Cawsand cottage rental - This is the view you will get of Cawsand beach and village as you arrive.
This is the view you will get of Cawsand beach and village as you arrive.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday cottage in Cawsand - SEACROFT Cawsand
4 Double/twin Bedrooms. Garden with BBQ dining area. Fully equipped kitchen.

In a designated area of Outstanding Natural Beauty this lovely old house has been renovated to a high standard very comfortably accommodating 8 people and just a pebble's throw from the water. Seacroft has fabulous ocean views from almost every room. The moment you arrive you can smell the ozone and see the waves. Tastefully decorated and well furnished throughout with high end bathroom and kitchen fittings, returning guests insist Seacroft is the best holiday home they have stayed in.

Sitting in the centre of this romantic Cornish fishing village with two beaches just a 3 minute walk away - everything is here for a self-catering, family holiday.

Seacroft provides everything for the perfect family holiday inclusive of quality linen, towels and hairdriers in every bedroom and full central heating (not night storage) at the touch of a button.

The well-equipped kitchen has all you may need - American fridge, full oven, microwave and dishwasher. The separate Laundry room has washing machine, separate tumble drier and plenty of room to dry out coats and walking boots.

The kitchen opens into the southwest facing garden. A sunny patio with barbecue provides alfresco dining in comfort - there is also plenty of room to play or laze in the safely enclosed private garden.

Inside, the plasma TV, DVD, board games and books will give you plenty of choices on the occasional rainy day. With cosy cream sofas to relax in. And at the end of the day have a restful sleep wrapped in 100% luxury cotton in super-comfortable beds with a choice of pillows.

The four bedrooms are: on the ground floor, two bedrooms and on the second floor a further two. The living room and kitchen sits on the first floor with two great sea-watching window seats.

The bedrooms - all with sea views - are divided as to one 5' double, one twin and two bedrooms which can be either 6' doubles or two 3' twin beds.

Each of the ground and second floors has a bathroom with underfloor heating and both bath and shower.

The Rame Peninsula: Cawsand/Kingsand are situated on a peninsula, also known as Cornwall's forgotten corner - and long may it be so! With many ancient and true stories of smugglers and shipwrecks, the pretty colour-washed cottages and narrow streets of these delightful villages have a magical feeling.

Once the dividing county line between Devon and Cornwall, one almost feels in a time warp. Here are the holidays of childhood - picnics on the beach, fishing and paddling in rock pools, barbecues in the garden going to sleep to the sound of the ocean.

Spectacular scenery, walking, birdwatching, painting, fishing or just lazing - it is the perfect place for the traditional family holiday.

An historically rich area too: King Charles and Lord Nelson both came to the village. You will notice Palmerston's Follies (military forts) built in the 18th century to keep the French at bay and the 14th-century chapel at Rame Head where a beacon blazed at the time of the Armada.

Things to Do: There are 6 different places to eat within 3-10 minutes walk and a passenger ferry to Plymouth (2.5 miles) theatre, cinema, shops and National Marine Aquarium - no real need for a car.

The twin villages of Cawsand and Kingsand are also a convenient base for visiting many of Cornwall's tourist attractions. 'Google' the following for more information:

The Lost Gardens of Heligan, Eden Project, the amazing open-air Minack Theatre and many National Trust properties: Cothele, Lanhydrock and Antony House are just a few.

630-miles of the South West Coast Path is a dream for walkers, taking in the whole of the coast of Cornwall and beyond so don't forget your walking boots.

Visit the beautiful, Grade 1 Listed gardens of the 800-acre Mount Edgcumbe Estate, just 10 minutes walk from the house. Beautiful all year but especially lovely in Spring. Here there is a good restaurant/cafe to refresh yourselves for the home run.

Birdwatching- look out for Spoonbills, Black-tailed Godwits, Avocets and Oystercatchers which have all been seen.

Sea fishing is popular too as is Golf at Whitsand Bay Country Club (wonderful views), Looe and 2 courses at St Mellion (one of which is a Niklaus course).

Anyone from the US might be especially interested in Plymouth. The ferry from the village takes you straight into the old Barbican area from where the Pilgrims left, here also the Theatre Royal, shops and National Marine Aquarium.

Tucked away Coves: For a change you might try nearby Whitsand Bay beach - an enormous stretch of sand nearly 7 kilometres long, which separates up into little secluded coves at the top of the tide, including Tregantle, Sharrow, Freathy and Tregonhawke beaches. Great for finding your own bit of privacy if you are a couple or family.

More Details
Hide Details

We live in Hertfordshire where we were born and where we have run a a small family property company for over 40 years.

In the later 1990's we moved to Devon where we lived for 10 years until returning to Hertfordshire in 2003 for family reasons.

We wanted to keep a base in the south west so bought a little cottage (Howton Cottage) in Cawsand which we still own and let out.

Mrs Susie Warwick purchased this cottage in 2008

Susie says : I noticed Seacroft for sale after the elderly owner had died. It was in a sorry state but I could see how it could be and such a wonderful view from the living room on the first floor. We replaced all the plastic window with timber sashes and added all sorts of little touches that, then, I did not have at home, like the boiling tap in the kitchen and underfloor heating for all the stone floors. It took us just under a year to carry out the complete renovation from the roof down and then furnish it.

We just love that we have been able to buy a gem of a Georgian house and have made it so cosy. It has been let from the moment it was ready in June 2009.

One of Seacroft's unique benefits has to be that spectacular view. It has always had a friendly atmosphere and we imagine all the people who have lived in it going back several hundred years.

Of course being in the centre of a pretty, Cornish fishing village with both the beaches and the local hostelries within easy walking distance really makes it a dream house.

14 Reviews of Property 413943 in Cawsand, United Kingdom

Luxurious Georgian house with fabulous sea views. Minutes' walk to beach & pub
average rating of 4.909091 based on 14 reviews
business
Luxurious Georgian house with fabulous sea views. Minutes' walk to beach & pub
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p413943
+44 (0)1438 829147
Cawsand South East Cornwall
Ironbridge, Shropshire, England
5

Excellent accommodation you won't be disappointed

Excellent accommodation you won't be disappointed
  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 13-Sep-2009
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2009
We booked a week here in early September 2009 for 6 adults and a 2 year old - the owners couldn't have been more helpful during the booking process. When we arrived the caretaker had made sure the place was spotless, and we are fussy! Every mod-con is provided, from a tap with instant boiling water for tea & coffee, through to a huge fridge with ice & chilled water 'on-tap'. Clean white fluffy towels for everyone; lovely bed linen; plenty of comfy seating; a big LCD TV, games, broadband connection ...... the list goes on! Then there is waking up every morning to see the ocean from your bedroom window, and spending a lazy afternoon reading a book in the lounge with that same ocean view, watching the fishing boats and Navy vessels. Only word of caution is for the steep stairs, particularly from middle to third floor - risky for kids, unsuitable for elderly or infirm - but then there are 2 bedrooms on the ground floor they can use, so even then its not a show-stopper! As for the location, most of the pubs (rather than the empty hotel!) in Cawsand & Kingsand are great - nice beers & wines, good or great food and friendly people. Even the art & gift shops are a cut-above those that most sea-side resorts offer. We will certainly return for a short break or a week sometime soon. I defy anyone to find any real faults here - an honest and genuine first rate 5-star property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It is such a thrill for us, in our first season at Seacroft, that all the headaches of the complete refurbishment were really worth it.
You have no idea how hard I had to argue to get that hot tap!
Really delighted that this family enjoyed their stay so much - they also left the place spotless which makes our caretaker's job so much easier. The weather was pretty kind too, which it often is in this little forgotten corner of Cornwall.
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Luxurious Georgian house with fabulous sea views. Minutes' walk to beach & pub
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p413943
+44 (0)1438 829147
Cawsand South East Cornwall
Owner Submitted Review
0

Wonderful time at Seacroft

  • Review Submitted: 01-Oct-2013
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2012
We have had a wonderful time at Seacroft; its a
superb house and it is furnished beautifully. There was everything that we
needed , and more , in the house. This is the 3rd house we have rented in the
village over the last 6 years and it beats the others in all aspects.

The view from the property is wonderful. The village is peaceful, no need to use the car. Plenty of great walks from the cottage.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxurious Georgian house with fabulous sea views. Minutes' walk to beach & pub
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p413943
+44 (0)1438 829147
Cawsand South East Cornwall
Owner Submitted Review
0

Amazing property in idyllic location

  • Review Submitted: 01-Oct-2013
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2012
We stayed at Seacroft over New Year and it was the perfect accommodation. The property sleeps 8 people in large rooms with comfortable beds, and it has a very big lounge, kitchen with dining space for 8 and a lovely terrace which sadly we didn't use due to the December/January weather!

The house was immaculate in presentation, with extra touches like a welcome note, local information and board games. It was cosy and warm with luxury features like under floor heating and a hot tap so no need to ever wait for a kettle to boil!

The lounge and all bedrooms have sea views and Cawsand itself is a quaint seaside village with some lovely pubs and walks. Seacroft is fantastic accommodation for families or groups of friends who want a peaceful and relaxing stay on the Cornish coast
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxurious Georgian house with fabulous sea views. Minutes' walk to beach & pub
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p413943
+44 (0)1438 829147
Cawsand South East Cornwall
Owner Submitted Review
0

Superb house

  • Review Submitted: 27-Nov-2012
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2012
We have had a wonderful time at Seacroft; its a
superb house and you have furnished it beautifully. There was everything that we
needed , and more , in the house. This is the 3rd house we have rented in the
village over the last 6 years and it beats the others in all aspects.
Thank you once again for the privilege of using your house, we hope to return in
the future.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxurious Georgian house with fabulous sea views. Minutes' walk to beach & pub
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p413943
+44 (0)1438 829147
Cawsand South East Cornwall
4

Lovely place to stay

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 28-Jun-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2012
This was a lovely cottage to stay in with glorious views and a lovely living space. The kitchen was very well set up and there was even a patio overlooking the sea. Can definitely recommend it.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxurious Georgian house with fabulous sea views. Minutes' walk to beach & pub
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p413943
+44 (0)1438 829147
Cawsand South East Cornwall
London, United Kingdom
5

It felt like home aways from home

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 11-Mar-2012
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2012
I love Cornwall and in particular, Cawsand and Kingsand. I've now gone there on holiday 5 times. Each time I stay in a different holiday let, as I've yet to find that place which I'm completely comfortable in...at least until I stayed at Seacroft.

This time I headed to Cornwall by myself for a much needed break from my daily routine and it was just what I needed. Seacroft was warm, cosy, clean and well kept with all the conveniences I could have hoped for. All the rooms facing Garrett Street had sea views and it was lovely drinking my coffee in the morning while watching the beautiful sunrises over the sea. I felt less like I was in a holiday let and more like I was staying in someone's well loved home.

I'll visit Seacroft again and won't hesitate to recommend it to friends or family. And as far as the village goes...it's quaint, quiet and safe with the coastal path running right through the village and friendly locals. If you're looking for a beautiful setting, great walks and a lovely place to stay, then Seacroft Cawsand is an excellent choice.
Owner's Response: We rescued Seacroft from delapidation and it has been a complete joy now to share this special house with guests who love it as much as we do.
Although we used to live in Devon, we didn't know Cawsand/Kingsand until we left for the south-east. Everyone who comes to the village loves it but it is still a truly forgotten corner.

We look forward to sharing Seacroft with you and your friends - very soon.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxurious Georgian house with fabulous sea views. Minutes' walk to beach & pub
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p413943
+44 (0)1438 829147
Cawsand South East Cornwall
Manchester
5

Seacroft - June 2011

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 08-Jun-2011
  • Date of Stay: May 2011
This house is stunning and the perfect base from which to explore the lovely villages of Kingsand and Cawsand. The house is really well equipped and despite grey weather, we had a fabulous week here, on the beach in our wellies, and we'd definitely stay again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We wanted to ensure that the house was warm and equipped with everything for a stress-free holiday. Very happy that it is so appreciated and we look forward to having you again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxurious Georgian house with fabulous sea views. Minutes' walk to beach & pub
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p413943
+44 (0)1438 829147
Cawsand South East Cornwall
London
5

Seacroft

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 30-Nov-2010
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2010
Hired the house for a long weekend to attend a friends wedding, a mixture of couples and singles and one non sleeping baby. It worked out much cheaper than a hotel for us all.
The space worked perfectly for the mix of early to bed and early risers, noisy baby learning to crawl as well as those with with hangovers!
Instructions were great, wifi kept me sane at 6am wakings.
Kitchen, lounge and bathrooms were really well finished.
We loved the pubs in town, the cafe overlooking beach does a good
cappuccino. We'll be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxurious Georgian house with fabulous sea views. Minutes' walk to beach & pub
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p413943
+44 (0)1438 829147
Cawsand South East Cornwall
Newbury
5

Charming house in a charming village

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 05-Oct-2010
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2010
We had stayed in Kingsand/Cawsand in 2009 and loved the village so wanted to go back again. We chose Seacroft due to its size - we were taking kids and their friends - and its high spec. The booking process was straightforward - the owner is very responsive and details and acknowledgements were sent promptly.

The house is delightful with comfort everywhere - as well as many small touches to really make you feel like a truly welcome visitor. There is a large lounge with views out over the sea (also from the 3rd floor bedrooms) and plenty of room for everyone - important if the weather isnt great. It really is as it says on the tin!

Very minor irritations - parking can be a little painful in the village so do your best to get a permit at the car park close to the Halfway House pub. A pint of milk and a few bits might have been nice on arrival - esp if arriving late. Finally, if you have any mobility issues (or you've had a glass too much wine, the stairs to the top floor bedrooms can be difficult.

Overall, a lovely choice and heartly recommended!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxurious Georgian house with fabulous sea views. Minutes' walk to beach & pub
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p413943
+44 (0)1438 829147
Cawsand South East Cornwall
Stockport
5

Seacroft luxury in a Cornwall hidden gem.

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 20-Jul-2010
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2010
Just come back from a week in this fantastic property.
The descrition does not do justice to this house it is full of character yet modern with all the luxuries you would expect and more!
Set in a beautiful village with a sea view from every bedroom and living room who cold want more.
4 pubs in the village we ate at 2 the best being the Devonport.
Fanastic crabbing and fishing only a stone throw away at the local beaches.
I would recommend his to any friend or family.
The owners and the housekeepers communication was great.

Hope to see you again.

Thanks
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3