Chatillon-sur-Seine house rental - Back garden looking toward vineyard
Back garden looking toward vineyard
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in Chatillon-sur-Seine - Maison Valois
3 bedrooms, 1 full bathroom, sleeps 6

Maison Valois is a charming stone-built village house that has architectural characteristics typical of this area. Located in a private gated courtyard on a quiet village street, the house has three bedrooms, a large living area with fireplace, a dining area that looks across the fields and vineyards, and a large garden where you can enjoy the spectacular views. The house is enhanced by antique furniture that is from the region. The kitchen is large, airy and stocked with all the equipment you need to create your meals made with ingredients that you purchased at the market or at one of the many excellent grocery stores in the local area. There is a good, casual restaurant a few steps from the house, where grilled meats, pizzas and salads are the specialty - a must try! Recent renovations and updated decor will make your stay memorable while you relax in this authentic Burgundy country house.

We both grew up in Europe -- Daniel in Holland and Juliet in England -- and we now live in Austin, Texas. Travelling in Europe has been a priority for our vacations, and a few years ago, we decided that we really enjoyed the Burgundy region of France for the authentic rural lifestyle, friendly people, beautiful countryside and fascinating places to visit. So we decided to buy a house in Burgundy!

Juliet Tapia purchased this house in 2011

When we made our decision to purchase a house in France, Maison Valois was the first house that we viewed, and we immediately decided it was perfect for us and anyone who shared our appreciation for the beauty and tranquility of the French countryside. The house is very comfortable and has a warm atmosphere that tells us that many generations have lived there happily. The village is friendly, safe and quiet, and is located within an easy 10 minute drive of a charming market town that provides guests with all the necessary amenities. We have enjoyed furnishing the house with a combination of authentic French antiques and contemporary comforts. We hope you enjoy your experience in Maison Valois!

12 Reviews of Property 930023 in Chatillon-sur-Seine, France

19th Century House in Quiet Cote d'Or Village with Views of Burgundy Vineyards
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 12 reviews
business
19th Century House in Quiet Cote d'Or Village with Views of Burgundy Vineyards
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p930023
+1 5125854801
Chatillon-sur-Seine Montbard area
5

Authentic Village Life

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 27-Sep-2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013
For the traveler seeking a genuine experience of "life in a small rural village in France" this is your place! It is comfortable and well equipped and located in an area surrounded by lovely villages, towns, farms and forests. Your neighbors are families of vintners, dairy farmers, foresters and craftsmen. The pace of life is slow and quiet. The owners are sincere and thoughtful in ways beyond imagination. And the property manager, Eric, lives just a few minutes away and is full of helpful information.

It is amazing how one can stumble upon the unexpected while traveling. Just a few kilometers from your base in Belan-sur-Ource, is the village of Essoyes, where P.A. Renoir spent most of his working life. Many of the neighboring villages are too small to support a bakery or market. Still, we were always able to find a restaurant with great food shared with the locals for lunch. A great restaurant is located in the Hotel du Parc in the town of Arc-en-Barrois, a beautiful little town worth a visit.

The nearest large town is Chatillon-sur-Seine where you will find everything you need to supply your visit, from butchers to bakeries, pharmacies to markets. Chatillon is an easy ten minute drive from Belan. Here can be found also, an interesting museum, church, restaurants and a very helpful tourist information center.

Now, I must ask a favor from anyone who visits this enchanted place. When you go to the market, stock up on carrots. There is a little Shetland Pony living next door who answers to the name of "Scotty". Actually, he answers to anything but, he (and I) prefer "Scotty". I promised him I would send carrots every chance I got. So, please don't let us down!

Stacy and Carol - San Diego, California - USA
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
19th Century House in Quiet Cote d'Or Village with Views of Burgundy Vineyards
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p930023
+1 5125854801
Chatillon-sur-Seine Montbard area
5

Beautiful house, beautiful landscape

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 25-Jul-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
I cannot recommend Maison Valois too highly. The house is gorgeous, and beautifully appointed. My wife and I went for two weeks, and wished only to stay longer. The house is situated in the Chatillionnais, which is significantly less crowded than, say, Beaune, which, to my eye, has become increasingly built for crowds and rote tourism. The Chatillionnais was, for us at least, a real revelation--strikingly beautiful--and this house is ideally situated to explore it in great detail. In fact, the house and the land are both so beautiful that we rarely wanted to leave the house or Belan-sur-ource itself--content as we were to cook, read, write and go for walks. That said, you are not that far from any part of the Burgandy region. The owner, Juliet, is very accessible, friendly, and unusually helpful. An added feature of this place is that it is in the heart of Cremant country, which means gorgeous sparkling wine that genuinely rivals Champagne in its best instances (there are many instances), and are very inexpensive. Last, the photos on the website represent the house very well. I was not in the least bit disappointed. We plan to return.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
19th Century House in Quiet Cote d'Or Village with Views of Burgundy Vineyards
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p930023
+1 5125854801
Chatillon-sur-Seine Montbard area
5

Perfect family house in Burgundy

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 16-May-2013
  • Date of Stay: May 2013
This is a lovely house in a very small village in Burgundy and perfect for wine and cheese lovers as the Champagne tasting route is nearby and it is nestled in the Cremant area and an hour from the best red Burgundy wines. The house is very comfortable and well equipped and there are loads of outdoor options on offer. A good way to get to know "La France Profonde". Juliet is very solicitous which ensures that all goes well during the stay and the people in the village are very friendly. Definitely a "vacation keeper!"
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
19th Century House in Quiet Cote d'Or Village with Views of Burgundy Vineyards
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p930023
+1 5125854801
Chatillon-sur-Seine Montbard area
Minneapolis, United States
5

You've found your next vacation destination!

You've found your next vacation destination!
  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 23-Apr-2013
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2013
What a charming house in a beautiful part of the world. This was my wife's and my first trip to France and we wanted to immerse ourselves in the French culture without the congestion and expense of a week in Paris. This place turned out to be the perfect option as it is in a peaceful little village but has access to modern amenities and is in proximity to an abundance of sightseeing.

The owners have done a wonderful job updating the house while still maintaining the charm and history one would expect. It also has important things such as local tour books and internet, critical for gathering information on local attractions and keeping in touch with the world. For experienced cooks such as ourselves who's trip essentially revolved around food (French grocery stores are a real treat), the kitchen is spacious and stocked with pretty much anything one could need.

We didn't spend much time roaming outside due to our visit being in the rainy spring, but the owners have also provided a grill, outdoor sitting areas, and even bikes to roam the village with. Bring the kids...they will have lots to do with everything provided.

Lastly, the owners were very helpful throughout the entire process and a pleasure to work with. Don't hesitate to consider this house as part of your travel plans, I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great place to stay and great base for touring all things Burgundy!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
19th Century House in Quiet Cote d'Or Village with Views of Burgundy Vineyards
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p930023
+1 5125854801
Chatillon-sur-Seine Montbard area
5

An enchanted escape to the French countryside

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 01-Dec-2012
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2012
We had a sudden change of vacation plans which gave us 3 days in France with nowhere to stay. At the last second (literally the day of our flight) we booked our stay at this lovely home. We are a family of 5 with three girls 1, 4, and 6. We were a little nervous about the drive from Charles De Gaulle airport but it went by in a flash (just make sure your rental car has GPS). Driving through the charming French countryside was amazing, going through gorgeous fields, rolling hills, and quaint small villages. We followed Juliet's instructions and easily found the house and parked in the gated courtyard. Eric, the caretaker left us a delightful gift basket to welcome our stay. He also helped setup a crib and mattress for our 1 year old. The house was exactly what we hoped for, and plenty big for a family of 5 or even larger. The beds were very comfortable and the furnishings beautiful with all the comforts of home. The home is quietly setback from the street with a backyard that is wide open to the country, literally feels like you are in the middle of a vineyard. The location is perfect for short 30 minute trip to lots of attractions, we found ourselves visiting castles, museums, and local shopping markets. If you are looking for an escape from the hustle and bustle of the big city, and want to enjoy authentic French country .... then this is the place to book!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
19th Century House in Quiet Cote d'Or Village with Views of Burgundy Vineyards
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p930023
+1 5125854801
Chatillon-sur-Seine Montbard area
South Dakota
5

Tranquility Base

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 10-Oct-2012
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2012
What a delightful place to decompress and unwind. We gathered here from 2 continents, and 5 countries for a sort of family reunion, and meeting new friends. The setting was perfect. In all there were 8 of us, 6 in the house, and 2 in the caravan my "German Daughter" and her boyfriend drove over from Stuttgart. Two of our company had just spent the last few months in Paris and had not seen this part of France before, they were enchanted. The stillness at night was of particular joy as was the large sunny back yard for taking the sun. We started our first day with a visit to the local Cremant vintner, a convenient 150 yard walk from the house. After a great tasting we stocked up the house for the rest of the week with an adequate supply of the local product. I can not recommend it too strongly both the Brut and the Rose are great and we enjoyed both.
Belan Sur Ource is a wonderful location to centeralize your excurisions. Just 20 Km south of the Champagne region, 17 km from the birthplace of Renoir, and within easy driving distance of most major tourist attractions in the area. The drive to and from is a joy and the changinging scenery is a constant entertainment. Many fine dining opportunities exist in the towns surronding this lovely place and the local "La Marmite" is open most days for lunch and some evenings at the later part of the week. We did some dining out, and some dining in as we had several better than average cooks in our midst and students from one of the top schools in the world that specializes in the hospitality industry. Gourmet or something like it in the evening, and standard european breakfast fare in the morning. Our overall conclusion was that one week was not enough next time it will be for more. This was a truly relaxing vacation, made possible by the exceptionally peaceful nature of this place.
Juliet called a couple of days into our stay to make sure all was good, it was not good it was excellent. Do not hesitate book yourself into this litle slice of heaven.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you and your party had such a nice time at Maison Valois.
One of the reasons we purchased the house was that it is within such easy driving distance of so many fascinating sites and yet is such a peaceful haven to return to at the end of the day. We were also impressed by the ease of driving in the area; the roads are quiet and safe and navigable.
We are also so glad that the gourmet chefs in your party found the kitchen and its contents to be conducive to their culinary efforts. We also enjoy cooking and have tried to stock the kitchen with all the necessities.
We hope that you will, indeed, return for another, longer visit!

Juliet and Daniel
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
19th Century House in Quiet Cote d'Or Village with Views of Burgundy Vineyards
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p930023
+1 5125854801
Chatillon-sur-Seine Montbard area
5

Blissful Getaway!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 06-Sep-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2012
My wife and I stayed here over the summer. We were looking to escape the stress of city life, and the trip was everything we hoped it would be. We both really loved the Burgundy region. Cycling through the small towns, passing wheatfields and sunflower crops, we felt a million miles from anywhere. In reality, though, there were a number of top notch museums and sites of French history within a quick drive. The house was beautifully decorated. Very cozy and very homey. We cooked big dinners almost every night and became connoisseurs of many of the local cheeses. Our last night in Burgundy was actually pretty chilly for the summer. We built a large fire in the fireplace and toasted Cremant wine we purchased from a local vineyard. Simply blissful! Thank you! We can’t wait to come back.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
19th Century House in Quiet Cote d'Or Village with Views of Burgundy Vineyards
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p930023
+1 5125854801
Chatillon-sur-Seine Montbard area
4

Lovely Burgundy

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 05-Sep-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2012
We've had a wonderful stay at this house. The house is spaceful, and the garden is huge. Our children had a great time in the garden, as it is big enough to fly your own kite!
The locals are very friendly. We've made very nice evening walks in the beautiful surroundings
The house is in the proces of being restored: some amenities are not yet up to date. Because the weather was so wonderful we missed the presence of a proper sunscreen, we learned from the owner this will change in the future.
If you have small children, as we do, you have to know that the house is not fully childproof, this concerns mainly the electricity.
Both the owner and caretaker were very accessible, and made sure our stay was very comfortable.
There are lots of things to do for (smaller) children in Burgundy. There is a theme parc (Nigloland near Bar-sur-Aube), you can visit Alesia, and the statue of Vercingetorix. The Abbey of Fontenay is very beautiful.
In the Town of Tonnere there is a mysterious source. The town of Flavingny is one of the most beautiful villages in France and also has a candy factory which you can visit. Chatillon sur Seine is only 10 min away and is a lovely town to wander through and also has a very nice museum with an enormous ancient vase.
The nature is fanastic, all in all a wonderful place to spend you holiday!
We would definitely stay here again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
19th Century House in Quiet Cote d'Or Village with Views of Burgundy Vineyards
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p930023
+1 5125854801
Chatillon-sur-Seine Montbard area
4

A fascinating location

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 25-Aug-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2012
The house of course is beautiful, authentic, traditional very French, but the memory I would like to share is about its location. I live in 21st century USA and when I explored the villages of the Cote d'Or it brought home how fast-paced and urbanized even our rural regions are! ... I loved the peace and quiet when I strolled the lanes around Belan-sur-Ouce, sat in the churchyard, and even when visiting La Marmite -- I felt a sense of contact not only with a different culture but a memory of how life was lived in calmer times. By contrast the facilities in Chatillon sur Seine and Montbard are as up-to-date as one could wish for. We hired a car very efficiently in Montbard and our day trips including driving through Champagne country, visiting the Gallo-Roman site of the siege of Alésia with its wonderful interpretation center, Fontenoy Abbey of course, and a favorite for our family, picnicking in the grounds of the chateau Ancy-le-Franc.
If you want a vacation that is truly a get-away from the commonplace, this is strongly recommended.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
19th Century House in Quiet Cote d'Or Village with Views of Burgundy Vineyards
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p930023
+1 5125854801
Chatillon-sur-Seine Montbard area
5

Lovely house, lovely region!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 06-Aug-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2012
We stayed here for a week in July and found it to be the perfect spot for a relaxing vacation in the French countryside. The house is charming and is a great size for families or groups of friends. The bedrooms are comfortable and those blue shutters keep out all the sunlight -- great for sleeping in! The spacious kitchen is a great spot for cooking big dinners and planning day trips. The living room is restful and cozy, and there's a big yard outside for the kids to play. We enjoyed riding the house bikes around the villages and the surrounding countryside, stopping by vineyards to taste the local Cremant wines. Plus, it's such an easy drive to Paris. We can't wait to return! Thank you for a lovely week!
Helpful votes: 1/1