Ambert area barn rental - Exterior of house
Exterior of house
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
Minimum Stay 2 - 14 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday barn in Ambert area - The Walnut Mill
Large 4 bedroomed gite (sleeps 10/12) with private heated pool

Dating from the 1850's, but completely renovated in 2006, this spacious accommodation offers a luxurious break away from it all, plus a taste of real France.

The barn has three double bedrooms (1 en-suite) and a large gallery, sleeping 4/5. In addition there are 2 bath/shower rooms and 4th toilet. For larger parties the gite has a double sofa- bed.

The fully equipped kitchen comes with all the usual appliances including catering-sized pots and pans for larger groups.

The spacious living/dining area offers direct access to the pool and deck. We have satellite TV, and a home cinema system, a large selection of books, jigsaw puzzles and games. The lower floor games room has a full size table-tennis table, a half-size snooker table and table football.

We also have high chairs and cots for very young children.

The heated pool (8 m x 4 m), large wooden deck with gas BBQ and dining table, large grassy garden, beautiful surroundings and local amenities offer something for everyone.

The G.P.S. coordinates for the gite are 45*25'35.72'N, 3*44'59.57' E [ I am using the * sign to indicate degrees].

Winter bookings of the gite [ Dec. Jan. and Feb.,March and April ] have a winter fuel supplement of 150 euros/ sterling equivalent per week. However, should the gite not require extra heating above the norm, then the fuel supplement will be fully refunded.

The pool is open from mid May until the end of September.

For groups larger than 10 persons a supplement of 10% per person per week is chargeable.

We now can accept Cheques Vacances.

More Details
Hide Details

34 Reviews of Property 841829 in Ambert area, France

France as you remember it. Rural, peaceful, relaxing and safe
average rating of 4.870968 based on 34 reviews
business
France as you remember it. Rural, peaceful, relaxing and safe
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p841829
+33 0473951929
Ambert area Puy-de-Dome
5

A wonderful house in a great location

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 10-Mar-2014
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2013
We have stayed at this house several times and always have a lovely time. John and Morag and their girls are extremely kind and helpful and the house is always very clean and tidy. It is a great place for a family to stay - very well appointed, plenty of space and lots of things to do locally. We would definitely recommend this house and we will be back again.
business
France as you remember it. Rural, peaceful, relaxing and safe
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p841829
+33 0473951929
Ambert area Puy-de-Dome
5

A great gite, with wonderful hosts!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 13-Aug-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
The gite is clean, spacious, and has all the facilities you could hope for. It is in a peaceful rural location, but only a couple of minutes away from Arlanc (with cafes, supermarket etc).

It was great to open the kitchen cupboards when we arrived to find it fully equipped with a decent number of plates/bowls/pots/pans/glasses to cope with the party of ten - so many gites fail in this area.

The pool is great - John & Morag keep it fastidiously clean even though the thunderstorms deposited leaves and debris. There are plenty of loungers and chairs outside, plus the dining table for ten on the decked area beyond the pool.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the family are really pleasant and helpful - and stay in as much or little contact as you wish - they're always around to help if you need them.

My son was able to make use of the (decent quality) electric piano downstairs + wi-fi + skype to take one of his piano lessons whilst on holiday - impressive! Morag also dug out three cases of piano music for him to peruse, not a service found at every gite :-) If you're of a musical bent, ask about the balalaika and autoharp too!

Two of us went running most mornings - it's a perfect spot - many alternate routes - you can stay on the level if you wish, or tackle the hills. On one occasion we picked up a friendly dog (i.e. it thought we we taking it for a walk) it didn't turn back when we expected it to, so it completed the last 6K with us! A quick drive up the hill saw it safely returned...

The bikes (three adult, one child's by default - but more can be conjured by John if you need them) were great, perfect for cycling around the hills, or fetching bread from Arlanc in the morning.

There is a lawn around the front of the gite which is not mentioned in the details - we used this for our traditional holiday volleyball matches.

Must visits: Le-Puy-en-Velay (a bit of a drive - about an hour, but worth it), La Chaise-Dieu (only 15 minutes away).
We also kayaked down the Alliers, which was great - 1hr20 away, and went to some of the markets (Ambert, Craponne-sur-Arzon), always worth doing - pick up some Fourme D'Ambert - yum!

Downsides: Not many - the wi-fi was quite limited in signal strength, and there are a lot of steep steps (limiting the use of the outdoor dining area a little) - that's it really...

All-in-all, we had a great time at the Walnut Mill, and would recommend it to anyone!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
France as you remember it. Rural, peaceful, relaxing and safe
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p841829
+33 0473951929
Ambert area Puy-de-Dome
5

Wholeheartedly recommend 100%

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 14-Jun-2013
  • Date of Stay: May 2013
Our family arrived to a wonderfully warm welcome by the owners who made us all feel at ease and at home immediately.

The beautifully spacious house is set within the peaceful, unspoilt countryside providing far-reaching views over the fields, perfect for anyone looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of every day life. Despite its tremendously quiet location, it offers the convenience of a well-stocked supermarket and garage close-by.

Walnut Mill is a very generously sized gite suitable for large families or groups. It is very clean and comfortable, with all the convenience of home from toys and books for the children, to the all-important washing machine and dryer! As far as holiday accommodation goes, we couldn't have asked for more.

John, Morag, Georgia and Rachel were fabulous hosts; friendly, helpful and wonderful to get to know. To them we would like to say thank you for a fabulous stay and see you again next year!
business
France as you remember it. Rural, peaceful, relaxing and safe
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p841829
+33 0473951929
Ambert area Puy-de-Dome
5

Superb gite

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 07-Oct-2012
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2012
Well - what can I say about Walnut Mill - just this. If you are in any doubt of booking this gite for your holiday - just book it and enjoy - you won't be disappointed. We were a party of 3 couples and found the gite most comfortable, light and airey, clean, very well equiped and with the most convivial owners. The pool was great (inflatables provided) as was the ping pong table which brought out our competative streat. The gentlemen of our party made good use of the bikes. Free wheeling down the hills is fantastic!! It is a beautiful area to visit with fabulous scenery.

Sally W
business
France as you remember it. Rural, peaceful, relaxing and safe
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p841829
+33 0473951929
Ambert area Puy-de-Dome
5

Superb gite

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 07-Oct-2012
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2012
Well - what can I say about Walnut Mill - just this. If you are in any doubt of booking this gite for your holiday - just book it and enjoy!! We were a party of 3 couples and found the gite most comfortable, light and airey, clean, very well equiped and with the most convivial owners. The pool was great (inflatables provided), as was the ping pong table which brought out our competative streak!The gentlemen of our party made good use of the bikes. It is a beautiful area to visit with marvellous scenery.

Sally W
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
France as you remember it. Rural, peaceful, relaxing and safe
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p841829
+33 0473951929
Ambert area Puy-de-Dome
5

Superb Gite!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 07-Oct-2012
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2012
Well - what can I say about Walnut Mill - just this. If you are thinking of booking this gite for your holiday - just book it and enjoy!! We were a party of 3 couples and found the gite most comfortable, light and airey, clean, very well equiped and with the most convivial owners. The pool was great (inflatables provided), as was the ping pong table. The gentlemen of our party made good use of the bikes. It is a beautiful area to visit with marvellous scenery.

Sally
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
France as you remember it. Rural, peaceful, relaxing and safe
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p841829
+33 0473951929
Ambert area Puy-de-Dome
5

Fantastic gite

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 04-Oct-2012
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2012
A party of 6 adults and 1 delinquent whippet, we spent a wonderfully relaxing holiday in this gite which was light, spacious and equipped with everything we needed - the pool was the icing on the cake. Morag, John, the twins and dogs were the perfect hosts, very helpful without being over the top (hope you've solved the mole problem).
When we could tear ourselves away from the pool and ping pong table, we enjoyed discovering the surrounding area; the markets in Ambert and Arlanc, the Gorge do Loire and even ventured to the Millau Viaduct and Tarn Gorge.
Would recommend this gite.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
France as you remember it. Rural, peaceful, relaxing and safe
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p841829
+33 0473951929
Ambert area Puy-de-Dome
4

Nice house in the countryside.

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 16-Aug-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2012
We spent a relaxed week by John and Morag and their twins, just outside Arlanc. The house is very spacious and well equipped, and the pool area facing the fields. The Mcquade’s are perfect hosts, friendly and helpful. Definitely a recommendable place to spend a few relaxed weeks.
business
France as you remember it. Rural, peaceful, relaxing and safe
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p841829
+33 0473951929
Ambert area Puy-de-Dome
5

Zweí sorgenfrei Wochen

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 16-Jul-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2012
Dieses geräumige, hervorragend ausgestattete Gite können wir bedenkenlos weiterempfehlen. Hier fehlt es an nichts - von der Küche mit allen erdenklichen Utensilien über Brettspiele & DVDs (wenn man dem Regen oder der extrem heißen Sonne entkommen möchte), beheiztem Pool inkl. Spielzeug, Haushaltsraum mit Waschmaschine und Trockner, einer wahrhaftigen Sammlung von hießigen Touristeninformationen bis hin zum WLAN für den Internetzugang.
Und wenn Sie mal etwas vermissen, ist es von großem Vorteil, dass die freundlichen Eigentümer nebenan wohnen. Sogar einen Autositz für unseren Ford Galaxy haben Sie uns aus ihrem Seat Alhambra ausgeliehen. Ihre Hilfsbereitschaft war unübertroffen und wir haben ihre Nähe überhaupt nicht als störend empfunden.
Diese renovierte Walnuss-Mühle ist eine reizvolle Mischung aus alt und modern. Sie fügt sich wunderbar in die hübsche, grüne Landschaft ein, bietet aber den Besuchern alle wünschenswerten Annehmlichkeiten.
Unsere Familie, bestehend aus Großeltern, Eltern und Kindern, verbrachte hier zwei sorgenfreie und entspannte Wochen. Jeder kam auf seine Kosten: Die Großeltern hatten die historisch interessanten Städte in der Umgebung, wir Eltern konnten uns beim Mountainbiking in den umliegenden Bergen austoben und die Kinder hatten ihren Spaß im Pool.
Wir möchten uns auf diesem Wege bei John und Morag sowie bei ihren beiden Kindern, Rachel & Georgia, für ihre Gastfreundschaft herzlich bedanken.

Familie Kaufmann aus Hamburg, Germany
Familie Meads aus Gloucester, UK
business
France as you remember it. Rural, peaceful, relaxing and safe
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p841829
+33 0473951929
Ambert area Puy-de-Dome
5

Superb owners; great gite

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 16-Jul-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2012
From the website, the property appeared to be in a great location and to be well presented and well equipped. It was also of good size for my party of 6 including two children. From first contact with the owners we found them very friendly and helpful.
On arrival, the gite more than met our expectations the owners and family could not have been nicer. The gite was superbly presented and very comfortable. My wife and daughter found every conceivable utensil in the kitchen and my two grandchildren made full use of the very clean and well-maintained heated pool. They easily made friends with the owner's children who were of similar age and quickly became inseparable. The owners were readily available if needed, but our privacy was fully respected and it was made clear that the gite was to be treated as "our" home for the time we were there. They even went so far as to lend us a seat from their people carrier for my daughter's, which was of similar design, so that all six of us could travel in one vehicle (my daughter had removed two of their seats to accommodate luggage!).
The location was rural, but with a good Super U and other shops nearby. Access to superb walking and cycling country was on the doorstep and in addition, some must-see places, such as Le Puy, Thiers and the Puy de Dome were within easy driving distance.
Our fortnight came to an end all too soon and we were sorry to say goodbye to this part of the Auvergne and especially to our host family
The gite and their owners are highly recommended.