Monterchi farmhouse rental - Front entrance with exterior stone steps and oven
Front entrance with exterior stone steps and oven
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday farmhouse in Monterchi - Casa Fontemaggio
4 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, sleeps 8

Fontemaggio is a 17th century stone farmhouse villa or 'Casa Colonica' on a hillside, surrounded by 2 acres of mature landscaped gardens that merge into the sunflowers, vines, olives, pine and cypress trees beyond. There are terraces on all sides, each with its own dining table and breathtaking views of a landscape that seems to have changed little throughout the centuries, including a lake and a Renaissance castle on a hill. Sympathetically restored, the house retains a wealth of terracotta floors and chestnut beams. The 30 ft diameter circular pool, surrounded by fragrant rosemary hedging and lemon trees, benefits from the sun for the entire day. Set amongst mature pines, cypress and olives, it enjoys tranquil views of the Tuscan and Umbrian hills in complete seclusion. The medieval hilltop village of Monterchi, featured in 'The Most Beautiful Villages in Tuscany', is close by. You will find Casa Fontemaggio a blissfully relaxing home from home in which to enjoy the pleasures of Italian life. See www.casafontemaggio.com.

The gardens: the gardens and grounds have been professionally landscaped and contain planting typical of Tuscany. Trees include some very old pines and almonds, cypresses, olives, acacias, oaks, figs and lemons in terracotta pots. There are box, lavender and rosemary hedges. The terraces have pergolas covered in vines, wisteria, Chilean bell-flowers and roses climb on the house walls. A wisteria entwined tiled loggia provides a shady retreat and alternative place to dine. The tranquil sound of running water is provided by a fountain.

Situation: although private and peaceful, is not remote. It is well placed to either luxuriate in the excellent cuisine and wines of the region or take trips to the historical and cultural sites of both Tuscany and Umbria. The timeless hill top village of Lippiano, crowned by the castle that can be viewed from Fontemaggio, may be walked to for breakfast or a drink at the friendly bar.

3 km away, the local hilltop walled village of Monterchi, a tiny triangle of medieval perfection, with its intriguing arches and alleyways, is Roman in origin. It is the birthplace of the mother of the famous Renaissance artist Piero della Francesca. His fresco the Madonna del Parto, of UNESCO World Heritage status, can be seen in the old schoolhouse museum. The landscape that appears in Piero's works is clearly recognisable in the views around Fontemaggio.

You will find the local community in Monterchi welcoming and friendly, particularly at the general store run by Marcello and his family. There are bars and good restaurants serving local specialities.

There is a market on Sunday mornings and in the summer there are outdoor classical concerts.

Florence, Siena, Cortona, Arezzo, Assisi, Perugia, Gubbio are all within easy reach.

More Details
Hide Details

18 Reviews of Property 7115 in Monterchi, Italy

Tuscany: 17th century hillside farmhouse villa - private pool - stunning views
average rating of 4.888889 based on 18 reviews
business
Tuscany: 17th century hillside farmhouse villa - private pool - stunning views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p7115
+44 (0)1323 423122
Monterchi Anghiari - Sansepolcro area
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
5

"beyond my wildest fantasies"

"beyond my wildest fantasies"
  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 05-Jun-2008
  • Date of Stay: May 2008
Fontemaggio was even more beautiful than both the description and photos and the surrounding countryside was spectacular . The villa offers a magical escape with miles of walks and views as well as being set in an area that is rich in history, art, fabulous food and wine.
We were given a lovely welcome basket on arrival and never stopped feeling overwhelmed by the attention and care with which the villa had been designed and decorated both inside and in the surrounding gardens. The excursions and restaurants in the visitor's booklet were exceptional and we were grateful for and learned to depend on all the recommendations.
Not only would I highly recommend a stay at Fontemaggio to everyone but I would happily return anytime. When I asked a travelling companion if she wanted to contibute to the description she said that "beyond my wildest dreams" pretty well sums it up.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/9
business
Tuscany: 17th century hillside farmhouse villa - private pool - stunning views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p7115
+44 (0)1323 423122
Monterchi Anghiari - Sansepolcro area
5

An excellent choice.....

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 09-Dec-2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013
"My family and friends absolutely fell in love with Casa Fontemaggio: the house is perfectly situated at the top of a small hill which means wonderful views from coffee to cocktails. The locations is within a short drive of a supermarket, butcher, pharmacy and a couple of excellent restaurants: go to Il Travato at the top of the hill in nearby Monterchi and ask them to just bring out whatever is special that day and serve family style. It was probably the best restaurant meal of our stay, and not just because it was so reasonable. We all enjoyed hiking in the hills and then relaxing by the pool: it is a house organized for enjoyment. Our party of 3 former restaurant owners were very happy with the centre island kitchen layout which allowed us to cook as a family every day. The beds felt brand new, lots of pillows and there was never any issue with hot water, even with 4 couples in the house. The living room was very comfortable for 8 to sit and read, watch movies or just relax. An excellent choice for a family holiday"
Owner's Response: I am delighted that Cheryl and her friends, who I know had high professional expectations, were so happy with their stay at Fontemaggio. Particularly pleasing was their appreciation of Fontemaggio as ‘a house organized for enjoyment’.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tuscany: 17th century hillside farmhouse villa - private pool - stunning views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p7115
+44 (0)1323 423122
Monterchi Anghiari - Sansepolcro area
5

What can you say to do this amazing place credit?

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 21-Oct-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2013
The most beautiful place we have ever stayed in. The house and surroundings are the stuff of dreams. We chilled by the pool with the kids by day and visited the lovely towns and villages by night for drinks and lovely local food. The lady owner, Sylvia, was always on hand to ensure we made the best of the Tuscan/Umbrian culture. The only downside was that we booked a week and not a fortnight. A breathtaking place that we loved to bits. We will definitely be back.
Owner's Response: How marvellous that Emily’s stay made such a memorable impression, that she is still reminiscing about it long after the holiday. I am so pleased that once again Casa Fontemaggio has worked its magic on adults and children alike.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tuscany: 17th century hillside farmhouse villa - private pool - stunning views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p7115
+44 (0)1323 423122
Monterchi Anghiari - Sansepolcro area
Carlsbad CA, USA
5

A step back in time and life....

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 24-Sep-2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013
A dream come true! We were a couple and two singles staying for a week. I had the gorgeous top-most bedroom, and the views from my windows took my breath away every day. The little town of Monturkey was a delight and only 2 Km away. Marcello, at the little grocery store, treated us like family and gave us free samples of his homemade wine (a new thing for us at a grocery store!) Later in the week, when he roasted his pig, he invited us all to his home for pork sandwiches and more wine. The villa owner, Sylvia, was there for the first two days of our visit and she was so helpful, while providing us our privacy. She even had a new DVD player delivered for us mid-week as the one in place was no longer working. I loved having to duck under every low doorway, I felt like a medieval princess in a castle. We cooked in the beautiful kitchen, we swam in the amazing pool, and we visited nearby hill towns. It was perfect and I hated to leave. Thank you, Sylvia!
Owner's Response: I am touched that Jerri was so moved by her stay at Casa Fontemaggio that she took the time and trouble to commit her thoughts to writing. I take great pleasure in knowing that the house continues to enchant guests and that they are able to relish the beauty of the surrounding landscape and the friendliness of the local community.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tuscany: 17th century hillside farmhouse villa - private pool - stunning views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p7115
+44 (0)1323 423122
Monterchi Anghiari - Sansepolcro area
California, USA
5

Wonderful 20th anniversary Tuscan experience.....

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 12-Oct-2012
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2012
Casa Fontemaggio is one of the best holiday homes we have ever rented. We spend 3 weeks 1-2 times per year in Europe and always enjoy renting a home instead of staying in a hotel. Sylvia answered my many, many, many, many numerous e-mails very timely and always without any irritation which is very important to me when I am spending hours and hours researching homes. Casa Fontemaggio was beyond our expectations and the pictures truly do not show how beautiful the property is. What they show is wonderful but when Sylvia greeted us upon arrival and showed us the grounds I am sure my jaw was needing to be closed. The grounds with many eating areas and pool were our favorite place to spend the afternoon enjoying local wines after a morning of site seeing in the areas around the property. The lavender, rosemary, citrus, cypress, many herbs, geranium plants, etc were lovely. The inside of the house was comfortable and we enjoyed every morning and evening cooking in the well equipped kitchen. There was plenty of room for the four of us and the house can easily accommodate eight. My favorite area was the pool and I enjoyed each afternoon there gazing out at the magnificent view!

Martin and Sylvia were in town staying the barn located near the house and it was a pleasure to meet both of them and have some time to chat with them and enjoy their sweet rescue dog :)

I had asked for bikes to rent while we where there and Sylvia had them delivered and they were awaiting our arrival and I truly appreciated that!

We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary along with our good friends that were also celebrating their 20th and we all had an amazing time at Casa Fontemaggio. Cinzia and Patrizia were hired to cook for us one evening and the meal was the best we had while in Tuscany. They spent hours preparing the meal with the many courses and everything tasted beyond possible description.

We look forward to coming back in 2014 and staying even longer. Thank you again Sylvia for always being there to answer my questions and offering such a beautiful place for people like us to enjoy. We can't wait to come back again in the future.
Owner's Response: It was a privilege to have the opportunity to meet guests – particularly such appreciative and enthusiastic ones. Casa Fontemaggio is a really special place, so I was pleased to be able to help in making this holiday there a memorable one.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Tuscany: 17th century hillside farmhouse villa - private pool - stunning views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p7115
+44 (0)1323 423122
Monterchi Anghiari - Sansepolcro area
Lancashire
5

Beautiful house...

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 13-Jun-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2012
What can I say that hasn't been said before..! Fontemaggio can only exceed your expectations, and believe me our expectations were high!

The house itself is a perfect example of the rustic charm you would hope for in a Tuscan farmhouse. Every detail seems to have been considered with a view to ensuring your stay is perfect. It was lovely to find simple things available like towels that you could use around the pool and hairdryers in every bedroom, as well as beautifully scented lavender soaps in the bathrooms.

The setting is "breathtaking" to quote a previous reviewer with the house standing proudly above lush fields of various local crops. Wild flowers, including swathes of poppies, border the fields around the house making it utterly picture perfect. Make a mental note to listen out for the nightingale at the front of the house in the evening; it’s very special.

It is very easy to get out and about and explore the plethora of hilltop towns and villages that seem to be scattered throughout this beautiful area. Monterchi itself is stunning and Marcello and family at the local supermarket reflected the wonderfully friendly nature of the locals. Our 9 year old daughter loved visiting the store; something to do with the big smiles, warm hugs and the chupa chups lollies she seemed to be given each time we were there! Not quite the same shopping experience in the UK!

The weather was glorious for our week so much time was spent lazing around the pool only pausing for a few hours at lunchtime to partake of the salamis, hams, salads, and of course vino, under the dappled shade of the wisteria covered pergola which overlooks the pool.

I'm sure we will visit again and would certainly recommend the house to anyone wanting to partake of a true Tuscan experience.
Owner's Response: This review perfectly sums up what I love about the house and local area. I am delighted that guests too are able to experience what makes a stay at Casa Fontemaggio so special.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Tuscany: 17th century hillside farmhouse villa - private pool - stunning views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p7115
+44 (0)1323 423122
Monterchi Anghiari - Sansepolcro area
Rayleigh, England
5

PERFECT TUSCAN RETREAT

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 05-Jul-2011
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2011
We were a family group of six adults and two small children. Everything was provided that we needed including two highchairs and cots. The farmhouse has bucketfulls of character in an Idyllic location that is perfect for exploring Tuscany and into Umbria and Marche. I will cherish the memories of breakfast on the outside terrace with a gorgeous view, and also the evenings we had takeaway pizzas, icecreams and vino rosso on one of the terraces. Marcello the supermarket owner even treated us to drinks at 10:00am, something Tesco has failed to do in 30 years of shopping there.
I must recommend that all visitors should have a meal at 'Il Poggio' restuarant. Great food, great value, great location.
I can only confirm all the positive comments made by previous reviewers. Thankyou Sylvia and of course Italy
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tuscany: 17th century hillside farmhouse villa - private pool - stunning views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p7115
+44 (0)1323 423122
Monterchi Anghiari - Sansepolcro area
east coast, USA
5

A Tuscan dream come true............

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 06-Jul-2010
  • Date of Stay: May 2010
Superb farmhouse with masses of charm, history and romance in an exceptional location. It was more than we could have hoped for and a privilege to stay here. The spacious and stylish interior was spotless, with much thought given to both practical and aesthetic details. The garden is a dream. The position is perfect for sightseeing in both Tuscany and Umbria, although it was difficult to tear ourselves away! We loved just being ‘at home’. Our many memories include lounging at the pool surrounded by bird song, wonderful scents and stunning panoramic vistas; breakfasting on the terrace with magical views to the valley and the castle on the hill; sipping wine under the beautiful loggia observing the magical fire flies; wandering out into the surrounding meadows of wild flowers……… We have recommended Fontemaggio to friends, family and colleagues and look forward to returning one day.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Tuscany: 17th century hillside farmhouse villa - private pool - stunning views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p7115
+44 (0)1323 423122
Monterchi Anghiari - Sansepolcro area
London.UK
5

Exceptional in every way

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 08-Jul-2009
  • Date of Stay: May 2009
Fontemaggio is a really exceptional property. The web page does not begin to convey the reality of this authentic Tuscan farmhouse, steeped in history, elegantly restored, tastefully furnished, with all you could wish for in the way of modern amenities. Both house and grounds are spacious, enabling you to escape for a while from the rest of the group if you choose.
We arrived to find a perfectly prepared and spotlessly clean property, beautiful flowers and a bottle of wine. The welcome pack was very 'welcome', as our flight was late and we missed the shops.
There is much attention to detail: walls hung with art works, an enviable library of glossy art books, and beautiful bed linen with drawn thread work edging. The well- designed and equipped kitchen is a gastronome’s delight - we loved cooking to Italian arias on the cds provided with the hi-fi! The various terraces, all with wonderful views, made each meal memorable.
The gardens and grounds are a dream – very Italianate, romantic and filled with fragrance. Old and young alike enjoyed the circular pool and sun bathing on the pool terrace, surrounded by the scent of the rosemary and the beautiful views to the hills beyond. At night the pool and garden are lit – we loved sitting there until bedtime after a barbecue in the olive grove.
The friendly housekeeper called by a couple of times to check all was well – which it certainly was.
Sylvia was really helpful , providing answers to all kinds of e mail queries, which were found in fact in her thorough information pack. This also supplied information on local facilities and personal recommendations for eating out and excursions – all of these were excellent. The property, although set in peaceful countryside, has easy access to local shops and restaurants within minutes. Fontemaggio is also perfectly situated for visiting the sites in both Tuscany and Umbria. I just wish we could have stayed longer. We look forward to a return visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Tuscany: 17th century hillside farmhouse villa - private pool - stunning views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p7115
+44 (0)1323 423122
Monterchi Anghiari - Sansepolcro area
Eugene, OR USA
5

Ideal in Every Way

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 14-Dec-2008
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2008
I have been back from my visit to Fontemaggio for almost two months now and can't stop talking about it to everyone I meet. I went there for my 60th birthday with three friends and my daughter and her partner. Everything about it was perfect and just what I'd hoped for. The only improvement in our visit would have been to extend it. We were only there a week and didn't have enough time to do both the day trips to nearby towns and countryside in Umbria and Tuscany and spend as much time relaxing and enjoying the villa as we would have liked.

The villa is wonderfully charming and quaint. It is spacious, allowing everyone a measure of privacy, but still very homey. The decor in the house is tasteful and comfortable, with interesting art, and the three terraces and landscaping incredible. We enjoyed espressos every morning overlooking the fabulous Tuscan hillside; late afternoon rests by the beautiful pool after enjoying the great day trips suggested by the owner (the water was a bit cold in mid-October for all but the young man with us), wonderful wine, fruit, salami, and cheese from the local shops back on the terrace every evening, and making great dinners in the well equipped kitchen. At night, we listened to the music provided and looked through the amazing collection of art and history books on the living room shelves.

The town of Monterchi, just 10 minutes away, was also ideal - picturesque and friendly. We were lucky enough to be there for the Sunday market in the old town, where we bought fresh honey, olive oil, wine, crepes, and more.

The whole experience was even more special because of the owner, Sylvia. She is warm and friendly and provides a wealth of information about the local area. At my invitation, she joined us for my birthday celebration and was bright, engaging, and fun. I strongly encouraged you to invite her up for a glass of wine. I hope she's there when I go back.

We celebrated the birthday of another one of our party at the villa. Sylvia arranged for three people to come and prepare a meal for us. They came at 4:00 and served our five course meal at 8:15. My friend, who loves to cook, sent the whole time watching them. It was a bit spendy but a wonderful addition to our time at Fontemaggio.

For those of you considering going to Fontemaggio, I highly recommend it. Of those who do go, I'm totally envious.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8