Lucca villa rental - Sitting room
Sitting room
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday villa in Lucca - La Fenice
Beautifully appointed villa with magnificent views

'La Fenice' is poised in a spectacular hillside position, with magnificent panoramic views over the Lucca valley to the mountains beyond, only 10 mins drive from Lucca. Featured in 'Dream Homes: Inspirational Interiors' design series, the villa was recently refurbished to a high standard, using traditional Tuscan techniques, to create a beautiful family home. It is elegantly furnished with a blend of antiques & contemporary comforts including satellite TV & WiFi broadband. Set in a rural conservation area of exceptional beauty, the property overlooks vineyards & olive groves, & features 1 acre of landscaped gardens with 12 x 6m heated pool with hard electronic safety cover, pool-side loggia, & shaded pergola for dining al fresco. There's ample garden furniture for relaxing in comfort, & a games room with table tennis. Sunny paved terraces flank the south & west sides of the house so you can watch dawn over the Appenines & sunset over the Apuan Alps. Peace & privacy are assured.

Lucca & cultural life around La Fenice:

La Fenice is a perfect starting point for excursions in this culturally rich region. Lucca is one of the gems of Tuscany: smaller & more intimate than Pisa, Florence & Siena, it’s a beautiful historic town with Roman origins, whose Renaissance walls form a shady circular promenade around which you can walk or cycle. It offers medieval towers to visit, ancient churches, cathedral, palazzi, art galleries, museums, botanical gardens, stylish boutiques, great restaurants, an opera house, & daily recitals of Puccini (himself a Lucchese) in a 12th c church. There’s also a Puccini festival every summer at Torre del Lago, 30 mins away. The many ravishing 16th & 17th c grand villas & gardens within 15 mins of the house are well worth seeing, as are the Medici villas around Florence. Other places of interest are the picturesque coastal towns of Lerici, Portofino & the Cinque Terre; the ancient fortified towns of the mountainous Garfagnana region; & the spa at Bagni di Lucca.

Activities around La Fenice:

The glamorous seaside resorts of Versilia are within 40 mins drive. Forte dei Marmi is our favourite with its immaculate beaches, designer shops & stunning mountains behind. There are free beaches at Viareggio & Lido di Camiore; & at Migliorno, South of Pisa, a nature reserve offers wild beaches. Boat trips are available from Lerici to Portofino, & the Cinque Terre. A tennis club where guests may play, 10 mins walk from the house, is one of several in the area. For walkers there are beautiful trails straight from the house: walk past San Concordio church, up Monte Catino to find splendid views of the sea & the peaks of Carrara & the Appenines. There are well-marked trails around Monte Matanna & Ste Anna in the Apuan Alps; & others in the Appenines. Horse-riding is available at Marlia, Lucca & Bagni di Lucca. Cycling & fishing are also available nearby. And for the intrepid: there’s paragliding at Pizzorne, mountaineering in the Apuan Alps, & caving at Grotte del Vento.

Gourmet & wine, spas & shopping:

There's a wide range of restaurants in the area from simple trattorias to Michelin starred restaurants. We provide a list in the house information pack. Lucchese specialities worth sampling include Buccellato (farro of Garfagnana), Castagnaccio (made with chestnut flour & ricotta) & DOP Olive oil, famous for its lightness & flavour. Wine tasting & tours may be arranged. Cooking classes with Chef Paolo may be booked for 2 or more people in a nearby hotel: learn to make Italian delicacies, then sit down & enjoy your own meal with wine. For fashion, Lucca & Forte Dei Marmi have designer shops: the latter with twice-weekly markets of designer goods & cashmere, while Lucca’s market is more low key. We can organise a tour of outlet shopping malls. The nearby spas of San Giuliano, Monsummano, & Montecatini Terme offer a wide range of both health & beauty treatments including swimming & hydro massage in thermal pools, mud wraps, & many types of East & Western massage. We can organise a daily or weekly pass to the nearby Spas. Massage & beauty treatments are also available within 5 mins drive of the house.

Guest Services:

We offer a wide range of personalised services including:

Organised excursions to nearby towns & cities.

Personal chefs & cooking lessons at the house.

Wine tours & tastings, vineyard meals, beer tours, olive oil tastings.

On-site personal trainer, on-site Yoga or Pilates courses, on-site aquatic fitness courses.

On-site masseuse/masseur.

Organised bike tours or sailboat trips.

.

More Details
Hide Details

We are an English family who live in London, with a lifelong passion for Italy, who enjoy sharing our beautiful home with discerning visitors.

Alex Lester purchased this villa in 2003

For the astonishing views, the incredibly quiet rural location, the proximity to Lucca and the sea, as well as Pisa, Florence, Siena & airports.

We used to holiday at Forte dei Marmi - one of the most beautiful seaside resorts in the Meditarranean, 40 mins from the house. We have explored all over Italy from Venice & the Veneto to the Lakes, the Adriatic coast, Tuscany, Umbria & Puglia.

When we saw this house with its extraordinary views, we knew this plot had our name on it.

12 Reviews of Property 830502 in Lucca, Italy

Stunning villa with spectacular views & pool, only 5 km from Lucca
average rating of 4.888889 based on 12 reviews
business
Stunning villa with spectacular views & pool, only 5 km from Lucca
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p830502
+44 (0)7767 627147
Lucca Piana di Lucca
Owner Submitted Review
0

'Wonderful vacation at La Fenice'

'Wonderful vacation at La Fenice'
  • Review Submitted: 20-Jan-2014
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
This is a long overdue note to thank your for a wonderful vacation at La Fenice.

The house was beautiful and the setting perfect. We anticipated that our family vacation to Lucca would be special but little did we realize how special.

We were treated to a beautiful view of the valley below that became more interesting as twilight fell and the lights in homes began to sparkle. When the full moon rose as we dined on the patio we were simply speechless.

Our grandchildren enjoyed the pool and we all liked the late afternoon treats in the capanna.

Lucca provided us with a trip back in time. The charming narrow streets with food and clothing shops became more so with cyclists. We all enjoyed riding our bikes through town and in the park on top of the walls. We had a special lunch at Trattoria de Leo and were treated to spontaneous opera singing. Out adult children enjoyed a night out thanks to Gram and Poppy at Osteria via San Giorgio. L'Enoteca Vanni had an amazing wine selection and served Tapas. Of course gelato stops were a necessity.

Perhaps our favourite meal, other than those cooked by our sons-in-law, was on Sunday afternoon at Lombardo's. The food was delectable and we were treated like locals.

We found a book of Lucca stories in your library and read them to the grand-children ages eight and six. That led to a hunt through town for Alaria's garden at the top of the Guinigi Tower and eventually to her tomb in the cathedral. The kids loved the mystery.

This was our best family vacation ever. Thank you for your hospitality and for making your home available to us.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning villa with spectacular views & pool, only 5 km from Lucca
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p830502
+44 (0)7767 627147
Lucca Piana di Lucca
4

lovely, secluded and relaxing

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 19-Aug-2013
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2013
Lovely stylish villa, with good sizes rooms, and wonderful views across the valley.
Only minor (very minor) complaint is that there could have been better local information on how to get to other sites (villas etc), and a good local map would have helped.
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
Stunning villa with spectacular views & pool, only 5 km from Lucca
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p830502
+44 (0)7767 627147
Lucca Piana di Lucca
5

Immer wieder La Fenice...

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 12-Aug-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
Bereits zum zweiten Mal waren es zwei wunderbare, erholsame Wochen in La Fenice. Das Haus mit der traumhaften Lage, dem Blick auf das Tal und die absolut geschützte Privatsphäre begeistern uns. Die neue WLAN Verbindung funktioniert wunderbar, sodass wir alle unsere I - Pads problemlos nutzen konnten. Unsere Ausflüge ans Meer nach Viareggio Lido, Pisa, Carrara und natürlich Lucca waren schöne Erlebnisse. Danke an Gina, die uns bei unserer Ankunft bereits das Wichtigste an Lebensmitteln eingekauft hatte!
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Stunning villa with spectacular views & pool, only 5 km from Lucca
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p830502
+44 (0)7767 627147
Lucca Piana di Lucca
5

A perfect week- we should have booked for two.

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 22-Jun-2013
  • Date of Stay: May 2013
Our group spent over a year planning this trip. La Fenice did not disappoint us.The villa was exactly as photographed and the views were magnificent.

We were a party of 6 adults and the common areas were more than spacious enough for us.

The beds were comfortable and the morning church bells were a wonderful way to ease into the day.

I can't say enough about Gina the house manager. This San Francisco transplant was so helpful that it seemed that we always had a lifeline out there if anything went wrong , either in the villa or in our travels around Lucca. She even had us follow her to the grocery store on our arrival day to make sure that we didn't get lost.

Alex, La Fenice's owner, was patient with all of our questions and amazingly helpful in arranging "extras" for us. Her recommendation to visit to Fubbiano winery was perfect. As were our cook, Morena, who prepared delicious meals for us two nights. She also recommended the car service and driver, Riccardo, for our day trip to Chianti, San Gimignano and Siena. It was one of the most memorable days of our vacation. The Casa Emma winery lunch in Chianti was spectacular.

The bottom line is we would rent here again without reservation.
Janet
NY, NY
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your kind words, you were ideal guests, welcome back any time!
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Stunning villa with spectacular views & pool, only 5 km from Lucca
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p830502
+44 (0)7767 627147
Lucca Piana di Lucca
California
5

Perfect Tuscany Vacation

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 18-Nov-2012
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2012
This was one of the best vacations we’ve ever had. When Gina the Italian-American house manager warmly greeted us, and we walked through the house and saw the view, we knew were going to have a fabulous vacation.

The house and garden are beautiful, well designed and well equipped. And the views are nothing short of stupendous. The photos really can’t do it justice. The views are of totally unspoilt countryside - the area is apparently protected by conservation law.

I can confirm that the photos are totally accurate as regards location, appearance, amenities.

The beds were very comfortable, the rooms beautifully decorated, the kitchen well stocked with good quality utensils and china.

The pool was warm and well placed in the landscape. We were very glad of a saltwater pool - no chlorine smell on your skin.

Gina, was wonderful, she really took care of us. She had done grocery shopping and laid out a buffet for our arrival at our request, and she was very helpful on tips for the best routes to take for days out.

We had day trips out to Lucca, Florence, Pisa, Siena, the Cinque Terre etc and were happy to arrive home and jump into the pool, or lounge in the comfortable loggia by the pool sipping local Italian wine.

We also had several trips to the sea at Viareggio and Lido di Camaiore.

The pool guy and the gardener came by and were very quiet and un-intrusive but friendly. And thanks must go to the lovely cleaner Daniela who kept the place looking immaculate.

There was a very helpful house guest pack which included detailed information about anything you’d want to do in the area and full list of restaurants at all prices. We really liked a local restaurant called 'Antica Locanda' and 'Le Gazebo' restaurant at hotel 'L'Ocanda L'Elisa' was awesome.

We cooked some great meals in the kitchen and ate them outside on the terrace looking out over the valley. We also had a wonderful meal cooked for us by a chef.

So highly recommended - a perfect Tuscan vacation – all we dreamed of and more.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Stunning villa with spectacular views & pool, only 5 km from Lucca
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p830502
+44 (0)7767 627147
Lucca Piana di Lucca
Owner Submitted Review
-1

A Week in Paradise

  • Review Submitted: 24-Aug-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2012
Buon Giorno,

I recently returned from a magical, memorable week at your home from home villa, La Fenice.

Your story about the reconstruction & resurrection fascinated me and I commend
you on your attention to detail, finish, furnishing and quality of crockery & cutlery.

We didn’t do any cooking preferring to dine out but found the kitchen very well equipped too.

Thank you for allowing us to enjoy that special time at your bella villa.

Sincerely,

Penny Nesbit

Greyton

South Africa
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning villa with spectacular views & pool, only 5 km from Lucca
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p830502
+44 (0)7767 627147
Lucca Piana di Lucca
5

Wonderful two weeks; relaxing with beautiful view!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 24-Jun-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2012
We can easily verify all the information Barry M wrote in a prior review. Renting online is all about trust, and when we saw the villa, we immediately knew it from pictures. The listing is completely accurate in every way and we had a wonderful two weeks! It really is a beautiful villa, and was everything we wanted. We arrived late at night, but Gina the manager had a food spread ready for us, and was in constant communication with us.

The house has every amenity, including ample hot water for showers, a well-stocked kitchen with fine quality items, plenty of towels for showers and pool.

It is just a beautiful villa with a wonderful view! We ate almost every meal outside, enjoyed the pool and lounge chairs, and especially enjoyed sharing the owner's classical music CD's over our meals.

We were set up with two cooks from the area, Anna and Lilianna, who didn't speak a word of English (well maybe two words!), but were lovely women who cooked terrific meals, and we laughed over our translations; they even allowed us to follow them to the emergency room when our son needed stitches from a fall!

The reason we chose this villa over the many other options is that we needed an accessible home. It worked out well for my husband who cannot walk, as everything he needed was on one floor, including the pool, outdoor eating area, and lounge area.

The pool was cleaned once per week, the cleaning lady was friendly and worked very hard for us, and we saw the gardener once per week also. All very low key and quiet.

We enjoyed the location of the villa immensely. We could appreciate the lights of Lucca at nighttime, and the ease of getting into town. We made day trips to Pisa, Fllorence, Viareggio (the beach), and Cinque Terre. We took the ferry from Viareggio to Cinque Terre and it was a wonderful day.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful home with strangers, and for the accurate and lovely pictures of your villa, which inspired us to rent your villa.

Sincerely,
The Stockells
St. Louis, Missouri, USA
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Stunning villa with spectacular views & pool, only 5 km from Lucca
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p830502
+44 (0)7767 627147
Lucca Piana di Lucca
Owner Submitted Review
-1

Wonderful house with fantastic view

  • Review Submitted: 09-Jun-2012
  • Date of Stay: May 2012
Dear Alex,

we were very glad that you have built this wonderful house with fantastic view on the tuscan landscape and we could stay there. We enjoyed every minute!

The organisation with Gina was perfect, your restaurant tip as well. They even have driven us at home after dinner instead of calling a taxi!

So we hope that we will come back some time. In the meantime I send you the best wishes from Cologne.

Sincerely yours


Andrea
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Stunning villa with spectacular views & pool, only 5 km from Lucca
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p830502
+44 (0)7767 627147
Lucca Piana di Lucca
5

Tuscan Paradise

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 15-Oct-2011
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2011
Wow we had an amazing time here. The house & the view look great in the photos, but they were even better in real life.

The house is beautiful - very tasteful, with attention to detail. And the views are just stunning.

We had some great days out seeing the sights at Pisa, Lucca & Florence - which are nice & near, & some first class meals, but we also really enjoyed the time just lazing by the pool...

It was ultra-convenient to get into Lucca & or to eat delicious gelati in nearby Borgo Gianotti.

The house manager gave us a warm welcome & made us feel at home. And the owners took a lot of trouble to make sure our needs were taken care of.

We'll be back, if that's ok!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Stunning villa with spectacular views & pool, only 5 km from Lucca
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p830502
+44 (0)7767 627147
Lucca Piana di Lucca
5

La Fenice

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 06-Oct-2011
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2011
The tranquil surroundings and amazing views provide a perfect setting for this exceptional villa. La Fenice has been beautifully restored to the highest standard and is an elegant, spacious and restful place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 2/2