Pont-l'Eveque house rental - The Laiterie
The Laiterie
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps9
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 2 Separate WC's
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday home in Pont-l'Eveque - Laiterie
4 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, 2 shower rooms (1 with wheelchair access), sleeps 9

Set in the orchards of a fifteenth century manor house, the 'Laiterie' boasts fine views along the wooded valley of the River Touques in the beautiful Pays d'Auge area of Normandy. This architect-designed conversion of a former dairy incorporates traditional features and building materials in light and spacious rooms. The 'Laiterie' has a large garden of its own and a split-level terrace designed to catch the sun from early morning to late evening. It is an ideal place to relax and is also perfectly located to enjoy the beaches of the Côte Fleurie (Deauville, Trouville, Honfleur, etc.) and the attractive countryside and villages of the Pays d'Auge. Just a couple of miles from the market town of Pont L'Evêque, the property is also within easy reach of the historical cities of Caen and Rouen.

Babies and toddlers: We can provide (free of charge) 2 baby cots and 2 high chairs. All bedrooms are spacious enough to accommodate one baby cot. Babies and toddlers (if sleeping in a cot) do not count towards the maximum of 9 people in the house.

Home assistance and nursing services: A home assistance service provider operates in our area: it offers assistance in daily self-care tasks, such as eating, bathing, toileting, dressing, getting in and out of bed, etc. We can enquire about the cost of the service (about £25/hour) and book it for you should you wish.

Home nursing care can also be arranged for you. The cost is variable according to the medical care provided by the nurse (the cost should be reimbursed by the NHS when using a doctor’s prescription).

House cleaning services are available at a cost of €25 per hour.

More Details
Hide Details

23 Reviews of Property 53656 in Pont-l'Eveque, France

Tasteful barn conversion combining rural charm with modern facilities
average rating of 4.9565215 based on 23 reviews
business
Tasteful barn conversion combining rural charm with modern facilities
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p53656
+44 02072261427
Pont-l'Eveque Lisieux area
HR GuestBook
5

Comments from Owner Guestbook

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 06-Dec-2007
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2007
“French perfection ..we found something very special: La Laiterie, a beautifully converted, half-timbered dairy in the grounds of the Manoir de Petagny. (…) We were sorry to leave this enchanting place and recommend it to those seeking a holiday off the beaten track in France” (Sydney Morning Herald, July 15/16, 2006).
“The downstairs room equipped for the disabled has been well thought out and is really excellent in all respects. It is the ‘best’ room we have found for a person using a wheelchair in ten years.” (May 2006)
“This house has been designed with a flare for taste and style and is one of the best we’ve stayed in over the years.” (Aug. 2006).
“We were amazed with the cleanliness and facilities of the house and its surroundings; the views are beautiful” (Sept. 2006)
“What a wonderful house, fantastic facilities with breathtaking views! La Laiterie has to be one of the best properties we’ve stayed at – for comfort, location, and gentle hospitality of the owners” (Jan.2007)
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Tasteful barn conversion combining rural charm with modern facilities
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p53656
+44 02072261427
Pont-l'Eveque Lisieux area
5

Fantastic house, wonderful holiday!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 04-Oct-2012
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2012
We are just back from a wonderful week at La Laiterie. The house is lovely and spacious, exceptionally clean and stylishly furnished.

Karolyn had provided everything needed for our 2 young children (3yrs & 18mths) - high chair, cot, stair gate and safety monitors! They were also well catered for with Lego toys, slide, swing and trampoline, all in excellent condition.

The house is extremely well equipped and even has a washing machine and tumble dryer! Everything has been thought of to provide the guest with a hassle free stay. The outside seating area is fabulous, with comfortable reclining seats, there is also an eating area with table, chairs and BBQ. We very much enjoyed being outside, we even made friends with the cows who would stop and chat from beyond their fence.

Location wise it is a perfect base for visiting the beautiful harbour town of Honfleur (definitely a must!). Deauville for a great sandy beach and a little touch of Parisian glamour. We also had a lovely day in Caen which was recommended by a friendly local, with a son obsessed with castles it was perfect (excellent shops too!). Lastly, I must mention Pont-l'Eveque, such a pretty town, only a 2 minute drive to the centre (or a 30 minute walk) where you can sit outside at the many cafes, enjoy traditional French food in the restaurants and sample the delicacies in the Patisseries - must try the many Macarons available, they are exquisite! There are good small shops including a fantastic Equestrian shop. The Intermarche has everything you need to stock up on should you need a supermarket; we enjoyed the big trays of Pain au Chocolats for breakfast.

We would definitely recommend La Laiterie, it caters for all, you would have a fantastic holiday and certainly not be disappointed!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Tasteful barn conversion combining rural charm with modern facilities
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p53656
+44 02072261427
Pont-l'Eveque Lisieux area
5

By far, the best ever that we have rented!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 03-Oct-2012
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2012
What a great place. Even better than the description Exceptionally well equipped, even a lemon squeezer at the back of the cupboard, which I did not expect to find! Very good bed linen and a pile of fluffy towels in each room.

Everywhere was spotlessly clean. There was nothing we could fault.

The garden is well laid out and tended. Excellent garden furniture enabled us to relax in the sun and eat outside. The cows and trains entertained us. (We had wondered whether the trains would be noisy and disturb us, but quite the opposite, they were no problem at all).

La Laiterie is ideally situated, in a rural setting but close to Pont l'Eveque with all the shops we needed. Only 20 minutes to Deauville and its lovely beach, ideal for the children. There are also some lovely villages close by which are well worth visiting.

Simon and Karolyn were most welcoming and were close by to help us if necessary. They have put a lot of thought into this property and have provided a holiday let which is great value for money. Well done!

Our family group ranged in age from 6 months to 60 years. We unanimously agreed that we couldn't have chosen better...yes, even the baby!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Tasteful barn conversion combining rural charm with modern facilities
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p53656
+44 02072261427
Pont-l'Eveque Lisieux area
5

Very highly recommended - thank you

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 24-Jul-2011
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2011
We had a fantastic time in this property. There are many attentions paid to details not found easily in a vacation property. The owners are very organized, everything is very clean and more than the basics are provided. For example, our children loved a big trampolin that is set up outside the house, we loved a big collection of books and DVDs and of course, we all enjoyed a nice barbeque outside in big tables and nice chairs. Our little ones also enjoyed a lot of cows and rabbits that were roaming safely in an adjacent fenced property and the apple orchards. The place is very well situated, 15 to 20 minutes from very busy and touristic places, yet very secluded to enjoy your vacation. We would highly recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tasteful barn conversion combining rural charm with modern facilities
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p53656
+44 02072261427
Pont-l'Eveque Lisieux area
North Carolina
5

Peaceful, Idyllic Location in Normandy

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 01-Jul-2011
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2011
My family and I stayed here for a week in June 2011. There were 8 people in total, 6 adults and two young children (ages 1 and 3). There was plenty of room for everyone and it would even be suitable for a larger group. The house is absolutely great and far exceeds what the pictures even can show. Very clean and well-maintained. It is a great balance of the historic half-timber style, but fully renovated with modern conveniences. The dishwasher and washer/dryer were especially helpful for eight people. The location is very peaceful, being in the countryside, right by an apple orchard and grazing cows. There are several other old homes nearby, dating to the 15th century. The porch area is great for relaxing and you can even watch the local trains go by throughout the day. In terms of proximity, it is very accessible to any of the main towns in the area - Pont l'Eveque is minutes away, Lisieux is about 15 minutes, and other places (such as the coast) are easily within 30 minutes. We even went to Mont St. Michel one day and it is only about 90 minutes away (but get there early, as it gets very crowded on the narrow main street). There is also so much to see and do right in the local area too - many restaurants, markets, calvados and cider tasting, and interesting shops. Though not pictured, there is a giant trampoline and play set on the property, which was great for the kids. The kitchen and outside grill were great for preparing meals and the house is very spacious in the dining and living room area. We even had a local chef (who speaks both English and French) come to prepare a French meal for us one night (Karolyn has his contact information) and it was a very memorable experience. Karolyn and Simon are great hosts and very helpful with any needs or questions that you may have both before and during your stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Tasteful barn conversion combining rural charm with modern facilities
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p53656
+44 02072261427
Pont-l'Eveque Lisieux area
St Albans England
5

The Perfect Getaway

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 11-Nov-2010
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2010
This was our first trip to Normandy and La Laiterie, which we would have no hesitation in recommending.

The House is everything that you could wish for in self catering accommodation - immaculately presented; spacious; peaceful with wonderful views; and exceptionally well furnished/equipped. The hosts were charming and on hand for anything we needed though in truth we couldn't think of anything to ask for !.

The House is located in spacious grounds - great for the kids (in our case 9 and 11 year old boys with boundless energy) to run off steam in; ours making full use of the trampoline well beyond the point when it was so dark that we couldn't see anything in the garden.

Visiting in October and despite very good weather for the time of year, we were not able to make full use of the charming patio area which must be delightful on a summer's evening, but the real fire and copious supply of wood more than made up for that !.

We visited the usual local destinations - Bayeux (the Town and tapestry are well worth seeing, though by all accounts we were fortunate to be visiting out of peak season); Deauville/Trouville (excellent beaches but quite developed); the Normandy landings beaches and memorials (historically very interesting; but also a sobering reminder of the sacrifices made); Pegasus Bridge; Pont L'Eveque (a lovely small town very close by with a wide range of small shops and services) and our personal favourite; not to be missed; Honfleur. A lovely place even just to walk around, but if you do visit Honfleur try Les Marmottes - 26 Rue de la Ville for an excellent, inexpensive lunch with extremely attentive and friendly service in an alpine setting (someone is clearly very fond of skiing !). We liked it so much, we went back 3 times.

Only French strikes and the possibility of not being able to refuel stopped us from going further afield; but that aside, I am sure that there is enough in the area to keep any family amused for at least a couple of weeks and probably much longer.

In all, a holiday difficult, if not impossible, to fault. We hope to return soon !
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tasteful barn conversion combining rural charm with modern facilities
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p53656
+44 02072261427
Pont-l'Eveque Lisieux area
Essex, England
5

Wow!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 09-Aug-2010
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2010
What an amazing place to stay. Its just beautiful. Well equipped and perfect for friends and families to share as we did. The garden is a great space for children to run around and play or for adults to find a spot with their book. The house is exactly as its described - everything worked and we had no problems at all.
Its location is perfect - so much to see and do in the area. The local town and its market, the beaches at Deauville and Trouville are clean. The drive to Bayeaux was well worth the visit and the marina at Honfleur and its wonderful shops is a must.
No complaints from us at all!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tasteful barn conversion combining rural charm with modern facilities
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p53656
+44 02072261427
Pont-l'Eveque Lisieux area
Birmingham, UK
5

Charming property in rural location

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 04-Aug-2010
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2010
Our first visit to this region of France, and we could not have asked for a better property. Although just off a main road, it is very tranquil and peaceful. We had 5 children aged between 7 - 13 with us, and they loved the garden and surroundings (and Cookie, the dog!). Garden is well equipped for the children - trampoline, football nets etc.
Two minute drive from Pont-l'Éveque, which has plenty of shops and restuarants. Honfleur is lovely and well worth a visit. The restuarants in the side streets are better value than those around the harbour. You pay for the views!
The children loved the beach at Deauville and we were lucky with great weather for the week we were there. All in all, a great introduction to Normandy and a very special property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tasteful barn conversion combining rural charm with modern facilities
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p53656
+44 02072261427
Pont-l'Eveque Lisieux area
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
5

Wonderful property - exceeded our expectations

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 29-Jul-2010
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2010
Our family recently completed a three-week vacation in France and we spent one of those weeks at this property in Normandy. We all agreed (my wife and I, our three children - ages 11, 14 and 17 - and my mother-in-law) that this was the best part of our trip.

The house itself is well laid out with plenty of room to spread out when you are travelling with a larger group. We loved the outside patio - overlooking the pastures and the cows and our children certainly enjoyed exploring and playing on the trampoline.

The property itself was very clean and well-furnished. The owner met us and was very hospitable, answered our questions and provided suggestions for us.

The layout and pictures of the property are representative - although I thought the surrounding area was more picturesque than what can be conveyed in the pictures. One thing that probably biases our view is that we had extremely nice weather for our entire stay.

We found the nearby village of Pont L'Eveque to be one of our favorites in France. We found a great bakery, butcher, pattisserie and a favourite cafe that we lingered over coffee several mornings. We visited the Sunday morning market and sampled/purchased some great cheese, cider and again some great pastries.

The location is great too (train from Paris was easy) as we rented a car in nearby Lisieux and explored great towns like Honfleur and Bayeaux . We toured some of the beaches and found some of the war memorials from D-Day very interesting - we really like the small museum at Pegasus Bridge. We also visited Mont St. Michel which was about a 90-minute drive from the property.

We also discovered a nearby Lake (called Pont L'Eveque Lake I think - it was connected with something called Eden Park) with our children on the last afternoon of our visit and wished we had discovered this earlier. There is also a very nice EIA Motor Racing circuit nearby that is nestled into the hills that provides a top-of-the-line Karting experience for children (14+) and adults and there is also a track where you can rent high-performance cars (Lotus, BMW, etc.) to drive on a circuit at the facility as well. We discovered this by accident again on our last day - so my sons would be quite eager to return and try this out on another visit.

We will certainly recommend this property to our friends and if we return to this area of France - we would certainly look forward to staying here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tasteful barn conversion combining rural charm with modern facilities
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p53656
+44 02072261427
Pont-l'Eveque Lisieux area
United Kingdom
5

Fantastic Property

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 10-Aug-2009
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2009
We stayed here from 27th June for two weeks to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary. The house is excellent - well furnished with good quality linen and towels. We were six adults and three small children and we all had a wonderful time.
The owners were extremely helpful and very approachable. When our grandson was ill they helped us with the necessary medical forms and prescriptions.
We can thoroughly recommend this property to anybody.
Helpful votes: 2/2