Wimbledon apartment rental - Living and dining area with plasma TV and sofa bed
Living and dining area with plasma TV and sofa bed
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday apartment in Wimbledon - Attractive garden studio apt
London, Wimbledon, studio. Sleeps 4, 15 min to central London 2 min to tube

Great green area, large private garden, close to all amenities and transport.

A lovely, airy and luminous newly converted studio apartment on the ground floor in central Wimbledon. The apartment has a large separate fully equipped kitchen which is fully fitted with all new appliances. A large fridge-freezer, microwave, hob, full oven with grill. All the furniture is new and modern and it has a single bed that can be turned into a double and a double sofa bed to give maximum flexibility. There is a large 32' plasma TV with Freeview channels. The bathroom is newly fitted with a shower cubicle. Large window with lovely view of the garden.The apartment has sole use of a large garden with private BBQ, garden furniture and sole use of a patio. It is located in a quiet residential area and yet only 2 min from the underground station and other public transport. It is 9 miles from central London and very close to all amenities. Private locked parking included in rental. Free wireless broadband.

Ideal for theatre lovers. Great for children: Wimbledon theatre is only a 5 min walk from the apartment and has great shows. The shows often have run in the West End or will be running there in the near future. Also ideal for theatre lovers as the West End with its world class range of theatre from plays, comedy's, musicals and is only 30 min away by underground.

Children: The apartment is ideal for children as it has a large garden. There are a range of activities for children. Wimbledon park is one stop on the underground and has tennis, crazy golf, a child's playground, a lake with water sports and other activities. The Polka Theatre is the only children's theatre in London and the Colour House Theatre in Abby Mills which is about a 10 min drive has shows for children and has a nice craft market and working water mill. Dean City Farm is a 10 min drive and is lovely farm where children can visit and pet the animals and admission is free.

Fantastic for tennis fans: The world famous All England Lawn Tennis Club is only a 15 min walk. During Wimbledon Tennis you can enter the grounds with a ground ticket even if you do not have tickets to the main courts. Watch play on the minor courts, soak up the wonderful atmosphere Wimbledon has to offer and sample the world famous strawberries and cream! Even when Wimbledon is not on you can visit the very interesting Wimbledon Tennis museum and there are tours available of the grounds. Furthermore if you like to play tennis and not just watch, there are outdoor tennis courts in Wimbledon Park which are very good value and only on stop on the underground. Wimbledon Park also offers sailing lessons. There is a fitness and well being centre with a fully equipped gym, swimming pool, steam room, spa and relaxation therapies at a 5 min walk. The Gina Conway Aveda Lifestyle Salon and Spa is a 1 min te walk and offers massages, treatments, facials and hair styling.

Sightseeing, golf, tennis, horse riding: Apart from the large range of attractions central London has to offer there are also lots of local attractions and activities. There is a horse riding stable at a 5 min walk with lovely horse riding in Wimbledon Common. There are numerous golf courses within a 15 minute drive and nature trails. There is the famous Buddhapadipa Thai Buddhist temple 10 min on foot. Chessington World of Adventures theme park is a 20 min drive.

The apartment is a 2 min walk to Wimbledon tube station. You can catch the tube into central London and it takes about 30 min on the district line. The museum district is about 20 min away by tube and there are no changes, it is a direct line on the district line. Wimbledon station is also a train station with trains into central London, Waterloo in 15 min and other destinations.

Rental of Playstation 3 or Xbox360 consoles with games can be arranged at £10.00 per day.

We can also arrange airport pick-up if requested.

More Details
Hide Details

18 Reviews of Property 421567 in Wimbledon, United Kingdom

Attractive garden studio apartment in Wimbledon, London, close to tube, WiFi
average rating of 4.2352943 based on 18 reviews
business
Attractive garden studio apartment in Wimbledon, London, close to tube, WiFi
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p421567
+44 07971950105
Wimbledon London
San Antonio, TX, USA
5

Quaint Wimbledon Studio Apartment

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 28-Aug-2009
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2009
My family (2 adults/2 kids) fully enjoyed staying at this quaint studio apartment in Wimbledon. It's location is just minutes from the tube/bus stations, grocery stores, restaurants--anything you could need is within walking distance. The kitchen is very well equipped--complete with a welcome basket of starter foods (eggs, butter, bread, jam, cereal, milk, juice, coffee, sugar, seasonings, etc.) Oyster cards (London's cheapest transport option), a courtesy, rechargeable cell phone, and power converters were provided. Tons of maps, tourist pamphlets, books, etc. Travel sized toiletries were provided in bathroom area. The outside area was lovely with a BBQ area, table/chair sitting area, and even a fruit bearing apple tree--my husband made an apple pie! There were 5 bikes with security locks to be used for local area riding and a private, secure parking area for a car. Owner met us at the apartment the first morning of our stay--very friendly and helpful; answered all questions/concerns. Finally, after a long day of sight seeing...my kids (and husband) loved relaxing by playing with the Wii! Would absolutely stay there again!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed the apples! We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in our apartment as we have tried to make it comfortable. Hope to see you again soon!
Helpful votes: 12/12
business
Attractive garden studio apartment in Wimbledon, London, close to tube, WiFi
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p421567
+44 07971950105
Wimbledon London
3

Small flat in Wimbledon

  • 3 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 16-Nov-2013
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2013
The pictures of the property were taken cleverly and made the place seem more spacious and in better condition than it actually was. 4 people staying in it (2 normal sized couples) made it a tight fit, the sleeping and living area are one and the same. An indication of the space available in square metres, for example, would have been useful when booking. When the single bed pulls out the access to the bathroom is very tight. The bathroom is very tiny, a sort of long narrow cupboard space. Well-equipped and spacious kitchen, Quiet area, very convenient for shops and tube. Some of the furniture was a bit tired and down at heel, outside lighting when you arrived in the dark a bit erratic. Owners dealt promptly with any problems arising. If you are out all day, don't mind being in close quarters if there are 4 or you, it's fine for a short stay and good value. It should really be for 2 adults and not 4 and I think it would be ideal in the summer months when the garden could be used.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Attractive garden studio apartment in Wimbledon, London, close to tube, WiFi
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p421567
+44 07971950105
Wimbledon London
5

Delightful studio apartment with large garden.

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 20-Sep-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
This studio apartment was a delightful place to stay and ideal for me, travelling alone, giving quiet privacy. It felt very homely, with a pleasant outlook to the large back garden. It was most enjoyable dining al fresco with visitors, and I was tempted to make an apple pie with some of the apples on the fully-laden tree. I picked some of the prolific roses which delicately perfumed the room during the day. The kitchen is very well set up with an excellent range of modern appliances.
The owners were very prompt when I encountered some difficulties with internet and using the shower; they sorted things out quickly and satisfactorily. It is a short walk into the lovely Wimbledon township.
Owner's Response: Thanks for the fantastic review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and the fruit. Glad you liked the kitchen which I equipped myself. I hope to welcome you back in the future. Charlotte
business
Attractive garden studio apartment in Wimbledon, London, close to tube, WiFi
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p421567
+44 07971950105
Wimbledon London
3

Msotly as described, owner MIA

  • 3 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 11-Sep-2013
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2013
The studio is very clean and well equipped as described, size is appropriate for two people. The owners kindly let us check in ealier because there were no tenants the day before. We did not see any basket with food or any toiletries, though, and the wine in the kitchen is for purchase, not a courtesy. The location is very convenient and close to everything plus a 20 minute ride to London downtown, though the last tube leaves London shortly after midnight. We had some major inconveniences during our stay, the first is actually a safety hazard: the clothes drier produces large amounts of moisture that condense on the kitchen floor. If you set clothes to wash and dry overnight and walk next morning into the kitchen you are up for a slip and fall. Otherwise a pain, since it was a constant mopping operation every time the drier was in use. The shower leaks and some of it has warped the wooden floor in the bedroom. Nothing to do about it, since it goes through the old grout on the shower wall. The worst was that the expected WIFI was mostly inaccessible for most of our stay. First the owners had changed the id and password and 'forgot' to let us know, and besides turned their phones off during the weekend and bank holiday. They were unreachable and did not answer our voice, text, chat and emails until much later. Soon it failed again, and again no answer and nothing was fixed by the time we left, we got a message the day before last telling us that someone would fix it the next day. Certainly the bars and coffee shops have 'free' wifi, if one is willing to imbibe enough coffee or drinks during the time one is online. Unfortunately they all close by midnight or earlier, and besides, try to redact or answer a business email while loud music, patrons with too many ales in them, or a crowd of commuters buzzing about. That was our major disappointment. Since we were going mostly into London, or taking day trips, we had to get dressed very early and go to Starbucks to do anything online besides work related: purchase train tickets, event tickets, make reservations, find buses and train schedules, etc. Extremely inconvenient.
Owner's Response: Thank you for giving me feedback. I am happy you found the studio clean & well equipped. I take feedback seriously & am sorry that there were parts of your stay that you didn't enjoy. As stated in my listing the welcome basket needs to be pre-ordered. I do provide bottles of wine, but as in hotels these are chargeable but are very reasonably priced. I offer many complimentary items ( mobile phone, oyster cards, guide books, bikes, maps etc). It is true that the last tube leaves London at midnight, however the last train from Waterloo (where the London eye is) leaves for Wimbledon at 1.05 am & there are all night buses that run from London to Wimbledon. Regarding the drier, I am pleased you drew this to my attention. No other guests had informed me about this. As the drier is not new I am replacing it with a new one. I looked at the shower & did not find a leak. Maybe the shower door was not closed properly? The shower head has been recently replaced & is brand new. Regarding the wifi I am sorry that you had problems. I recently changed provider to get higher speeds. The service was newly installed & unfortunately a technical fault developed. The same morning I was informed about the problem I immediately went round to see if I could fix it myself but it was not possible so I called Virgin. They identified it was a problem with cabling. As it was Sunday the earliest they could send someone was Tuesday & there was nothing I could do to get it fixed earlier. However there are a large amount of outlets where there is free wifi at a 2 min walk including the library, starbucks etc infact practically every shop, bar, & pub now has free wifi. I appreciate it was an inconvenience & if I could have done something to fix the problem I would but it was out of my control. I always keep my phone on at weekends & during bank holidays. In fact when you contacted me on bank holiday Monday I replied to you within 5 mins. I do switch my phone off after 11 pm as I work & need an early night! I also provide my husband's phone that can be contacted if needed. The texts you sent were at 1.00 am & I was asleep. I did respond to you the next day as soon as I saw your text. As you can read from my other reviews communication is usually very good & I am sorry you had problems with this. The majority of my guests are happy with their stay. I will examine the points you made in your feedback to always improve & I hope to be able to welcome you in the the future & show the improvements
business
Attractive garden studio apartment in Wimbledon, London, close to tube, WiFi
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p421567
+44 07971950105
Wimbledon London
Owner Submitted Review
0

Perfect Location

  • Review Submitted: 20-Oct-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2012
Visited for Wimbledon tennis & various sightseeing. Perfectly located for Wimbledon. Apartment comfortable and the cleaner was very welcoming. Had a great few days in London
business
Attractive garden studio apartment in Wimbledon, London, close to tube, WiFi
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p421567
+44 07971950105
Wimbledon London
South Bend, Indiana
4

Great stay and location..bummer refund!

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 29-Apr-2012
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2012
London was amazing and the flat is in a perfect location. Very easy to get to tube and train station. Great local pubs for cider and chips. We were really pleased. Like everything else it is not perfect. The mattress on the day bed was not fantastic, but I would sleep on it again. The bathroom is small and needs to be aired out to get rid of the damp, but that is common in London. Our welcome email told us we would receive a welcome basket full of goodies and that was only a jar of pasta sauce. There also was no toliet paper. All of these things were minor to the brilliance of the place. When I returned home I emailed to get refund returned. When it was returned it was about ten pounds short. This was the bummer. I received a detailed list of the money deducted. It was for sponges that were never there, a map we never used, and batteries we were told we took when we left. When I contacted the owner no tell them we did not use or take the items listed, she told me I was wrong. It is sad because I had hoped to return in the fall and I will probably have to find a new rental flat. It is a great flat just be careful you don't get charged 28 pence for a sponge.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you found that certain aspects of the studio met your needs and you enjoyed the central location of the apartment.

However I take all feedback very seriously and I sincerely regret certain amenities in the apartment did not meet your expectations. I would like to thank you for bringing up these issues. Your feedback has been very helpful in helping me improve my services to my guests.

Regarding the deposit and items deducted I am sorry if this was an issue for you. The studio is fully stocked with many extras such as oyster cards, mobile phone, wii games, guide books, maps etc however these are for the benefits of all guests and missing items need to be replaced.

Regarding the welcome basket I apologize if you did not like it. It is complementary and does not only contain pasta sauce but also pasta, water, jam, butter, eggs, cereal, milk etc as I think it is nice to have a few provisions if one arrives late. There is always a full supply of toilet paper in the cupboard in the kitchen and in the bathroom and am sorry you seemed to have missed it.

I am also sorry that you found the bed uncomfortable. I will be addressing this issue and buying a new mattress for the bed. I checked the bathroom and did not find any damp but will get it checked by a professional.

I will be addressing all the issues you have raised to improve my services by reviewing what items to provide as complimentary and re-assessing the amenities on offer in the studio and hope I can welcome you into my studio again in the future.
business
Attractive garden studio apartment in Wimbledon, London, close to tube, WiFi
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p421567
+44 07971950105
Wimbledon London
5

Look no further...this is your London home.

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 03-Jul-2011
  • Date of Stay: May 2011
Our experience was consistent with those described in other reviews; we thoroughly enjoyed every part of our time in the studio. Charlotte and Harry are incredibly warm and gracious hosts who kindly answered all of our questions and provided a vast amount of information about the Wimbledon area. Having access to a full kitchen, washer/dryer, and the studio's proximity to Sainsbury's, pubs and the Tube made it the perfect place for our long getaway. This was our 3rd trip to London, but the first during which we've not booked a hotel and because of this experience, we will never stay in a hotel again. We are so excited to return next year.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thanks for this great review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon. Charlotte
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Attractive garden studio apartment in Wimbledon, London, close to tube, WiFi
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p421567
+44 07971950105
Wimbledon London
Chicago
5

Hope to come back someday...

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 25-May-2011
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2011
Working with HomeAway is a bit nerve-wracking when you've relied mainly on hotels in the past. Thankfully, it all turned out wonderfully with Charlotte's flat.

Let's address the elephant in the room: it's a studio-sized apartment. If you've never lived in a studio or are unsure what the term implies, it means there is one larger main room, a bathroom and kitchen. For someone who lives in a single family house, or even a 1-bedroom condo, this may seem small; if there's more than 2 of you traveling, it'll seem even smaller. But I can tell you this: after having lived for 3 years in a studio in Chicago, I'd take Charlotte's flat over mine any day of the week. The kitchen alone is amazing, much better than you would get if you rented a hotel suite.

Bottom line, if you're vacationing in London and are put off by the idea of renting a studio, you have to ask yourself: what is my expected activity level? On my vacation, I tried to spend as much of my time outside going places than I did inside, watching TV; Charlotte's flat didn't need to be any bigger than it was, and how nice it turned out was icing on the cake.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Scott for the great review and I hope to welcome you back to our studio one day. I am glad you enjoyed your stay as I have tried to make the studio as comfortable packed with comodities as I would like when I go on holiday.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Attractive garden studio apartment in Wimbledon, London, close to tube, WiFi
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p421567
+44 07971950105
Wimbledon London
Rye, Victoria, Australia
5

Can't wait to return!

Can't wait to return!
  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 04-Sep-2010
  • Date of Stay: May 2010
Staying at this property made our trip to the UK even more enjoyable. Only a couple of blocks from the Tube and great shops (Excellent coffee too!). A little on the small side, but more than adequate for my Mum and I. Lovely garden and great communication with the owners. Highly recommended and we can't wait to come back! Thanks again :-)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Attractive garden studio apartment in Wimbledon, London, close to tube, WiFi
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p421567
+44 07971950105
Wimbledon London
Louisville, KY
4

Fantastic Experience

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 12-Jul-2010
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2010
My husband & I stayed in this studio apartment during the Wimbledon Championships this year & had a fantastic experience! Charlotte was wonderful to work with. She provided us everything we needed & more;a starter food basket (cereal, eggs, milk, bread, etc.), electrical adapters, a hair dryer, toiletries, maps/guidebooks & more. Although the bathroom was quite small the studio, overall, was quite spacious & accommodated my husband & I very comfortably. My sister-in-law even visited us from Germany one night & stayed with us on the pull out sofa bed. The studio is located in an extremely convenient location. We could walk to the AELTC & Wimbledon Commons. Wimbledon Station was only 2 blocks from us so we could quickly & easily get on the Underground or catch a train. There were plenty of pubs, restaurants, shops and banks around as well. It was also amazing that even though the studio was only a block from all of these great places, the street that it was located on was extremely quite so it was not noisy when you were sleeping. I would definitely rent this studio apartment again. Thanks Charlotte for all of your help!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5