Nancledra apartment rental - At low tide, after a cliff walk, you could be here!
At low tide, after a cliff walk, you could be here!
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday apartment in Nancledra
Apartment, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Upper Saltings is part of a 19th Century granite building right on famous Porthmeor Beach. Over the years it has been used for drying nets, fish, sails, and as artists' studios. We have now converted the space to make an extraordinary holiday retreat. The living room is huge (40 feet by 25 feet) with a nine foot wide window seat directly above the sand and sea and includes a quiet WI-FI internet corner.

You may spend most time there mesmerized by the sky and the light which drew so many 20th Century artists to this place: Ben Nicholson, Barbara Hepworth, Bernard Leach, Terry Frost, Patrick Heron, W. Barnes-Graham, all of whose work may be seen in the Tate St Ives Museum further along the beach.

We have used slate, maple, and stainless steel to make a 21st century kitchen with every appliance. What you may remember most is the view from the kitchen sink: surfers riding the waves and spray shooting over the rocks. Under two big skylights (excellent for watching gulls, clouds, and stars), you will find a long dining table, for long convivial meals.

A fireplace, sofas, a yew table with broadband access, low children's tables, wide screen TV, DVD player, board games, and lots of books and art materials provide equipment - even for a rainy day. The four bedrooms have bedside reading lights, cupboards, and good mattresses.There are two doubles, one twin, and one boat-like bunk room. This sleeps 4/6 in nautical built-in beds and is a very popular feature. Two bathrooms and a utility room complete the space.

Should this be your first visit to St Ives, you are bound to fall in love with the cobbles, the fishing boats, the many small galleries, the green hills, harbour, and ever changing sea. The cliff path above small coves and basking seals will take you through National Trust land in Penrith to Land's End, past standing stone menhirs, stone circles, and a bronze age village. In this land of the Celts, Cornish is still spoken and sung. For us, it is a magic place; the folk tales are almost believable.

We use Upper Saltings for three main purposes. The first is for a family holiday. Youngsters can have an independent run of the town in safety and build sand castle just below the balcony. The second is as a place for 'time-out' to reflect, to read, to paint, and to revel in the elements. The third is for reunions. It is a great place to gather. Additional sleeping quarters can be found in other apartments but it is hard to beat Upper Saltings for a memorable evening - watching the setting of the sun and the rising of the moon, wine glass in hand.

As you can probably tell, we adore being in Upper Saltings and suspect you may too. If you would like a smaller place on Porthmeor Beach, go to our other property, Listing #56858.

Keywords: Apartment, condominium, flat

More Details
Hide Details

24 Reviews of Property 56859 in Nancledra, United Kingdom

Architect's Converted Sail Loft on Porthmeor Beach, St. Ives
average rating of 5.0 based on 24 reviews
business
Architect's Converted Sail Loft on Porthmeor Beach, St. Ives
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p56859vb
+44 207 607 4989 (England, UK)
Nancledra St Ives area
Madison, Wisconsin, USA
5

Spectacular Space

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 29-Oct-2013
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2013
Our trip to Upper Saltings was even better than anticipated. The space of the flat is beautifully designed with careful attention to detail that we really appreciated. The window seat is a huge draw, as others have noted-- a great perch from which to watch the tides roll in and out, the surfers attempting to master the waves, and the dogs at play. The kitchen is well equipped and very light. The flat is in an excellent location, close to restaurants, galleries, food shopping, but the access to the beach is the best part. We especially enjoyed the Hepworth sculpture garden and the Aquatopia exhibit at the Tate (just down the beach). The photos on the website give you a very accurate idea of the beauty of the place. Dealing with the owner and manager was easy, and the key box made our arrival stress-free. We followed the advice we received and enjoyed a number of the restaurants recommended. We have done a number of house swaps and rentals with our friends, and this was by far the best. Hope to return!
business
Architect's Converted Sail Loft on Porthmeor Beach, St. Ives
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p56859vb
+44 207 607 4989 (England, UK)
Nancledra St Ives area
Owner Submitted Review
0

Upper Saltings

  • Review Submitted: 12-Aug-2013
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2013
The apartment was just fantastic! We had a wonderful week with our family. We loved the attention to detail and appreciated all the design ideas and hard work that had gone into making the apartment such a lovely place. The window is indeed the focal point. It is probably the best kitchen we have had in a holiday rental in the UK!
business
Architect's Converted Sail Loft on Porthmeor Beach, St. Ives
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p56859vb
+44 207 607 4989 (England, UK)
Nancledra St Ives area
Cambridge
5

Family Tradition

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 19-Nov-2012
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2012
Going for a holiday at Upper Saltings has become a bit of a family tradition that we have been doing since my children had just started school (his is now off to University). What has been wonderful about the place is that it has catered for all ages whether young, old or middling and we have had all ages stay with us on holiday from a one month old baby to a 80 year old granny.
The situation is perfect, everything within a few minutes or even a few seconds walk - shops, restaurants, beach and sea. If you don't feel like moving you can always just curl up in the beautiful window seat over looking Porthmeor beach and observe everyone else below.
The loft has been beautifully and sympathetically converted in a very comfortable living space - the large open plan area becomes the hub of the holiday where everyone meets. The kitchen is well stocked with all a cook could ask for and the bathrooms have just been done up this year so are very sleek. The bunk bedroom is a real treat for those of a younger age. My kids would disappear into it and spend hours playing, reading and talking whilst hanging off the bunks at various different levels from the floor.
For the past few years we have not even moved the car from the car park spending all our time in St Ives visiting the galleries, walking round the cliffs and body boarding.
If you are looking for the perfect holiday place this has to be it.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Architect's Converted Sail Loft on Porthmeor Beach, St. Ives
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p56859vb
+44 207 607 4989 (England, UK)
Nancledra St Ives area
Indiana
5

Exactly What we Hoped for!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 05-Nov-2012
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2012
I'd recommend this place to anyone that wants an easy walk into the heart of St. Ives but the peacefulness of being on the ocean. The views were magnificent and while we had planned hikes around the area we actually spent 2 of our days enjoying the house. Loved working with the owner, she's a delight and everything was so easy - even from the US. This house is very special to me and I can't wait to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Architect's Converted Sail Loft on Porthmeor Beach, St. Ives
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p56859vb
+44 207 607 4989 (England, UK)
Nancledra St Ives area
Owner Submitted Review
3

Upper Saltings - Seaside living at best

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jun-2012
  • Date of Stay: May 2002
As soon as you arrive at St Ives and drive down to the harbour and on up to Upper Saltings the excitement grows, the wonderful light, sea, sand and atmosphere all combine for a memorable holiday. As soon as you walk into the huge kitchen/lounge area of Upper Saltings you are treated to the amazing views of sand, sea and sky. What could be better than sitting in the window seat with glass in hand enjoying people watching, surfers, seals (if you are lucky), sunsets and scenery. Upper Saltings is perfectly placed overlooking Porthmeor beach, a short walk to Porthwidden beach and café, town and harbour. Upper Saltings can truly be described as seaside living at its best.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Architect's Converted Sail Loft on Porthmeor Beach, St. Ives
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p56859vb
+44 207 607 4989 (England, UK)
Nancledra St Ives area
Owner Submitted Review
0

  • Review Submitted: 20-Jun-2011
  • Date of Stay: May 2011
We really enjoyed staying at Upper Saltings, it is a great apartment in a perfect location, the living area spacious and the window seat perfect for beach watching – we saw seals and even had a paraglider sail past the window one evening which my grandson was very excited about.
We were all thrilled with Upper Saltings and the accommodation suited our party perfectly. The window seat was just terrific and wonderful for watching the sunsets with a glass of wine in hand. The artwork was impressive and colourful. The bathrooms were great with constant hot water and good showers. The location is just perfect between two amazing beaches and so near the harbour and town. We didn’t use our cars at all and the Island car park so close to the apartment was very convenient.
business
Architect's Converted Sail Loft on Porthmeor Beach, St. Ives
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p56859vb
+44 207 607 4989 (England, UK)
Nancledra St Ives area
UK
5

Out of season short break

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 26-May-2011
  • Date of Stay: May 2011
Seeing this great apartment as an out of season short break years ago, we are now regulars, reluctant to let others know about it! A good place for families, couples, young or old, St Ives offers a relaxing break, without the need for a car. Lying on the window seat (more of a bed really) looking out over Porthmeor beach, watching the sea and the sky in all weathers, is a memorable experience to savour for the rest of the year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Architect's Converted Sail Loft on Porthmeor Beach, St. Ives
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p56859vb
+44 207 607 4989 (England, UK)
Nancledra St Ives area
Bristol
5

Best location in St Ives !!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 15-Oct-2010
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2010
Stepped into Upper Saltings and completely overwhelmed by the amazing space and view from the large window looking out onto white sand, turquoise sea and blue sky ( lucky , we had sunny weather !) Fresh flowers on tables was a nice touch. The whole property has been beautifully designed and decorated and one of those places which you wish belonged to you !! Loved the artwork and ornaments. .Beautiful yet practical, the fully equipped kitchen was joy and made you think you were taking part in 'Master Chef'' thoughtful storage for boots, shoes, wetsuits, coats etc. Short walk to excellent restaurants, , coffee shops , galleries and main town shops.
Truthfully say we enjoyed every minute of our stay , surfed every day , painted and sketched, the everchanging seascape, We go back home refreshed, relaxed and happy.
Thank you
we'll be back ! ..
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for sharing your experience with us. You do seem to have made the most of the location and of your week. We ,too, are drawn to the magnet of the window seat. One often sees dolphins swimming along with the surfers. The skill of the surfers is sometimes breathtaking. In early morning the little St Ives fishing boats are both comforting and exciting. What will be on offer at the harbour mid -morning?
Delighted you took time out to sketch and paint. We do too and enjoy the workshop sessions at the Tate and the Wednesday evening life classes at the School of Painting along the beach.

Once one is spoiled by a week in St Ives, there is no other!
business
Architect's Converted Sail Loft on Porthmeor Beach, St. Ives
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p56859vb
+44 207 607 4989 (England, UK)
Nancledra St Ives area
Owner Submitted Review
0

  • Review Submitted: 15-Apr-2010
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2009
An excellent flat in a wonderful position, overlooking Porthmeor Beach, The Island and Clodgy Point. Well chosen furnishings, very well equipped and more someone's home than a commercial rental. You'll never tire of the views of the sea, the beach, the sunsets, etc. Great art inside and out. Definitely recommended.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Architect's Converted Sail Loft on Porthmeor Beach, St. Ives
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p56859vb
+44 207 607 4989 (England, UK)
Nancledra St Ives area
Owner Submitted Review
0

  • Review Submitted: 15-Apr-2010
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2009
We have been renting Upper Saltings for about fifteen years. The children were very small when we first visited and took to it immediately; the apartment has many delightful features put there with children in mind. It is magical. As the children have grown into young adults they still love it. It has fantastic views over Porthmeor beach and one can spend hours just looking out from this amazing front window, whatever the weather. The beach is good for surfing, there are good restaurants, fish and chip shops, fudge shops, Cornish pasty shops and wonderful walks along the coastal path. But St. Ives is unique in its history as a focus for visual arts, reflected in the Tate and other galleries but also clearly evident in the pieces collected at Upper Saltings itself. And the brilliant architectural design of the apartment shows extraordinary flair and imagination. Overall, a real joy.
Helpful votes: 1/1