Tobago chateau / country house rental - Trev's private waterfall
Trev's private waterfall
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday chateau / country house in Tobago - Nature Retreat Tobago
Spacious 2 bedroom/bath home,1600sq,ft, Pool, sun deck, private waterfall

Nestled in the foothills of Tobago's Nature Forest Reserve, where walks through the old coco plantation are filled with lush flora and interesting fauna. A photographer´s dream with its private waterfall. A stroll to the beach takes 15mins.

Take a soak in the blue Caribbean Sea or just hang around the deck with the royal palms and roll into the coolest rainwater pool ever. You compete with the birds for first pick of the fruit that abound, bananas ,pawpaw, sapodilla, guava ,coconuts

Birdwatching, Trail walking: The island contains a wide variety of bird habitats, including, tropical rainforest, swamp forest,semi-deciduous forest,mangrove swamp, freshwater marshland, coastal fringes and savannah, as well as cultivated lands, these habitats are are not extensive and support distinct population of birds, such as parrots, cocorico`s, king of the woods, jacamas, together with the humming birds there are about 100 species that breed in Tobago.We are situated in the foothills of an ancient tropical rainforest and due to the abandon cocoa plantation there are many trails into the hills and to the beach which are well kept.

Deep sea diving: The Sisters Isles, a group of rocks just off shore, the famous brain coral located 30 mins away at Speyside, great snorkelling in our horse shoe bay of Parlatuvier and fishing off the jetty at night

deep sea fishing: A must for any angler worth his / her salt, its all there

Details for holiday chateau / country house Rainbow Lodge, 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4, 2 Bathrooms, 1 Separate WC

A Rustic Two spacious bedroom Lodge.Wooden floors and Large open windows looking out unto the Lush Tropical Forest and the open Caribbean Sea Marbled floor living, kitchen and dinning area through wide curved doors unto the open deck and rainwater filled pool Set in an old abandoned Cocoa Estate with it`s private waterfall and trails and traces leading into the Main Ridge Tropical Rain Forest, or down to the Waterfall or sit in Glasgow`s Bar with a cold Carib beer in hand watching for the arriving fishermen into the perfect horse shoe bay of Parlatuvier, to be sure of getting your fresh Mahi Mahi or Lobster. The many beaches to chose for your beach days ,restuarents close by for lazy hungry days. Great for small families or romantic couples,very comfortable queen size beds with organic cotton linen behind sheer curtains, love couch on the deck, lounge chair in the TV room, hammock by the pool, we encourage you to be as laid back and comfortable as you wish. Our motto is Ease Back a bit
More Details
Hide Details

49 Reviews of Property 485523 on Tobago, Trinidad & Tobago

Two bedroom/bath nature lodge with pool and private waterfall, near beach
average rating of 4.822222 based on 49 reviews
business
Two bedroom/bath nature lodge with pool and private waterfall, near beach
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p485523
+1868 6899322
Tobago Trinidad & Tobago
Toronto, Canada
5

Absolute paradise!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 04-Apr-2014
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2014
We had the most amazing stay at Nature Retreats Tobago. The location is perfect and the property itself is stunning and beautifully kept - Trevor and Ranger have done an incredible job with the landscaping and property maintenance. The private waterfall is breathtaking, not to mention the lush tropical forest walk from house to the falls. One of the highlights was definitely the private pool and the incredible view you have while swimming. Trevor was a wonderful, attentive host and made our stay more amazing than we could have ever imagined. Ranger taught us so much about the vegetation, wildlife and about life in Tobago. It's definitely the place to stay on the island and we can't wait to go back again soon!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much folks, was my pleasure hosting you, you made a huge impression on Ranger.
Look forward to having you return.
Love you all
T
business
Two bedroom/bath nature lodge with pool and private waterfall, near beach
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p485523
+1868 6899322
Tobago Trinidad & Tobago
New York City
4

My Stay at Xanadu

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 14-Mar-2014
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2014
If you are looking for a peaceful and relaxing vacation, Xanadu is perfect. Prior to Xanadu, I spent 4 days of partying and playing Mas in trinidad for carnival, so I was excited to take a few days and relax. The house was BEAUTIFUL and CLEAN. I'm a city girl, so being surrounded by nature was new and different. The best part about Xanadu is the lovely host Trevor. He will make it a priority to make sure your stay in Parlatuvier is amazing. We learned a lot about Tobago from him and he was such a delight. The waterfall behind the house was absolutely breath taking. Overall, I had a great time at Xanadu.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Two bedroom/bath nature lodge with pool and private waterfall, near beach
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p485523
+1868 6899322
Tobago Trinidad & Tobago
5

Not of this world.....

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 05-Mar-2014
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2014
To describe this property and his owner, the words do not exist. For those who wants a peaceful place, this is your place. Trevor is one of the lovely persons i know. You wouldn't need anything. Be careful Travellers you will loose your heart there. If not, maybe you got no one:)
Owner's Response: WOW!!!
Thank you so much for your kind words
Much appreciation
Sincerely
T
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Two bedroom/bath nature lodge with pool and private waterfall, near beach
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p485523
+1868 6899322
Tobago Trinidad & Tobago
5

Short trip

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 17-Nov-2013
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2013
It was the nicest apartment i have spent in Tobago. Its was a really nice and quiet place to enjoy and relax. Espacially the privat pool of the apartment is great.
Trevor is a very carrying person who pays a lot of attention for his guests.
I had a perfect time there.
Owner's Response: Thanks Sonja

The pool and veranda with the open deck does make Xanadu, the nicest Home Away in Tobago.
See you again soon
T
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Two bedroom/bath nature lodge with pool and private waterfall, near beach
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p485523
+1868 6899322
Tobago Trinidad & Tobago
5

The best place I've ever stayed!

The best place I've ever stayed!
  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 28-Sep-2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013
Trevor and the town of Parlatuvier are just the start of this wonderful place. My wife and I have traveled the world and the beautiful guest house that Trevor has built up on the hill is the best place I've ever stayed. From the pool, outdoor shower, open kitchen, hammock, gorgeous upstairs bedroom, and pleasant breeze this place is tops. Certainly the best accommodations on the island. If you like the peace and quiet of time alone away from the hotel style, yet still appreciate great amenities, Trevor's place is for you!

Thanks Trevor
Owner's Response: The Village of Parlatuvier,

A small population of 350 mainly fishing folks, centered around the perfect horse shoe Bay.
The prominent Jetty with the little sustainable fishing boats, bobbing in the blue/green Caribbean Sea, the beautiful off shore Sister Islands , where the fisher men make their way each morning to bring home the catch of the day, for Marcie or Vaness to serve lunch/dinner.
All this with the lush tropical forest in the background, with streams and waterfalls to rejuvenate any soul. Walking trails into the Oldest protected Rainforest preserve in the Western world, teeming with wildlife including 220 species of birds.
Thanks for choosing to stay at Xanadu, so sorry not to have been more available but you were quite safe and secure my yourselves on The Estate, trust you enjoyed our Trev`s Waterfall, a 10m drop that creates a magical 360% Rainbow at noon.
Love your most flattering review, The folks at Kings` Bay Cafe , mentioned you dropped by after your stay in Charlotteville .
Thanks again guys for your review
Yours

T
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Two bedroom/bath nature lodge with pool and private waterfall, near beach
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p485523
+1868 6899322
Tobago Trinidad & Tobago
5

The other Tobago vacation

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 10-Sep-2013
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2013
I suppose there's the type of vacationer who prefers the buzz of Pigeon Point, the bustle of Scarborough and the predictability of a standard hotel room.

This experience is for the OTHER type. Someone who appreciates uniterrupted views of rainforest and ocean, nights with wooden windows flung open, wake-up calls from the birds and a stunning waterfall in their temporary backyard.

Our family stayed at Xanadu for a week in August and enjoyed every minute. The house itself strikes the perfect balance between minimalism and a bit of holiday indulgence. We'd spend days on breathtaking (almost empty) beaches like Englishman's Bay or Bloody Bay, then come home to cook dinner while the children soaked in the pool with its infinity edge and view of the sunset.

We're from Trinidad. Spring baths are nothing new. But the waterfall with its crayfish, clear water and separate showers was a revelation even to us.

We were armed and ready for the insects and got through the week with just a few bites. Thanks for a magical week Trevor!!! We'll be back!!!!
Owner's Response: Dear Cedrianna ,Troy and family,

Thank you so much for your visit, happy that we were able to help make your family holiday a memorable one ,look forward to a return visit.
Yours

T
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Two bedroom/bath nature lodge with pool and private waterfall, near beach
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p485523
+1868 6899322
Tobago Trinidad & Tobago
5

Stress-Free, Stunning Simplicity (A Must See!)

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 05-Sep-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2013
It is with no shadow of a doubt that this tiny review box is not big enough to cover how incredible my stay was at Nature Retreats Tobago. Tucked away in the most spectacular setting, Nature Retreats is perfect for anyone who is looking for a little time away to just relax.... To exhale.... To enjoy themselves. The rustic feel of the property is not to be feared, if anything all it does is make you feel more comfortable and more at home. Trevor is the most magnificent host who genuinely goes out of his way to ensure that his guests are content and happy with their experience. The nature that surrounds the property is simply captivating... The PRIVATE Waterfall is surely a little slice of heaven. It is clean, homely, comforting simplicity, which in a world of package holidays and clinical, unoriginal hotels is a quiet rarity. I think that Nature Retreat is absolutely suitable for anyone who can take it easy, and if you struggle with that, this place will force serenity on you. Set in a sumptuous rainforest which is bursting with life, yet only a short distance away from the breath taking beauty of the Tobagonian Coastline, it really is perfectly picturesque. The community is incredibly welcoming should you wish to explore, but it is also a prime place for privacy; leave your problems at home because Nature Retreats is a stress-free environment. I would personally recommend taking a trip down to Sunshine restaurant to taste Vanessa's hand. The Queen of Soul Food lives but a 7 minute drive from you. Fancy catching some fresh fish for dinner? Check out Peter and Aaron who arrange fishing trips along the coastline and out to the Sisters, all very reasonable prices and not to be missed. Be sure to ask Trevor about the delicious local seasonings that are quiet often available in your own back yard!! The area is quiet, but there is plenty to do in this heavenly haven. Even taking a Stag and watching the sunset at Glasgow Bar is a sight straight off a postcard. I would absolutely recommend Nature Retreats to anyone who wants some enjoyment! For those who want to relax and for those who want to explore, for the Nature and Wildlife Freaks (self-confessed)the variety that is offered is incredible. All of this topped off with the kindest, most endearing and hardworking of Hosts, Trevor, and his trusty sidekick Maximus the Dog, I implore any traveller to treat yourselves to some rustic goodness; I for one cannot wait to return to the peace that is Nature Retreats.
Owner's Response: You are most kind.
Max sends his Love, those treks to the Water falls were his treat,
Where we stood at noon under the falls and experience the rainbow forming around us.
With Love and best wishes

T
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Two bedroom/bath nature lodge with pool and private waterfall, near beach
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p485523
+1868 6899322
Tobago Trinidad & Tobago
5

A wonderful place to stay

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 03-Sep-2013
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2013
Our family stayed in Trevor's lodge for 2 weeks in August 2013. We debated before we booked it whether we would be able to survive the mosquitoes and if would be a suitable place to stay with our 2 teenagers.... "away from it all".
It was our first visit to the Caribbean and we weren't sure what to expect.
I have to say, we had the most wonderful holiday. I don't think it's everyone's cup of tea but if you are looking for a genuine, unique and relaxing place to stay, completely surrounded by nature in stunning location, this is it.
Trevor is a charming and attentive host.
We had a very memorable and special holiday. The girls loved the pool. The weather was kind to us, the mosquitoes were tolerable, the view superb, the experience was great.
The birds were abundant. We were woken daily by flocks of parrots and chacalacas calling between the trees. Humming birds came into the house a couple of times and bananaquits fed off the papaya on the deck.
Trevor's own waterfall was a short steep walk down though beautiful forest. It was a serene spot where the crayfish would nibble your toes if you paddled in the pools.
A four wheel drive is recommended to get up the steep track to the lodge and to go on day trips out around the island.
Thanks Trevor.
Owner's Response: Karen ,John and the Girls

Thanks for your kind review
You were the best, thanks for the clean up.
Love you guys, see you again soon, any time.
Regards

T
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Two bedroom/bath nature lodge with pool and private waterfall, near beach
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p485523
+1868 6899322
Tobago Trinidad & Tobago
5

amazing and private

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 22-Jul-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
It was a wonderful stay. Very peaceful and relaxing. We really didn't want to leave the villa, we loved it that much.What more could you want wake up in the morning, have your breakfast on front porch with a beautiful view of the ocean and your own infinity pool right out in front of porch.We spend most of our time in it, as it was so peaceful and the birds were amazing to watch and the view,again was great and private.Nobody ever bothered us, including Trevor the owner. The walk to the falls was nice.If you want a great place to eat, since most of the local places stop serving food around 5:00pm, make sure you stop down and see Vaness!She was wonderful and very accommodating.She would home cook your meals daily for you,fresh and cooked as you ordered.Her place was called the Sunset Bar and Grill near Bloody Bay Beach.She was opened for food until about 9:00pm. Forgot to mention Buffalo, he met us at the airport, gave a scenic tour on the way to the Villa and he had our rental car there waiting. He was great he even cooked us wonderful Tobagan style lobster dinner for us right at our villa.It was amazing to watch him cook it there way, we even video it while he was cooking it his stlye. Tasted great!!!!!!!! If you want homemade wood carvings one man on the whole Island does an absolutely great job, he carves it himself. He has lots to pick from, sometimes it could take him aweek to carve something, so if you see him early in your stay he could carve you a picture that you want. His name is Jahby excellant work ,you could probaly ask Trevor how to get to him, fantastic work. There is also a newspaper article on him. So great trip, if you have the opportunity to come to Tobago, you really need to experience it here at the Villa. You definitly need a car and alot of mosquito repellant (like 3-4 cans with deet)especially at night and early morning. Also the coils help!Would definitely come back! Thanks Trevor for the adventure of a life time!
Owner's Response: Hi Linda ,

Was great having you guys stay at Xanadu, thanks so much for your great review,
Vaness and Buffalo do really help make the Retreat , I thank them also for their input.
Jahby the Rasta wood carver is a rare find , with his little craft shop .
We hope others will find your review helpful with your advice about natures ability to have mosquitoes in paradise.
Seems as if they found it first, thank goodness for OFF and the mosquito coils, we can share in their paradise.
I always got a feeling of pleasure as I could hear you guys romping in the infinity pool with its` sweet rain water late into the star filled evenings.
Sell lots of Hondas and I will see you again soon.
Best wishes to you and Sam.

T
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Two bedroom/bath nature lodge with pool and private waterfall, near beach
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p485523
+1868 6899322
Tobago Trinidad & Tobago
4

Ferien im Paradies

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 22-Jun-2013
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2013
Hallo zusammen, der Aufenthalt in Trevor´s Haus war außergewöhnlich, nicht zu vergleichen mit einem Hotelurlaub. Die Anreise war sehr abenteuerlich, wir kamen an bei strömendem Regen, das Haus liegt etwa 1 km Luftlinie vom Meer entfernt auf einem Hang. Die Teerstrasse wechselt nach ein paar Biegungen in einen Schotterweg, der sehr steil zum Haus führt. Man sollte Trevor´s Tipp beherzigen und sich einen Allradwagen mieten. Wir hatten ein normales Auto und sind ein mal bei starkem Regen im Morast stecken geblieben. Der Ausblick und die Lage des Hauses ist phantastisch, am morgen wird man von Papageiengeschrei geweckt, die Geräusche des Dschungels sind überwältigen . Das Haus selbst ist einfach aber sehr liebevoll eingerichtet, da keine Fensterscheiben vorhanden sind ist es empfehlenswert, sich genügend Mückenspray mitzunehmen oder Off Spray in der Tankstelle von Roxborough oder Scarborugh zu besorgen. Der Pool ist sauber, sehr tief und wahnsinnig erfrischend. Es sind zwei große Schlafzimmer vorhanden mit jeweils 140m Bett und 1m Bett. Das Haus wäre also geeignet für 2 Familien mit je einem Kind. Im Ort gibt es ein Restaurant, was jedoch zu unserer Zeit nicht offen hatte, wir sind nach Blody Bay oder Castara gefahren, beide Restaurants sind zu empfehlen. Außerdem kann man unten am Pier sehr frischen Fisch günstig kaufen, der Supermarkt bietet die Grundnahrungsmittel. Obst und Gemüse bekommt man an Ständen an der Straße zu Castara. Wir haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt, die Strände sind idyllisch und einsam. Besonders empfehlenswert ist Englishmans Bay und Pirates Bay. Hier kann man am Rande der Felsenküste sehr gut schnorcheln, wir haben sehr viele bunte Fische, Schildkröten, Korallen und einiges mehr gesehen. Auch der Strand in Parlatuvier ist zum schnorcheln zu empfehlen, rechte Seite ist besser, viele Korallen!!
Für Pauschalreisende würde ich das Haus nicht empfehlen, wer die Natur liebt und auch mal darüber hinwegsehen kann, dass Tiere ins Haus kommen können, dass ab und zu der Strom ausfällt und das Internet auch nicht immer funktioniert, ist hier genau richtig. Natur pur, Stille, Ruhe, Tiere, Papageien, viele andere bunte Vögel und ein schöner Ausblick aufs Meer warten auf euch......Schaut euch die Insel an, sie ist es Wert!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words, love to have you return
Yours

Trevor
Helpful votes: 1/1