Romney Marsh cottage rental - Our Cottage
Our Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday cottage in Romney Marsh - Brittons Hill Cottage
Beautiful detached thatched cottage set in the heart of the Kent countryside

A Beautiful 'chocolate box 'detached thatched cottage set in a private garden and surrounded by rolling Kent countryside as far as the eye can see, a truly idyllic escape from the real world.

Surrounded by a mixture of pasture and woodland bluebell woods nearby and is a haven for wildlife-peace and tranquility guaranteed.

This charming detached cottage which has been newly renovated is a two bedroom two bathroom 300 year old Thatch Cottage close to the famous Romney Marshes and is set in idyllic surroundings with Glorious countryside all around sleeping up to six persons.

Our cottage has it’s own special charm, refurbished to provide the highest standard of comfort, yet retaining a wealth of period features. Tasteful furnishings, flat screen TV/DVD player and WIFI

PlayStation 2 for the children.

Surrounding area:

The Cottage was Awarded four stars by the tourist board is a wonderful base for touring Medieval Rye with its famous cobbled streets, Canterbury, Hastings and the nature reserves at Dungeness and Rye are all within short driving distance. Cyclists can enjoy the many leafy cycle routes, which are all around this fascinating area among the famous Romney Marshes. There are also many beautiful National Trust properties to visit within easy driving distance of Britons Hill cottage.

The area is a perfect base for any type of holiday appealing to Couples, families, walkers or cyclists.

Day trips from Folkestone or Dover to the Continent is easy by ferry or hovercraft and of course Euro tunnel’s 'Shuttle will take you to France in just 35 minutes, or you can travel to Paris or Brussels on Eurostar from Ashford's International Station which is just 12 minutes drive away.

There are many sandy beaches that are only 15 min. drive away.

Sports:

Water sports. riding, trust properties, castle.

Walkers/ cyclists welcome:

There are many sandy beaches which are only 15 - 20 minutes drive away.

This beautiful area has lovely country pubs serving great food lots of restaurants and sporting activities. are to be found and the whole area is steeped in History.

Fantastic walks perfect for ramblers and wonderful cycle routes all around.

A perfect break for families or a very romantic retreat.

Free WIFI.

More Details
Hide Details

We bought this beautiful cottage as the moment we walked through the gates it was like stepping back in to a different time

The sun was shining there were baby lambs in the fields next to the cottage and this chocolate box cottage sat in the middle of the lovely secluded garden surrounded by wonderful views of the countryside and we just knew this was a very special place and it is we are sure you will love staying here just as much as we do.

Beautiful Thatched secluded cottage with wonderful views from the garden and cosy conservatory, Closes to beautiful beaches, wonderful towns and villages, historic castles nearby, great shopping in the designer outlet.

National trust gardens, great for walks and exploring the countryside also fast train services in to London.

12 Reviews of Property 91302 in Romney Marsh, United Kingdom

Enchanting detached thatched cottage in a truly magical setting
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 12 reviews
business
Enchanting detached thatched cottage in a truly magical setting
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p91302
+44 02089040600
Romney Marsh Kent
Derby
5

Amazing place

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 12-Jan-2008
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2008
Just as the advert said a really Magical place
an amazing country cottage it was like stepping back in time but with all luxury conveniences.
My wife and i had a really lovely winters break and will be going back many times i hope.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 25/25
business
Enchanting detached thatched cottage in a truly magical setting
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p91302
+44 02089040600
Romney Marsh Kent
5

A wonderful romantic retreat.

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 04-Feb-2014
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2014
A perfect little cottage in a great location. Absolutely charming!
Can't wait to go back :)
Pauline was also very helpful and accommodating.
business
Enchanting detached thatched cottage in a truly magical setting
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p91302
+44 02089040600
Romney Marsh Kent
Toronto, Canada
5

Cosy in Kent

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 16-Dec-2012
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2012
This is a lovely little cottage, centrally located in easy driving distance to many South Eastern attractions. We spent a week here at the beginning of October this year (2012). The cottage is well equipped and the bed was very comfortable. The place was clean and cosy. Pauline and Chris took very good care of us. We had a problem with the internet connection while we were there and Chris responded quickly and got us back in business!
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your visit to England and so glad you were so cosy and comfortable at the cottage, it's so kind of you to take the time to write a review you were the perfect guests and hope you can visit again sometime.
Many thanks
Pauline and Chris
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Enchanting detached thatched cottage in a truly magical setting
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p91302
+44 02089040600
Romney Marsh Kent
5

The Most Beautiful Cottage Ever

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 31-Jul-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2012
This Cottage has to be seen to be believed !
like a fairytale sitting picture perfect in its own garden with the most amazing views
of the countryside and resident sheep.
Inside is utterly charming and characterful very tastefully furnished and all in keeping with the style of the cottage except for the wonderful colored chandeliers adding that bit of wow factor which we loved so quirky.
we loved everything about it and what a great area to visit so many lovely villages and castles to visit also great shopping we never wanted to leave and only wish it was mine so i did not have to.
thank you so much as you know we have already booked again.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind review it means such a lot to us to know other people love our cottage as much as we do.
And please visit again soon .
Love
Pauline
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Enchanting detached thatched cottage in a truly magical setting
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p91302
+44 02089040600
Romney Marsh Kent
5

Beautiful Cottage in Beautiful Scenery!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 31-Jul-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2012
Stunning!
Before our arrival the owner was exceptionally helpful, providing us with lots of details of what to do in the area, and where the best restaurants to go were etc. When we arrived we were stunned.... it is such a beautiful, picturesque cottage with a lovely view across the countryside. It was beautifully furnished and in a great location. Comfy beds, and great décor.
The garden was beautifully done as well, and I loved sitting out in the conservatory in the mornings with it's view into the countryside.
We had a fabulous time, thank you so much for all your useful tips!
We will be back!
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you enjoyed the cottage it is such a wonderful retreat for us and all our guests who visit there and glad you liked the beds it's really important to have a good nights rest
After all the walking and eating those cream teas in Appledore!
Please visit again soon.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Enchanting detached thatched cottage in a truly magical setting
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p91302
+44 02089040600
Romney Marsh Kent
London
5

The Perfect Cottage

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 04-Mar-2011
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2011
Dear Pauline and Chris
What can we say ! This is the most Beautiful Cottage I think I have ever seen you walk in the gate and have to look twice it is just picture perfect and the setting is gorgeous the views are to die for and of course the inside is just as lovely your attention to detail is wonderful you can tel this is a special home love the thatch cottage with the amazing Chandeliers, comfy furniture cosy romantic bed, and the little separate conservatory with again those views of the sheep which were right up to the fence and the rolling countryside beyond.
A great location for walks, castles, gardens so many nice places to visit we loved Rye.
Onve again thank you for sharing your home with us I just did not want to leave and will be back very soon.
best wishes
Gillian
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Enchanting detached thatched cottage in a truly magical setting
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p91302
+44 02089040600
Romney Marsh Kent
kent
5

The Real Thing

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 13-Sep-2010
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2010
We Had to write Pauline to let you know what a marvelous Holiday we Had this August in Your Beautiful Country Cottage
When I opened the Gate I was Over whelmed to see this Quaint Thatched Cottage stood in the Lovely Garden with the Sheep popping there Heads over the Fence to say Hello it really is like something out of a book.
The inside was so clean and is so tastefully decorated and it was just like home from home it had every thing we wanted and the Views from the cottage and Garden our to die for we just never wanted to leave,
Thank you for all your help and suggestions of where to visit and Eat as you know we have already booked again and have told all our friends about this special home.
Best regards
Christine and Joe
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Enchanting detached thatched cottage in a truly magical setting
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p91302
+44 02089040600
Romney Marsh Kent
Berks
5

Fabulous Cottage!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 08-Jan-2010
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2010
We spent the weekend with our 2 children and dog over the New Year, and had a lovely time. Arrived to a snow filled garden in a beautiful setting. Everything you could need was in the cottage and the Christmas Decorations made it feel like a home from home. Lots to see and do in the area despite the freezing temps! View is amazing from cottage over open fields. Would def come again - thanks very much for a super weekend!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and thank you for your kind review we think the cottage is such a special place it is a real retreat for us and for our guests to we hope
I hope we have made it a real home from home for all our guests who stay at the cottage.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Enchanting detached thatched cottage in a truly magical setting
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p91302
+44 02089040600
Romney Marsh Kent
Southampton
4

First Kent Holiday

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 09-Nov-2009
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2009
Cottage and gardens are just as described in the literature as is the warning to watch your head going through the bedroom door!!!. Inside is well appointed and you have everything you need to make for a comfortable and enjoyable stay and the views from the kitchen are beautiful.
The cottage is ideally situated for making visits inland and to the coast and I can recommend a days out to Port Lympe and the many beaches. (we were once again lucky with the weather all week). Only gripe was the proximity to quite a busy country road but this would not stop us booking again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Enchanting detached thatched cottage in a truly magical setting
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p91302
+44 02089040600
Romney Marsh Kent
Sussex
5

Everything you could possibly want.

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 12-Oct-2009
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2009
Located in the middle of the peaceful countryside, Brittons Hill cottage provides everything you could possibly want from your cottage accomodation. Everything has been lovingly thought of, there are even sonic devices plugged in to help prevent the appearance of spiders, usually associated with Thatch!

The garden is idyllic and private, situated next to a massive field of sheep. There are many beautiful places in the area if you love walking, which we do. You will feel like you are the only people on earth walking through the picturesque, unspoiled countryside.

If you need groceries etc, the local tesco is a 10 minute drive away and there are few other local amenities but I'm assuming you are looking to get AWAY from all that and enjoy the peace and calm of the countryside.

A word of warning, I don't know if it was the Thatch or the "pets considered", but if you are a sufferer of nasal allergies, don't forget some piriton or similar medication or you may be in for a very sneezy time.

If you are a fan of loud, stressful environments, this place is not for you. It is a relaxing, romantic place and we recommend it highly.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8