Lorgues villa rental - Swimming pool with cascade over rocks
Swimming pool with cascade over rocks
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday villa in Lorgues - Riverhouse
Villa with private pool perched on the property banks of the River Argens

This delightful villa situated in the heart of the Var region and alongside the River Argens is perfectly placed for a holiday full of relaxation or for the explorer.

This lovely South facing house has beautiful landscaped gardens and pool. Secret lighting and curving steps giving direct and private access to the River Argens where one is able to relax on the shaded decking and watch the crystal waters glide slowly by. Guests may simply watch the multitude of bird and animal life which thrive along the rivers banks.

The lovely village of Lorgues is a mere 4km drive from the property. Guests will find everything they require including banks, supermarkets, petrol stations plus all manner of fascinating shops and excellent restaurants. An added bonus is the street market which is held every Tuesday morning.

Caretaker Contact Information: During your stay, Robert and Inci will be your first port of call if the need arises. If you require a mid stay clean in which case direct payment of 60 Euros to the caretakers is required. If you wish a meal to be cooked for you at the villa please speak to Robert and Inci.

Their contact phone number is 0494 722890 Mobile 0033628605768 to them

Crossing the borders: Ventigmiglia just over the border in Italy offers a wonderful all day market every Friday. This is well worth a visit as many bargains can be had and excellent pizzas and chianti, Get there early to avoid heavy traffic in the summer and get a parking space. Apart from this being a wonderful day out the journey includes fabulous scenery, passes through Monte Carlo and Menton ( a lovely Provencal seaside resort ) and we recommend you keep to the coast road to enter Italy rather than the motorway. As you pass through Latte visit the supermarket Conrad to stock up on discounted alcohol.

Seasonal activities: During the spring and autumn is an ideal time to visit this part of France as there is a wealth of beautiful flora and fauna and several good birdwatching sites nearby e.g, Hyeres, Lac du Carces, Gorge du Verdon. The main lavender growing region of the Luberon is a couple of hours drive and makes a nice day out during June and July. Especially the area around Simiane la Ritonde and Manosque.

If you are travelling by car it is worth bringing your bikes as there a many scenic designated cycles routes in the Var region and the villa is situated alongside a lane popular with local walkers and cyclists.

As the villa is right on the River Argens you may be tempted toward canoeing and these may be hired near the village of Carces or enquire in the Office du Tourism in Lorgues.

And one of our favourite activities during any season is wine tasting in any of the many caves that surround the villa. However, we recommend Chateau La Crostes, Taradeau, and Chateau de Berne.

More Details
Hide Details

12 Reviews of Property 406489 in Lorgues, France

Delightful villa along side the River Argens with private pool and river bank
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 12 reviews
business
Delightful villa along side the River Argens with private pool and river bank
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p406489
+44 (0)7715 887729
Lorgues Draguignan region
Sussex
5

We'll be back!

We'll be back!
  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 28-Aug-2013
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2013
We've been staying in villas around Europe for around thirty years, but this is the first time that we've said that we would willingly buy this one!
Riverhouse is beautifully situated, superbly equipped and decorated, has very attractive gardens and pool and there was a peace and quiet about the whole area which made our week very relaxing. Added to that we had excellent weather and the nearby town of Lorgues provided all we could ask in the way of very good restaurants.
We don't want to say too much more as we want to ensure that we have first choice of dates when we return.................. and we will!
business
Delightful villa along side the River Argens with private pool and river bank
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p406489
+44 (0)7715 887729
Lorgues Draguignan region
New Forest, Hampshire
4

A great find, relaxation, and a superb pool

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 01-Jan-2012
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2011
We had a really relaxing time at the villa, what a fantastic spot, its so peaceful even though one wouldn't feel isolated at all, as there are dwellings around and the occasional car going by. We arrived at about 3.30 and were met with the really hot afternoon sun, such a treat with the pool.
We enjoyed staying in the house, which was very well presented, inside and outside. We thought the bedroom and en-suite were very spacious and extremely comfortable. We enjoyed catering for ourselves in the house, lots of what you need (apart from orange squeezer) and all the appliances were great. There are plenty of places to shop and eat in Lorgues, also, a special meal at Chez Bruno is recommended.
We have rented villas for 20 odd years and have an idea of what we like to have in them and you have done a great job. it must be so difficult to tear yourself away when you are out there, thanks for sharing it with us.
We will be delighted to pass on your villa details to our friends
kind regards
Eric & Dinah
business
Delightful villa along side the River Argens with private pool and river bank
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p406489
+44 (0)7715 887729
Lorgues Draguignan region
5

Beautiful Villa for a relaxing holiday

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 02-Sep-2011
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2011
My girlfriend and I spent a week in this property and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the photos do not do justice to the size and homely feel of the villa.

We arrived at the begining of June and the weather was average, temperatures in the mid to high 20s with rain on a few days, however on these days we took the opportity to visit the nearby town of Lorgues, about a 5 minute drive, and were very surprised with the friendliness of the locals (the majority of whom spoke very little english, luckily I got by on remembering my GCSE French).

The local supermarche, again within a 5 minute drive, provided us with good quality fresh food and most nights we used the BBQ by the pool to cook fresh steak, far superior to anything you can get in England. The kitchen facilities were top of the range.

On the nights we spent our time by the pool drinking wine from one of the local vineyards on the way in to Lorgues, I strongly recommend their sparkling whites and on the rainy nights we curled up on the couches and watched films (bring your own DVD player if possible) or sky TV (bring your own card as its only freeview normally). I'm not sure the nightlife is what you would call "buzzing" but for a relaxing holiday we were happy relaxing in the villa and by poolside.

The only negatives we encountered were the bugs (if you have a bug phobia the south of France is not the place to be looking) and the country roads to the villa, I would not advise cars with lowered suspension. Other than that it was a brilliant week and I would personally look at returning to the same villa, perhaps with friends or family
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time and effort to write this review. However, I feel I must respond to a couple of comments. Bugs are inevitable in all countries and more so in the countryside, but this has never proved to be a problem. Both the lane and drive to Riverhouse are good and when we visit, we always hire a new. small economy car. There has never been a problem with regards to the lane or drive. Many thanks, the owner
business
Delightful villa along side the River Argens with private pool and river bank
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p406489
+44 (0)7715 887729
Lorgues Draguignan region
4

Nice and cozy

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 02-Sep-2011
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2011
We are regular visitors in Provence, this was our 7th visit there. We must give credit to the River House for being the right choice with comparison to the previous ones.Close to the airport, shops and attractions like Verdon. The young couple maintaining the house was absolutely charming and helpful, organizing a visit to the domaine where they have their home. We met the lady of the house, she was guiding us and spent with us several hours.
The river was beautiful, but we would have liked to find a rowing boat to be able to get closer to the nature - even swimming! We are outdoorpeople and nature lovers, we also would have rented kajacs if possible-.

The house was perfect for us, clean and well-equipped, no complaining.We had all necessary information given by the owner beforehand, but it was nice to meet the maintaining duo there on arrival. We are happy to recommend the house to our friends, perhaps rather of our age than to families with small children.

It would be useful to have a list of the nearest shops and super markets and events nearby.

Otherwise, we were happy with the house, might consider coming back. with best regards, Mrs and Mr Räihä
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Delightful villa along side the River Argens with private pool and river bank
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p406489
+44 (0)7715 887729
Lorgues Draguignan region
5

a little heaven on earth...

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 24-Aug-2011
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2011
We absolutely enjoyed our visit to this lovely little villa. It is perfect for a family! (children must be a certain age because of the close by river) It is not to big, really cosy. It feels like a home away from home. The kitchen is well equipped and we loved the upstairs: lots of space and privacy for the parents. The garden/pool/river area is sooooo beautiful! The little platform next to the river is perfect for yoga relaxation. We were really sad to go home. It is honestly the best house we ever stayed in.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Delightful villa along side the River Argens with private pool and river bank
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p406489
+44 (0)7715 887729
Lorgues Draguignan region
UK
5

Villa with river.

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 15-Mar-2011
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2011
Great villa, well presented clean and tidy, nice layout without being too large. Our visit was in march although pool was out of bounds we all enjoyed our stay. The location is ideal with vineyards and wooded hillsides all around and the river Argens bordering the property. Central location for touring the area with typical provencale villages within easy drives. Would love another visit in season. One of our best holiday villas, well worth a stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Delightful villa along side the River Argens with private pool and river bank
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p406489
+44 (0)7715 887729
Lorgues Draguignan region
Owner Submitted Review
-1

Stylish

  • Review Submitted: 13-Nov-2010
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2010
The house is superb - well designed and all in my favourit colours. It feels both stylish and homely and we appreciated a little share of it -thank you.
business
Delightful villa along side the River Argens with private pool and river bank
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p406489
+44 (0)7715 887729
Lorgues Draguignan region
Owner Submitted Review
-1

Beautiful House

  • Review Submitted: 13-Nov-2010
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2010
A beautiful house in a beautiful location so much that we can't express it in words.
business
Delightful villa along side the River Argens with private pool and river bank
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p406489
+44 (0)7715 887729
Lorgues Draguignan region
Owner Submitted Review
-1

Wonderful site

  • Review Submitted: 11-Nov-2010
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2009
What a wonderful site perched above the river. We have loved our stay here and really appreciated the thought put into the design a lovey house.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Delightful villa along side the River Argens with private pool and river bank
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p406489
+44 (0)7715 887729
Lorgues Draguignan region
Owner Submitted Review
-1

Shooting stars

  • Review Submitted: 11-Nov-2010
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2010
We have had a great week here we particularly enjoyed drinking Rose on the terrace at night watching the shooting stars shooting by. The villa is very cool and well equipped, everything you could want for those long hot summer days.