Achiltibiue cottage rental - Tigh an Uillt
Tigh an Uillt
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday cottage in Achiltibiue - Tigh an Uillt
3 Bedroom, 2 bathroom cottage, sleeps 6, with stunning sea and island views

Tigh an Uillt enjoys wonderful uninterrupted views over the sea and the Summer Isles. 2 double bedrooms are upstairs together with a shower room and a further double bedroom is on the ground floor and leads into the second bathroom.

The good sized kitchen is very well equipped and has an oil fired rayburn which provides central heating to the house.

The sitting room has an open fire (coal is provided). There is also a TV with freeview and DVD player. The sun room/dining room with its wonderful views is the perfect place to gaze out over the islands and across to the mountains or to watch wildlife in the croft below. There is even a telescope.

The house is set amongst sea, islands, beaches, mountains and lochs in the recently designated National Geo park. In 2009 the area was used as a location for the film 'The Eagle'.

Enjoy the beach, the wildlife, go kayaking, fishing, cycling, walking, climb Stac Pollaidh, or sit in the garden and relax.

Dogs: Well behaved dogs are welcome but do remember that this is a crofting community and sheep run free everywhere. If you think there is any possibility of your dog getting on the furniture then please bring some covers to protect it. Water and food bowls in the cottage.

Shopping: The two village shops in Achiltibuie and Polbain are very well stocked but are both closed on Sundays. Either will provide supplies to await your arrival. There is a Tesco in Ullapool that is open 7 days a week (25 miles away). Ullapool has a good range of shops including a chemist and butcher. There are a number of very large supermarkets in Inverness (Tesco and Morrisons).

More Details
Hide Details

16 Reviews of Property 452402 in Achiltibiue, United Kingdom

Delightful Croft Cottage with Sea and Mountain Views Badenscallie, Achiltibuie
average rating of 4.9375 based on 16 reviews
business
Delightful Croft Cottage with Sea and Mountain Views Badenscallie, Achiltibuie
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p452402
+44 01536744567
Achiltibiue Northern Scottish Highlands
5

A small slice of heaven!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 06-Jun-2013
  • Date of Stay: May 2013
We arrived at the clean, tidy, warm and well maintained cottage on Saturday evening, to discover a breath taking view of the Summer Isles awaiting us. We flew to Scotland, therefore were unable to take any food with us – but the friendly local store owner does delivery if arranged in advance, so we organised that so we could eat over the weekend.
The owners of the house are very nice and did all they could to help us enjoy our stay - provided lots of information for us about things to do in the local area, as well as recommendations of where to eat – I can recommend the local hand-dived shellfish! Another thing to recommend is walking from the house to Polglass beach where we were lucky to see a basking shark – there’s a beautiful view from the top of the headland too, my camera got a great workout!
One thing that was really nice, the owner tried to call us at the house to make sure we had everything we needed. We weren't in for the phone call (we were out having a lovely lunch at “The Mission” in Lochinver), so instead sent me a text message – something that we got on a couple of occasions during the week, including asking if we’d seen the shark – a nice touch that made us feel very welcome. Customer service is something that many property owners seem to forget, so it’s worth noting when it’s as good as this – everything we could need was catered for (although the house could do with a new frying pan, the non-stick wasn't very non-sticky any more!) We found that many of the locals were very welcoming, and happy to stop and have a chat.

Other recommendations:
– on a nice sunny day, take the Summer Isles boat trip either on the Summer Queen from Ullapool, or the Isabella from Achiltibuie – neither are cheap but well worth the money.
- Take a walk to Inverkirkaig Falls. The last bit of the walk to the falls is a bit steep and slippery, but the view of the falls is worth it. On the way back pop into the bookshop.
- Take a walk around the Culag Community Wood in Lochinver. Afterwards, try the pies in the Bistro in Lochinver – very tasty (they deliver too!)
- From the house, walk to the youth hostel along the road, and then down to the beach. Impressive rocks, a nice beach for the kids to have a play, and lovely views.

There’s so much to do here, I could mention many, many more things to do, but in conclusion, the house is beautiful, the area is beautiful and we had an amazing time- we’ll certainly be staying again just as soon as we can!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for such a lovely review! I am so glad that you all managed to fit so much in and saw the basking shark. Would you believe it but I have to replace the frying pan at least once each year.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Delightful Croft Cottage with Sea and Mountain Views Badenscallie, Achiltibuie
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p452402
+44 01536744567
Achiltibiue Northern Scottish Highlands
5

Badenscalle achilitibuie

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 19-May-2013
  • Date of Stay: May 2013
My husband and our friends spent a week in this purely delightful cottage.The accommodation is excellent,clean and very well equipped and is in the most spectacular location with views over the loch to the Summer Isles.The sun lounge is an invaluable addition to this already lovely cottage.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely comments. I am glad you enjoyed the views from the Sun Lounge.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Delightful Croft Cottage with Sea and Mountain Views Badenscallie, Achiltibuie
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p452402
+44 01536744567
Achiltibiue Northern Scottish Highlands
5

Stunning house and area - wouldn't change a thing!

Stunning house and area - wouldn't change a thing!
  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 18-Nov-2012
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2012
My husband and I spent 2 weeks here in early October. I can't praise the house or area highly enough. House is stunning and stylish yet very homely and feels like a home, not holiday cottage. Views from almost every room breathtaking. Very well equipped - gorgeous kitchen and cosy lounge also great having 2 bathrooms. As for the sunroom - many an hour was spent just overlooking the incredible scenery - 180 degree views.

Garden was a delight - our dog Gillon the black lab loved it - very well enclosed and lots of space for him to explore. Sitting in the garden with a cup of tea and a book overlooking the Summer Isles was heavenly.

Spent a few nights in the Summer Isles Hotel bar - very friendly and welcoming locals - a joy.

The area is incredible - walks from the doorstep are fabulous and a short drive away from some of the most stunning beaches in the UK. Particularly loved Achnahaird and Achmelvich beaches.

Strange as it sounds, a special mention must also go to the mixed salad bags from Achiltibiue Garden (available at local store) - the best salad I've ever had in my life - really!

This house and area are good for the soul - I returned home relaxed and invigorated and the feeling lingers on which says something about the effect this place has on you. We are already talking about going back next year.

Wonderful place - thank you to the owners for letting us share your beautiful home.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review. I will pass your comments on to the garden girls at the Achiltibuie garden and I totally agree with you. It is the best salad ever and the prettiest too!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Delightful Croft Cottage with Sea and Mountain Views Badenscallie, Achiltibuie
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p452402
+44 01536744567
Achiltibiue Northern Scottish Highlands
5

Scottish cottage

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 08-Sep-2012
  • Date of Stay: May 2012
We had a week's holiday here in mid May, and what shone through for us was that the owners really love this cottage, and do their utmost to ensure that everyone who rents it has the holiday of their dreams. They could not have done more to make us feel welcome, from their response to the initial booking, recommending places to stay en route, through to giving us a call to make sure we had arrived safely and everything was as it should be. The place was perfect, the photos and description do not do it justice. We could very happily have sat every day, simply gazing at the ever changing panorama outside the window - the islands, the sea, the birds - but felt guilty enough to do a little walking along the stunning coastline. What a wonderful week!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! Yes, we really do love the cottage and it is wonderful to hear you felt the same way.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Delightful Croft Cottage with Sea and Mountain Views Badenscallie, Achiltibuie
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p452402
+44 01536744567
Achiltibiue Northern Scottish Highlands
5

Enjoyed the stunning views, nature and silence

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 08-Aug-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2012
In contrast to other holliday cottages, this whole cottages feels welcoming and breaths the efforts of its owners te let the people whom stay at it feel at home. Having breakfast in the sunroom, overlooking the ocean and Summer Isles is an experience none should mis. Probably the best views from a cottage anywhere in Scotland.Add to this the great, big and child friendly garden, the perfectly equiped kitchen and well maintained overall condition.

The small town is quiet, perfect to come to rest. The surrounding beaches, mountains and other terrains offer a great diversity of activities to do. For us visiting Handa island was one of the highlights of visits. Boat trips to the close by Summer Isles offer posibilities of spotting whales, orcas, otters, eagles, dolphins and porpoises. Nobody lied about the pies in Lochinver; great taste!

I am surprised to see only reviews suggesting this to 50+, it is also a great house for families with children. But than again, we cannot imagine anybody not having the best time ever in this cottage.

We will come back for sure! 10+ for this one.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for this lovely review. I am so glad you had a lovely holiday and that your children had such fun in the garden. I hope you saw the Puffins on Handa Island.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Delightful Croft Cottage with Sea and Mountain Views Badenscallie, Achiltibuie
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p452402
+44 01536744567
Achiltibiue Northern Scottish Highlands
5

Achiltibuie cottage

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 06-Aug-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2012
I have been lucky enough to have stayed in this beautiful cottage at least six times. The cottage is everything it is described as and more, having just about everything you could possibly want - a real home from home experience. The views as you approach Achiltibuie are amazing and you get a feeling of excitement as you round the corner and head towards the village. Once at the cottage the views are just as spectacular, as you look out from the sunroom across to Horse and Goat island. To the right, on a clear evening the Hebrides are also in view between the nearer islands. There is abundant wildlife which I have been lucky enough to have seen. Red Deer, Otter, Dolphins and Porpoise,Seals and a list of birds too long to name. Whilst we were here this last time a pod of Orca were in the vicinity, apparently passing through the stretch of water between the house and Horse and Goat island. Sadly we didn't see them but have seen many pictures on the internet to prove they really were there!! The peace and tranquility of the place is unsurpased by anywhere else I know, (and I live in a pretty lovely spot myself) and I couldn't recomend it highly enough. There is plenty to do for all ages, but I would say for eight years plus there would be an enormous amount to do. Fishing for Mackerel from Polbain pier is fabulous fun, and eating them afterwards even better. A trip into Ullapool is always enjoyable and there always seems to be something on to see. A must for artists, and I started to write my book in this lovely house; it just seems to bring out the creativeness inside you. Look at the lovely mussel shell picture in the down stairs bedroom made by one of the guests!! Almost afraid to recomend it too much in case it gets very booked up!!
Owner's Response: Thank you for the lovely review. The orcas can be seen on you tube. Killer whales at the Summer Isles, Achiltibuie and Polbain.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Delightful Croft Cottage with Sea and Mountain Views Badenscallie, Achiltibuie
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p452402
+44 01536744567
Achiltibiue Northern Scottish Highlands
5

Incredible view!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 13-Jun-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2012
This is the PERFECT holiday cottage, with inarguably one of the best views in the country. The owners have gone out of their way to make it truly welcoming and comfortable - we loved the little touches like hand-made quilts on the beds, wild flowers to welcome us, and plenty of information about what to do. There's local art everywhere, and a real sense of community (the cakes at the Piping College cafe are far too good!) The walking here is excellent too; we kayaked between the islands, climbed Stac Pollaich and had a go at mackerel fishing off the pier. The kids rambled off in search of rabbits and adventures, and barely went to bed before midnight (Achiltibuie is far north, so the summer days are wonderfully long). If you're looking for a wild and wonderful family spot, you've found it.
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. I am so glad you had such a great time and hope you will have even more fun next year!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Delightful Croft Cottage with Sea and Mountain Views Badenscallie, Achiltibuie
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p452402
+44 01536744567
Achiltibiue Northern Scottish Highlands
5

Our 10 year Wedding Anniversary

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 11-Feb-2012
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2012
The cottage is absolutely gorgeous, it has everything you could possibly want, a true home from home. The kitchen is fully equipped with all you could want, the lounge is cosy and we found the beds comfy. Two bathrooms one up one down. Great view whilst brushing your teeth! Large outdoor areas. It is set in the most stunning location. I sat in the sun room for hours just looking at the views and watching the birds in the garden.The sun room warmed very quickly with the portable radiator. We were fortunate as we had fantastic weather. We went to relax and its exactly what we did. We did enjoyed the scenic drive to Loch Inver (tasted the pies everyone suggested, pricey but delicious) then on to Loch Assynt (saw many deer here). There is a general store in the village that has most of what you need but the nearest Tesco's and Boots is in Ullapool approx 25 miles away, its the best drive to a supermarket you'll ever have! If your looking for a getaway from it all location or by the same token a climbing/walking holiday look no further you have found it. Don't hesitate, just book. The owners are very friendly and gave an excellent service. The cottage and its location has left a lasting impression in my heart. I would dearly love to go back and share the experience with the rest of my family. Once again thank you so much for sharing your dream cottage.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Delightful Croft Cottage with Sea and Mountain Views Badenscallie, Achiltibuie
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p452402
+44 01536744567
Achiltibiue Northern Scottish Highlands
Amersham
5

A wonderful cottage in a fabulously unique setting

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 30-Aug-2011
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2011
My family and I had a short stay at this cottage but will return. It is in a wonderful location with stunning views you will never get tired of looking at. We have teenage boys and an 8 year old girl and all of us had a wonderful time beach combing, climbing, walking and exploring the islands by boat. The cottage itself is gorgeous, well equipped, comfortable and clean and in a stunning location. If you want a Highland gem of a cottage this is the one for you, you won't be disappointed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers
business
Delightful Croft Cottage with Sea and Mountain Views Badenscallie, Achiltibuie
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p452402
+44 01536744567
Achiltibiue Northern Scottish Highlands
Netherlands
5

Perfect house and location

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 28-Jul-2011
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2011
The other reviewers were spot on in recommending this place.
Fantastic view overlooking the water. My family & I had a great time. You will need a car as it is fairly remote. Would have liked a slighly wider main bedroom bed.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend the house to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: The bed is a standard double but if I replace it I will bear your comment in mind.
Helpful votes: 1/1