East End condo rental - Redecorated for 2014, custom window treatments, sofas and beautiful local art
Redecorated for 2014, custom window treatments, sofas and beautiful local art
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday condo in East End - Elysian Beach Resort
Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

New to VRBO, enjoyed primarily by family and friends, we invite you to experience our little piece of paradise!

Welcome to the Caribbean and thank you for taking the time to discover the beauty of St Thomas. Upon arrival at the Elysian Beach Resort, one will be delighted with the extensive use of flora and fauna that wraps around the soft pink exterior of this island architecture. Our well maintained, NON-SMOKING unit is located on the 3rd floor with 2 flights of stairs (1 down, with 8 steps and 1 up, 8 steps). Once inside you will find a causal space decorated in classic blue and white, local art and bamboo furniture that inspire an island lifestyle. Our condo has 2 bedrooms, 3 baths, a fully equipped kitchen (small appliances and quality cookware) and 3 private balconies. The master suite has a king four poster bamboo bed dressed with quality designer quilts, vanity and bench, flat screen TV, private dressing area and bath with ceramic tub/shower combo. The guest bedroom features 2 double beds dressed with designer quilts, vanity and beach, flat screen TV, private dressing area and bath with a ceramic tub/shower combo. The center of the condo contains the fully equipped kitchen and dining area with table and breakfast bar. The living room has a flat screen TV, iPod dock, bookcase with interesting beach reads, and a queen size Murphy bed that can be easily stowed away with little effort. The seating is comfy, with cushioned rattan chairs and a Braxton Culler seagrass sofa that helps create an easy laid- back feeling. For added convenience, a third bathroom is located off the hall with a dressing area and bath with a ceramic tub/shower combo. Each room has its own AC unit and ceiling fans with ocean views. This tiled condo is perfect for 3 couples or 2 small families because privacy can be created between rooms via lock out doors.

For a truly one of a kind island adventure check out our 44'Catamaran listing #418958 and combine it with this condo.

The Wyndham Elysian Beach Resort on Cowpet Bay consists of 180 units which house a lively community of island residents, second home owners, world wide vacationers and a limited number of timeshare occupants. The majority of units are privately owned; therefore decor is a reflection of the owners taste. The resort is neighbored by the St Thomas Yacht Club that hosts the famed Rolex Regatta each year and the Ritz Carlton. As a guest you will have access to our beautiful white sand beach scattered with sea grape and palm trees while enjoying the comfort of complimentary chairs and loungers. Cowpet beach has a large protected swim area that's also great for snorkeling. A short walk from the beach (2 min) and you will find a beautifully landscaped pool and Jacuzzi with chairs, umbrellas and a bar that serves frozen concoctions and spirits. This is a resort with restaurants, micro-spa for hair and nails and water sports without having to pay for all the extras that a full service resort would charge. If you are looking for a spa experience then a short walk to the Ritz next door will suffice.

Located on the popular east end of the island, the Elysian is less than 2 miles from Red Hook. This village town is known for its easy access to other islands via the ferry terminal and large marina. Red Hook also has several restaurants, bars, shops and two markets for food and island essentials.

The Elysian is located on the popular east end of the island and 30-40 min. from airport.

Car rentals are very popular and cheaper than taxis but drivers must remember to 'keep left' when driving.

Keywords: Oceanfront condo resort in St Thomas with beautiful views in a casual island retreat. This is a perfect property for families, couples and friend getaways for an island vacation.

More Details
Hide Details

Well traveled couple that loves art, history, architecture and the beach. We love traveling throughout the US, Mexico, Europe and the Caribbean. We like unique lodging experiences and getting to know the local population of an area. We reside by the ocean in Myrtle Beach where we own a small vacation rental company. St Thomas is our second home and a place we can relax and enjoy reconnecting with friends in a casual uncomplicated setting.

Betsy Hinson purchased this condo in 2001

I visited St Thomas for the first time in the early 90's and stayed at the Elysian a year after it was completed. Much to my surprise in 2001, while on vacation we discovered that a few condos were available for sell and we jumped at the chance! Today, we visit several times a year and have an annual retreat with family and friends.

My favorite place to read a book is on our beach! Island hopping and days filled with sailing! Enjoy coffee at sunrise and a glass of wine at sunset, perfection!

10 Reviews of Property 399247 in East End, Virgin Islands (US)

Great Deal for a Summer Vacay: Elysian-$200 off available weeks in May & June
average rating of 4.9 based on 10 reviews
business
Great Deal for a Summer Vacay: Elysian-$200 off available weeks in May & June
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p399247vbi
(843) 280-3015 (South Carolina, USA)
East End St. Thomas
5

Our stay at the Elysian

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 08-Feb-2014
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2014
We had a wonderful time in St Thomas and enjoyed this condo at the Elysian. The accommodations couldn't have been nicer. We enjoyed the tennis courts (they provide the rackets and balls), the pool--along with the friendly Iguana, watching the Super Bowl at the ocean side bar and grill and lounging by the sea. This condo is the best deal for your money. They steps were no problem and we were told if we wanted a ride around the complex, they would sent a golf cart anytime to assist us. We would love to visit once a year...but we'll see about that...:)
Owner's Response: Thank you Linda for the kind review, we appreciate you taking the time to give such a descriptive review. We look forward to your return visit.
business
Great Deal for a Summer Vacay: Elysian-$200 off available weeks in May & June
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p399247vbi
(843) 280-3015 (South Carolina, USA)
East End St. Thomas
4

Destination wedding review

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 13-Dec-2013
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2013
As a guest of a destination wedding, it was the couple who picked the location, and kudos go to them because they did a great job! Wonderful stay, and resort staff became like family. Thank you for the memories,
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: We are happy to hear that your trip to St Thomas and the Elysian Beach Resort was a positive experience and the wedding was wonderful!
business
Great Deal for a Summer Vacay: Elysian-$200 off available weeks in May & June
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p399247vbi
(843) 280-3015 (South Carolina, USA)
East End St. Thomas
Raleigh, NC
5

Gorgeous, well appointed condo in great location!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 07-Dec-2013
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2013
What a grand trip we had to St. Thomas, which is surely an island paradise! And I feel sure there is not a better place to stay than at Betsy and Keith's beautiful and spacious condo, which feels more like home than a hotel room. Beds in the 2 bedrooms are extremely comfy with lovely furnishings and the 3 bathrooms are a real plus. Middle room with full, well equipped kitchen became our place to hang and chat about the days activities. So much to do and see here and the location on the East End was ideal. The inspiring view from the 3 balconies made it a great spot for sipping morning coffee and planning our day. The condo was immaculate and well maintained as was the whole property. The 3 of us (age 55+) loved sitting on the beach basking in the wonderful island breezes, whether sunning or just enjoying the shade of the palm trees. Enjoyed swimming in the crystal clear water at the beach as well as in the picturesque pool complete with waterfall.

Betsy and Keith's recommendations for places to eat and enjoy island cocktails were spot on, and we had a wonderful birthday celebration at the exquisite HAVANA BLUE, with its spectacular sunset! Particularly loved the XO BISTRO in Red Hook which we would not have found by ourselves as it is in a strip shopping center and doesn't look like much from the outside. Renting a car was great although a bit scary as they drive on the left but my husband proved up to the task so we were able to enjoy the entire island. And Captain Toby took us for the boat ride of our lives to enjoy all the scenery of the islands, particularly St. John. What a glorious and relaxing week we spent here; we eagerly await the opportunity to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for such a kind and informative review! We are happy to hear your vacation was enjoyed by all. The details of this review should be a great help to anyone traveling to sunny St Thomas!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Great Deal for a Summer Vacay: Elysian-$200 off available weeks in May & June
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p399247vbi
(843) 280-3015 (South Carolina, USA)
East End St. Thomas
5

Great family vacation

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 02-Dec-2013
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2013
The condo was exactly as described- great and newly redcorated!. We had our twin 7 year old daughters and our 20 something daughters. They all shared the second bedroom with the double beds. With 3 full bathrooms in the condo, showering was never a problem. The beach was great. The 7 year olds LOVED the pool. The 20 year olds loved the pool bar :) My husband loved the snorkeling right there off the beach. I enjoyed the beach chairs in the shade. We rented a car- he was able to "stay left" and became comfortable driving but scared ALL OF US! Red Hook is right around the corner. We went out to eat there several times. We really liked IGGY's on the beach at Bolongo bay. We also took the car ferry to St Johns for the day. Skinny Legs was a nice(local) place to each. If you can stomach the drive. The New Horizon sailing adventure was everyone's favorite. 10-4pm Great Lunch!- fun snorkeling. We saw turtles, sting rays, and barracudas! You can sign up at the activity hut at the beach by the condo. WE LOVED IT! The twins even loved counting the stairs- there are 60 of them down to the beach... but we didn't mind at all. The 20 year olds thought it was a "good workout" for them. I wouldn't recommend it for older people with bad hips, but for active people- it's no problem. Our family loves playing games like charades and cards. We forgot to bring our own games- That is the one thing I would recommend. Board games in the room. (but you can use the ones at the activity hut from 10-5pm) We had a blast. Thanks Betsy!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind and informative review of our condo and the property! We are happy to hear your holiday was enjoyed by all.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Great Deal for a Summer Vacay: Elysian-$200 off available weeks in May & June
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p399247vbi
(843) 280-3015 (South Carolina, USA)
East End St. Thomas
FAYETTEVILLE
5

Great spot

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 02-Jun-2013
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2013
We come to St. Thomas annually. This condo is at a great resort. Betsy and Chris were easy to deal with and were very helpful during our stay. The pictures don't do the unit justice.The resort is beautiful and has plenty to do. Thanks for a wonderful stay.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind review Christopher, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your vacation once again in beautiful St Thomas.
business
Great Deal for a Summer Vacay: Elysian-$200 off available weeks in May & June
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p399247vbi
(843) 280-3015 (South Carolina, USA)
East End St. Thomas
Myrtle Beach
5

Good description

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 20-Apr-2013
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2013
I was curious from reading reviews about the stairs and location of this unit, to see how it was situated in the complex. It was at the top of the resort and if you parked next to your unit, you only had a few steps down and then up to get to the unit. It is actually 3 lockout units, the master on one side, the 2 queens on the other and the main living quarters with Murphy bed in the middle with a full kitchen. Each bedroom had a private bath, shower pressure was excellent, and a wet bar with small fridge. All three had a balcony but the 5 of us sat on the main balcony. We overlooked the tennis courts and then the water. The place was extremely clean, everything you would need in the kitchen and very quiet. The Master bed was incredibly comfortable with soft sheets and tons of pillows! You had to walk down to the pool, yes there are steps or you can take the road. The pool was nice, a few iguana's would come out during the day, we would switch it up and go to the beach. Ah, the beach! With cool breezes and shade by the palm trees, you never wanted to leave! We only did one excursion, with New Horizons, which was set up at the Elysian for us. I cannot describe how this was one of my top experiences I have had on an island. A 65ft sailboat manned by a captain and his mate, extremely courteous, 2 great snorkeling coves, open bar and lunch! There were only 6 aboard so it was like chartering our private sailboat. Captain John and first mate Bill were great with telling about the history of the islands. We ate onsite at Sangria's beach restaurant the first night and was so good and relaxing, we ate there another time. Our fancy restaurant was Sunset Grill, only a short distance away and were blown away by the views and service. There is an awesome pizza place in the town of Redhook, on the second floor of the piazza that was really great, a local place it seemed, that was also so good we ate there twice. I can't wait to go again, the owner was so gracious and helpful with all aspects of our trip!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind and informative review. The Elysian is a great place for active people and those you just want to relax. In response to the stairs, the resort is built into a hillside. A minimum of 50 stairs is required to access all buildings from the lobby by the beach. Our unit is on the tier closest to the beach, there is a second tier of units that is even higher on the hill, thus more steps to the beach. Once again, thank you and we are happy your trip was a good one!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Great Deal for a Summer Vacay: Elysian-$200 off available weeks in May & June
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p399247vbi
(843) 280-3015 (South Carolina, USA)
East End St. Thomas
United States
5

Exotic Land & Sea Excursion

Exotic Land & Sea Excursion
  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 26-Feb-2013
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2012
Nothing is better than Christmas in the islands. Just returned from a fabulous two week stay at Keith & Betsy's condo. You will not find a cleaner more beautiful condo, newly decorated in island decor. With three separate balconies and three baths, it is spacious and located just minutes from dining, shopping and ferry service in Red Hook. Right next door is the prestigious Ritz-Carlton where you can book a relaxing massage or indulge at one of their restaurants. Cowpet's Beach is heavenly with crystal clear water and excellent snorkeling right off shore. The resort also has first-class water spots, dining and a pool. For an unforgettable experience, rent The Argos and do not limit yourself to just one island. I swam with sea turtles, tarpon, squid and spotted rays. Captain Eric commandeers this 44-foot Privilege Catamaran which boasts 3 bedrooms and 2 1/2 baths. I would recommend booking this condo today and not let another cold winter pass you by. Nothing compares!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review!

For a truly one of a kind island adventure check out our 44'Catamaran listing #418958 and combine it with this condo.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great Deal for a Summer Vacay: Elysian-$200 off available weeks in May & June
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p399247vbi
(843) 280-3015 (South Carolina, USA)
East End St. Thomas
United States
5

Great family vacation

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 11-May-2012
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2012
Our family of four spent a week here and had a great time. We rented a car so we had plenty of opportunity to venture off site but there was also enough to keep the kids entertained while we were there. They loved the pool -- iguanas were everywhere! -- and the beach, which was gentle enough for them to swim on their own. There were always lots of people around but we never felt like either the pool or beach was crowded, even at the height of the day.

The condo was plenty big enough for all of us and the kitchen served our purposes for breakfast and lunch. Although we didn't do a lot of cooking, it seemed to be well-equipped if we had wanted to. Everything was clean and well-maintained and there were plenty of towels to last us the week. It was also very quiet and we were not disturbed by any neighbors.

The property also seemed well-maintained and there were many service workers in sight each day. Everyone who worked there was very friendly and helpful. The onsite Caribbean Fish Market restaurant was delicious, although not inexpensive, and I would recommend it for a special night out. The kids menu was limited, and the same as at the more casual restaurant onsite, but mine easily found something they liked.

We would highly recommend the nearby Virgin Islands Ecotours for the kayak, hike and snorkel tour. It was easy enough for the kids and challenging enough for us. We had a great time and the guides were terrificly helpful and patient.

In booking the condo and planning the trip, Betsy was very easy to work with and helpful in providing suggestions for transportation and places to see.

Great spot for a family vacation!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Meredith, I'm so happy your family enjoyed their stay. Thank you for the greatly informative review!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Great Deal for a Summer Vacay: Elysian-$200 off available weeks in May & June
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p399247vbi
(843) 280-3015 (South Carolina, USA)
East End St. Thomas
Greenville, SC/USA
5

Time to Breathe

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 21-Mar-2012
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2012
I am a mother of four children (ages 16,14,12,8) and for my birthday I was able to spent time with some friends at the Elysian Resort. It was amazing! The rooms were very clean, spacious and comfortable. The property as a whole was extremely well-manicured. Lush green landscaping with colorful flowers made the walk to any location pleasurable.
The beach area was great. Lots of room in the sun and palm trees if the shade is more your taste. The pool area was beautiful, and being a Mom I was very aware of how kid friendly everything seemed to be.
If you need a massage to get you to relax I recommend the Sea Grapes Spa on the resort grounds. Marvin is gifted!
We took the ferry over to St. John's one evening for some shopping and fabulous food. There are tons of great little shops especially if you are in need of gifts for the kids.
One of the most relaxing days for me was spending the day at Hurricane Hole on a 48 foot catamaran. Breath-taking views of land and sea.
I enjoyed seeing the local art there. It was everywhere. My favorite art experience was at Tony Ramano's restaurant. He prepares excellent food, but he is also a very talented artist. His artwork is all over the restaurant. He spent some time with us after our meal discussing his journey to becoming an artist.
Room With A View is also an experience that is a must. Dining with the sun setting over the bay is indescribable!
I would highly recommend this property to my friends and family of all ages. Whether you are looking for a getaway, like I was, or a family affair...this is a great place to be!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Great Deal for a Summer Vacay: Elysian-$200 off available weeks in May & June
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p399247vbi
(843) 280-3015 (South Carolina, USA)
East End St. Thomas
Boston
5

Great Condo!!!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 10-Mar-2012
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2012
I stayed at this condo for 6 days and 5 nights with my 3 girls (7,9 & 10) The condo was amazingly bright and airy. It was immaculately clean when we arrived. There are 3 baths which came in so useful with the kids. The pool area and beach are pristine.
If I had to add a downside, it would be the stairs. There are 61 stairs up and down to get to the pool or beach so if you forget something back in the room be prepared for a workout! It was somewhat difficult to do the stairs with 3 tired, sandy kids. ( I would imagine an aged couple would have a difficult time also) For that reason only I would probably not rent this particular condo again. Other than that, the food, the people and the resort together made for a perfect vacation!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Renee,

I'm happy you and your girls found everything in order at our condo. I hope that you enjoyed the peace and tranquility that Cowpet Bay offers. I trust you had a wonderful island experience and hope you will visit again!

On a side note, I do understand your concern with the stairs and I share with our guest (when in residence) that we have about 4 different routes to the beach. All routes have stairs but one route only has about 16 steps and a sloped road to the beach. The Elysian Beach Resort is built on a hillside with the pool and beach on the front (facing ocean), guests may access the beach from our unit in an average 2-3 min walk.
Helpful votes: 4/5