Sonoma house rental - Poolside view of the Runningwood Sonoma Estate.
Poolside view of the Runningwood Sonoma Estate.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in Sonoma - Runningwood
House, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Just five minutes from Sonoma's Town Square is the private gated estate of Runningwood. With more than 10 acres nestled in the heart of wine country, Runningwood Ranch neighbors some of Sonoma's finest wineries and is just minutes from Napa.

The residence is well-suited to host Weddings/Receptions & Parties, up to ~ 100 people.

The Residence is available from 3-day minimum rentals to long-term occupancy(1 year or longer).

The kitchen is a focal point of the residence: six grill range,side/by/side SubZeros,Dacor double ovens,plate warmer, etc. The Outdoor DCS Propane BBQ is a favorite of guests. Generous Sonoma Valley views abound. The entire residence & property showcase valley views overlooking vineyards. Neighborhood wineries and wildlife alone are worth the experience.

The residence rents monthly, weekly or daily with a 3 day minimum. We also allow events such as Weddings/Receptions, Parties and other special affairs.

Keywords: Private, 10 acres, East-Side of Sonoma, Pool, Spa, Gated, Spectacular Views,

More Details
Hide Details

Formerly worked in the public health sector

Property purchased in 1991, Residence built in 1994-1995

Rudy purchased this house in 1991

So close to town, yet at the same time it affords a great deal of privacy

There are more than 20 wineries within 20 miles of Runningwood. Some are even walking distance for the athletically inclined.

20 Reviews of Property 46877 in Sonoma, USA

Gated,10 Acres; 2 Mi to Town Square, Pool, Spa, Views, Private
average rating of 5.0 based on 20 reviews
business
Gated,10 Acres; 2 Mi to Town Square, Pool, Spa, Views, Private
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p46877vb
(916) 206-6470 (California, USA)
Sonoma Sonoma County
Bozeman
5

Runningwood Estate

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 07-May-2013
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2013
We had a wonderful stay at Runningwood in Sonoma. The owner couldn't have been nicer and the house was beautiful, but the backyard was amazing! Nothing like having a glass of wine by the pool overlooking the Sonoma Valley. Only 10 minutes away from downtown Sonoma and its amazing restaurants. Definitely would recommend this to anyone looking for a romantic getaway in the wine country (also wonderful for entertaining).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Gated,10 Acres; 2 Mi to Town Square, Pool, Spa, Views, Private
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p46877vb
(916) 206-6470 (California, USA)
Sonoma Sonoma County
Atwater, Ca
5

Barrell Tasting Weekend

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 13-Mar-2013
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2013
We had a mini family reunion that coincided with the Wine Road Barrell Tasting Weekend. We lucked out with the weather and took advantage of the back patio by the pool. The house was everything that we expected and more. When you are there, you feel like you are miles away from town, but are in fact just about 5 minutes from the city square. Great location, the house perfect, and Rudy already had wood in the fireplace ready to go for the cool nights. Great house, great wine, and great people to share it with!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Gated,10 Acres; 2 Mi to Town Square, Pool, Spa, Views, Private
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p46877vb
(916) 206-6470 (California, USA)
Sonoma Sonoma County
5

Loved Our Stay in Sonoma

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 09-Mar-2013
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2013
We stayed at Runningwood with our kids during their spring break. It was so gorgeous. We spent many hours on the patio overlooking the beautiful vineyards and mountains all around. The hot tub was great! With only a few minutes to heat up we relaxed and watched the sunsets. The kitchen has everything a chef could ever want. We hosted a little dinner party and our guests were amazed at all this rental had to offer. Rudy was a gracious host and we felt like personal friends when we left. We can't wait to get back there as soon as possible with more adult friends. We also had a little dog who loved the property. We had to keep an eye on her as there was much wild life, but she was very happy on the patio too!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Gated,10 Acres; 2 Mi to Town Square, Pool, Spa, Views, Private
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p46877vb
(916) 206-6470 (California, USA)
Sonoma Sonoma County
Oklahoma
5

Fantastic Holiday Experience

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 01-Jan-2013
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2012
My family was so fortunate to have found Runningwood as a holiday retreat. The house was truly gorgeous and perfect for the five adults in our party. We love to cook together and the kitchen was perfect, large and open and very well stocked with every cooking utensil we could possibly need.
We thoroughly loved using the hot tub each day. The landscaping was beautiful and the view from the patio magnificent---a great way to relax at the end of our days activities!.
Upon arrival the owner made us feel very welcome, answering multiple questions about how to use the amenities in the house, the town's restaurants and the wineries in the area.
We have already recommended this property to friends and family. We definitely hope to return to Runningwood at a future date and continue our exploration of the area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Gated,10 Acres; 2 Mi to Town Square, Pool, Spa, Views, Private
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p46877vb
(916) 206-6470 (California, USA)
Sonoma Sonoma County
New York, NY
5

Exceptional west coast nest

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 28-Dec-2012
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2012
There are too many special features of this home to capture in a concise review, especially when limited to 2500 characters. However, I will gladly give it a shot as this was truly a vacation to remember.

We were pleasantly greeted by Rudy, the owner and builder, who showed us around the gated property describing all of the wonderful amenities. From the plentiful chopped firewood stacked and ready for a cozy fire in the second living room to the expansive kitchen awaiting culinary magic... Runningwood estate had everything one might need to escape the stresses of work and life. This spectacular abode lies hidden away from prying eyes and is just a short drive away from downtown Sonoma where a Whole Foods store is located.

Our group of 6 adults had enough space to enjoy solitude to rest and relax, but were able to come together in the kitchen, dining room, or pool side to bask in all the glory of Runningwood. In evenings, we built a roaring fire to keep warm while taking frequent trips out onto the vast patio for star-gazing (nearly 360 degree of stunning views). The bedrooms were clean and adequately equipped with linens, TVs and bathrooms for plenty of privacy. I should bring attention to the amazing open shower in the master bath with two sitting areas and removable shower nozzles which will steam away your anxiety and clean one or more people no time. Even though the other bedrooms had private bathrooms, there was often a waiting line for the master shower or jacuzzi.

Cooking at Runningwood made you feel as if you were suddenly entered into a Top Chef cooking competition. There was a great deal of counter space for food preparation, massive sub-zero refrigerator and freezer, dual range with ventilation and two ovens. There were also a wide variety of cooking utensils and pots/pans which afforded us the opportunity to cook a brilliant 9-course Thanksgiving dinner (*note* chefs not included so be prepared to roll up your culinary sleeves).

The pool, hot tub, patio, and variety of deck chairs and loungers tempted us each day to lay out in the sun taking in sweeping views of Sonoma Valley. We were lucky enough to be outside on a day with a classic air show nearby and watched plane after plane fly over the valley.

Runningwood estate is located in close proximity to many great vineyards so you can drive or even rent a limo to escort you from tasting to tasting. We would definitely recommend staying here. The only down-side is leaving.Thanks Rudy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Gated,10 Acres; 2 Mi to Town Square, Pool, Spa, Views, Private
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p46877vb
(916) 206-6470 (California, USA)
Sonoma Sonoma County
Nashville, TN
5

Fabulous House!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 20-Dec-2012
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2012
We stayed in this beautiful house for a girls' get-away weekend! The house could not have been more perfect. It was clean, comfortable, and had a well-stocked kitchen. The view was amazing. We would love to go back again soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Gated,10 Acres; 2 Mi to Town Square, Pool, Spa, Views, Private
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p46877vb
(916) 206-6470 (California, USA)
Sonoma Sonoma County
Nashville
5

Wonderful Getaway

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 02-Dec-2012
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2012
I visited Runningwood in early November with five good friends for a girls' weekend away. It was exactly what we needed. Calm, scenic, gorgeous, and completely relaxing. The house was even more beautiful than it looked in the pictures. It is also located in close proximity to both Sonoma and many wineries. The owner was very friendly, accessible, and easy to work with. He was quite accommodating with the few special requests we had. Overall, we had an amazing time and can't wait to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Gated,10 Acres; 2 Mi to Town Square, Pool, Spa, Views, Private
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p46877vb
(916) 206-6470 (California, USA)
Sonoma Sonoma County
Milwaukee, WI
5

Wonderful 4 days!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 02-Oct-2012
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2012
Rented this property for my family to stay during our wedding in Sonoma. The property far exceeded our expectations! One of the most beautiful homes I'm guessing in all of Sonoma. The view was incredible, the owner was very helpful & the house was very clean. We will definitely return!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Gated,10 Acres; 2 Mi to Town Square, Pool, Spa, Views, Private
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p46877vb
(916) 206-6470 (California, USA)
Sonoma Sonoma County
San Francisco, CA
5

Dream Vacation!!!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 28-Aug-2012
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2012
What a PHENOMENAL property!!!! The house looked just like the photos, and the view was even better than I thought it would be from looking at the VRBO ad. I organized a girls-getaway weekend to celebrate my friend's engagement, and we couldn't have imagined a better place to do it. This house had an amazing 360 degree view of the Sonoma Valley, we were able to lounge by the pool on comfy lounge chairs, play music outside, cook in a state-of-the-art kitchen, and enjoy the seclusion and safety of being tucked away with a secured front gate entrance. The bedrooms are also really nice, and the master bathroom has a huge bath tub, and shower. Rudy, the owner, was also very helpful and attentive to our needs, the place was nice and clean with plenty of towels. This was way better than any hotel we could have booked. We will definitely be coming back.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Gated,10 Acres; 2 Mi to Town Square, Pool, Spa, Views, Private
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p46877vb
(916) 206-6470 (California, USA)
Sonoma Sonoma County
Lakewood, Colorado
5

Luxurious, comfortable private hillside home

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 27-Jul-2012
  • Date of Stay: May 2012
The views from Runningwood are breath-taking. We could see wineyards and the country hills with foilage for miles around us. We had a sense of total privacy, and yet the center of town was only minutes away! The home was obviously designed with comfort, luxury, privacy and an appreciation of nature in mind. The owner is personally involved in the upkeep and maintenance, which might explain why the home and property is in impeccable condition, with everything done in excellent taste and with the highest of quality. We felt the owner couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating, yet unobtrusive and invisible, during our visit. The entire experience was perfect and we intend to return again for a longer visit.
Helpful votes: 1/1