Kentucky cabin rental - Front view
Front view
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday cabin in Kentucky - Paradise Cove
3 bedrooms, 1 full bathroom, sleeps 10

This lake front property is located in Central Kentucky with in a 30-45 minutes of many attractions including: Kentucky Horse Park, Keeneland, Antique shops, Historic Shaker Village, University of Kentucky, World Equestrian Games, Historic Revolutionary Fort Harrod, Civil War Battle of Perryville, Centre College, Asbury University, Golf Courses, Bluegrass Music, and much more.

Cabin was renovated in Fall 2011. Renovations include:

All new energy efficient windows installed;

New refrigerator, stove and over the range microwave;

New vinyl in kitchen and bath;

New carpet in family room;

New washer and dryer;

Concrete steps have been added for easier access to the floating dock. Water levels still determine distance to the dock and cannot be controlled by the owner.

12 Reviews of Property 951245 in Kentucky, USA

Newly renovated cabin on the lake with floating dock!
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 12 reviews
business
Newly renovated cabin on the lake with floating dock!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p951245
+1 859 2304662
Kentucky USA
5

Awesome water access!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 18-Sep-2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013
This house has great lake access! The dock is amazing and is by far the best feature of the rental in my opinion. The large covered deck is also always a plus! For the price and location you cant beat this rental. We will definitely be returning.
business
Newly renovated cabin on the lake with floating dock!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p951245
+1 859 2304662
Kentucky USA
4

Beautiful home and wonderful time at the lake!

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 04-Sep-2013
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2013
We really enjoyed the availability of the dock and slip for boat. It would be nice to have electric at the the dock, but otherwise, great! The accommodations at the house were great, plenty if towels, dishes and linens. We used the grill on the deck out back and ate most dinners on the screened porch. A fire pit in the back would be fun for s'mores! We had a fabulous time and will be back! Thank you.
business
Newly renovated cabin on the lake with floating dock!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p951245
+1 859 2304662
Kentucky USA
5

Repeat customer enjoyed yet another fantastic trip

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 23-Jul-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
I've stayed several times in the past. The home is roomy offers plenty of room for our extended family. This trip was to celebrate our son's 25th birthday. Ths was the first time a few of our family members had joined us and I believe they enjoyed the stay as much as we did. We all wished we could have stayed a few more days, but back to real life and work responsibilities we went...lol
The house had been updated since our last visit. The kitchen appliance and washer\dryer were all new. The rooms had been painted and the bedding had been updated.
There is plenty of towels, bed sheets, blankets and pillows. There is a also a foldable baby crib with sheets and blankets.
As for amenities, there are many. Our family enjoys the dock and spend at least 90% of out time there. There are 3 boat slips (one is covered). Very convenient for our boat\jet skis. The younger ones in our group enjoyed the diving board and had a contest to see which of them had the best "Belly Flop". That was a blast to watch :)
The back yard is completely fenced in and is shady with lots of trees. Perfect for family pets. The is a deck platform at the bottom of yard with table and deck chairs. Perfect spot for sitting and enjoying the cool breeze when the sun is about to set for the evening.
The screened in porch deck is fabulous!!! Plenty of seating and a great spot to enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning. Spectacular views !!!
The house offers a living room\dining room area that has a sleeper sofa and 2 chairs as well as a oval shaped dining table with church pew type bench and chairs for ample seating.
The "family room" has a couch and pool table which makes a perfect area for the kids to hang out in the evening. The owners have provided plenty of games and movies for our entertainment.
There a 3 bedrooms which will cover all sleeping arrangements.
As for parking, we parked 2 SUV's and 2 cars in front of the house fairly easily.
You'll stay cool with the updated AC unit too so you don't have to worry about that.
The home does offer a few TV's and DVD\VHS players. They are not flat screens or blu ray, but with all there is to do at this great lake house, you will not be sitting in the house in front of the television anyway.
There is plenty of dishes, silverware, pots and pans, etc. One thing I will bring with us on our next visit is an electric griddle. It will come in handy for pancakes!!
If anyone in your party drinks alcohol, this is in a dry county, so come prepared.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Newly renovated cabin on the lake with floating dock!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p951245
+1 859 2304662
Kentucky USA
3

Charming potential / Flat execution

  • 3 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 19-Jun-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2013
The house was very comfortable, with the master bed being VERY nice.

Overall the house was dirty, and didn't seem to have been cleaned or even opened up prior to my arrival. There was a definite musty smell that took more than a few hours to try and blow out.

The kitchen was functional, with cutlery being a challenge. There was no bottle opener of anykind.

The grill was a filthy mess with extensive rust on the grill grates themselves. I tried to clean the grill to use it and ultimately gave up and cooked steaks inside.

The setting and view could NOT be more beautiful. The back porch experience is quite wonderful.

Lake access is via a steep climb, and nearer the lake to get the path becomes less and less clear and the route more challenging. The dock shows signs of having been a real party place once. That is not the case now as the decking is peeling, one ramp has sunk and the decking on the other is severely rotten.

GPS guidance for this house seems to think it's about one-mile sooner on the road than it is. Keep going.

Overall, my experience was very nice spent sitting on the porch. For the condition of the house and kitchen, I do feel like it was terribly over priced when compared to much nicer homes I've stayed in.

I will return to Herrington Lake, and may well stay here again. But I will try to negotiate a lower rate, and bring my own kitchen needs.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Newly renovated cabin on the lake with floating dock!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p951245
+1 859 2304662
Kentucky USA
2

A little disappointed

  • 2 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 09-Dec-2012
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2012
We were under the impression that the lake would be accessible. It really was not. You had to climb down a rocky embankment it was very unstable and scary. My father in law is 71 and could not get down there at all. The cabin was very dusty and looked like it had not been cleaned in some time. The price is good but don't get your hopes up. You will be disappointed.
Helpful votes: 7/8
business
Newly renovated cabin on the lake with floating dock!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p951245
+1 859 2304662
Kentucky USA
5

Rental 951245

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 24-Oct-2012
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2012
This was perfect lodging for us! We loved the lake and the dock!! our 2 small dogs very much enjoyed the back deck/porch area just as much as we did!! The home was spacious and very well equipped with everything we needed! This is the first time we found lodging through "HomeAway" and we are certain to use this service on our next vacation!! Thank you so much!! We had a great time!!
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Newly renovated cabin on the lake with floating dock!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p951245
+1 859 2304662
Kentucky USA
4

Wonderful Weekend Getaway

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 21-Aug-2012
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2012
The house is really quite nice and it has everything one needs. The screened back porch is wonderful---beautiful view of the lake. The travel down the hill to the dock is a little difficult. It's okay for adults but with children you need to really be careful. We had a 4 year old and 7 year old and they made it quite well but I'm glad they were not any younger! I would suggest that the cleaning service pay more attention to cleaning off the dust and spiderwebs both inside and outside the house. Overall, we had a great time---it was a good family getaway.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Newly renovated cabin on the lake with floating dock!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p951245
+1 859 2304662
Kentucky USA
5

Excellent Choice for Our Family!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 20-May-2012
  • Date of Stay: May 2012
This was our first time visiting Herrington Lake. We chose this area because we were going to be looking at properties in Mercer/Washington Counties and with two small children we wanted a comfortable place to stay where they could feel like they were "home". This home had everything we needed and more! Our family was so comfortable here we extended our stay for a few days. The layout of the home makes it quite comfortable. All of our every day needs were met and the owner was so accommodating.

I had serious reservations after reading the comments about the walk down to the dock. We were not able to use it because of our schedule but it is definitely doable with children so long as you hold their hands going up or down. The back yard is nicely fenced and our children spent time there without any issues.

The only negative comment I would make has to do with the impression one receives upon pulling up to the property. I agree with a prior reviewer's comment on the front exterior of the property. It could be made a little more inviting with just a little clean up and flower planters. However, Once you enter through the front door it is quite comfortable and very obvious that the property is reasonably kept and maintained.

Overall this was a very pleasant experience for my family and we are grateful to the owner for being so responsive and accomodating.

We would recommend this place to anyone looking for a comfortable home away from home.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Newly renovated cabin on the lake with floating dock!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p951245
+1 859 2304662
Kentucky USA
4

Nice getaway

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 23-Apr-2012
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2012
This house is very nice, with lots a room. Everything you need to cook is there, even for the grill. We had a great time on the back deck, having it screened in was very nice. I would not say this house is a perfect place for small children, since getting to the lake slopes down and is a little hard getting to. For adults it is great. I would recommend staying here.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Newly renovated cabin on the lake with floating dock!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p951245
+1 859 2304662
Kentucky USA
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
4

Herrington Lake

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 21-Apr-2012
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2012
Our family had a great time in Kentucky on beautful Herrington LAKE.
The house worked out great as our home base for trips to Rupp Arena, Keeneland and Golfing, the fishing was a nice bonus as we caught many Bluegills and Bass off the pier.
It was an excellent family vacation and i would reccomend this property to other travelers.
the kids especially liked the pool table in the living room.

Mike Radske