Braux house rental - Stone Masons house n°1 and 2 overlooking the covered pool and seating area
Stone Masons house n°1 and 2 overlooking the covered pool and seating area
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps9
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday home in Braux - Stone Masons House
3 comfortable Gites, sleeping 2/ 4, 6, 8 or a total of 18

Situated in the small village of Braux these recently renovated Burgundian houses lends their names to all the stone work in and around the property. Flagstone floors, vaulted arches, stone fireplaces, kitchen sinks and work surfaces and stone shower trays add to the charm of these 19th century houses. There is a heated and covered swimming pool with a good range of inflatable toys, 8m x 4m, with walk-in steps at the shallow end, ideal for young children and learners. The pool, barbeque and eating areas can be flood lit in the evenings. These well equipped houses can be rented as a whole or as separate units so if you would like to make up a large group and rent all 3 this is possible.

During our off peak season we are also organising themed weekend breaks.

We have decided to make use of the old traditional bread oven, that was built in 1850 approx., to make an unforgettable weekend experience, read on for more information.....

There is a bread van that passes 3 mornings a week through the village selling fresh baguettes and croissants, a cheese van that passes on a Wednesday evening and an 'epicerie' van once a week.

The house is stocked with information leaflets for all the local sites and activities and we have also included our recommendations for places to eat. There are fabulous walks around the numerous lakes and in the Morvan forest, cycling along the towpath of the Burgundy canal, which meanders through the village, golf courses at the Chateau de Chailly, horse riding near Semur en Auxois and wind surfing and peddeloes at Lac du Pont, 5 minutes away.

New this year, massage, manicure and facials using organic products. This is a lovely way to start or finish your holiday, why not treat yourself to a relaxing massage? If this interests you let me know at the time of booking and I will reserve a time for you to enjoy this wonderful experience.

.

During our off peak season we are also organising themed weekend breaks.

We have decided to make use of the old traditional bread oven.

We will be making and cooking pizzas, different breads and brioches, tasting local wines and cheeses and even cooking a suckling pig in the oven. You will also have the time to visit our local market in the medieval town of Semur en Auxois, Dijon or Beaune.

If you would like to prolong your break why not stay a couple of extra nights and really visit this lovely area.

You can come along and join a group or make up your own group. It's a great opportunity to celebrate a birthday or wedding anniversary, have a « girls weekend »  or come with family and get away from it all. Whatever your choice we can organise the rest.....

If you are interested in our weekend break please call or e-mail for the prices and full details of the stay.

Prices are £140 per person for the weekend.

Our special weekends normally run from Friday afternoon 4pm to Sunday 5pm

Details for holiday home Stone Masons house n°2, 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9, 3 Bathrooms, 1 Separate WC

Circular stone steps lead up to the house and into the main sitting/kitchen/dining room. The modern kitchen is fully equipped with dishwasher, fridge freezer, microwave oven, electric oven, extractor fan and a top of the range electric hob. There is also a toaster and coffee machine. A door leads out to an interior courtyard with steps up to the garden and heated pool. The sitting/dining room is very comfortable and gives you plenty of space to eat and relax. There is a wood burning stove that can be used on a chilly autumn evening, logs are provided free of charge. The downstairs bedroom has a double bed and an ensuite shower room. The large downstairs bathroom has a toilet, stone wash basin, stone shower tray with door and corner bath. There is a washing machine in the corridor. A magnificent stone turning staircase leads to the first floor. There is 1 twin room, 1 double room and a third bedroom with a double and single bed. The shower room is fully equipped.
More Details
Hide Details

15 Reviews of Property 59591 in Braux, France

Stone Masons house n°2
average rating of 4.733333 based on 15 reviews
business
Stone Masons house n°2
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p59591?uni_id=72022
+33 0380646815
Braux Montbard area
4

Wonderful Getaway

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 30-Dec-2011
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2011
What a great getaway. House is renovated with new fixtures and appliances, but still feels old. Very roomy. Owners are wonderful. We did the pizza night and the kids had a ball. Would stay again. Thank you Louise.
business
Stone Masons house n°2
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p59591?uni_id=72022
+33 0380646815
Braux Montbard area
5

FAMILY VACATION EXTRODINARE

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 06-Sep-2011
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2011
Where to begin? How wonderful our one month holiday with our daughter, son-in-law and three beautiful grand-daughters. Very modern
kitchen equipped everything you could possible need. Five burner gas
stove, refrigerator, & a dishwasher. Lots of lovely dishes, glasses for every possible need, wine, champagne, after dinner, and everyday.
As I like to cook, the kitchen was perfect with lots of wonderful stone counter tops which Gerard had created. Gerard and Louise have transformed these mid-1800 stone houses into modern and comfortable homes without loosing the unique feeling of their history.
The house, which I prefer to refer to as a 'home' was everything we could have asked for and more. Louise was very helpful in everything possible. She operates a true "5 STAR" rental property.
We did not lack for a thing. Also she stands out as a wonderful concierge. Whenever we had questions or needed help with directions she was right there with the answers, directions and maps.
Our 14 year old grand-daughter was with us for the full month and the
4 and 8 year old joined us for two weeks along with their parents. They loved the gardens, pool and collecting land snails which we latter
prepared for dinner. A very long process, four days to be exact, but it was fun and very rewarding. Our 8 year old learned how to ride a two wheel bike with the help of our German 14 year old neighbor. He was very patient with her and now she has accomplished she had given up as hopeless. She was born to ride horses, which she does quite well, now she can do both. Our 14 year old runs track in school and she found the village and waterway perfect for her daily runs. She even read a few books during the month.
My husband was able to relax which is a first for him on vacation.
He had a wonderful, no stress holiday and managed to read 8 books from the wonderful house library. Something he never finds time to do back in the USA.
We frequented the outside markets, ate some of the best cheeses, drank wonderful wines and enjoyed wonderful local foods.
As for me, it was a dream come true. What more can I say! It was
"ABSOLUTELY PERFECT"
Thank you Gerard and Louise for opening up your hearts and homes.
Your efforts in making your Stone Houses so inviting and comfortable are a true credit to all your hard labors. We can't congratulate you enough, they are all simply beautiful!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Stone Masons house n°2
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p59591?uni_id=72022
+33 0380646815
Braux Montbard area
Sydney,NSW, Australia
5

Christmas in Braux

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 13-Feb-2011
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2010
From the moment I was in touch with Louise she couldn't have been more friendly and helpful and attended to my every query and many requests promptly and efficiently - nothing was too much trouble.
We were a group of 4 couples in House 2 with other family members in the other 2 attached houses.The house was very comfortable, ideally for 3 couples not 4, as the bunk room was very small and unsuitable for adults.The 3 double bedrooms(1 with an ensuite) were large with 'antique' furniture and were very comfortable,as was the living area with Stonemason Gerard's handywork throughout! The 2 other bathrooms were shared by the other 2-3 couples which worked well.We had unseasonably cold weather with snow and ice, which was beautiful, but at times the small woodfire was too small to warm the living area adequately - maybe it was the number of people coming and going through the doors that was the problem! The house was clean and tidy and very well maintained with lovely 'old world charm'.
The 'bread van' delivered every 2-3 days - even Christmas Day and New Years Day in the snow and ice!!
Pizza night was a fun night enjoyed by all ages,from the 3 year olds to grandparents!! Merci Gerard!
The Supermarket was 10 minutes away and trips to picturesque towns and villages easily accessible - even with snow and ice to test our driving skills!
I would highly recommend these attached houses for large groups of friends and families and would love to return in the warmer weather to experience what the area has to offer then.
A small cafe/restaurant/bar would be a perfect addition in Braux so the guests could wander down for a coffee,drink or meal! Having said that we all had a wonderful holiday and didnt 'want' for anything!
Thank you Louise and Gerard - you are wonderful hosts!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Stone Masons house n°2
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p59591?uni_id=72022
+33 0380646815
Braux Montbard area
Denmark
5

Happy memories

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 06-Dec-2010
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2010
Here is the review in Danish :

Vi havde i juli 2010 et dejligt ophold i Braux, Bourgogne. Braux er en lille autentisk landsby der ligger afsides og fredeligt oppe på en bakke med udsigt over fantastisk et landskab med frodige marker og små lunde.
Huset, hvor alle tre lejligheder ligger er 150 år gammel og flot restaureret af værterne selv. Vi boede i den største af dem, som er både praktisk og flot indrettet. Det er to udgange til haven, hvor man kan finde både en lille legeplads til de små, have møbler, grill og en stor svømmepool der kan overdækkes med et slags glidende tag, som giver mulighed at holde vandtemperaturen behagelig hele døgnet rundt og ganske uafhængig af vejret samt et flot og velpasset poolområde.
Værtspar Louise og Gerard er enorm venlige og hjælpsomme. De formår at skabe en god atmosfære, hvor man føler sig hjertelig velkommen og dejlig veltilpas. Det skyldes bl.a. også en spændende pizza aften, som de arrangerer for alle beboer, hvor alle, inklusiv børn har mulighed for at lave sin egen unikke pizza og sludre lidt med naboer.
Hvis man ønsker mere aktiv ferie end blot opholde sig ved poolen, så er der rigelige muligheder for . I området er der mange seværdigheder( middelalderlige hyggelige byer, klostre, slotte, vinkældre), muligheder for cykel- og kanalture.
Der er et godt supermarked 11 km fra lejligheden med et stort udvalg af varer.
Selvom vi var så heldig med vejret (det var meget overskyet og regnede en del, som er meget ualmindeligt for juli måned i Bourgogne ), havde vi fantastisk ferie.
Famile Nielsen
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Stone Masons house n°2
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p59591?uni_id=72022
+33 0380646815
Braux Montbard area
United Kingdom
5

Wonderful family holiday

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 10-Oct-2010
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2010
From the minute we arrived, Louise and her family made us feel really welcome. The house is beautifully decorated and yet still manages to be pretty child-friendly. The pizza night and the warm pool were huge hits with us and the kids. There's good space and a lovely living area in a good location that we used to explore Burgundy. When our son was ill, Louise arranged for an appointment with the doctor - really helpful. All-in-all we had a great holiday, meeting Australian friends at the cottage and would highly recommend the venue.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stone Masons house n°2
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p59591?uni_id=72022
+33 0380646815
Braux Montbard area
Berkshire, UK
5

Happy holiday in Burgandy

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 14-Sep-2010
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2010
We took Stonemason's House no. 2 (sleeping 8) as a party of six for two weeks in August - that is, my partner and I, our 7-year old daughter, my parents and my sister. The house was spacious and full of character, tastefully furnished with an eye to quality of detailing. We loved the stonework and the rooms upstairs, which were light and airy.

The shared pool and outdoor space make this a holiday with a surprise element. For us it worked brilliantly well - our daughter had other children for company and our neighbours were at all times courteous/friendly and in week 2 great fun! The pizza evening (which ran in our second week only) really encouraged everyone to socialise and gave the holiday a very special atmosphere. On the other hand, the garden is big enough to allow you to disappear with a book if it's solitude you seek. The views from the top are lovely.

The only thing I'd say about this property is that access to the pool and garden are via steps - for someone with limited mobilty, access would be an issue. And as a family who loves eating outside, we were going up and down a lot with trays!

The area is peaceful and very rural. It is great cycling country, with immediate access to the Canal de Bourgogne from the village and lovely towpaths to cycle in both directions. I particularly enjoyed visiting St Thibault by bike.

In the car, Fontenay Abbey is within easy striking distance (beautiful and atmospheric), also Avallon, Vezelay, Dijon, Beaune. Semur itself is also very pretty - I'm sure we'd make more of it if we returned. We had a wonderful meal at Les Cordois our first Sunday evening and also (rather more cheaply) at a Logis de France in Pontaubert between Avallon and Vezelay. Dijon offers good food and sightseeing - it is well worth going up the tower for the lovely views.

Louise and Gerard were exceptionally welcoming and thoughtful as hosts - you really do feel like their guests - and this made our stay particularly memorable. Overall, we had a wonderful stay here and would recommend wholeheartedly.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stone Masons house n°2
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p59591?uni_id=72022
+33 0380646815
Braux Montbard area
Munich, Germany
5

Wonderful Holidays

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 08-Sep-2010
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2010
We, a German family with 2 kids (8 and 11 years) and grandpa stayed in Stone Mansons House for one week. The house is very nice and tastfully equipped with a lot of handmade stonework from the owner. The pool is great with a removable cover for bad weather and for keeping the water warm. The location is wonderful for a calm and relaxed stay with children. It's a good starting point for visits of Dijon, Beaun, Fontenay and Vezelay. Louise and Gerard are very nice and helpful hosts. Especially the Pizza night at our house for all guests was nice. The house was very neat. ______________________________
Wir waren als Famile mit 2 Kindern (8 und 11) samt Großvater 1 Woche in Stone Mansons House. Das Haus ist wunderschön und geschmackvoll ausgestattet. Vorallem die Steinarbeiten vom Hausherren selbst - er ist Steinmetz - geben dem Haus eine besondere Note. Der Pool ist praktisch durch ein abnehmbares Dach, das die Wärme im Wasser speichert und unter dem die Kinder auch bei schlechtem Wetter schwimmen können. Baux ist ein guter Ausgangspunkt für Ausflüge nach Beaune, Dijon, Vezelay und Fontenay. Auch für relaxte Ferien mit Kindern ist das Haus mit seinem riesigen Garten gut geeignet. Louise und Ihr Mann sind sehr nette und hilfbereite Gastgeber. Besonders der Pizza Abend, den Sie in unserem Haus für alle Gäste ausgerichtet haben war sehr nett. Das Haus und die Aussenanlagen sind gut gepflegt und sehr sauber. Die Küche ist sehr modern und gut ausgestattet.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Stone Masons house n°2
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p59591?uni_id=72022
+33 0380646815
Braux Montbard area
Winchester
5

Beautiful Burgundy.

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 01-Sep-2009
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2009
We were extremely pleased that we chose Stone Masons No 2. We were particularly impressed with the bathrooms. The house was spatious, quiet and comfortable.
The pool was fantastic particularly for the children - they spent hours in there!
Pizza night was a real hit for everyone. We all enjoyed creating our own pizza.
Louise and Gerard are the perfect hosts.
Thank you for a great holiday. We would definately recommend it.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Stone Masons house n°2
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p59591?uni_id=72022
+33 0380646815
Braux Montbard area
Bad Vilbel, Germany
5

Happy in Burgundy

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 08-Jun-2009
  • Date of Stay: May 2009
We rented the house which sleeps 9 and enjoyed our stay very much. The landlords were lovely people to get to know and were extremely helpful with all of our needs.

Overall, the house was well maintained and a lot of attention to detail was put into decorating it. We always look for rentals with character and charm when we travel and the stone house met our needs perfectly.

We rented the first week of May. Although there were furnaces in each room, they were disconnected so we were encouraged to build a fire in the fire place with wood provided by the landlord. This worked quite well although I do encourage future tenants to bring lots of layered clothing as the house is chilly in the morning and evening without the fire place running. On the other hand, I'm sure the stone house is a perfect refuge on a hot summer's day.

We visited the towns of Beaune and Dijon which we would recommend to other travellers. We would also recommend visiting the Abbey of Fontennay. A car is definitely needed to explore the area.

Pizza night was lots of fun and again, we thank the owners for being such great hosts.

We definitely recommend this accomodation for those who are traveling in the Burgundy region.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stone Masons house n°2
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p59591?uni_id=72022
+33 0380646815
Braux Montbard area
Grabs, Switzerland
5

Just book it!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 01-Jun-2009
  • Date of Stay: May 2009
We had a wonderful holiday in Stone Masons Cottage No. 2. We would have a day sightseeing and return to enjoy a bottle of local wine while we watched our children swim in the pool (very warm thanks to the pool cover).

Louise and Gerard are great hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The house was lovely. It is well equipped and the beds are comfortable.

We are experienced at renting holidays houses over the internet and have been disappointed in the past with the descriptions not matching the reality. We were delighted to find that Stone Masons Cottage was far better than its description on the internet.

The house is very close to Semur-en-Auxois, Flavigny and L'Abbaye de Fontenay and a 2 minute walk from the Burgundy Canal.

We only spent 4 nights in the house but would love to return for a longer stay and would definitely recommend the house to friends - we already have!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2