Bequia villa rental - The amazing pebble stone Infinity Pool with stunning views of the Caribbean Sea
The amazing pebble stone Infinity Pool with stunning views of the Caribbean Sea
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps12
  • 5 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Photos and Description of this 6 bedroom holiday villa in Bequia - Tropical Hideaway
Luxury & private accommodation for couples & small groups at affordable prices

Tropical Hideaway is a luxurious resort property, offering accommodation in the ‘Tropical Hideaway Villa’, consisting of a fabulous ‘INFINITY STUDIO’ on the lower pool level and an incredible ‘PENTHOUSE SUITE’ encompassing the entire top floor. The spacious ‘POOL HOUSE’ which is fully equipped, has a second mezzanine bedroom and adjoins directly onto the stunning Infinity Pool and ‘PALM and HIBISCUS COTTAGE’ which are both very private and enjoy the most amazing views of the Caribbean Sea.

Set in 2 acres of lush tropical gardens in an elevated hillside position above the famous Princess Margaret Beach and with an incredible panoramic vista overlooking the Caribbean Sea and Admiralty Bay, the views are absolutely stunning and will not disappoint.

Specializing in couples and small groups, Tropical Hideaway can accommodate from 2 to 12 guests in luxurious and very private accommodation, all at affordable and highly competitive prices. All are available to rent either individually or as a collective group and if required, the property can be rented on an exclusive basis, ensuring a completely private and memorable stay.

Tropical Hideaway has an 18m (58’) wide panoramic infinity pool and is often quoted as being one of the top ten pools in the Caribbean. The Infinity pool is a stunning feature of the property and with the environmentally friendly solar heating, the pool can be enjoyed at all times of the year. There is a swim up sunken pool bar, complete with fridge, ice-maker and sink, a preparation and serving area and a generous supply of acrylic beverage glasses. Underwater coral seats are conveniently positioned around the submerged bar and this is the perfect place to enjoy a glass of your own personal wine or indulge in your favourite drink or snack. Adjoining the pool is a Gazebo complete with a large daybed and the views from here are just incredible. A perfect place to relax and read a book or simply enjoy the spectacular scenery. The Pool deck is tiled using natural stone coral and provides a safe, non slip and cool surface to walk on. Sun loungers, parasols, sunbathing mats and various chairs provide ample seating and relaxation areas around the pool. The Pool and pool deck are west facing and receive the sun for most of the day. A cooling Caribbean breeze is usually present and the Gazebo and large parasols provide areas of shade for the hottest part of the day.

As the evening sun slowly sets and you look out over the Caribbean Sea, you cannot fail to be impressed. Sunsets from here can be amazing with the elusive ’Green Flash’ often being seen. The setting is simply perfect and with underwater pool lights and discreet Led lighting enhancing the evening ambiance, the special moment can continue long after the sun has set.

All our accommodations have the latest 40” flat screen internet TV’s that give access to our in-house entertainment system supplying high definition films, TV, music and internet radio. High speed internet and Wi-Fi is supplied in all areas. Professional quality ceiling fans are positioned over all the beds and for those really hot days when the cooling Caribbean breeze has taken a rest, you can turn on the bedroom air conditioner until the breeze returns. All indoor living areas and bedrooms are fully screened allowing you the convenience of a mosquito free environment with the ambiance of outdoor living and stunning views of the Caribbean Sea.

We offer an informal, private and relaxed atmosphere and pride ourselves with our genuine friendly service and the experience we afford our guests. Our sixty, 5 star reviews on various well known review sites, are testament to the attention to detail and location this ‘Tropical Hideaway’ has and reflect our genuine intention that guests arrive as guests and leave as friends.

Tropical Hideaway has without doubt some of the finest rooms on Bequia, and coupled with the spectacular panoramic ocean views and the beautiful evening sunsets, you soon realize you are enjoying, what many say, are the finest views on Bequia, from the finest accommodation on Bequia.

*** TROPICAL HIDEAWAY CURRENT SPECIAL OFFERS ***

*** Discounts of up to 30% ***

These discounts are being offered on all accommodation at Tropical Hideaway and vary depending on your month of travel. E.g. 10% discounts for January and March, 15% discounts for April, November and December, 20% discounts for May, June, July and August and 30% discounts for September and October. Please note all prices shown here include the above special offer discounts.

*** Complimentary luxury bathroom toiletries *** These organic toiletries are being offered to all bookings across our entire accommodation range

*** Complimentary transfers to and from the local ferry or airport *** These are being offered to all bookings of 5 nights or more.

*** Complimentary food and beverage starter packs *** These are being offered to all bookings of 7 nights or more and include a welcome bottle of wine, local beers and soft drinks, bottled water, orange juice, bread, cheese, margarine, tinned tuna, eggs, seasonal salad items, tea, coffee, milk, sugar, olive oil, hot pepper sauce, salt and pepper.

The above ‘Special Offers’ are valid for any bookings confirmed in 2014 and taken during 2014, 2015 and 2016. These are genuine offers that may be withdrawn without notice and at any time.

More Details
Hide Details

We originally arrived in the Caribbean in 1996 after making a 3 week transatlantic crossing aboard our sailing yacht 'Rainbow Spirit'. This was the beginning of another adventure and after sailing and exploring the Caribbean Islands for 2 years we eventually bought a 2 acre plot of land on the Island of Bequia. Having already committed to a world circumnavigation, we set sail again in 1998, went through the Panama Canal and spent the next three years travelling around the world with our three daughters. Although we visited hundreds of white sand, sun-drenched tropical islands, we found none of them compared to the special beauty and charm of Bequia. We returned in 2001 and finally made a start on building our 'Tropical Hideaway'.

Building in the Caribbean was never going to be easy and after the frustrations of 2 years turning into 3 years and 3 years turning into 4 years we finally finished construction in 2011. Eight years of full time building and a cost overrun of around 300%. The project was huge, far bigger than we ever imagined, but our hard work, frustrations, pain and suffering eventually paid off and we now have a remarkable property often quoted as having 'the finest views on Bequia, from the finest accommodation on Bequia'.

Our daughters have now left to start their own lives and adventures, returning when time and funds allow. Our eldest daughter is now married and lives in New Zealand. Our middle daughter started the first Spa's and treatment centres on Bequia and is now employed by the rich and famous from all over the world. Our youngest daughter is currently working at a safari lodge in a remote part of Zambia and returns to Tropical Hideaway for the December to April season where she offers her spa treatments and therapy work. As you can see, our wanderlust lifestyle has left a lasting impression on our daughters and they are all enjoying an adventurous and exciting life as we have done.

Martin & Julie Mansfield purchased this villa in 1998

Bequia truly is a unique Island. Large enough to be interesting and exciting, yet small enough to retain its local charm and uniqueness that only a small off the beaten track Caribbean Island can offer. It truly is an undiscovered paradise that some well known travel journalists are only just discovering and several well known newspapers and magazines have recently published articles and all describe Bequia as an undiscovered paradise, about to be discovered.

Tropical Hideaway has one of the finest hillside locations on Bequia & coupled with the incredible heated Infinity edge pool, the spectacular panoramic ocean views & the beautiful evening sunsets, you soon realize you are enjoying, what many say, are the finest views on Bequia, from the finest accommodation on Bequia. The views are simply amazing and are forever changing as ships and yachts of all sizes and nationalities pass by on their journeys and adventures. Please visit our comprehensive website, read our latest 5* TripAdvisor reviews, browse through our stunning photographs and download our free information guide for visiting Bequia and make your dream a reality.

23 Reviews of Property 3632491 in Bequia, St Vincent & Grenadines

Tropical Hideaway - Incredible pool & views - 5* accommodation from $70 US pppn
average rating of 5.0 based on 23 reviews
business
Tropical Hideaway - Incredible pool & views - 5* accommodation from $70 US pppn
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p3632491
+784 4583676
Bequia St Vincent & Grenadines
Owner Submitted Review
0

"You wont want to leave"

"You wont want to leave"
  • Review Submitted: 27-Jan-2014
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2013
Tropical Hideaway has to be the best accommodation on Bequia. The individual cottages and penthouse have all been designed, to be private, but to also maximise the breathtaking views over the bay. The stunning infinity pool with swim up bar and stone seats is an ideal location to while away an afternoon. The gardener Marlon keeps the grounds immaculate.
The Penthouse exceeded all expectations. Its beautifully designed with quality furnishings. On the ground floor there is a well equipped gym. A spiral staircase leads you up to the large outdoor living area with hammock, swing seats, internet TV, large sofa area, leading out onto a curved private balcony overlooking the infinity pool and the bay. The kitchen has everything you will need. I loved the open, but also private bathroom, which is situated to the side of the living area. There is a large walk in wardrobe, and the biggest bed I've ever slept in. I cant fault anything about Tropical Hideaway, its perfect!
The beaches, restaurants and town are a 20 min stroll down the hill. All the information you will ever need about the area, best grocery stores , takeaway menus, taxis etc is all in the welcome pack. You can also order bottles of rum, cases of beer wine etc from Martin and Julie to save you carrying it.
If you are looking for a laid back casual island, but with 5 star accommodation then look no further. Im sure the owners have missed a zero off the price, so book now before they realise!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tropical Hideaway - Incredible pool & views - 5* accommodation from $70 US pppn
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p3632491
+784 4583676
Bequia St Vincent & Grenadines
Owner Submitted Review
0

"JUST READ THE AMAZING REVIEWS"

"JUST READ THE AMAZING REVIEWS"
  • Review Submitted: 31-Dec-2013
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2013
Just take time to read all the reviews and check out Tropical Hideaway's extensive website There is no point in me adding any more or you searching any further. It has to be one of the best finds in the Caribbean. We stayed in Hibiscus Cottage (reviewed separately) for 8 nights and my only negative would be how will anywhere else we stay in the future come even close to this. We saw all the accommodations and from the amazing penthouse to the pool house, I am sure you will not be disappointed with which ever you choose. With such glowing reviews and amazing photos there is always the danger that on arrival there can be an element of disappointment, but trust me with Tropical Hideaway your expectations will be exceeded.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Tropical Hideaway - Incredible pool & views - 5* accommodation from $70 US pppn
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p3632491
+784 4583676
Bequia St Vincent & Grenadines
Owner Submitted Review
0

" WONDERFUL BIRTHDAY "

" WONDERFUL BIRTHDAY "
  • Review Submitted: 31-Dec-2013
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2013
We had the pleasure at staying at the tropical hideaway in the penthouse suite. I don't know where to start!!!! . It was my birthday and we were so excited to go to Bequia! When we arrived, we were met by Julie at the airport and instantly we knew how warm and friendly she was. The kitchen and refrigerator were stocked with sodas, beer, water, eggs, bread, lettuce, tomatoes, coffee, tea, sugar, milk, etc, and even a bottle of wine. As far as the penthouse, the bed was huge and comfortable and set up that you could close the doors and put on the A/C if needed. The penthouse was immaculate and decorated beautifully. As far as the view, it was so spectacular! You felt like you were in a postcard! After they showed us around, they invited us for a drink by the pool where we chatted for over 2 hours. I felt like we knew them for years! The next day was my birthday, and we ventured out (rented Julie and Martin's car) and went shopping. When we returned back, we hit the pool.... Breathtaking!!!! The view looked fake... felt like we were frozen in time.... The pool is beautiful beyond belief and we really didn't feel like we needed to leave for any reason! At about 3pm, there was a knock at my door. It was Julie and Martin delivering a gift from my son..... All baked breads from the Upper Crust Bakery with cinnamon rolls, breakfast meat, etc..... Hand delivered! It was beautiful, with a beautiful card. Who does that? This is not a hotel.... but you wouldn't have known it.. They truly love what they do. Julie and Martin also helped us organize renting a sailboat for the day and accepted our invitation to come along... We sailed over to Mustique, had lunch at Basil's bar, then took a taxi over to macaroni beach! What a beautiful beach and secluded... no one was there! We hit a rain storm on our way back, but the "captain" was great and Martin drove the boat while he navigated... Before you know it, the skies cleared to the most magnificent sunset you can imagine! We broke out the cheese and crackers and had a little party... What a fun day! We needed a relaxing vacation and that's just what we got. It was finally time for us to go home, very sad to leave, but I feel like we met extremely nice people and will see them again! I could go on and on about Tropical Hideaway and Martin and Julie but I would take up pages! It's a fabulous place with fabulous staff and fabulous owners... nothing else needs to be said!!"
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tropical Hideaway - Incredible pool & views - 5* accommodation from $70 US pppn
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p3632491
+784 4583676
Bequia St Vincent & Grenadines
Owner Submitted Review
0

*** Nowhere Better **

  • Review Submitted: 27-Nov-2013
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2013
We saw Bequia featured on an episode of "House Hunters International" and fell hard for the island's beauty and slow pace. When we read about Tropical Hideaway, we felt the same way. But the photos are deceptive -- they are only one dimensional. Our trip here was off the charts in all directions! The views were jaw-dropping, literally. The infinity pool -- open whenever you feel like taking a warm dip -- was part of every single day and night for us. The owners, Martin and Julie, make everything better: they never tired of answering our questions, made food and beach recommendations that hit the mark, arranged for guests to get a discount at Doris' Grocery for supplies, and even provided a cell phone programmed with local favorites. Missy the Dog and her cat companions were sweet as well. The Infinity Room -- with a rock tub so big you can't quite comprehend it until you soak in it -- was terrific. Stone floors, so you don't have to worry about coming in from the pool and making a mess. Lots of attention paid to detail here, and the grounds are beautiful, thanks to the hosts. Absolutely no complaints -- well, except that the Friendship Rose canceled our daylong excursion, but that's another story. The best thing i can say about Tropical Hideaway: From the first moment, we started talking about when we could come back. And we will!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tropical Hideaway - Incredible pool & views - 5* accommodation from $70 US pppn
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p3632491
+784 4583676
Bequia St Vincent & Grenadines
Owner Submitted Review
0

Spacious & elegant, exceeded all my expectations

Spacious & elegant, exceeded all my expectations
  • Review Submitted: 27-Nov-2013
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2013
The Tropical Hideaway Pool House was perfect for my vacation with my brother. There are two separate bedrooms so we each had our own space. The kitchen has full size refrigerator and stove and made it so easy to fix simple meals from vegetables we purchased in town. We had two verandahs facing opposite directions (one east, the other west) so we could be in the sun or the shade no matter what time of day. The roofs over the verandahs covered them enough so we could sit outside even in the rain and not get wet. We spent most of our time outside so didn't really take advantage of the living area with couches and tv, but that would have been great to have if the weather had been rainy for hours at a time. The cross breeze from the verandahs and the ceiling fans made it very comfortable so we never used the air conditioning. I loved the fact that we were just steps away from the pool - I fixed breakfast and took in up on a tray to eat in the morning sun most days. I also liked the privacy of our verandahs.

The Pool House is wonderful all by itself but the hosts, Julie and Martin, make the experience of staying there even better. They stocked the kitchen with some basic foods - bread, cheese, eggs, a few vegetables, beverages, tea, coffee so we had food the day we arrived without having to shop or find a restaurant right away. Later in the week they provided a basil plant and bananas from their tree. Because they live in the main house right there on the property, they were readily available for any questions we had about the area - where to shop, directions on getting some place, recommendations for restaurants or beaches. They met us at the airport and drove us back for our return trip.

The location was great - only a ten minute or less drive into town or a beach. And I could walk to one beach in about 30 minutes (it was down a steep hill, but quite doable). The view from the verandahs and the pool were just amazing - I never tired of them. Watching the sunset and the clouds move across the sky and the boats in the harbor.....just wonderful.

What I liked best was how at home I felt after just a couple of days. I felt safe and relaxed and very comfortable. I will definitely recommend the Pool House to friends - and hope to go back again before too long.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tropical Hideaway - Incredible pool & views - 5* accommodation from $70 US pppn
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p3632491
+784 4583676
Bequia St Vincent & Grenadines
Owner Submitted Review
0

" Closest to Perfection "

" Closest to Perfection "
  • Review Submitted: 27-Nov-2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013
The weekend we spent at Tropical Hideaway was quite possibly the closest i"ve ever came to a perfect getaway. There's so much to fall in love with, from the heated infinity edge pool to the friendly caring owners, anyone lucky enough to visit will have memories to cherish for a lifetime. It's a challenge to put into word the experience that we shared but what i'm certain of is a return visit as soon as it is possible
business
Tropical Hideaway - Incredible pool & views - 5* accommodation from $70 US pppn
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p3632491
+784 4583676
Bequia St Vincent & Grenadines
Owner Submitted Review
0

BEST RENTAL IN BEQUIA

  • Review Submitted: 27-Nov-2013
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2013
I don't normally leave reviews but in this case I feel compelled to make the effort as it is so fully deserved. The owners of Tropical Hideaway have created a superbly situated and appointed rental villa with several independent room options and a large infinity edge pool that commands expansive views over the main bay. The location is both convenient for Port Elisabeth, beaches and restaurants but also nice and quiet. The personal service provided, including airport pick-up and drop-off was exceptional.
The separate cottage we stayed in was very well presented with all the facilities needed for a comfortable stay. The whole of Tropical Hideaway is well maintained by professional staff and a gardener and it clearly shows. My wife and I have stayed on Bequia a number of times and know the island well. In our view, quite simply, Tropical Hideaway offers by far the best value and I think one of the nicest places to stay on the island.
business
Tropical Hideaway - Incredible pool & views - 5* accommodation from $70 US pppn
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p3632491
+784 4583676
Bequia St Vincent & Grenadines
5

*****A Truly Tropical Hideaway Experience*****

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 22-Oct-2013
  • Date of Stay: May 2013
My fiancee & I wanted to get married in Bequia and, after reading all the fantastic reviews, chose to stay at Tropical Hideaway for our wedding in Paradise.

Tropical Hideaway is a Mustique quality property, but with Bequia prices and friendliness & it proved to be the perfect venue for our wedding. We married on the pool deck with a lovely local lay preacher conducting the ceremony. Then it was up the grand coral stone staircase to the huge veranda where we had a magnificent dinner prepared by a local restaurant, spent an afternoon having photographs taken around the Villa and it’s tropical gardens and finally some sunset snaps taken on Princess Margaret Beach.

Martin & Julie organised everything and it was done to perfection. A live band came on the evening as did around 50 friends and guests and once again Martin & Julie organised the champagne, food and drinks for us. A local restaurant produced our Caribbean feast. The band played into the early morning hours.

Whilst at Tropical Hideaway we were lucky enough to experience and stay in both the Infinity Room and the Penthouse Suite.

Infinity is an amazing room with a huge, stone bath feature (easily large enough to take 2 adults!). It is virtually just a few steps away from the gigantic swimming pool which is the largest at any villa that we have ever seen. The infinity pool is rumoured as being one of the top 10 'best infinity pools in the entire Caribbean' Google it. The pool is simply amazing and the photographs can never do the actual view from the pool, justice. The room is full of character, complete with a very comfortable four poster bed. A lot of love and care has gone into the property and Martin's attention to detail is quite remarkable, everything is finished to a very high standard. The kitchenette is very well equipped and the quality of all the tableware and cutlery etc is excellent. We even had our own ice bucket which we filled regularly from the ice-maker in the pool bar.

The Penthouse Suite is absolutely fantastic! A grand spiral staircase leads you up into the huge bedroom which is fully mosquito screened & has the largest bed we have ever slept in. You then step out into a vast open air living room, complete with an impressive 40" tv.

We had a terrific experience and everything that you read on the other reviews is true. We have no hesitation in recommending Tropical Hideaway as a dream destination. The property is just amazing and we will definitively be back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tropical Hideaway - Incredible pool & views - 5* accommodation from $70 US pppn
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p3632491
+784 4583676
Bequia St Vincent & Grenadines
5

Pure paradise

  • 5 out of 5
  • Review Submitted: 15-Oct-2013
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2013
The photos are beautiful, but they don't do justice to the beauty here. Getting to Bequia is work, but we forgot all about it when we opened the fridge in the Infinity Room and found fresh eggs and cheese, a bit of bubbly and beer -- a welcoming treat from owners Martin and Julie. Our first dinner on the island was a terrific omelet we made in our own room. Their advice and island recommendations were invaluable, and they hooked us up with a taxi who took us around every day. (They even have a cell phone programmed with favorite places and services.) The property has been built and designed with a keen eye for detail -- lots of stone with embedded conch shells, manicured grounds, different views from each room. We started thinking of when we could go back from the very day we arrived -- and we will! The views are stunning since you are on a hill so high that even cars are challenged. (We weren't brave enough to walk it, but i've heard it's been done!) We loved Jack's Bar, Keegan's and Tommy's. Our best meals came from Papa's -- a grilled half-lobster, beef tenderloin, beer-battered fish and chips, grilled barracuda. The beaches were quiet; the Bequians were genuine and nice. I almost hate to write this review, because i want to keep my piece of paradise all to myself! Sounds cliched, but true. We loved it here ...
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tropical Hideaway - Incredible pool & views - 5* accommodation from $70 US pppn
http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p3632491
+784 4583676
Bequia St Vincent & Grenadines
Owner Submitted Review
0

"Perfect Honeymoon"

"Perfect Honeymoon"
  • Review Submitted: 03-Oct-2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
My wife and I stayed at the tropical hideaway penthouse suite at the end of July and had the perfect honeymoon!

Starting with the suite:
The penthouse was absolutely gorgeous! The views overlooking the bay were stunning. My wife and I have stayed at many 5 star resorts with views but this one was definitely the best. The balcony has an over 180 degree view of the ocean and the pictures on the website honestly don't do it justice. The suite and patio are completely private. Inside the suite, the bathroom and outdoor shower were really nice. We also really enjoyed going through their library of really cool travel books and photography books. A really cool highlight that we didn't get to enjoy enough was their digital library of hundreds of movies that you can watch on the outdoor patio. Martin and Julie even offered to put any movie on the bigscreen TV by the pool so we could watch a movie in the pool at night. Unfortunately, we didn't have time to try this out, but it sounded like an awesome experience. There is a kitchen for those who wanted to cook themselves. Overall, a perfect suite, they really have thought of everything and I can't think of anything to complain about!

Regarding the property:
The tropical hideaway is a complex of a few villas and rooms owned by Martin and Julie who live on site. The pool is shared among the few villas but the pool is definitely large enough to accommodate all the guests. The pool really was the highlight of the tropical hideaway. The pool was an infinity pool with 270 degrees of infinity wall and view. They also had a swim up bar, multiple stools and a poolside daybed. It really was the best designed pool I've ever seen. We had a great time making drinks in the swim up bar and sipping margaritas in the pool!

Regarding the hosts:
Martin and Julie really were great hosts! They were welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. Even though the tropical hideaway is a vacation rental and we didn't expect them to accommodate any of our needs, Martin and Julie were frequently asking us if we needed anything from the grocery store or if we needed a ride downtown etc. They were also extremely helpful in helping us plan activities around the island. We had a great time getting to know them and hearing their interesting stories and can't wait to see them again next time we visit Bequia!

Overall, 10/10 stay, by far the best accommodation we have ever seen. Amazing experience and great hosts. Definitely come here
Helpful votes: 1/1