Wilmington chateau / country house rental - Relax in this beautiful Post & Beam retreat on 25 acres (5 open and 20 woode
Relax in this beautiful Post & Beam retreat on 25 acres (5 open and 20 woode
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday chateau / country house in Wilmington - Vermont Country Home
Country House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 5-8)

Find a peaceful and private retreat 10 miles south of Wilmington at this beautiful post and beam home located high on a hill with a stunning, panoramic view of the surrounding Green Mountains of Vermont.

Come here to enjoy a genuine and rustic Vermont experience. Whether you are skiing Mount Snow, leaf peeping, exploring Brattleboro or writing or painting, we invite you to experience this special and unique setting.

This twenty-five acre property includes brooks, stone walls, woodlands, wildlife and open vistas. A wrap-around deck, screened porch and windows galore all allow you to enjoy the view. Seasonal furniture and a gas grill are provided on the deck. A wood-burning stove, which is inserted into a floor to ceiling brick chimney, will offer warmth and cheer.

Plenty of comfortable space to spread out and relax with your family. House sleeps five in the three bedrooms. Master suite has a queen, 2nd bedroom a queen, and 3rd bedroom a twin.

Master suite is upstairs, off the loft, and includes a skylight over the queen size bed, a private balcony for star gazing, and a master bath with a large whirlpool tub and separate step-in shower.

Keep in touch, if need be, with fast WIFI, land line with unlimited domestic long distance, and fax machine. Unlike many remote retreats your cell phone will most likely have reception here on top of the hills. Satellite TV, free streaming Netflix video w/unlimited movies, and quality stereo system are all for your pleasure.

This is as close to perfect seclusion as you can find, and still be conveniently located. Accessible to Brattleboro, a cultural center; historic Bennington; the artists’ village of Shelburne Falls, MA and three miles from quaint Jacksonville, VT. Jacksonville is the home of the Jacksonville General Store where you will find local produce, a custom butcher shop, Vermont cheeses and a selection of wines. Lake Whitingham (Harriman Reservoir) which offers beautiful beaches, boating ( including canoeing and kayaking) is only five miles north of Jacksonville.

It all adds up to a perfect combination of peace and quiet and accessibility in a comfortable home in a spectacular setting. Bring your kids and your dog and have a family adventure, or make it your romantic hideaway, a secluded spot for artistic pursuits or a launching pad for your athletic interests. Welcome and enjoy!

Keywords: Post & Beam, Cabin, Home, Flat, Chalet

More Details
Hide Details

11 Reviews of Property 379845 in Wilmington, USA

Almost Heaven!
average rating of 4.818182 based on 11 reviews
business
Almost Heaven!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p379845vb
+ 773-209-4097
Wilmington Mount Snow Area
4

Perfect Get-Away

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 12-Nov-2013
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2013
We were looking for the perfect get-away, off the beaten path, to spend a quiet weekend in the mountains. "Almost Heaven" worked out perfectly for us and our friends. A brisk walk up an adjoining county road; star gazing off the back deck at night that took your breath away; curled by the wood stove with a book was indeed relaxing. Fine food, antiques, winery are minutes away. We will definitely be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Almost Heaven!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p379845vb
+ 773-209-4097
Wilmington Mount Snow Area
Wisconsin
5

Sister's weekend

Sister's weekend
  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 16-Oct-2013
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2013
We stayed at this property for our annual sister's weekend. The home is a perfect setting for any type of get away. There is plenty of room to spread out and enjoy together time or separate space for solitude. Regardless of what room you are in the views are spectacular. The home has all of the amenities you could ever need. Regardless of the season you can enjoy all this property has to offer. I would definitely return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Almost Heaven!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p379845vb
+ 773-209-4097
Wilmington Mount Snow Area
CT
5

Outstanding home /Kids and Pets

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 16-Jun-2013
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2013
We loved our log weekend stay, the kids had a blast the pups loved the space. The home was cozy and great for kicking back and relaxing. Great for families who want to re-connect and just hang out.
Owners were great!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Almost Heaven!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p379845vb
+ 773-209-4097
Wilmington Mount Snow Area
5

Perfect Vermont Getaway

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 14-Mar-2013
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2013
Spent a weekend at this lovely property. We came up with the intention of skiing at Mt. Snow for the weekend and liked that this place was a little more out of the way as apposed to others that are closer to the mountain. Don't be fooled by Google Maps, the drive the mountain took us less than 30 minutes.

The house itself was great. When we arrived everything was as advertised in the listing and there were clear instructions on how to use everything. The Wi-fi and cable TV worked well and the wood stove was the best. On top of that, the property was gorgeous with one of the best views of the mountains in the area you can have. The post and beam home coupled with the numerous windows taking advantage of the propeties views are the best.

This home was comfortable, well stocked and made us feel at home for the weekend. We were even able to bring our dog with us, which made it that much better!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Almost Heaven!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p379845vb
+ 773-209-4097
Wilmington Mount Snow Area
PA
5

Vermont Get away

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 15-Nov-2012
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2012
Absolutely Lovely
well cared for family home, well stocked, beautiful surrondings. quiet, tranquil,
Can tel that this is a well loved family retreat
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Almost Heaven!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p379845vb
+ 773-209-4097
Wilmington Mount Snow Area
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
5

Love it at HELLO!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 13-Oct-2012
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2012
The views are the best in Southern Vermont in my opinion...the house is everything I was promised and more, I didn't know they would supply paper products. I was pleasantly surprised to see napkins, paper towels, toilet paper, and laundry detergent, bleach and dryer sheets. I had brought my own so I used them...but what a nice touch! I have already reserved next year in advance...and can't wait!! Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Almost Heaven!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p379845vb
+ 773-209-4097
Wilmington Mount Snow Area
Bonita Springs FL
5

Dog paradise

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 26-Sep-2012
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2012
Beautiful setting, comfortable home with everything you could want, including wild turkeys. Private, quiet, perfect place to let dogs off leash. We did 2 day golf school at Mt Snow and played at Haystack. Good food, especially 2 Tannery at Mt Snow and White House Inn and Anchorage in Wilmington. Hope to return.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Almost Heaven!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p379845vb
+ 773-209-4097
Wilmington Mount Snow Area
Brookline, MA
4

Rustic charm

  • 4 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 23-Aug-2012
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2012
Review of house in VT

This charming, post-and-beam house sits near the top of a hill, within a beautiful landscape of trees and old stone walls, with views of the mountains in the distance. You have to look hard to see the nearest neighbor’s house (at least when the trees are covered with leaves). The wrap-around porch, including a screened-in sitting area, is a special treat. All you hear are the birds calling and the hummingbirds whooshing around their feeders. The décor fits the style of the house – rustic but comfortable. The kitchen isn’t modern but is adequately equipped in terms of staples, spices, and utensils. The first floor has a bathroom and two bedrooms, one of which is perfect for a child. The upstairs has the master bedroom (with a small porch, a skylight and a slightly soft queen-size mattress), a modernized bathroom with Jacuzzi-style tub and a great view over the fields and woods, and a large sitting area with a desk and plenty of books. In fact, the house is remarkable for the amount and diversity of reading material. The partially finished basement has additional beds, but was pretty musty. The house as a whole benefited from airing out; perhaps it hadn’t been used for a while. Internet and cell phone service worked well, as did the all-encompassing audio-video system. The location is a little remote and in winter the dirt road might be difficult to navigate without all-wheel drive, but we found we were within easy striking distance of stores and restaurants. We were attending the Marlboro music festival and enjoyed taking the back roads (some paved, some not) to get there from the house, at least in daylight. Also, when leaving Marlboro to return to Boston, we found that it was much quicker to avoid the Rt. 9 traffic by coming back toward the house through the woods and taking Rt 112 to the Massachusetts border and Rt 2.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: In response, a few points of clarification regarding the house. The house was built in 2000-2001 with post and beam frame from North Woods Joinery. Post and Beam homes are constructed to be tight, energy efficient homes, so we installed a whole-house air exchange system which will exchange all the air in the house with fresh air in two hours, and pre-heats the incoming air in the winter. A thermostat controlling this system is centrally located at the foot of the stairs and the written information provided to guests includes instructions.
The walk out basement has radiant heat installed beneath the concrete floor and during fall, winter and early spring months, keeps the basement very dry. During late spring and summer, a dehumidifier is also available in the basement as needed.
We do recommend that guests have AWD or 4WD if they are visiting in mud season or winter months. The serene seclusion that we enjoy in our location is made possible by the nearly one mile long dirt road that leads to the house. The road, however, is town maintained and is regularly graded, plowed and sanded when necessary. We like to think of it as part of the adventure of the experience of being in Vermont where two thirds of our 12,812 miles of maintained roads are dirt.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Almost Heaven!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p379845vb
+ 773-209-4097
Wilmington Mount Snow Area
Cortlandt Manor NY
5

Spring 2012

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 19-Jun-2012
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2012
I had the pleasure of staying at this vermont rental during June 2012. The house was absolutely amazing! Great views and very peaceful. Everything we could have wanted was at our disposal. Chris and Donna the owners are extremely nice and very accommodating. One of the things we loved was the location. It is very secluded but still just a short drive to Wilmington. There is a great general store nearby that has just about everything from wine to meats. The country roads on the way are some of the most beautiful roads you will ever drive on. I would recommend 4 wheel drive if you are going to stay in the winter since the house is on a steep dirt road. I cannot think of one negative thing to say about our experience. I highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a quite and relaxing time away from home.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Almost Heaven!
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p379845vb
+ 773-209-4097
Wilmington Mount Snow Area
United States
5

Fantastic location and house!

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 24-Mar-2012
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2012
We booked this as a last minute getaway. The owners were very responsive and accommodating as we booked and arrived within 24 hours. The house is even more amazing than the pictures show- you can only see one other house in the distance. Star gazing was a nightly activity, and the house easily accommodated our two families with young children. The owners are also pet friendly, a plus for one of our families. We were going to stay closer to Mt. Snow, but this house is only about 18 miles, and worth every bit of it. One note: the road to the house is dirt and has a bit of an incline, and in the springtime this can be a bit muddy. If you have 4 wheel drive you will not have a problem at all, and most snow tires will be fine as well. We definitely plan on returning to this location.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3