Villa, Elounda Bay views - Private Pool, near Beach & Shops FREE WI-FI
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p96643
+44 01483766892
Elounda Lassithi
3

Just ok for us

  • 3 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 09-Jan-2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2012
My partner and I stayed here in September for 10 nights. The booking process and checking into the villa was a smooth process and the owner kindly let us check in during the early hours of the morning.

The villa is one of four reasonably new villas at the top of a steep hill. The villa has great views of the sea and a partial view of Elounda town. The restaurants and bars of Elounda can be reached in around 20 minutes by foot but be prepared for a steep walk back up the hill!

Overall we thought the villa and experience was just average. I know i am going against the grain of other reviewers but i felt there were a few areas which didn't set this apart from other villas we have stayed at for a similar budget.

Internally the villa is not very spacious and consists of one open plan room on the ground floor and 2 beds and 2 bathrooms on the first floor. The villa is in neutral decor and is furnished like atypical rental property.Both bedrooms do have great balconies with an elevated view of Elounda and the sea.

I always wish for a comfy bed while on holiday but this wasn't at all. Now i know its personal preference but the bed was too firm. The mattress was thin, on a solid base and felt like the old coil spring type certainly not a 5 star experience when you awake aching from the harshness of the bed each morning.

The pool is small and is only really suitable as a plunge pool or for floating on an inflatable but not really for swimming.

The villa is quite prominent to the villas next door so we felt it wasn't private at all. The villa to the right facing the sea has a raised terrace with a low separating wall so you are over looked while sunbathing and have to speak softly if you want a private conversation. In fairness we had a strong group of 5 staying next door who weren't the most discreet of people and we found this quite over bearing.

There were a few other niggly points like poor wifi connection, not very equipped kitchen, lack of water pressure in the shower and several power cuts which resulted in no water some evenings or not being able to open the shutters all day as well.

On a more positive note the villa was very well kept and clean which is always welcome and it was cleaned twice during our stay which is unusual from our experience of other villas. One other recommendation is Despinos (i think) restaurant at the very bottom of the hill. We only discovered on our last night but it was outstanding quality and local prices
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the trouble to write such a comprehensive review of our villa for us and for many of the complimentary comments you made.

We were surprised that you found the bed too firm as the mattress is of a type that allows enough softness and firmness for most people’s preference.

The separating wall is being raised this winter which will allow the top patio to be as private as the lower one, and since your stay the water pressure system has been upgraded.
The pool is regarded as family size for the villa, which enables the adults to swim a number of strokes and the younger members to enjoy themselves, prior to going to the nearby beach.

I an afraid that short term power cuts and niggles are an intrinsic part of the Greek way of life, although we try our very best to make everything run as smoothly as we possible can.

I hope that with the on going improvements and upgrades to our villa, that you will come back to stay with us another year, as many of our other guests like to do.
business
Modern Villa, Elounda Bay views - Private Pool, near Beach & Shops FREE WI-FI
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p96643
+44 01483766892
Elounda Lassithi
4

Glad we went

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 20-Jul-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2012
We have previously been to the Chania area of Crete and thought that we would like to try Elounda. We had initially thought about staying at one of the high end hotels that can be found in the area . Bbut having recently stayed at villas with the luxury of having our own pool and not having to share our space with other holidaymakers ,we plumped for the Villa Minos.
This was a great choice. It has splendid views out across the sea from all areas of the pool side and villa. The villa was very well equipped and spotlessly clean. Around the pool area throughout the day you can be in the sun or shade. In fact while we were there we had some days when it was very hot, but because of the position of the villa there was a cooling breeze which meant that we were able to make the most of the weather.
As mentioned the views are spectacular and to that end access to the villa is up a steep (by UK standards) hill. If you are a novice at driving in Greece all we say is keep your nerve, The villa and views are well worth it!
The beach at Elounda is not the best, but using Elounda as a base there are some wonderful sandy beaches the the east of Ag Nic .
In terms of eating out, you will be lost for choice but you must try the Kantoyni which is on the road upto the villa. It is a tradional Greek taverna and the food is simple but very good.
All in all we enjoyed Elounda and were glad that we stayed at the Villa Minos.
Owner's Response: Hi and thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your stay at our Villa, it is a fantastic part of Crete and we are pleased to hear that you had such a lovely time.
Rose and Fred will be very happy to read your comments as they do their best to ensure that our Villa is always spotlessly clean, and that everything is in working order for the enjoyment of our guests.
Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to hearing from you when you come back to this part of Crete.
Andrew
business
Modern Villa, Elounda Bay views - Private Pool, near Beach & Shops FREE WI-FI
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p96643
+44 01483766892
Elounda Lassithi
5

Villa in July

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 18-Aug-2011
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2011
My wife, teenage son and I had the pleasure of staying at Villa Minos for 2 weeks in July. The villa itself was exactly as shown in the photographs and, to the relief of my wife, was spotlessly clean for our arrival. We often book Villa holidays and I have to say that more often than not the reality of what you get does not match the expectation. In terms of location it is close to a couple of other villas in the group. However, given the high quality of the design and the separating walls of just the right height it felt open but still private. Then we have the hill! It is fairly steep...ok during the day but I struggled to face it after a few glasses of wine. Elounda itself was pleasant enough although not quite as up market as we were hoping for but I think that this was more down to us not fully appreciating what Crete is all about. If you want a lazy time in the sun, chilling by the pool with a stroll to some reasonable restaurants then this is the place for you.

One more thing, if you do go please check out the Mare & Monte restaurant in Ag Nik. We like our food and this was simply the best restaurant that we found during our stay.
Owner's Response: Hi David. Thank you for taking the time to write such favourable comments regarding your holiday in our Villa. Rose and Fred who look after everything for us will be very grateful to hear that your wife and yourself appreciated all their hard work in getting the villa spotlessly clean.

I trust that now back home you are still feeling fit from the short climb up the slope, which as you know gives fantastic views over Elounda. We hope to see you and your family again when you come back to Crete. Thank you once again for syaying with us.
Andrew
business
Modern Villa, Elounda Bay views - Private Pool, near Beach & Shops FREE WI-FI
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p96643
+44 01483766892
Elounda Lassithi
Ruislip, Middlesex, England
5

A week at Villa Minos Elounda

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 12-Jun-2011
  • Date of Stay: May 2011
We've just enjoyed a wonderful week at Villa Minos Elounda. My wife and I (57 & 58), my eldest sone and his girlfriend (both 31) and my middle son (29) were in Elounda attending a family wedding. We decided before we went that we wanted a bit of luxury and certainly this Villa provided that. The Villa provides everything that it says in the advertisement. I wont go through ticking everything, suffice to say we felt very comfortable and ever so at home in Villa Minos. As mentioned we were there for a wedding which meant that there were organised things to do but we still wanted to enjoy a family holiday, which we certainly did. Elounda is a picturesque place and has plenty of very nice places to eat. It wasn't high season (May 24 to May 31) which meant that it was quite quiet but that was nice. And even if it was more busy the Villa offers a near but secluded and very peaceful escape from the beach and seafront areas but with tremendous views over all the bay and town. Unfortunately and unusually the weather wasn't tremendous for the first couple of days but then warmed up nicely. Rose & Fred who greet you and look after the change of linen etc were a lovely couple who fit around you easily. They are very helpful with their local knowledge and are at the end of a phone if you have any problems, which we didn't. The pool was cleaned as suggested twice a week. It's great having your own pool and not having to pack towels is good for baggage limits! There is plenty of wardrobe and drawer space and it is all so nice and new. The air conditioning was a bonus but must become an essential in the summer. I must be honest and say it is a fairly steep climb up to the Villa but it just makes your legs work a bit and bearing in mind that I have a touch of arthritis in my hip, I didn't struggle too much ... you just know that it is a slope. (There is a smashing chatty local lady who not being rude - had a few years on us and she's up and down that slope several times a day). It's quite a long time since I visited Crete and Elounda but after finding Villa Minos it wont be that long until I go again - a truly excellent home from home. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Both my wife and myself are really pleased that you had such a wonderful week at our Villa.
We think ourselves very lucky that Rose and Fred are such a caring couple, who take great pride and delight in meeting and looking after our guests. This makes such a huge difference to a holiday when everything is just right. It is such a pleasure to have guests such as yourselves enjoy such a lovely part of Crete and look forward to welcoming you or your friends when you return to Elounda.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern Villa, Elounda Bay views - Private Pool, near Beach & Shops FREE WI-FI
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p96643
+44 01483766892
Elounda Lassithi
London
5

May 2011 visit

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 09-May-2011
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2011
We have just returned from an enjoyable week-long holiday. The villa was exactly as per the description and was very clean and tidy when we arrived. The surrounds are very peaceful and led to a relaxing break.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you Neil for your kind words, I am glad that you enjoyed the Villa and its surroundings.
Both Rose and Fred, who look after our villa, are very fastidious and take great pride in making everything just so for our guests.
business
Modern Villa, Elounda Bay views - Private Pool, near Beach & Shops FREE WI-FI
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p96643
+44 01483766892
Elounda Lassithi
Newcastle Upon Tyne
5

A relaxing time in crete

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 28-Oct-2010
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2009
Villa Minos in Elounda exceeded our expectations for our late summer holiday. The Villa itself is extremely well equipped and is finished to a high standard. A modern kitchen and a dishwasher may not be on the essential list but you do realise the benefits when you're making lunch. The bedrooms and bathrooms were a boutique hotel standard and the air conditioning worked a fine. The pool was freezing when we were there but we were there in October but it was always clean.

Things I'd like to have changed - the tv in the lounge was tiny, the beds were a little harsh and the railings at the bottom end of the pool are not safe for young children.

The road up to the villa is a first gear steep hill climb. This may be a challenge for people who aren't that confident behind the wheel but this will be true of many hill side villas.

The local residents couldn't be more friendly and welcoming and all the local restaurants in the town were good. We never had a bad meal. I would certainly return to the villa again.

Oh nearly forgot to mention the views from the villa are to die for. You may suffer the hill but you get your reward when you look out from the pool area. Well worth it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Dan

Thank you for your appreciation of our villa with your kind words. In answer to your comments, I guess that although the tv is a 22" flat screen, it may look a little small against some of the huge screens around these days, but hey, who wants to watch tv when the sun is out?
The railings are the required safety height, but we do always advise parents to supervise any young children when in or around the pool area.
We do hope that we will be able to welcome you or your friends back to our villa soon, now that you have discovered Elounda!

Andrew
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Modern Villa, Elounda Bay views - Private Pool, near Beach & Shops FREE WI-FI
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p96643
+44 01483766892
Elounda Lassithi
Guildford
5

Wonderful Villa holiday

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 30-Sep-2010
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2010
We have recently returned from a lovely 2 week holiday in Villa Minos. There was wall-to-wall sunshine, perfect temperatures (approx. 28C early Sept), great local food and fun in the bars after midnight if you so wish!

The villa is ideal for a family of four, comfortable, extremely clean and well-equipped with a gorgeous view over Elounda bay and the peninsula. The pool is perfect for a quiet plunge when one over heated or floating on a lilo with a glass of wine. We also got a lot of use out of the barbeque using meat from the local butcher and tasty grilled haloumi. Freddie and Rose were extremely helpful too.

We definitely recommend Villa Minos!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Sue
We are so happy that you and your family had such a wonderful time at our villa in Elounda and grateful for your recommendation. As many of our guests return to this lovely area we hope that you will too.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Modern Villa, Elounda Bay views - Private Pool, near Beach & Shops FREE WI-FI
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p96643
+44 01483766892
Elounda Lassithi
Luton,Bedfordshire,UK
5

Perfect Holiday

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 09-Jul-2010
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2010
We have just returned from a perfect two week holiday staying in the Villa Minos in Elounda, Rose and Fred the agents were there to meet us when we arrived at the Villa and took time telling us everything that we needed to know about the villa and places of interest they were really helpful.
The villa is as lovely as it looks on the internet perfect location outstanding views over looking the harbour and Elounda especially in the evening sitting on the terrace with the whole of Elounda lit up it really is very picturesque .
The Villa is clean, well equipped spacious everything was to a very high standard.
We spent many a lazy days around the lovely swimming pool which was cleaned twice a week .
There is a bar called Hope near the Villa and we met Mikolias 92 years old lived there all his life, there is a small terrace where you can sit with a cold beer that you help yourself to out of the fridge and leave the money on the side and just sit and look at the amazing views of Elounda
Lots of good restaurants to choose from at reasonable prices all very friendly and we were made to feel welcome where ever we went .The Lotus was one of our favourites run by English family, food was very good.
If you want a typical Greek taverna then go to the Kontayki only a few minutes from the Villa
Exceptional food ,lovely atmosphere and the owner was so friendly perfect night out.
Plaka is definitely worth a visit quiet only a few restaurants and you can take a boat trip to Spinalonga which is very interesting especially if you have read the book “The Island “
We also hired a boat when we were in Plaka and went on a fishing trip for 4 hours, with a skipper who took us all around Spinalonga then stopped so we could go snorkeling and then onto fishing , all of the fish that we caught was cooked for us in the restaurant and served with Greek salad ,potatoes beer and wine all in the price of the trip, excellent day out.

We stayed in a hotel last year when we were in Elounda and decided this year to try a villa and we will never go back to a hotel again but will definitely be booking to go to the Villa Minos next year
It really was a perfect holiday .
Roger Eileen Shaun and Lynda
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are very happy when our guests have such a wonderful time, and are appeciative of our villa and all the attention to detail that is made to make everything as comfortable and clean that you would expect from an exclusive hotel.

Elounda and Agios Nikolaos are inded wonderful areas to visit as our guests have shown by their holiday experiences.
We look forward to welcoming them back next year and hope that all our future guests will have the same wonderful time.
Helpful votes: 2/2