Gambia apartment rental - The apartments and swimming pool
The apartments and swimming pool
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday apartment in Gambia - Banana Lodge Apartments
Spacious open plan one bedroom apartment located close to beach and village

A tropical oasis, this self-catering apartments in The Gambia is set in tropical gardens with a magnificent swimming pool for guests to relax.

The spacious living area includes an open plan kitchen/dining area with well equipped kitchen, gas cooker, oven and fridge. The lounge is comfortably furnished with satellite T.V. The bedroom is spacious, light and airy and the bathroom is fully tiled with a walk-in shower, washbasin and toilet. There are ceiling fans in every room.

There is 24 hour security .

The apartment has its own private rear terrace and garden. The front balcony area overlooks the tropical gardens and swimming pool. The patio doors fully open facing the swimming pool. The swimming pool is set amongst the tropical gardens. Birds of paradise, banana plants,colourful exotic flowers surround you as you swim. Relax under the shaded banta bar or on the sunbeds on the terraced patio that surrounds the swimming pool. Bbq al fresco under the velvet starry skies of Africa.

The Gambia is a paradise for birdwatchers and fishermen.There are more species of birds found here than in any othe country in Africa.

Hire a boat and go deep sea fishing.or fish from the beaches and eat your catch for tea.

More Details
Hide Details

17 Reviews of Property 856594 in Gambia

Self catering apartment with pool, near beaches, excellent location, The Gambia
average rating of 4.529412 based on 17 reviews
business
Self catering apartment with pool, near beaches, excellent location, The Gambia
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p856594
+220 7888321
Gambia Africa
5

Beautiful sunny garden full of trees and bird life

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 05-Feb-2014
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2014
Informal compound with 6 one bed en suite open plan lounge and kitchen.Friendly management husband and wife team , gambian and british.24 hour security with own safe , wifi and sat. tv.This is all set in an african village , but with european comforts . The pool was a welcome relief on hot days and the beach a 15 min. walk away.The main Senegambia area with restaurants and bars is only a 15 min taxi away.Coming here makes you realise the rat race we are caught up in , in the first world.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Self catering apartment with pool, near beaches, excellent location, The Gambia
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p856594
+220 7888321
Gambia Africa
5

Peaceful and tranquil.

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 07-Dec-2013
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2013
Have been to Banana Lodge on many occasions and love every minute there. Beautiful gardens lovely setting and lots of birds very peaceful. Our apartment has always been spotless, basic accommodation but everything you need. Very friendly staff always there to help. Lovely swimming pool too. A little gem.
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Self catering apartment with pool, near beaches, excellent location, The Gambia
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p856594
+220 7888321
Gambia Africa
5

Wonderful Banana Lodge-

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 25-Nov-2013
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2013
After searching many websites for private accommodation in The Gambia i finally decided that Banana Lodge ticked all the boxes for me.The website was very precise you knew what to expect when you arrived and the price you would be paying. When i walked through the gates after a long tiring journey i was blown away. It was arriving at an oasis so green, with a lovely blue pool. All the trees and plants i had seenhad grown threefold. Mango tress, banana plants, trees, bushes and plants and a beautiful burgonvilla and hibiscus. The hosts were very welcoming. The apartment was lovely high ceilings with fans and hot water. The big plus was a 5ft bed with a proper english style mattress white sheets and no smelly pillows. I met some some lovely people in the lodge and everyone i spoke to had the same positive opinion as me. All said they would come again and many had stayed several times before. I think to think that Rosemary has become a new friend to me and i know i will return. Linda Reed Great Dunmow Essex
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Self catering apartment with pool, near beaches, excellent location, The Gambia
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p856594
+220 7888321
Gambia Africa
4

privacy and tropical atmosphere

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 05-Sep-2013
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2013
Dear Rosemary & Mustapha

I had a wonderful stay with you and noticed that your gardens have grown beautifully since you took the pictures for your website, giving a lot of privacy and tropical atmosphere to the apartments.

Your hospitality was exemplary.

I'll be back for sure!

Josee from the Netherlands
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Self catering apartment with pool, near beaches, excellent location, The Gambia
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p856594
+220 7888321
Gambia Africa
5

Great, save, clean and .. just good

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 04-Sep-2013
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2013
For the third time I booked a lodge at Banana lodge. Not any other lodge for me anymore. Very nice, kind and trustful people, great and clean house, birds in the garden and a lovely pool. For bird photographers as me a great and save place to stay with enough places to go in the area. Thank you Rosemary, Mustapha and Abelai.
Han Bouwmeester
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Self catering apartment with pool, near beaches, excellent location, The Gambia
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p856594
+220 7888321
Gambia Africa
4

Banana Lodge, Brufut, The Gambia

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 29-May-2013
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2013
This was my 8th visit to The Gambia and the 2nd time I had stayed at Banana Lodge, a wonderful oasis of peace and calm run by really welcoming proprietors Rosemary and Mustapha. If you are contemplating a trip to The Gambia and wish to be away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist resorts then Banana Lodge is the place for you. The accommodation is self-catering so you are free to eat where and when you want. The rooms are big and spacious and each apartment has its own private garden to the back where I enjoy sitting with my morning coffee watching the many colourful birds that are attracted to the luscious plants and trees which have been thoughtfully planted throughout the complex. During the day you can laze by the pool or if it's a trip you want Rosemary and Mustapha willingly organise it for you. In April I visited the Abuko Nature Reserve where I had a thoroughly interesting morning bird watching with a guide who was courteous, friendly and very knowledgeable. If it's the beach you want then a 15 minute walk will find you on a wonderful sandy beach where you can walk, lie in the sun, sit at a beach bar or watch the local fishermen. Beware of swimming though as the currents are strong. If voluntary work is your thing Rosemary can also arrange this be it in a school, hotel or within health. To conclude, I am a single, female traveller and at Banana Lodge I feel safe and free from the hassle that can be experienced in the hotel areas. I will definitely be staying at Banana Lodge again later this year. Happy Holidays.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Self catering apartment with pool, near beaches, excellent location, The Gambia
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p856594
+220 7888321
Gambia Africa
5

An oasis of tranquility in a Gambian village

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 11-May-2013
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2013
Banana Lodge is situated off the main road - about 3 "blocks" into the village. The neighbourhood, as part of a village, is safe, as far as I am concerned. Very little of hassle here (not like Senegambia). Inside the security-guarded gates is an utterly delightful apartment-courtyard setting of semi-detached apartments with a lovely swimming pool in the centre of things, surrounded by trees, bushes and flowers - including bougainvillea. My apartment was spacious enough for me and would be equally fine for a couple. It was clean, comfortable, and certainly "above basic". 2 comfy settees in the lounge area, plus dining table and in the kitchen area, an easy to use gas cooker - really hot oven! Beds comfortable, toilet/shower area fine too. Outside there are sun-loungers, and chairs on your own little terrace. For the price you pay, a great bargain.

Regarding living within Banana Lodge, remember this is room-only - so no meals are provided. There are 2 very close by local Gambian shops, where you can get basic products - like lovely bread, butter (well margarine), potatoes, onions, and small bagged amounts of salt, sugar, flour, cooking oil, and matches. Back on the main road (6 minutes walk) is 3Ds Low Price Mini Store where you can get such as cartons of fruit juices, cornflakes, toilet roll ands washing-up liquid. Another 10 minutes away is a bigger supermarket, Right Choice, with a bigger selection of most things you could need. Some frozen meat is sold there too.

The beach is about 15 minutes away and at this time of year, deserted. There are quite a few little restaurants, whose owners will try to entice you to eat there, but they do not hassle too much.

My favourite eating place is a 15 minute walk away - the Courtyard. You go up to the main road and turn left, walk about 8 minutes and then you will see the signboard. It too is a few blocks in off the main road. Sunday Carvery, steak pie on Tuesdays and a very good choice on the menu. Don't miss this.

Can you get around easily? Yes, you can, but you will need a little practise to get used to using the local transport - vans or public taxis. About 14p can take you quite a distance. But ask Rosemary for advice.

In summary, if you do NOT need all that the 5* Kairaba, Cocoa Ocean, or Sheraton provide, you are happy to do a little shopping locally, and you are happy for the beach not to be 100m from the swimming pool, then you should adore Banana Lodge.

So would I come back - absolutely!!
Owner's Response: Thanks for a good review Richard.Banana Lodge enjoyed having you as a guest as well!You are more than welcome any time.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Self catering apartment with pool, near beaches, excellent location, The Gambia
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p856594
+220 7888321
Gambia Africa
5

Banana Lodge, Brufet, Gambia

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 02-Apr-2012
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2012
Wow what a holiday! We saw the real Gambia.

Banana lodge is like a little paradise, with numerous fruit trees, walls covered with climbing plants in full bloom, a small swimming pool and the sight and sound of birds everywhere. We found Banana Lodge very relaxing. Rosemary & Mustapha the proprietors are very friendly,helpful and socialable.
Banana Lodge is situated on the outskirts of Brufet, a real uncommercialized African village. There are beautiful unspoilt sandy beaches close by (20 minute walk) with numerous palm trees and hardly any people using them.
We found the Gambian people to be very friendly and polite. The local children are adorable and love to hold your hands and chat to you as you walk to the beach. We observed normal daily activities taking place as we walked to the beach or the shops, such as children playing, undertaking family chores and walking to school along the dusty red sandy roads.
The trips organized by Banana Lodge were amazing. Mustapha has a great sense of humour and is a very informative guide.
Tips –
•Trip prices do not include entrance fees to the places you are visiting.
•Bring along toilet rolls & matches for the cooker ( or buy them at the supermarket)
•I would bring along a mosquito net for the bed (not sure how you would erect it as the ceilings are very high), there weren’t many mosquitos around, but some of the nets on the windows were missing and this prevented us from opening the windows at night.
•If Mustapha is collecting you from the Airport and taking you food shopping ask him to take you to Right Choice – it is clean, all items are priced and it has a lot more choice than other shops.
•Visit the “Courtyard” restaurant, it is within walking distance of Banana Lodge and offers excellent food at very cheap prices
Oh yeh- it is normal custum to tip- I would bring along a good supply of 25 dalais notes (thats about 50p) it seemed difficult to get smaller notes in Gambia - we were giving out £1 coins at the airport, which can get expensive

If you are expecting 5 * accommodation this is not for you. If you want to experience Gambian life, staying in very comfortable and spacious accommodation within an outdoor paradise environment, with lovely staff and the opportunity to experience amazing trips then this is for you.

I would love to visit again.

Linda & Darren
Helpful votes: 21/23
business
Self catering apartment with pool, near beaches, excellent location, The Gambia
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p856594
+220 7888321
Gambia Africa
UK
4

Local Culture

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 26-Mar-2012
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2012
We have just returned from a excellent holiday to Banana Lodge.
The apartments are basic but have everything you need, including WiFi and Sattellite TV. The pool and gardens are like a oasis.
The Senegambia (tourist area) is a 10 minute taxi ride away, if you want a tourist enviroment.
The beach at Brufut, which is a 15 minute walk from the apartments, is fantastic and far better than the beaches near the Senegambia strip.
Our trip to Senegal and Fatala Safari Park was a memorable trip and well worth the effort. Ok, no Lions and Tigers but a excellent trip. Mustapha was a excellent guide.
We particularly enjoyed eating at the Blue Kitchen, excellent food.
If you like the confines of hotel life then Banana Lodge is not for you, if you want to experience a little bit of Gambian life then Banana Lodge is well worth considering and excellent value for money.
Helpful votes: 14/16
business
Self catering apartment with pool, near beaches, excellent location, The Gambia
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p856594
+220 7888321
Gambia Africa
4

Staying at Banana Apartments

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 21-Mar-2012
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2012
I find Banana Apartments a peaceful and relaxing oasis. It's a restful place where you can lie by the pool and take a dip or sit in the shade of the mango tree. It's a place where there is no pressure and the owners Rosemary , Mustapha and their staff are always ready to give advice, answer questions and give promt attention.
There is a fabulous sandy beach, which seems to go on forever, within walking distance. There are numerous eating places there and everyone serves you in an hospitable, friendly manner. There are many restaurants , market stalls and shops within walking distance or you can jump in taxi, there's always one passing at the end end of their road and visit numerous interesting towns.
All in all a super place to stay in a stunning country.
Helpful votes: 14/15