Blairgowrie and East Perthshire house rental - The Jute Store
The Jute Store
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in Blairgowrie and East Perthshire - The Jute Store
3 bedrooms (2 double, 1 twin) 1 bathroom, 1 shower-room, spacious accommodation

The Jute Store is a superb place to spend a holiday. The house is a converted mill building packed with original features and real character. The rooms are spacious and many have amazing views over the river and mill weir. The bedrooms are beautifully furnished and the comfortable beds are made up with feather duvets and crisp cotton sheets. There are two double rooms - one of which has a fabulous east facing balcony, and one twin room. The large bathroom has a very unusual sunken bath which is a real talking point. The well-stocked book room, which also is home to the piano, is a great place to relax, taking in the view. There is a large kitchen equipped by people who love cooking, making holiday cooking a pleasure rather than a chore. The large living room has stunning views over the river and weir and a lovely little balcony. There are leather sofas, a good supply of games and DVDs, and a gorgeous wood-burning stove which is the focal point of the room in the evening.

26 Reviews of Property 801271 in Blairgowrie and East Perthshire, United Kingdom

Stunning riverside holiday home sleeps 6
average rating of 5.0 based on 26 reviews
business
Stunning riverside holiday home sleeps 6
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p801271
+44 01250870158
Blairgowrie and East Perthshire Perthshire
5

A Little Slice of Heaven!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 29-Sep-2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013
We fell in love with The Jute Store when we first saw it on the web site while planning our trip to Scotland and it was the sole reason for us staying in Blairgowrie. Usually travellers choose their location and then find accommodation there; we find the best accommodation and the location becomes secondary.

The Jute Store was all we expected and more. Anything and everything you could possibly wish for was there for a self-catering holiday. The Jute Store has a fantastic ambiance and the setting, right beside the river, was just amazing. The sound of the water rushing over the weir and bubbling along the river was a constant joy and we never tired of looking out of the window and watching the water.

The week we spent at The Jute Store, discovering Baligowrie and Perthshire, was simply wonderful and I would recommend this holiday home to anyone who likes to "get away from it all" yet be within walking distance of the town. It's incredible how remote this place feels, yet it is only a few minutes away from Blairgowrie's centre.

To be truthful it was difficult to leave when our week's stay was over! I cannot rate The Jute Store highly enough. We would certainly visit again.
business
Stunning riverside holiday home sleeps 6
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p801271
+44 01250870158
Blairgowrie and East Perthshire Perthshire
Glasgow
5

Spectacular property

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 04-Sep-2013
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2013
Have been to many excellent properties all over Scotland and had a firm favourite but the Jute Store is now number one.
It's difficult to describe just how special the Jute Store is. Firstly, it is massive, really huge. No photographs could possibly do this amazing house justice. Just so, so beautiful with views to die for, the whole place has such an amazing feel.
Everything you could possibly need is provided including an endless pile of logs. Even bikes are supplied which my niece enjoyed for a ride through the woods, spotting red squirrels everywhere. We could hardly bear to go to bed on our first night (our stay was only for 3 nights, alas), staying up until 3am just talking and laughing around the fabulous fire while the piano was tinkled upstairs by a couple of very happy girls.
Set in such verdant seclusion and yet so close to Blairgowrie, it's in a brilliant location. We found Blairgowrie to be, without exception, full only of very warm, friendly locals everywhere we went.
Possibly the highlight for me though was the night sky with stars lower and brighter than I have ever seen. Glorious.
Louise couldn't have been more helpful from the first enquiry - thank you - and very flexible with arrival and departure times.
Loved every moment of our stay and already thinking about when to go back: no question of 'if'
business
Stunning riverside holiday home sleeps 6
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p801271
+44 01250870158
Blairgowrie and East Perthshire Perthshire
5

Wonderful place, perfect location

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 02-Aug-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2013
Sitting in the dining room watching the dippers flying along the river, lying in a warm, soothing bath singing to the accompaniment of a well-tuned piano. Relaxing in front of the wood fire after another full day of walking or sightseeing.
Secluded, no noise (apart from a variety of bird songs), no distractions, but still within walking distance of Blairgowrie with its shops and restaurants.
Well-equipped, spacious kitchen, living room and bathroom (enormous, really), cosy bedrooms.
Thank you for the warm welcome.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning riverside holiday home sleeps 6
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p801271
+44 01250870158
Blairgowrie and East Perthshire Perthshire
5

A perfect place in a perfect location

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 25-Jan-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2013
Myself and my husband booked the Jute Store hoping for a winter walking break with our son and two dogs. The Jute store was everything we could have hoped for! The place itself is stunning - everything was to an excellent standard and very clean.
My husband is a chef and enjoyed cooking in the kitchen and appreciated the quality of pans/crockery/cutlery etc!
The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms lovely - everywhere was warm and cosy. The woodburning stove was great in the evening after a day out in the snow walking and we all appreciated it - especially the dogs!!!
We had planned on eating out a few times but the place was so comfortable that we didn't want to go out once we had got in and settled.
The position of the Jute Store was also perfect for us - being on the track away from busy roads and cars was ideal with the dogs and our little boy and it was only 1.5 miles walk to the town along the track which was great for a short walk by the river.
It is not very often that we would ever consider booking somewhere twice but we would love to come back to the Jute Store in the near future!!!
Sarah & Robert Kite
Cumbria
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning riverside holiday home sleeps 6
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p801271
+44 01250870158
Blairgowrie and East Perthshire Perthshire
5

Brooklinn Mill, The Jute Store

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 09-Jan-2013
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2012
The Jute Store matched all expectations given by the web site and more. The setting is beautiful with great views of the river, weir and surrounding countryside from many areas in the house. The house is extremely well equipped with everything required for our stay provided for, from kitchen utensils to linens to plenty of wood for these extremely relaxing evenings in front of the stove not to mention food for the red squirrels who visit regularly. It is bigger than some images make it look with plenty of room for 6 occupants as well as very comfortable. The surrounding area had plenty of walks and Louise and Tim provide lots of useful information on local facilities and areas to visit. We have no reservations in recommending this property and we plan to re-visit sometime in the future.

Scott and Miriam
Edinburgh
business
Stunning riverside holiday home sleeps 6
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p801271
+44 01250870158
Blairgowrie and East Perthshire Perthshire
5

Spectacular - you must visit

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 27-Aug-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2012
Myself, Husband and 4 children were blown away by everything. The views are stuning, the weir which is view from the dining room winow was a trickle when we got there, but torrential rain change it to a torrent, spectacular.

The accomodation is massive, the bedrooms are large with plenty of storage. The bathroom is as big as my living room at home with a sunken bath!! Bath towels are provided so saved us a suitcase.

The kitchen was again huge with every piece of equipment you can imagine, plus a dishwasher and washing machine, The owners supply Dish washer tablets, washing machine tablets, cleaning materials, toilet roll, bin bags, cling film etc etc

The fire in the living room makes a cosy setting in the evening and there is a bar be que for outside if requirted.

Open the door to beautiful countryside, its about a 15 min walk into Blairgowrie along a track through the scenery which we found easy to push a pram along.

We never normally stay in the same place twice as we like to have different
adventures but are definatly thinking of returning next year.

Thank you to Louise and husband for making us feel welcome,
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Stunning riverside holiday home sleeps 6
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p801271
+44 01250870158
Blairgowrie and East Perthshire Perthshire
5

Jute Store, Blairgowrie, Perthshire

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 12-Aug-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2012
We enjoyed our stay, it was like home from home. Thanks for a well equipped kitchen and endless supply of logs for the wood burner, we needed them for the first few days coming from Texas and 100+ temperatures. Ideal and quiet location, would recommend staying at the Jute to anyone visiting the area. Owners welcoming and only to happy to assist.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning riverside holiday home sleeps 6
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p801271
+44 01250870158
Blairgowrie and East Perthshire Perthshire
5

Fantastic property in an ideal location.

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 03-Aug-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2012
We had a fantastic week at the Jute Store. It is in an ideal location having such a wonderful view of the river and weir with walks from the door and only a 15 minute stroll into Blairgowrie town by the riverside walk. The house is very spacious and has beautiful views from the large windows overlooking the river. There is access to the river via steps next to the owner's property if you want to take a closer look but children need to be supervised because it is very fast flowing. The library is well equipped with books and has a lovely piano in (if you can play it).The owners have provided lots of information on days out and are on hand if you need them but also respect your privacy. Beds are very comfortable with beautiful white cotton sheets and duvets, the kitchen is very well equipped with everything you need. We enjoyed all the wildlife on the doorstep, rabbits, variety of birds including the dippers and especially the red squirrel which came to the feeder outside the kitchen door that we filled with nuts. Blairgowrie has alot to offer with a Tesco and Co-op Supermarket, a variety of shops and restaurants and a tourist information shop selling gifts. We would recommend the Cargill's Bistro which is on the riverside in Blairgowrie with a very relaxed atmosphere and excellent value and choice on the Bistro menu. There are lots of tourist attractons in Perthshire and further afield. Stanley Mills is an old cotton mill which tells you the history of the mill and has lots of interactive activities for all ages.We also enjoyed visiting Loch Leven castle which is where Queen Mary of Scots was imprisoned, a short boat trip takes you to the island where you can leisurely look around the ruins or take a picnic and enjoy the views. I would highly recommend the Jute Store and thanks again to Louise and family for providing all the extras such as tea, coffee, soap, toilet rolls, kitchen rolls.......the list is endless.

The O'Connor family - Norfolk
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning riverside holiday home sleeps 6
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p801271
+44 01250870158
Blairgowrie and East Perthshire Perthshire
cheshire
5

It is not often words fail me

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 28-May-2012
  • Date of Stay: May 2012
This is the most magical place, the house, the river, the weir, the facilities and hospitality, we had the most amazing time and, quite honestly, can't wait to go back. The perfect place to chill out, loved the balcony off the bedroom. The weather was superb but did light the log fire in the evenings, rather more for effect than warmth. Actually even if the weather had not been as good I am sure the place would still be as magical. Cycled into Blairgowrie down the riverside a few times, and also walked down the riverside path one evening for a meal. Saw gulls and oystercatchers on the river, just beautiful. Another night had a lovely meal at bridge of Cally Hotel which Louise had recommended, thank you Louise!
Have never slept so well, bed really comfortable and bedding beautiful, kitchen extremely well equipped,just really loved this place. Fabulous for couples and families alike, would highly recommend it.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning riverside holiday home sleeps 6
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p801271
+44 01250870158
Blairgowrie and East Perthshire Perthshire
Zuid-Beijerland
5

Wonderfull location, perfect house

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 12-May-2012
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2012
During our vacation in Scotland we stayed in this lovely house. The first things we noticed on arrival was that the Jute Store was bigger then expected. We were staying with 5 persons and we all had enough space not to annoy eachother. It is a very complete house with very good beds. The kitchen is well equipt with two ovens (great for multiple pizza's) and a dishwasher.
The location is perfect. Just on the outside of Blairgowrie but only 1 mile away from the big supermarket (Tesco). Situated next to the river Ericht you can see the big salmon jumping to get to their spawning grounds. For fishermen like me, you can get a permit in the local fishingstore for trout of salmon on the local bead which is 5.8 km long and starts from the bridge in Blairgowrie downstream. The permit is only 5 pounds a week for trout and 60 pounds for Salmon. Everyday we have seen squirrels around the house.
From Blairgowrie it is only a 1,5 hour drive to the heart of Edinburgh or the heart of the Highlands. But beautifull walks start also just around the corner.
The Jute Store also has a library with a piano and 2 bathrooms, one with a bath and 1 with a shower. The waterpressure is very good, so after a long walk you can really enjoy a hard hot shower. The house also has a fireplace and woodlogs are provided by the owners.
The owners of the Jute Store live next door. The are very friendly and will answer all your questions. They have made a collection of walking maps, brochures of local attractions and other information for planning your stay in that part of Scotland.
I can highly recomment this place.

Greetings, Dennis Willemse, The Netherlands
Helpful votes: 1/1