Elounda villa rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday villa in Elounda
3 Bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, sleeps 6

Unique, architect designed property in stunning location overlooking Elounda and Spinalonga Island, 10 minutes from town with bars, restaurants & sandy beach. This detached villa is designed to maximise on the 180 sea views with superb views from all living areas and bedrooms. 2 of the double bedrooms have balconies to enjoy the sea views. The villa is built with an open-plan ground floor, incorporating modern kitchen and is designed to be open to the outside. A large terrace extends around the ground floor, providing outside dining, sun & relaxation areas with sun and shady areas. A lower sun terrace surrounds the 40 sq.m. infinity pool and can be gated for toddler safety. The house is environmentally friendly, with solar panels and a grey water system. It sits on a 4000 sq.m. plot with many olive and carob trees and is built to blend into the landscape, using local stone from the foundations & traditional arches. Air-conditioning is available in all rooms upstairs for hot weather, with open fireplace for cooler days. There is free satellite wireless broadband.

Peace and quiet: The villa is situated at the end of an unmade village road, so there is no passing traffic. It sits within a 4000 sq.m plot, consisting of olive and carob trees. The main sounds are birdsong and the distant throb of the occasional fishing boat as it passes below, returning with its catch to Elounda harbour. There are no other houses in the immediate vicinity of the villa.

At night a full moon rises over the water directly in the view of the villa, creating a magical, silver sea. A celestial telescope is available for star gazing. This can all be enjoyed from every aspect of the house, including a separate, covered barbeque area for outside dining,

More Details
Hide Details

20 Reviews of Property 70597 in Elounda, Greece

Elounda - Exclusive, private villa with superb sea views
average rating of 5.0 based on 20 reviews
business
Elounda - Exclusive, private villa with superb sea views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p70597
+44 07768396604
Elounda Lassithi
5

Stunning views and peaceful

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 10-Jan-2014
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2013
We had a wonderful stay with our 9 month old and his grandparents. The view really is just beautiful. The owners were very helpful, easily contactable and provided good, accurate information about the property and local area. The villa has an away-from-it-all feel, you can't see the nearest neighbours from the house and it's lovely and quiet. The track you can walk down to elounda is adventurous and not one we did with the baby but did to have a few nights out in the picturesque small harbour town. There is a great traditional taverna at the end of the road in Pines as well. There is also a lovely spot by the canal for views and food. The elounda beaches are fairly standard but there's a lovely secluded beach you walk down on Kolokitha. The inside of the villa is spacious with plenty of room for the baby to crawl round the open plan downstairs, good sized kitchen plus a good shaded area outdoors as well as a sun lounging area. The upstairs again uses the lovely views from balconies from the double rooms (the twin room is without a balcony so suitable for children). We will be returning and would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting a private get away villa. I also recommend the nearby Porto elounda spa for a bit of luxury
business
Elounda - Exclusive, private villa with superb sea views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p70597
+44 07768396604
Elounda Lassithi
5

Simply stunning

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 27-Oct-2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013
My friends and I spent an amazing week in Villa Avrio. The first thing that anyone will notice is the picturesque setting of the house. As the reviews below confirm the setting and views are beautiful and floor to ceiling windows, an infinity pool and two outside eating areas the villa is perfectly built to take full advantage of this.

Outside of the villa itself, Elounda itself has a great deal to take advantage of, particularly close to our hearts were the great restaurants all within easy distance. There is a fantastic little taverna at the end of the track where you can enjoy some very good food and wine for 10 euros a head. As a general rule we did find that if you want to find somewhere really special then the small restaurants in some of the surrounding villages (5-10 min drive) were where the real treats could be found.

For those that can drag themselves away from the food, views and beaches (it did take us a couple of days), there are some great day trips to take, our favorites were Spinalonga and a great gorge walk that rather embarrassingly I can not remember the name of.

A truly great holiday and we all had a great time, thank you.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our villa and we do agree that the local tavernas offer a unique and enjoyable Cretian experience.
business
Elounda - Exclusive, private villa with superb sea views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p70597
+44 07768396604
Elounda Lassithi
5

An idyllic escape!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 22-Oct-2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013
I spent a fantastic week at Villa Avrio in September. The pictures do not do the villa justice and the location is incredible, set on the hill above the sea - wonderful views to wake up to every morning. The villa itself is also great - offering plenty of space, a good sized kitchen and living space and comfortable beds to collapse into after a hard day by the pool. It is clean and extremely well looked after.

The beautiful infinity pool is without a doubt one of the highlights of the villa and it was difficult to tear ourselves away from the spectacular views from the pool.

Elounda offers a great location for a holiday with beaches close by and bars, restaurants and shops within easy reach. A day trip to the old leper colony at Spinalonga is highly recommended.

The perfect place to escape on holiday - thank you!
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your holiday at our villa. Hope you will come again.
business
Elounda - Exclusive, private villa with superb sea views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p70597
+44 07768396604
Elounda Lassithi
5

A week in paradise

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 17-Sep-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2012
I enjoyed a fantastic week with friends in this beautiful villa in June. The villa is amazing, equiped with everything you could need. The kitchen is fantastic and there is a lovely BBQ area outside. The rooms are very spacious inside and the layout is very well designed. The real wow factor is the views so its great you can sit on the balcony, in one of the 2 outdoor seating areas or relax in the pool to enjoy them.

The pool is amazing and we enjoyed much of our time relaxing around it. The walk into town in 10mins down a footpath and then you can enjoy the town and we had some beautiful meals out. The best meal was at the restaurant at the end of the track (10-15min walk), it is run by a family and they are so welcoming and all the food is amazing and such good value (approx £15 each for all you can each and drink, literally!). We also enjoyed a trip to Spinalonga island and rented canoes which was great fun. Another great trip was driving past Elounda across the strip of land you can see from the house and over the other side of the island (10mins in the car max) - there are some wonderful swimming and snorkling spots that are really quiet and the sea is so blue!

I would recommend this villa to any of my friends and family. It is a great destination for families, groups if friends or just a quiet retriet!

Thank you to Nigel and Mary for a fantastic week!
Owner's Response: Glad you had a good holiday - hope you will be back.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Elounda - Exclusive, private villa with superb sea views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p70597
+44 07768396604
Elounda Lassithi
5

Idyll in Elounda

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 13-Sep-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2012
We are a party of 6, and hired 2 Suzuki jeeps from the airport.
The directions to the villa were perfect, took us straight there, with a stop for provisions. The little jeep is recomended as the last part of the road is a bit rough.
The transfer takes about an hour.
Arrival takes your breath away, seeing the view over the sea and Spinalonga, stunning.
It immediately feels that the stay will be marvellous.
The villa was immaculate, and all linen and towels crisp and clean in all of the 3 good sized and air conditioned bedrooms. Ample accomopdation for 6, and all similar so not too much fighting
Downstairs even better, Huge Kitchen capable of housing the 3 girls all at the same time! Fridge just big enough for all the beers!
Well equipped lounge with TV, CD plaver, Ipod player, and best of all Wi-Fi.
Outside a choice of eating areas, on the patio as shown in the picture, and also by the ample brick built BBQ under an awning and shady.
The pool man appears from time to time to check all aspects of the pool.
The linen is changed within the week.
Elounda is a 15 minute drive down the hill, a charming fishing town with a huge variety of reaturants and bars. Find the local butchers, the meats are superb and they will prepare them any way you like, especially for the BBQ.
Plaka is a smaller village, just down the hill with several great restaurants on the sea front, intimate and charming.
Crete is a beautiful Island, and well worth taking a day or two to explore. You are sure to find a beautiful, tiny village, have a marvellous home cooked meal, and never be able to find it again!
All around the area all kinds of water sports are avaialble, as well as walking cycling and motorised transport of all kinds.
To summarise, the villa is exactly as stated in the blurb, and maybe even better. The position on the side of the hills is stunning, and all amenities are just where you would expect them to be
Highly recommended!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Elounda - Exclusive, private villa with superb sea views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p70597
+44 07768396604
Elounda Lassithi
5

Superb!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 11-Sep-2012
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2012
We had a fantastic holiday at Villa Avrio. The villa was immaculate and well equipped with everything you could want. The house was much bigger inside than we expected from the photographs, with lots of outdoor space and seating area’s too. We enjoyed lots of BBQ’s in the evenings and it was just a short drive down to Elounda or Plaka if we wanted to dine out. Without a doubt, the best feature of the villa were the views - they were absolutely magnificent! The owners were very friendly and informative throughout the whole booking process and the local reps Mandy and Tony are on hand to help whilst you are there. Villa Avrio is very special place, book it, you will not regret it!
Owner's Response: Thank you for this review and we're delighted you enjoyed your holiday in our villa.
business
Elounda - Exclusive, private villa with superb sea views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p70597
+44 07768396604
Elounda Lassithi
5

An utterly idyllic holiday spot

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 09-Sep-2012
  • Date of Stay: May 2012
The villa is one of the most idyllic and relaxing places I've ever been. The views are stunning, by both day and night and I didn't tire of just gazing, either out to the sea, across to Spinalonga or up at the stars.

The house itself is also pretty stunning. And it has everything you'll need. The beds are nice and comfy, the waters hot when you need it, and the wifi works throughout. The big open kitchen is also lovely to cook in.

If and when you fancy a change of scenery, Elounda has some really nice restaurants. And I'd definitely recommend a day trip to Agios Nikalaos and a boat trip over to Spinalonga.

Can't wait to come back!
business
Elounda - Exclusive, private villa with superb sea views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p70597
+44 07768396604
Elounda Lassithi
5

Amazing place to stay!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 06-Jan-2012
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2011
Just wanted to say what a great holiday we had! Where do I start?

- Really well equipped villa, comfortable, spacious, all the amenities you need. Bedrooms were a good size, and cool in the heat

- A fantastic pool with views out to the sea. So refreshing during the hot days! I really think the photos can't do it justice

- Great location - secluded and quiet, so very clam and good for stargazing at night. Went for a run around the mountains behind the villa - plenty to explore and all very easy to get around and safe. But of course the villa is also very near a nice town - bars, restaurants, cafes and plenty of activities... it meant we could strike a really good balance

Any negatives? I agree with comments about the road being a little bumpy, bit I wouldn't say its as bad as some of the reviews we read before we set off made out. Only other complaint is that we couldn't stay any longer!

Many thanks to you both Nigel+Mary

Phil
business
Elounda - Exclusive, private villa with superb sea views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p70597
+44 07768396604
Elounda Lassithi
5

Fantastic Villa

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 26-Oct-2010
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2010
We absolutely loved this Villa. We've stayed at many throughout Europe and this was by far the best.
The views from the deck, pool and bedroom balconies are stunning. No problems spending your days around the infinity pool just looking out over the town of Elounda, Spinalonga island, the bay and the mountains of the Crete coast off in the distance. We also loved the town of Elounda itself. Enough great restaurants (all with english menus / waiters) to spend several weeks there without eating at the same one twice.
Inside, the villa was very modern and spacious. The kitchen is huge and there was more than enough room for our family of 4 plus the grandparents.
The only downside is the last 1 km of the road to the villa. A very bumpy ride, but we got used to it. The walking path down to the sea is very steep in parts, but only takes about 15-20 minutes for capable hikers. Otherwise, you need to be prepared to hop in your car for a quick ride anytime you want to go to the beach or town. As mentioned though, you won't be in any hurry to leave the villa!
Nigel and Mary were also terrific in accomodating our horrible flight schedule thanks to a late change made by EasyJet.
We would highly recommend this Villa for anyone wanting to visit Crete!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Elounda - Exclusive, private villa with superb sea views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p70597
+44 07768396604
Elounda Lassithi
Essex
5

Wonderful villa

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 17-Aug-2010
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2010
The villa is superb, not overlooked and has wonderful views whichever direction you look. It is beautify kept and fully equipped with everything you could need for your holiday. We have stayed in some lovely villas but this is by far the nicest.
The children loved the pool which Tony kept in lovely condition. Mandy who maintains the house is a star.
If you want to relax then this is the villa for you. We really miss it already.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3