Helford cottage rental - By the peaceful shores of the Mawgan Creek on the Helford River, Rock Cottage.
By the peaceful shores of the Mawgan Creek on the Helford River, Rock Cottage.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday cottage in Helford - Rock Cottage Helford River
Availability fully inclusive rate:17, 31 May: 7, 14, 28 June: 12 July and 16 Aug

By the tranquil shores of the Helford River is Rock Cottage, our idyllic, unique, riverside holiday home. It is over 500 years old, still retains a lot of its original character and is situated amongst glorious peaceful surroundings in a much sought after location. There is an unrivalled panoramic view exclusive to those who stay here. With no neighbours, owners or other properties in sight, you can have this all to yourself for a short break, week or longer!

The serene and ever-changing landscape, private foreshore with access to the river, where our robust rowing dinghy 'Peggy' awaits, will instantly captivate. Whatever the season or state of the tide, the scenery is hypnotic whilst the cottage remains most welcoming and comfortable. Our Guest Books are full of happy times dating back to the early 1960s when the Dandy family started to welcome many of its guests.

The property has oil fired central heating with new and efficient radiators throughout and accommodates up to six persons. It has been refurbished for 2014 and now offers a light and modern kitchen with all you need, a relaxing comfortable lounge, convenient ground floor family bathroom as well as three lovely bedrooms including the separate Garden Room. There are peaceful views of woodland, meadows, the large garden and the Helford River from each room. You will find the property beautifully presented throughout with easy to operate facilities as well as WiFi and waiting for you. Our many excellent reviews from previous guests, say it all!

Standing completely alone within one acre of secluded and delightful gardens, the grounds are bordered by the private woodland and the river on two sides. It is set on a promontory at the head of the Mawgan Creek amidst peaceful surroundings where time almost stands still and a myriad of water birds display themselves as the gentle tidal waters ebb and flow. Combine this tranquillity with some boating, fishing, beachcombing, gentle walking or simply just relax.

Stay during March, April and May, when the grass banks at Rock Cottage come alive with thousands of Cornish primroses and daffodils grace the borders and pots, Wander through the bluebell woodland. During the summer months, see the garden filled with geraniums, fuchsias and bedding plants and as autumn approaches, the many varieties of hydrangea change to a deeper colour whilst the beech and oak trees reveal another splendour.

Children of all ages find lots to do whether it's a game of swing ball in the garden or playing 'hide n seek' in our woodland, crab fishing with a line and bacon or racing their toy sail boats along the shore.

For those who love to be on the water, bring your kayaks and canoes, launch these from our jetty and explore the tidal creeks. If you have a small boat, let us know and we can provide a mud mooring for you at no extra charge. Some guests enjoy fishing for Grey Mullet and Sea Bass either from the boat or anchoring at a nearby point. However, you may choose to just take it easy and rest in the recliners, dabble with water colours and do some bird watching. The view from the patio is always something special, a great place to sit and enjoy your barbequed fish freshly caught from the creek or from a sea fishing boat trip.

The rental is fully inclusive of: electricity, central heating oil, bed linen, bath sheets & hand towels, bathrobes, luxury toiletries, all household essentials, WiFi, rowing dinghy (of course, life jackets in various sizes are included), mooring for a small boat, cot and high chair and BBQ. As part of the service, a full house clean and change of linen, towels, etc is included for stays longer than seven nights. All costs are included in the rent, so there are no extra or hidden charges. Reduction for when a couple only are staying at Rock Cottage.

HOW TO BOOK AND PAY:

Booking your holiday at Rock Cottage is a quick and easy process. Choose either to book and pay by credit/visa debit cards through HomeAway's secure site or if you prefer, phone or email me directly and I will send you a Booking Form. You may pay by BACS, internet banking, PayPal, cash (last minute) or cheque drawn on a UK bank account.

If you choose to book direct with the Owner, a deposit of one third of the total rent will be required. The balance of rent will be due no later than six weeks before the commencement date.

Our Reviews are testimonial to the commitment that we impart to all our guests. We do everything possible to make sure your holiday with us is a wonderful time.

More Details
Hide Details

Hello, my name is Linda Dandy and I am privileged to assist with the managing of Rock Cottage which has been in the Dandy Family for 60 years. On a holiday to the area in 1954, Rock Cottage was ‘discovered’ by my husband’s parents, Eleanor (Peggy) and Leslie Dandy. They immediately recognised the special nature of this 16th century cottage and its unique location, which stands alone within an acre of land bordering the Helford River on two sides. Later that year the property was purchased at auction for their retirement.

Linda Dandy purchased this cottage in 1954

At the time of purchase, the cottage was condemned as unfit for human habitation and was also Grade II listed because it was then the ‘only recorded example of a traditional Cornish cottage built on a projecting rock foundation’. There was no mains water or electricity, so rainwater was collected for washing and oil lamps and candles provided the only illumination. Drinking water was collected from a nearby spring. A comprehensive renovation programme took place and this was completed by January 1956. The main building was demolished to ground floor ceiling level except for the chimney end which was preserved. The traditional cob (mud, straw and stone) walls retained where it was possible. A Bathroom was created from the old Scullery, the Sitting Room extended and a new Kitchen constructed.

The Garden Room was formerly a separate cottage and had been altered in the early 1900s to become a Meeting Room for game shooting for the Trelowarren Estate. Both families living in the cottages’ had shared the semi-detached privy with their own pathway to it. This building has been preserved and still exists at the bottom of the garden. It must have been quite tricky to keep a candle lit in order to see where you were going! An 1876 map also shows a boathouse and the original two stone walls of this still remain.

The objective of the renovations was to modernise the cottage but still retain its character and originality as much as possible. We believe this has been achieved and many guests think so too. It is a superb waterside retreat and there is nowhere quite like it!

Rock Cottage is in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty with very convenient and easy access to many of the local amenities. However, it retains a tranquil and idyllic outlook. The Dandy Family are pleased to share the wonders of the Mawgan Creek and the peaceful atmosphere of Rock Cottage with you where a sincere and friendly welcome beckons.

55 Reviews of Property 5922 in Helford, United Kingdom

April 19 Late Offer - Helford River 16c Waterside Retreat, Boat available. Views
average rating of 4.927273 based on 55 reviews
business
April 19 Late Offer - Helford River 16c Waterside Retreat, Boat available. Views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p5922
+44 01326221123
Helford Lizard Peninsula
Nottingham
5

Rock On ! ( Cottage )

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 20-Jun-2011
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2011
This was our first visit to Rock Cottage but something tells me it won’t be our last.
The cottage itself is picturesque set in a stunning location, immaculately furnished and very comfortable, the pictures truly do not do it justice. The fresh flowers Linda arranged throughout were lovely as were the treats laid out in the kitchen – what a welcome!
The garden is well established and wraps around the whole cottage which means if the sun is shining you will always find a sunny spot at any time of day. All sorts of wildlife visit including Dave the friendly robin and Mr and Mrs Pheasant looking for breakfast, lunch or an evening meal! The most spectacular thing about this cottage is the view of the creek and walking down to the jetty to find Peggy waiting for you to row off and have some fun (tides permitting of course). Hubby also launched his windsurfer from the jetty and although a bit tamer than the sea he could leave the windsurfer safe and sound every day without having to rig each time. We ate out on the patio each evening, even if it rained, having taken a table top heater and gazebo – we really couldn’t waste those views.
The Ship Inn is only a ten minute walk away, the new owners have only been there 12 weeks but have already established the restaurant with fabulous food – best to book in advance. Be warned the pub is closed Sunday evening and all day Monday.
Local attractions that we enjoyed, The Lizard, Coverack, Helford Village, Gunwalloe beach and Cadgwith Cove, a beautiful fishing village where we bought fish for our supper.
We have had a fantastic holiday and thanks to Linda and Robin for being so friendly and making our stay memorable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you to Alison and Ian for an excellent review of the cottage and your holiday in the area. We are delighted that you all had a fantastic time. Yes, all our guests comment on the exceptional view from Rock Cottage which has remained unchanged for many years, and hopefully will continue to do so. Your positive review will help others to choose a holiday here. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Helpful votes: 6/8
business
April 19 Late Offer - Helford River 16c Waterside Retreat, Boat available. Views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p5922
+44 01326221123
Helford Lizard Peninsula
Christchurch
5

Fabulous cottage in beautiful setting

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 16-Mar-2014
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2014
Perfect week in this lovely cottage. Spotlessly clean with everything that we could have wished for. Linda, the owner very welcoming and helpful. Many happy hours spent on the terrace watching the wildlife. Hope to return soon!
business
April 19 Late Offer - Helford River 16c Waterside Retreat, Boat available. Views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p5922
+44 01326221123
Helford Lizard Peninsula
Christchurch
5

Fabulous cottage

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 15-Mar-2014
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2014
Have just spent a fabulous week at this lovely cottage. Spotlessly clean and had everything that we could have wished for, and more. Would love to return later in the year so that we can use the boat.
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure to meet this lovely couple who really appreciated Rock Cottage and all it has to offer. We thank them very much for their 5* review and look forward to seeing them again soon. Next time, Peggy will be on the water ready and waiting for you to explore the Mawgan Creek.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
April 19 Late Offer - Helford River 16c Waterside Retreat, Boat available. Views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p5922
+44 01326221123
Helford Lizard Peninsula
5

Simply stunning!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 24-Nov-2013
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2013
One of the best kept secrets...From the simple personalised welcome board in the Garden room to the inspiring views across Mawgan Creek and into the distance. We loved this place. With absolutely no one else nearby it is your own little piece of paradise for the time you stay here. Don't miss out, you will love it here. The cottage is equipped with everything you could ask for and the welcome treat was delicious. Thank you Robin and Linda for providing the opportunity to stay in your beautiful cottage !
Owner's Response: Another super review and a sincere thank you to Peter & Donna for choosing Rock Cottage for their honeymoon. Do come and stay with us again to celebrate your 1st Anniversary - or even sooner!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
April 19 Late Offer - Helford River 16c Waterside Retreat, Boat available. Views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p5922
+44 01326221123
Helford Lizard Peninsula
5

Rock cottage retreat

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 13-Oct-2013
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2013
If you are looking for a private retreat in a well appointed and comfortable traditional cornish cottage, Rock Cottage is hard to beat. Linda and Robin, the owners, have clearly put in a huge amount of time and effort in making this a great place to stay and maintaing a high standard for their guests. It seems to have every home comfort you could need. I spent a lot of time watching the ever changing scenery and wild life, day and night. There are lots of lovely places to visit within the Lizard and all within easy driving distances. Of course, there is lots for walkers as well. I enjoyed my stay and was very impressed. Thanks Linda and Robin.
Owner's Response: We really appreciate receiving another great review. Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience of staying in Rock Cottage.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
April 19 Late Offer - Helford River 16c Waterside Retreat, Boat available. Views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p5922
+44 01326221123
Helford Lizard Peninsula
5

lovely cottage with wonderful views

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 06-Oct-2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013
A warm welcome awaits you from Linda and Robin, the property is spotless and very well kept. All you need is ready and waiting for you to have a relaxing holiday in a wonderful location.

The kitchen is a bright room with a large table where you can enjoy a meal while looking out on to the garden and creek. The lounge is cosy ideal for relaxing before taking to your bed. The master bedroom has a large comfortable king size bed where you are guaranteed to spend a restful night. The children's bedroom is tastefully decorated with a slight pirate theme and the garden room across the court yard is large and brightly decorated and is fortunate enough to have the same wonderful view as the kitchen, perfect to wake to on a beautiful sunny morning.

Care and attention to detail is evident throughout right down to a welcome tray with home made bread and scones in the kitchen, vases of flowers throughout and freshly laundered towels with dressing gowns waiting on the beds.

The cottage is ideally located for you to visit many of the lovely coves, restaurants and places that The Lizard Pennisula has to offer. There are also many good mapped walks for those wishing to take in a bit of excerise, but for those who do not want to walk or drive there is always Peggy the rowing boat at the bottom of the jetty at Rock Cottage where you can explore the creek and maybe catch a fish or two.

Oh well all good things must come to an end and back to work we must go....
Good bye Rock Cottage until we meet again, thank you for letting us de-stress in your space....

Richard and Jayne
Owner's Response: It is helpful to receive good, honest feedback from our guests but it is especially great to receive such lovely compliments and to know that Rock Cottage has, once again, provided the perfect place to unwind and get away from busy and stressful times. Thank you so much for your 5* review Richard and Jayne. You will always be very welcome here.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
April 19 Late Offer - Helford River 16c Waterside Retreat, Boat available. Views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p5922
+44 01326221123
Helford Lizard Peninsula
5

Idyllic Creek-side Cottage

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 29-Jul-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
Rock Cottage is stunningly beautiful. The first view of the garden and the Mawgan Creek beyond was breath-taking, and the cottage itself a real home-from-home. We had everything we needed and a lot more besides. We enjoyed crabbing off the jetty and explored the creek in the rowing boat as far as Tremaine Quay. The wildlife in the creek is a joy to watch at all states of the tide. We were celebrating my wife's 50th birthday and could not have wished for a more peaceful location within easy reach of some fantastic beaches. Church Cove and Gunwalloe Fishing Cove were our favourites but we also visited Land's End, St Ives, Kynance Cove, Polurrian Beach and the tip of the Lizard. We would certainly recommend a visit to the Minack Theatre if you can fit it in - an experience not to missed. Thank you Linda and Robin for all your careful attention to detail and for making our stay so enjoyable.
Owner's Response: A splendid review. Thank you so much for this and for identifying all the great benefits Rock Cottage and this part of Cornwall has to offer future guests We are really pleased to hear your holiday was so enjoyable and hope to see you all again.
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
April 19 Late Offer - Helford River 16c Waterside Retreat, Boat available. Views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p5922
+44 01326221123
Helford Lizard Peninsula
5

A wonderfully peaceful retreat

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 15-Jul-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2013
My 5 year old son, my husband and I loved staying at Rock Cottage. The garden room turned out to be my favourite room. Wonderful wallpaper and very tastefully furnished. It is a room that asks you to be creative. Via the three big windows you have a wonderful view over the river and garden. We loved having breakfast outside on the veranda every morning. The view is amazing and it is very peaceful. Although the cottage is close to the road, you feel very secluded in the garden with complete privacy. There are no neighbours to peek into your garden, there's only nature and a few birds. Wonderful. The location is very convenient. You are only 15-20 min away from the LIzard, the sea, fantastic gardens and interesting National Trust properties. The food and atmosphere in the Ship Inn up the hill and the Prince of Wales pub nearby was excellent. Linda and Rob were very charming and helpful. Their description and photos are very accurate. You notice their care and love for Rock Cottage. The helpful notices around the house grew on us, just like the rest of Rock Cottage and we liked it more and more the longer we stayed. We were sad to leave. One week is great but two weeks would be even better. There is so much to see and do. We usually didn't want to leave Rock Cottage until the afternoon because we just loved relaxing around the cottage. Each of us had their own favourite place to be. The hidden bench is a great hide-away. I was very touched when Linda gave me a present on my birthday. My son especially liked Linda's home baked bread. Again, thank you very much. We are all looking forward to coming back.
Owner's Response: We are delighted that our guests from overseas appreciate the delights of Rock Cottage and this part of South West Cornwall.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
April 19 Late Offer - Helford River 16c Waterside Retreat, Boat available. Views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p5922
+44 01326221123
Helford Lizard Peninsula
5

Rock Cottage was perfect

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 21-Apr-2013
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2013
What a lovely cottage and beautiful views.
The cottage had everything we needed and for the children too.
We enjoyed going out on "Peggy" the row boat and also sitting on the jetty crabbing, the kids were in there element, so to was our springer spaniel swimming beside us.
We enjoyed our stay that much we have reccomened to friends and family and have also booked to go back next year.
Thank you again Linda and Robin.
Owner's Response: Jodie, thank you so much for giving Rock Cottage a 5* Review and also for booking another holiday with us. We were really pleased to hear you all had a wonderful time and enjoyed the area too. It's good to know you ventured out in Peggy and that your children had great fun with their crabbing contests. See you next year.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
April 19 Late Offer - Helford River 16c Waterside Retreat, Boat available. Views
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p5922
+44 01326221123
Helford Lizard Peninsula
5

Perfect Peaceful Getaway!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 31-Oct-2012
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2012
Rock Cottage is absolutely amazing and breathtaking and would recommend it to anyone and everyone. The cottage was immaculate and had everything you could wish for and much more. The fresh flowers that were in various rooms were lovely and colourful and the welcoming tray of bread, scones and jam were a lovely thought and gesture. The Garden room was also immaculate and had amazing views from the virtually floor to ceiling windows looking out onto the garden and Helford river. My husband and our 8 year old daughter went out in 'Peggy' the rowing boat and had a wonderful time and also went catching river crabs while I sat in the garden and did some drawing. The cottage and surroundings are very picturesque and colourful if you wish to draw or paint. The woodland and garden are great for exploring for children and adults. The bed in the master bedroom is very,very comfy and the view from the bedroom window of the garden and Helford river is amazing. My daughter loved the pirate themed bedroom and the selection of books and asked everynight if she could read a book before she went to sleep. We put some bird seed out on the bird table every morning and had fun watching all the variety of birds having their breakfast while we had ours! There is so much to see and the view seems to change daily that I didn't realise how many photo's I'd taken of the cottage and surroundings let alone the other places we visited.
Places of interest to visit; Kynance Cove is very picturesque but wear good walking shoes to climb over the stones and rocks to get to the beach. The Lizard. Polpeor Cove which is at The Lizard and has an old Lifeboat station dated 1914. Land's End, If you like old buildings then Bodmin Jail is very interesting. Coverack, Kennack Sands, St. Michaels Mount is a steep climb but worth a visit and Flambards is a good family day out as well. We met Linda and her daughter and both were very friendly and gave helpful advice about the cottage and surroundings.Already planning on going back in spring 2013. Thank you very, very much for the use of Rock Cottage which is the perfect getaway.
From Lisa, Neil and Annabelle (West Midlands).
Owner's Response: Thank you Lisa, Neil and Annabelle for such a complimentary review of your recent stay at Rock Cottage which we are delighted to receive. We understand you are familiar with South West Cornwall and have stayed in many other properties over the years. So, it is particularly rewarding that you were so taken by Rock Cottage and its location that you are planning to return to us next year. We shall be very pleased to see you again. Many thanks too for mentioning some of the many reasons why this part of Cornwall is an attractive holiday destination.
Helpful votes: 3/4