Montefrio villa rental - WELCOME TO EL BUJIO
WELCOME TO EL BUJIO
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday villa in Montefrio - Cortijo Bujio
Prestigious four bedroom cortijo all with en-suite bathrooms, tv's & ipod DS

VOTED IN THE TOP 5 'Best private villas & cortijos to enjoy in Andalucia, offering luxury, tranquility and authentic charm.' Forbes April 2013.

The Alhambra Palace, Spains most popular tourist attraction.(Just 40 minutes drive away from the Cortijo).

Set amidst spectacular countryside with breathtaking views and stunning scenery.

Pathways lead through the expansive grounds to the large swimming pool (10 x 5m) flanked by a Moroccan style casita with its own bar and barbecue area plus a wood burning paella ring. The swimming pool has a number of sun loungers and parasols. A children's play area, with paddling pool is ideally located by the swimming pool for parental supervision.

Accessed via a bridge and built on stilts, our fully equipped open-air gym is available for guests. We have a range of cardiovascular and resistance equipment. (over 16's only).

Surrounded by tranquil vistas across woodlands and olive groves, guest can relax and De-stress in our therapy room where our skilled masseuse, Ayesha, is available to provide a range of personalised treatments suited to individual needs. A new Hammam Spa offering a steam room, massage room, cold plunge pool and spa pool is currently under construction. Guest can also take advantage of our games area which offers, cycling, badminton, table tennis and much more.

The picturesque whitewashed village of Montefrio is just 15 minutes drive away.

Nestling among olive groves, Mediterranean pine and ancient Spanish oak trees, the Cortijo has breathtaking views of the surrounding hills and snow-capped peaks of the Sierra Nevada. Bujio is truly a haven of rustic tranquility, offering absolute peace and quiet. Described as feeling like a 'private island set in a mountain'. This prestigious four-bedroom Cortijo has retained many of its original features and like all similar traditional Andalusia homes, is designed to stay cool in the heat of the summer months. It has been sensitively adapted to maintain its character and to provide guests with a calm, relaxing environment that offers privacy in informal, stylish surroundings. Visitors can relax on sun loungers, soaking up the Andalusian sun by the pools edge. A Children’s multi- play area and paddling pool - is ideally placed for adult supervision. Bujio also makes an ideal Christmas / New Year getaway.

Semi-professional kitchen - 5 ring gas cooker, double oven, deep fat fryer, fridge/freezer, microwave, Dualit toaster, juicer, Delonghi coffee machine, double s/s sink and dishwasher.

Living room.

Original flagstone floors and beamed ceilings with an Andalusian open fireplace, luxurious sofas and armchairs. I-pod docking station. Separate dining room with open access on 2 sides leading to the courtyards, with facilities for Al Fresco dining.

Moroccan style G@mers Den with a large cinema screen (over 350 DVDS). 50inch plasma satellite TV, XBox360-Kinect, and PlayStation 3 consoles with Internet access (BYOG & controllers). A selection of board games, children's book's and toys, is also available.

We supply, 100% Egyptian cotton bed linens, towels, cotton bathrobes and slippers. The property is cleaned and linens changed weekly.

Their is a charge of 150€ if the Cortijo requires cleaning upon your departure.

New Moorish Hammam Spa - Coming Soon.

Of the countless attractions available to our guests the open-air mineral hot spa has proved to be a favourite; we have therefore decided to extend the spa facilities with the construction of a new Moorish-style Hammam Spa. The new building will incorporate a steam room, hot bath, cold plunge pool and treatment area. In the short term it has been necessary for us to close the existing mineral hot spa and we apologise to any of our guests who may be inconvenienced by this. Within the new facility we will be offering a host of treatments designed specifically for us and developed so as to combine the traditional features of the Hammam Spa with a range of modern holistic massages and therapies, using natural herbs, aromatic oils and rejuvenating lotions exclusive to Cortijo Bujio and not available elsewhere. Remember, when you book a stay at Cortijo Bujio you and your party will have the opportunity to use the Hammam Spa on an exclusive basis.

BEACH:

Motril beach 1 hour drive away

There are 20 km of beautiful beaches that go from Salobreña to Castell de Ferro, wonderful landscapes with large cliffs dotted with watchtowers from Muslim times looking over to the African Continent.

Visitors will be able to choose between small coves, large and spacious beaches, busy or quiet beaches and all of them with the most spectacular and breathtaking sunsets, enjoying 320 days of sunshine each year.

GOLF

The Santa Clara Golf course is located in the town of Otura. This 18 hole golf course, designed by Enrique Canales Busquets has been created with total respect for the natural environment and indigenous wildlife, providing a fantastic meeting place for golf enthusiasts. Just over 30 minutes drive from the Cortijo. Santa Clara Golf Granada is notorious for its spacious and fast moving greens. The course has a large variety of challenging obstacles, as a result the course is perfectly designed for every kind of handicap.

Club Amenities include: Clubhouse, Conference room, Locker room, Indoor pool Outdoor pool, Sauna, Creche facilities for guests, Children’s playground and Bar.

General Information.

Greenfee weekdays € 42.00 - weekends € 52.00. No handicap required. Other facilities include, driving range, chipping area, putting green and teaching pros. Golf carts can also be hired.

MOST VISITED TOURIST ATTRACTION IN EUROPE: THE ALHAMBRA PALACE.( JUST 40 MINUTES DRIVE AWAY FROM THE CORTIJO).

The name Alhambra comes from an Arabic root which means 'red or crimson castle', perhaps due to the hue of the towers and walls that surround the entire hill of La Sabica which by starlight is silver but by sunlight is transformed into gold. But there is another more poetic version, evoked by the Moslem analysts who speak of the construction of the Alhambra fortress 'by the light of torches', the reflections of which gave the walls their particular coloration. Created originally for military purposes, the Alhambra was an 'alcazaba' (fortress), an 'alcázar' (palace) and a small 'medina' (city), all in one. This triple character helps to explain many distinctive features of the monument.

MOSQUE OF CORDOBA.

The Great Mosque of Cordoba was considered a wonder of the medieval world by both Muslims and Christians. Built on a Visigothic site, which was probably the site of an earlier Roman temple, the Great Mosque of Cordoba was begun between 784 and 786 during the reign of 'Abd al-Rahman, who escaped from Syria to the Iberian Peninsula.

More Details
Hide Details

9 Reviews of Property 815363 in Montefrio, Spain

5* luxury cortijo, private pool, g@mers den, spa area, & fully equipped gym.
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 9 reviews
business
5* luxury cortijo, private pool, g@mers den, spa area, & fully equipped gym.
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p815363
+34 629639466
Montefrio Granada Province (Costa Tropical)
5

A wonderful house in rural Granada/Andalucia

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 23-Jul-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
The Cortijo Bujio is a really beautiful house with some extraordinary features (double-height main bathroom in tower with beamed ceiling and a great view from the bath is only one example).
The pool is exceptionally-sited and has a good barbecue and sheltered seating area.
The owners, Tish and Jeff, are extremely helpful and friendly. They take care not to intrude.
Excellent kitchen with very good equipment.
Many amenities which add to quality of stay including a great TV cinema room and a little gym with a decent running machine and various other pieces of equipment.
Views of hills are wonderful and the surroundings (olive farms) provide a lovely atmosphere for a holiday.
An absolutely excellent holiday destination which we recommend 100%
Stuart and Sheila
UK
business
5* luxury cortijo, private pool, g@mers den, spa area, & fully equipped gym.
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p815363
+34 629639466
Montefrio Granada Province (Costa Tropical)
4

Wat een fantastische sfeervol verblijf!

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 28-Jan-2013
  • Date of Stay: May 2012
Wij logeerden eind mei 2012 met 8 volwassenen (4 stellen) in deze bijzondere villa in Andalucia van Jeff en Tish. Wij hadden het hele huis voor onszelf (kamers kunnen ook los worden geboekt) en hebben er een heerlijke week doorgebracht. Het huis ligt op 8 kilometer afstand van Montefrio, een prachtig Andalusisch bergdorp en volgens ons het meest bijzonder in de wijde omgeving, echter met auto zijn Granada en de Sierra Nevada prima te bereiken (1 tot 1,5 uur).

De aankomst bij Cortijo Bujio is direct al heel bijzonder; COrtijo Bujio ligt op een 'privéberg' waar je over een klein onverhard weggetje in ongeveer anderhalve kilometer vanaf de geasfalteerde weg naartoe rijdt. Prachtige uitzichten over de vallei aan weerszijden met op de achtergrond de Sierra Nevada toppen (met sneeuw!!).

Je rijdt door het hek eerst langs het zwembad wat verscholen ligt tussen de palmen. Er is ruime parkeergelegenheid. De tuin is prachtig aangelegd en vanaf het terras naast het huis is een overweldigend uitzicht. Wij raakten hierover de hele week niet uitgepraat....

Het huis is van origine een boerderij (Cortijo) en is door de gastvrije Jeff en Tish volledig opgeknapt. Zijn hebben de authentieke stijl behouden maar het is, zoals in de beschrijving te lezen valt van alle gemakken -en meer!- voorzien. Wij zaten graag in de eetkamer waar door een grote glaspartij een prachtig uitzicht is over de vallei.De comfortabele slaapkamers zijn allemaal erg mooi vorm gegeven, met ieder een eigen balkon/tuin en veel privacy. In het huis is een centrale -koele- kamer en een zeer riant uitgeruste keuken (waar zelfs een kok geboekt kon worden voor een paella bij aankomst bijvoorbeeld.) Er is een speelruimte met grote HD beamer, gameconsoles (PS2, Wi en Xbox) en zelfs een waterpijp! Er zijn houtkachels in de centrale vertrekken waar we 's avonds in de eetkamer meerdere keren gebruik van hebben gemaakt.

Het zwembad ligt wat afgezonderd van het huis op de heuvel en heeft een lounge en er is een bar met tweede barbeque (beneden bij het huis op het terras is ook een barbeque aanwezig). Wij lagen in namiddag vaak bij het zwembad in de zon, met een licht briesje, een coronaatje en een muziekje vanuit de ipod speler (op iedere kamer staat er een) vanaf de bar... Genieten!

In de zomer van 2012 hopen Jeff en Tish een SPA, kinderspeelplaats en uitbreiding van de fitnessruimte te realiseren. Dan is het helemaal compleet....
business
5* luxury cortijo, private pool, g@mers den, spa area, & fully equipped gym.
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p815363
+34 629639466
Montefrio Granada Province (Costa Tropical)
5

Relax & Enjoy!!!

Relax & Enjoy!!!
  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 12-Nov-2012
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2012
My very good friend, Bushra I went away for a few days on a long awaited relaxing 'girlie' holiday and we were definitely NOT disappointed at all! As it was October we were worried that the weather wasn’t going to be great but we were blessed with lovely sunshine throughout our time there. Bushra even managed to catch some sun!!

From the moment we arrived at Cortijo Bujio, the owners Tish & Jeff were very helpful, accommodating and nothing was too much for them. They spent time showing us around their beautiful villa and answered all our questions which we had lots off!

The outside view was truly breathtaking and absolutely peaceful, just what we wanted and needed! The villa was far more beautiful and serene then the photo’s shown on the site and you can truly only appreciate it once you are here. The four bedrooms were stunning and they all had their own individual styles. The ‘La Torre’ room has an extra large bed, a lounge area and a huge en-suite bathroom with the striking sunken bath with an amazing view. The only problem was that we had to fight for the room and of course I won!

The rest of the villa was just as beautiful, from the dinning area with its outside views of the mountains in the distance to the cosy comfortable living area and the relaxing cinema/games room. The outside courtyard with its views & a cup of fresh coffee was sheer bliss! The pool area was perfectly picturesque. In addition to all the above there was an open-air gym and a play area for young children.

There are many other extra activities/entertainment that can be arranged through Tish & Jeff. For Example: In house massage, horse riding and paella night to name a few.

The short drive down to the town was pleasant and the locals were very friendly, considering neither Bushra nor I spoke a word of Spanish! There was a round church in the middle of the town which was very beautiful.

The drive to Granada was pleasant and easy to get to with Jeff’s great directions. We spent the day there visiting the beautiful La Alhambra Palace and enjoyed a traditional hammam experience.

Our relaxing girlie holiday was full of good food, lots of laughter & relaxation in a perfect peaceful setting, up in the mountains tucked away from others.

Thank you, Tish and Jeff for making our stay a pleasant and memorable one. We will definitely be visiting again, only next time we’ll bring a few more girlies with us!!

Bipasha
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
5* luxury cortijo, private pool, g@mers den, spa area, & fully equipped gym.
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p815363
+34 629639466
Montefrio Granada Province (Costa Tropical)
5

Utterly completely perfect.

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 29-Jul-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2012
Um.....how do you put into words a place that is beyond description? As my daughter succinctly put it " you do realise Dad, this place has just ruined any future villa holidays". How true. What the photos dont show are the views designed to make you into a slack jawed idiot!! Every direction you look in is an uninteruppted far reaching view , some to the sierra nevada some across the valley to olive groves some across to tiny white farmhouses miles in the distance. The website doesnt describe the walk down the flower crowded steps to the villa with the scent of lavender heady in the air, it doesnt describe the feeling of total isolation up at the pool where you only have 360 degree views and a moorish casita for when the sun is too hot and for playing children and a bar to sit at with a cold drink. Yes this place is like a 5 star hotel but without the other annoying guests. Everything is beautifully done from the paella meal and spanish guitar evening that Tish and Jeff organised for us, the horse riding in the sierra parapanda nearly 6000 feet up, to the stunning rooms all classicly and simpathetically decorated and our en-suite bathroom with a massive window from floor to ceiling height with views over the hills and a sunken bath. The photos and website only give a fraction of the beauty of this place and the quality of every aspect. This has been a perfect holiday worth far more than the cost of this villa. Tish and Jeff have obviously worked so hard on this place and are busy adding more spa areas (my wife loved her massage in the spa/massage room....and yes also with stunning views!!!) as for me and the 'lads' we so enjoyed the mountain bikes riding over to montefrio and a well earned cold beer or two. If you are considering, take the plunge and treat yourself and your family to a luxery villa where you feel as if you or on an island........with views! Utterly perfect!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
5* luxury cortijo, private pool, g@mers den, spa area, & fully equipped gym.
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p815363
+34 629639466
Montefrio Granada Province (Costa Tropical)
Almería, Spain
5

Magnifico,

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 22-Jan-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2012
Con motivo de celebrar el 40 cumpleaños de una de mis hijas nos fuimos al bujio toda la familia un fin de semana, en total 8 mayores y 2 niños. El cotijo es una maravilla y esta totalmente equipado, las fotos se hacen realidad y la comodidad es e lujo total. TISH & JEFF son encantadores y nos trataron muy bien. Se ve que estan ampliando mas equipaciones por lo que se convertira en un lugar aun mejor, esperamos volver.

Una observacion: el mapa de esta pagina web esta equivocado, el Bujio esta antes de llegar a Montefrio, a unos 100 metros del punto Km 31 hay que coger un desvio a la derecha y andar unos 500 metros por un camini de tierra.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
5* luxury cortijo, private pool, g@mers den, spa area, & fully equipped gym.
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p815363
+34 629639466
Montefrio Granada Province (Costa Tropical)
5

A great autumn half term with two children

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 19-Nov-2011
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2011
This is the second time we stayed at this cortijo, the improvements just keep coming. Our previous stay was in the early refurbishment of this old rural farm building. Jeff and Trish did warn us that there were a few areas still being finished, it all worked out very well for us and the kids had a great time.

It really is very much as you see in all the pictures, a work of passion from the owners down a dirt track road bang in the middle of an olive grove. Oh yes, with a great view of the Sierra Nevada Mountain range. (Which developed a snow cap during our stay after a couple of days rain).

All the rooms are great, every thing was provided, even duvets on some of the colder nights. We stayed in the room with that great en-suite bathroom with the sunken bath and huge picture window with fantastic view of the countryside. Our kids (5yrs & 8yrs) slept in the room nearby.

You will need a car to get anywhere since this Cortijo is in a very rural setting, we enjoyed scouting the local area and had no problem going to Torremolinos for days away at the beach, it's only about an hours drive on great new easy motorway roads.

All in all, we had a lovely time the kids enjoyed it and the owners have invested a great deal of time and passion creating this very stylish and homely oasis.

We will definitely be back...just to check-up on the updates!
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
5* luxury cortijo, private pool, g@mers den, spa area, & fully equipped gym.
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p815363
+34 629639466
Montefrio Granada Province (Costa Tropical)
5

Kiwi's in Montefrio

Kiwi's in Montefrio
  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 17-Nov-2011
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2011
My partner and I had the absolute pleasure of staying in Cortijo Bujito. We arrived at night and so we had little idea of the surrounding area or what we were in for. We were greeted by the owners Jeffrey and Tish who were super friendly and helpful
Our first nights stay was luxurious to say the least! The beds were huge and we both woke up the next morning feeling refreshed. Little did we know that we were in for a shock.... As I walked to the bathroom in the morning, I was greeted with the most stunning view ever right from the massive bathroom window! Basically, there were miles and miles of olive groves for as far as the eye could see. After getting outside and walking around it was clear that we were in complete isolation from other villas and houses. The house is surrounded by olive trees, almond trees, grape vines and all sorts of other beautiful plants. After speaking with Jeff and Tish, we went for a 30 minute stroll down through the mountains and valleys. We found a beautiful waterfall near an old house ruin. The water was freezing but we still had a very refreshing dip in the lagoon under the waterfall - this is where, incidentally I proposed to my partner, with only the company of the odd dragon fly.

The town of Montefrio is a short 10 minute drive over hill - I was stupid and decided to run over - never again! So that run turned into another beautiful walk. The town of Montefrio is very cute and different. The people are very friendly and welcoming. One local showed us around the town and we visited the most stunning and unsusal church, Inglesia la Encarnacion. It's a huge dome style church & is the first landmark which welcomes you to the town as you come over the hill and slice through the valley to the heart Montefrio. In Montefrio we had a nice spanish breakfast and a cheeky beer for lunch.

We fully reccommend staying at the lovely Cortijo bujito. Tish and Jeff were amazingly helpful and went out of their way to make our stay so memorable. It was just so nice to be left alone to take in the sun, swim in the stunning pool, have a bath with the ridiculously good view of the mountains yet in total privacy at the same time. Everything was at our disposal - the shower, kitchen facilities, massive movie theatre screen down in the morroccan room, quick internet, and again - the most comfy beds ever! Coming from New Zealand it's not easy for me to say this but yes the most beautiful place on earth.
Kia Ora!
Baz and Sherene
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
5* luxury cortijo, private pool, g@mers den, spa area, & fully equipped gym.
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p815363
+34 629639466
Montefrio Granada Province (Costa Tropical)
5

Little piece of heaven in Andalucia

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 24-Sep-2011
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2011
We booked Cortijo Bujio for four in September 2011. It's an easy enough drive from Malaga airport - even easier from Granada airport - and although you have easy road links to Granada and Cordoba, the house itself is off the beaten track. In fact, the setting is absolutely stunning. Olive groves and mountains as far as the eye can see, and you can watch the sun/moon come up over the hills from the terrace.

The Cortijo itself is as good as it looks on the photographs. It's been done with real style and quality. All the rooms are good, but the upstairs one with its own private sitting room, sunken bath overlooking the hills, and private sunbathing terrace is a stunner. The only one slight quibble is that the electrics can be a bit tempermental, so beware using all appliances at once (the owners did warn us about this, and I think there are plans for a generator that will solve this problem).

The main attraction outside is the Casita - the shaded seating area by the pool. It has a real southern Spain/Moroccan feel to it, and a lot of "wow" factor. (Good bragging rights on the photos when you get home). We didn't have kids with us, but there is a play area for littluns, and the pool area does have a gate, so whilst the style of the place has a very adult feel to it, you could bring smallees here no problem.

There is a treatment room on site and you are offered the chance to book various massages when you confirm your booking. Three of us did, and we'd highly recommend it. We loved the pampering treatments, and the reflexology diagnosis (which one of us had) is uncannily accurate!

The owners, Tish and Jeff, were great. They live in the nearest town and are very helpful. They gave us a map of Montefrio (nice small town, not touristy and really friendly locals), showed us where the shops were, and were at the end of the phone to help with anything we needed. The one time the electrics did have a wibble, they were straight there and sorted it out immediately. It's clear that creating this house has been a labour of love, and they really want you to have a good time.

Downsides? None for us. You are away from it all, so you need a car and if you want a hustle and bustle holiday this isn't for you. If you want to drink good rioja in very special surroundings, chill, and have days out to Granada/Cordoba, we would absolutely recommend it.

PS Must-do visit: the Alhambra (pre-book your tickets online)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
5* luxury cortijo, private pool, g@mers den, spa area, & fully equipped gym.
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p815363
+34 629639466
Montefrio Granada Province (Costa Tropical)
4

Fantástica casa rural

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 15-Nov-2012
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2012
La casa está en un lugar espectacular, y tiene unas comodidades, diseño y detalles dignas de una casa rural de lujo. Si bien, hay que advertir algunas lagunas importantes. La mayor de todas, que no tiene agua potable, lo cual habría que avisarlo a los inquilinos para llevar su propia agua embotellada (no todo es beber vino y cerveza :). Y para los visitantes castellanohablantes, la televisión es vía satélite, pero dirigida a un satélite en idiomas extranjeros (SKY). La verdad es que para pocos días no se echa de menos, pero si vas muchos y quieres ver algo en concreto.... Personalmente, cuidaría algunos detalles del exterior (zonas algo desangeladas, como el área abierta bajo el gimnasio, o el propio gimnasio, con las máquinas algo descuidadas). El resto es estupendo para pasar unos días inolvidables, tanto en invierno (mejor, cuando esté en funcionamiento el spa, aún en construcción) como en verano (el área de piscina, con barbacoa y zona de juegos infantiles, es fantástica!).
La limpieza, muy buena, eso me dejó muy satisfecho. La cocina, pequeña, pero muy bien equipada. Las mantas, toallas, edredones, sábanas, etc... todo de primerísima calidad, muy buenas.
La atención de los propietarios, muy buena. Lástima su poco dominio del idioma de Cervantes, que junto a nuestro poco dominio del idioma de Shakespeare hizo que la comunicación no fuese tan fluida como nos hubiese gustado :).

No es un 10, pero a nada que sus propietarios se afanen en limar estos detalles, lo será sin duda. Por supuesto, muy recomendable. Sobre todo para parejas (el Torreón es una habitación superromántica!), y familias con niños (el salón de juegos, muy bien dotado, es una bendición!!.. no te das cuenta que existen!!!!).
Helpful votes: 1/1