Warrenton farmhouse rental - The farmhouse on Hidden Hollow Farm in the Springtime.
The farmhouse on Hidden Hollow Farm in the Springtime.
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps36
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 2 Separate WC's
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 6 bedroom holiday farmhouse in Warrenton - HIDDEN HOLLOW FARM
7 Br, 3.5+ Bathroom, 6000 Sq. Ft. House, Pool, Great Views & Guest Cottage (12)

This charming and spacious home on our 20 acre wooded homestead has wonderful VIEWS from every window. Hidden from town, yet only a mile stroll to shopping and the heart of Old Town Warrenton. Great home-away-from-home for church, special activity (scrapbookers, quilters), corporate events, special interest (homesteaders, book clubs) groups, family reunions, and bridal parties and out of town wedding guests. Delightful amenities include a large private pool, 1200 sq. ft. spacious media/meeting/play room with games galore, ping-pong, air hockey, foos ball & pool. Outdoor fun includes a fully stocked pond for fishing, firepit, volleyball, basketball, hiking and so much more!

We also offer many other added bonuses such as babysitting, horse boarding, and catering.

Ask us about our ELEGANT COUNTRY COTTAGE on Hidden Hollow Farm that accomodates an additional 12 guests and opening soon...VRBO.com/565710.

Our goal is to insure that your stay on our farm is everything you expected it to be, and we would like to help you create great memories of your visit through family photos. We have owned a wedding/portrait photography studio for 35 years, currently located on Main St. in Old Town, Warrenton. If you would like us to a complimentary portrait sitting for your family, church or corporate group during your visit, you can visit our web site at www.sonshinepictures.com and let us know if you’d like to find an agreed upon time for your groups photo shoot. We will also send you an email just prior to your arrival as a reminder. You might enjoy getting creative and color coordinate your clothes together! Like blue jeans or kackies & white shirts or red plaids! Or bathing suits by the pool!

More Details
Hide Details

Both originally from Jersey, we headed south to Northern Virginia, where Wally worked as an air traffic controller and together we ministered as youth pastors as we raised our family. After a fire destroyed our home in Alexandria, we moved West to Warrenton in 1989, and used our skills to design our custom built home on this 20 acre farm. What a great place to raise our children. Today, we are raising grandchildren, chickens, and organic vegetables and our homesteading classes (food/water/fuel storage, gardening, dehydrating food, canning, grinding wheat/baking bread, cheese making, raising chickens, sooo much more!) begin in the Spring and continue until Fall. (Invite a group of your friends together and rent the Farmhouse for the weekend, and I'll be glad to teach the day-long class for you) We so enjoy extending our hospitality to folks who visit the area and we know you will be refreshed and restored when you come for a restful stay. A common expression around here is 'it's not Heaven, but it's a good place to wait.' Please let us know how we can serve you better.

Wally and Pat Smith

Wally & Pat Smith purchased this farmhouse in 1989

We looked at nothing less then 100 country properties over a year. Tired and overwhelmed, this was our last farm to consider. Just coming down the hollow, without even seeing the original house, we shouted 'this is it!' Pastures, rolling hills, forest, pond, creek, and barn; every window displayed this glorious creation. We were finally home.

Delightful amenities include: large private pool with towels provided, giganic family play room with HDTV, WIFI, pool, gaming table, ping pong, air hockey, foos ball, board games, toys, etc., fully stocked pond (fishing poles provided), hiking along Cedar Run River, fire circle, volleyball, basketball, catering, babysitting, horse boarding available. We are a pet friendly home.

If you are planning a retreat, reunion or corporate gathering with more than 24 guests, please remember that we have a elegant country COTTAGE located on the farm that can sleep an additional 12 guests...in classic country style! See VRBO.com/565710 for the description of the COTTAGE.

13 Reviews of Property 454018 in Warrenton, USA

5 Star Country Estate; Pool; Fishing; Wash. DC/Skyline Dr./20 Vineyards
average rating of 4.923077 based on 13 reviews
business
5 Star Country Estate; Pool; Fishing; Wash. DC/Skyline Dr./20 Vineyards
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p454018vbi
540-347-7808
Warrenton Northern Virginia - Washington DC
5

Family Reunion - perfect Location

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 17-Mar-2014
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2014
We can not say enough good things about this home. Everything was amazing! There are so many personal touches - the HUGE game room, large screen TV, pool, deck, grill/gazebo area. The kitchen and dining area, the storage for food/coolers in adjoining laundry room, the cozy living room/sitting room areas. The wildlife and beautiful views! The bedroom and bathrooms were so cozy and so well organized, so easy to have a large number of people!! Having a family reunion there - was Amazing!! Owners were wonderful to deal with and so accommodating in every way!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
5 Star Country Estate; Pool; Fishing; Wash. DC/Skyline Dr./20 Vineyards
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p454018vbi
540-347-7808
Warrenton Northern Virginia - Washington DC
United States
5

Spent a fantastic weekend in this lovely home!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 11-Nov-2013
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2013
I visited this home with 13 friends for my low-key bachelorette party - we were looking for a comfortable house where we could all relax for the weekend - we wanted to sit on the porch and drink wine, make big dinners, go to a few vineyards and enjoy the fall weather and leaves. That's exactly what we got with this house.

The kitchen and dining areas had plenty of space to cook, serve, and eat. The patios were big enough for us to all mingle together, and there were so many bedrooms and beds that some of us had our own rooms! The location is perfect, too, if you're looking for access to vineyards and hiking. It's a picturesque setting - you feel like you're far off the beaten path - but you can get to the grocery store in less than 5 minutes to pick up things you may have forgotten.

Additionally, the owners were incredibly welcoming and made sure that everything was clean and in order prior to our arrival. We would all recommend this house to big families or big groups who are looking for a nice weekend retreat. The one quirky thing about the house is that there are only twin beds - no full, queen or kings in the house. It was great for us, but if you're looking for a master-style suite you'll have to push some beds together (which would be no problem because it looked like they had plastic discs under the bed posts to make moving them around easy). Don't miss out on this great rental!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
5 Star Country Estate; Pool; Fishing; Wash. DC/Skyline Dr./20 Vineyards
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p454018vbi
540-347-7808
Warrenton Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Texas
5

Wonderful Experience!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 18-Oct-2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013
My husband, infant son, and I had a fabulous experience with friends over a weekend at the house in Warrenton. The home was perfect for families with small children and included a pool, lots of yard space to run around and a huge playroom.
The owners were very receptive and were prompt to return an item I had left behind at the house.
Great experience!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
5 Star Country Estate; Pool; Fishing; Wash. DC/Skyline Dr./20 Vineyards
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p454018vbi
540-347-7808
Warrenton Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Ohio
4

Great for young families

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 28-Sep-2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013
We had a friend reunion weekend- 10 adults and 10 kids under the age of 5. We were prepared for a difficult weekend, to say the least, but this property made our trip an enjoyable vacation! My boys loved the air hockey table, the race tracks and toys, and the outdoor basketball hoop. The kids went exploring in the field and fishing in the pond. On our second day it rained, but there still seemed plenty to do inside. After all the kids went to bed, the adults were able to have a sit-down dinner with our monitors in the background and all the kids sleeping safely upstairs- impossible to do at a hotel. The kitchen was well equipped and had a dishwasher, making it easy to do multiple meals each day. We recommend this place any time of year- even though it was too cold to use the pool, we still had plenty to do with the kids.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
5 Star Country Estate; Pool; Fishing; Wash. DC/Skyline Dr./20 Vineyards
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p454018vbi
540-347-7808
Warrenton Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Baltimore
5

Great house

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 12-Aug-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
We had an amazing family vacation. The house was beautiful. The surroundings were serene. We especially enjoyed the pool and the game room. We did not have to plan any outings because there was so much to do between the house and the grounds. Wally and Pat were a pleasure to deal with. Thank you for helping us make great family memories!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
5 Star Country Estate; Pool; Fishing; Wash. DC/Skyline Dr./20 Vineyards
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p454018vbi
540-347-7808
Warrenton Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Central Texas/Eastern Kentucky
5

Family Visit to Washington D.C.

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 08-Jul-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2013
We had 24 members of the family that stayed the entire week at the Farmhouse. It was a great place to retreat back to relax from the busy days spent seeing the national archives, monuments and museums. The kids loved the family room and the huge assortment of games, toys and entertainment. The adults loved the back deck, the pool area, as well as the fishing pond and fire pit. Definately look forward to making a return visit for the entire family. Too much to see and do in a week. Great place for a youth group or scout troop to stay without all the alarms of being too close to the city. All the amenities you will need are located nearby. With the bedrooms and showers/tubs all located upstairs, it would be a bit hard on anyone with mobility issues. Plenty of parking for 5 vehicles. The kitchen was awesome for preparing meals for the large group with plenty of dining space.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
5 Star Country Estate; Pool; Fishing; Wash. DC/Skyline Dr./20 Vineyards
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p454018vbi
540-347-7808
Warrenton Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Chambersburg, PA
5

More than what we expected!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 02-Jul-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2013
My group and I (13 total) did a short weekend retreat and wished we could've stayed longer! The house was beautiful and well kept! Everyone kept saying how peaceful it felt there. We enjoyed everything the place had to offer: the pool, the basketball hoop, the fishing, the volleyball and all the fun in the rec room! The rooms were spacious and accommodated us perfectly! It's location was perfect- you felt like you were away from the city yet close to plenty of dining and grocery options. The owners were so friendly and welcoming! They answered any questions we had and even let us borrow a guitar! Our group would love a chance to come back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
5 Star Country Estate; Pool; Fishing; Wash. DC/Skyline Dr./20 Vineyards
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p454018vbi
540-347-7808
Warrenton Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Ohio
5

RELAXING!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 02-Jul-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2013
Our group of 17 (7 adults, 10 children) recently enjoyed a week-long stay. The house was fantastic with plenty of space for everyone to move around freely. The game room for the kids was awesome. The swimming pool was maintained very well. The owners are truly caring people and were very accommodating to our needs. Thank you Pat and Wally! We enjoyed the country setting and the close drive to Warrenton. We would highly recommend this vacation rental.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
5 Star Country Estate; Pool; Fishing; Wash. DC/Skyline Dr./20 Vineyards
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p454018vbi
540-347-7808
Warrenton Northern Virginia - Washington DC
5

65th wedding anniversary family gathering

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 23-Jun-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2013
21 members of our family arrived at the farm house in Warrenton to celebrate the 65th anniversary of our parents! Family came from WA, CO, CA, CT, IL, SC, VA, and PA. The house is terrific for spreading out or for gathering in the kitchen. Wi-fi was great for those who needed it, supplies and equipment for cooking and eating were handy. The fish pond and volleyball area and pool came in handy for the younger set, as well as the game room. The porch is a wonderful place for chatting, snoozing, and playing musical instruments. The ease of getting to a grocery store or other attractions is notable!! What a beautiful setting to celebrate a long marriage and the many people wrapped in that love. Thanks for all of your help and in answering the many questions! Highly recommended for a big group.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
5 Star Country Estate; Pool; Fishing; Wash. DC/Skyline Dr./20 Vineyards
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p454018vbi
540-347-7808
Warrenton Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Missouri
5

Perfect Get-away!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 11-Jun-2013
  • Date of Stay: May 2013
The pictures don't do justice to this wonderful vacation get-away. It is well appointed, comfortable, and truly a country estate. There was so much room that my extended family didn't feel on top of each other. Loved the pool but most of loved the beautiful trees and meadows that surround the house. I just sat on the front porch and read. Perfect! We hope to return in the Fall when the trees start to change colors. This is our new favorite refuge!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hello Margie,
We were so blessed to read your review....it made our week. We can't thank you enough. Please come back again...and often. Wally & Pat
Helpful votes: 2/3